Nina George - The Little Paris Bookshop - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349140377
    • Publication date:31 Dec 2015
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349140360
    • Publication date:23 Apr 2015

The Little Paris Bookshop

By Nina George
Read by Ray Sawyer

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The international bestseller The Little Paris Bookshop is a delightful, bittersweet tale about the distance one man will travel for the sake of love and friendship.

On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop; or rather a 'literary apothecary', for this bookseller possesses a rare gift for sensing which books will soothe the troubled souls of his customers.

The only person he is unable to cure, it seems, is himself. He has nursed a broken heart ever since the night, twenty-one years ago, when the love of his life fled Paris, leaving behind a handwritten letter that he has never dared read. His memories and his love have been gathering dust - until now. The arrival of an enigmatic new neighbour in his eccentric apartment building on Rue Montagnard inspires Jean to unlock his heart, unmoor the floating bookshop and set off for Provence, in search of the past and his beloved.

Biographical Notes

Born in 1973, Nina George is a journalist and the author of numerous bestselling novels, which have been translated into several languages. The Little Paris Bookshop was a phenomenal top five bestseller in Germany and is set to be published around the world. She is married to the writer Jens J. Kramer and lives in Hamburg.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405533973
  • Publication date: 30 Apr 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop - or as he calls it, 'a literary apothecary', because the owner knows how to use books like medicine. The only person he is unable to cure - of heartache - is himself. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie — Red
As . . . the little floating bookshop sets off for Provence, George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance — Mail on Sunday
Glowing . . . a classic voyage and return narrative, layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books . . . I prescribed it for a cynical friend who has "seen it all" (and read it all) and she swooned — Daily Mail
A captivating curiosity, for those who still believe in love and books, friendship and food, happiness and romance — Saga
A capricious, meandering journey of love, loss and wonderful food, so beautifully described. I enjoyed every moment — Carole Matthews, bestselling author of The Cake Shop in the Garden
If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel...Everything happens just as you want it to... from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure — oprah.com
An enchanting, uplifting read . . . the sort of book that acts as a soothing tonic as you read - so the perfect accompaniment to relaxing in the sun — Independent
A real gem of a book that is my book of the year so far . . . superbly written and flows effortlessly. You read and re-read phrase after evocative phrase. I couldn't put it down. The characters lingered long after I had finished it and the sense of time and place made me want to book a flight to Paris immediately . . . You will LOVE it — Patricia Scanlan
A true gem for fiction lovers — Good Housekeeping
The Little Paris Bookshop is a wonderful tale showing the power of friendship and love — France magazine
A gentle, heartwarming tale of discovery — Candis
A novel about love and books - what better? — Woman and Home
Enchanting and uplifting, this unashamedly sweet tale is a real gem — Heat
Nina George spins a gentle, charming tale . . . it would take a cold heart not to be warmed — Herald
Abacus

The Little Breton Bistro

Nina George
Authors:
Nina George
Abacus

The Revolving Door of Life

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Abacus

The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Abacus

The Novel Habits of Happiness

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith

Isabel Dalhousie is one of Edinburgh's most generous (but discreet) philanthropists - but should she be more charitable? She wonders, sometimes, if she is too judgmental about her niece's amorous exploits, too sharp about her housekeeper's spiritual beliefs, too ready to bristle in battle against her enemies. As the editor of the Review of Applied Ethics, she doesn't, of course, allow herself actual enemies, but she does feel enmity - especially towards two academics who have just arrived in the city. Isabel feels they're a highly destabilizing influence; little tremors in the volcanic rock upon which an Enlightened Edinburgh perches. Equally troubling is the situation of the little boy who is convinced he had a previous life. When Isabel is called upon to help, she finds herself questioning her views on reincarnation. And the nature of grief. And - crucially - the positioning of lighthouses. The only questions Isabel doesn't have to address concern her personal life. With her young son and devoted husband her home life is blissfully content. Which is the best possible launching pad for the next issue of the Review - the Happiness issue. As Isabel is beginning to appreciate, happiness, for most people, is not quite what it seems . . .

Abacus

The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith

As Botswana awaits the familiar blessing of the rains and the resumption of the eternal cycle, seismic upheaval is taking place at the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency. Not only is Mr J. L. B. Matekoni attempting to reform himself into a modern husband, but after her marriage to Phuti Radiphuti, Mma Ramotswe's challenging but irreplaceable associate Mma Makutsi has joyful news.With the arrival of an heir to the Double Comfort furniture empire and Mma Makutsi busy with motherhood, Mma Ramotswe must tackle tea-making and detective work alone. Well-known troublemaker Violet Sephotho may or not be behind a smear campaign against the Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon, and a dispute over the will of a local dignitary points to a shocking family secret. But the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency is resilient and adaptable, and change brings salutary lessons: that our enemies are not always obvious, that a snake under the bed may be an ally, and that a mother's love conquers all.

