Nina George - The Little Paris Bookshop - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349140377
    • Publication date:31 Dec 2015
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349140360
    • Publication date:23 Apr 2015

The Little Paris Bookshop

By Nina George
Read by Ray Sawyer

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The international bestseller The Little Paris Bookshop is a delightful, bittersweet tale about the distance one man will travel for the sake of love and friendship.

On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop; or rather a 'literary apothecary', for this bookseller possesses a rare gift for sensing which books will soothe the troubled souls of his customers.

The only person he is unable to cure, it seems, is himself. He has nursed a broken heart ever since the night, twenty-one years ago, when the love of his life fled Paris, leaving behind a handwritten letter that he has never dared read. His memories and his love have been gathering dust - until now. The arrival of an enigmatic new neighbour in his eccentric apartment building on Rue Montagnard inspires Jean to unlock his heart, unmoor the floating bookshop and set off for Provence, in search of the past and his beloved.

Biographical Notes

Born in 1973, Nina George is a journalist and the author of numerous bestselling novels, which have been translated into several languages. The Little Paris Bookshop was a phenomenal top five bestseller in Germany and is set to be published around the world. She is married to the writer Jens J. Kramer and lives in Hamburg.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405533973
  • Publication date: 30 Apr 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop - or as he calls it, 'a literary apothecary', because the owner knows how to use books like medicine. The only person he is unable to cure - of heartache - is himself. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie — Red
As . . . the little floating bookshop sets off for Provence, George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance — Mail on Sunday
Glowing . . . a classic voyage and return narrative, layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books . . . I prescribed it for a cynical friend who has "seen it all" (and read it all) and she swooned — Daily Mail
A captivating curiosity, for those who still believe in love and books, friendship and food, happiness and romance — Saga
A capricious, meandering journey of love, loss and wonderful food, so beautifully described. I enjoyed every moment — Carole Matthews, bestselling author of The Cake Shop in the Garden
If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel...Everything happens just as you want it to... from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure — oprah.com
An enchanting, uplifting read . . . the sort of book that acts as a soothing tonic as you read - so the perfect accompaniment to relaxing in the sun — Independent
A real gem of a book that is my book of the year so far . . . superbly written and flows effortlessly. You read and re-read phrase after evocative phrase. I couldn't put it down. The characters lingered long after I had finished it and the sense of time and place made me want to book a flight to Paris immediately . . . You will LOVE it — Patricia Scanlan
A true gem for fiction lovers — Good Housekeeping
The Little Paris Bookshop is a wonderful tale showing the power of friendship and love — France magazine
A gentle, heartwarming tale of discovery — Candis
A novel about love and books - what better? — Woman and Home
Enchanting and uplifting, this unashamedly sweet tale is a real gem — Heat
Nina George spins a gentle, charming tale . . . it would take a cold heart not to be warmed — Herald
Abacus

The Little Breton Bistro

Nina George
Authors:
Nina George
Yen Press

Chocolat: Vol. 8

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 8

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

Luckily, Be-Ri's timely discovery of the forgotten Doki saves the cat's life. But while Doki is well on his way to a full recovery, his master back in Japan is struggling with losing his grandfather and having to rethink his identity. With only snatches of news from Erica's brother, the uncertainty about Tsuyoshi's condition weighs heavily on Be-Ri's mind and heart. Given the physical distance between them, Be-Ri will have to take decisive action if she wants to help her friend. Is she ready to make a bold move in the name of love? There's no turning back in the final volume of Very! Very! Sweet!

Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 7

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 6

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

Per his grandfather's instructions, Tsuyoshi has secured a Korean girlfriend . . . but he's got the wrong girl! The old man will settle for nothing short of Be-Ri, but even a cushy cat tower can't woo her back to Tsuyoshi's side . . . What about a genuine confession? With the painful realization that Tsuyoshi's affections will never favor her again, Erica decides to give up the chase. Now there's no reason for her to remain in Korea, is there? Unless . . . she's already set her sights on a new quarry!

Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 5

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

Heartbroken and mortified at San-Ne's discovery of her secret affections, Be-Ri launches headfirst into a relationship with Mu-Hyuk. She's still not overly fond of him, at least not in a romantic way, but she's willing to give it a try, if only to forget about San-Ne. But Tsuyoshi isn't pleased about the new arrangement. For one thing, Mu-Hyuk is so overprotective that Tsuyoshi hardly ever gets to hang out with Be-Ri at school. For another, much to his own surprise, Tsuyoshi is unhappy at seeing Be-Ri with another guy. True, they were only "fake dating" for the sake of his grandfather, but now the old man isn't the only one thinking they should give it another go...

Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 4

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

Tsuyoshi and Be-Ri's charade has Grandfather convinced, but it's just a bit too convincing for Erica and Mu-Hyuk. Forming a coalition of their own, the pair is determined to prevent Tsuyoshi and Be-Ri from becoming anything more than business partners. Meanwhile, Gyu-Ri and San-Ne are on the rocks as Gyu-Ri's unfaithfulness becomes increasingly apparent. Be-Ri watches their relationship crumble before her eyes, her heart filled with concern for the suffering San-Ne. It could be an opportunity to make her move, but as much as she cares for him, does she really want her true feelings out in the open at a time like this?

Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet: Vol 3

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Yen Press

Chocolat: Vol. 7

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

When E-Soh issues an ultimatum to Kum-Ji, she has to choose him on the spot or watch him walk away for good! Happy couplehood seems imminent for the two friends until former Yo-I fan club president Barbie makes her debut on the idol scene. Is this her new ploy to win E-Wan over?! And will it work against E-Soh and Kum-Ji's budding relationship . . . since Kum-Ji still hasn't quite gotten over her broken heart?

Yen Press

Chocolat: Vol. 6

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet, Vol 2