Canvas

The Second-Last Woman in England

Maggie Joel
Authors:
Maggie Joel
Sphere

Shatter

Michael Robotham
Authors:
Michael Robotham
Abacus

The Limpopo Academy Of Private Detection

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Yen Press

Chocolat: Vol. 8

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

Kum-Ji takes pity on E-Soh and tells him where her heart truly lies. But speaking candidly with E-Soh doesn't automatically give her an opening to grow closer to E-Wan. Just when she decides that it's time for her to stop clinging to her fantasies and come back to reality, the band gets in a terrible accident. Some of the members are hurt badly, and there are fears that the band may not be able to carry on . . . Kum-Ji wants desperately to help her friends, but what can one girl do?! Find out in the long awaited conclusion of Chocolat!

Abacus

Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk

David Sedaris
Authors:
David Sedaris

This collection of sharply observed animal-themed tales is a delight, told with David Sedaris's trademark blend of hilarity and goodnaturedness. Though the characters may not be human, the situations in these stories bear an uncanny resemblance to the insanity of our own everyday interactions.In 'The Toad, the Turtle, and the Duck', three strangers commiserate about animal bureaucracy while waiting in a complaint line. In 'Hello Kitty', a cynical feline struggles to sit through his prison-mandated AA meetings. In 'The Squirrel and the Chipmunk', a pair of star-crossed lovers is separated by prejudiced family members.

Sphere

Breakfast At Darcy's

Ali McNamara
Authors:
Ali McNamara
Piatkus

The Next Always

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts
Abacus

The Importance Of Being Seven

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith

Despite inhabiting a great city renowned for its impeccable restraint, the extended family of 44 Scotland Street is trembling on the brink of reckless self-indulgence. Matthew and Elspeth receive startling - and expensive - news on a visit to the Infirmary, Angus and Domenica are contemplating an Italian ménage a trois, and even Big Lou is overheard discussing cosmetic surgery. But when Bertie Pollock - six years old and impatient to be seven - mislays his meddling mother Irene one afternoon, a valuable lesson is learned: that wish-fulfilment is a dangerous business.Warm-hearted, wise and very funny, The Importance of Being Seven brings us a fresh and delightful set of insights into philosophy and fraternity among Edinburgh's most loveable residents.

Abacus

The Dog Who Came In From The Cold

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Sphere

From Notting Hill With Love . . . Actually

Ali McNamara
Authors:
Ali McNamara

She was just a girl, standing in front of a boy . . . wishing he looked more like Hugh Grant.Scarlett loves the movies. But does she love sensible fiancé David just as much? With a big white wedding on the horizon, Scarlett really should have decided by now . . . When she has the chance to house-sit in Notting Hill - the setting of one of her favourite movies - Scarlett jumps at the chance. But living life like a movie is trickier than it seems, especially when her new neighbour Sean is so irritating. And so irritatingly handsome, too.Scarlett soon finds herself starring in a romantic comedy of her very own: but who will end up as the leading man?

Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 8

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Piatkus

Christmas Eve At Friday Harbour

Lisa Kleypas
Authors:
Lisa Kleypas
Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 7

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

Tsuyoshi wanders the streets, still reeling after learning the truth of his past and the cruelty that ripped his true family apart. Unwilling to return home and face his uncle and grandfather, Tsuyoshi asks to stay with Be-Ri for the night. But Erica and Mi-Hyuk are not about to leave the two of them alone in an empty house, and Be-Ri is soon made the unwilling host of an impromptu slumber party. It's no surprise when Tsuyoshi is the first to fall asleep, but when the time comes to rouse him, Tsuyoshi remains unconscious...

Abacus

Corduroy Mansions

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 6

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

Per his grandfather's instructions, Tsuyoshi has secured a Korean girlfriend . . . but he's got the wrong girl! The old man will settle for nothing short of Be-Ri, but even a cushy cat tower can't woo her back to Tsuyoshi's side . . . What about a genuine confession? With the painful realization that Tsuyoshi's affections will never favor her again, Erica decides to give up the chase. Now there's no reason for her to remain in Korea, is there? Unless . . . she's already set her sights on a new quarry!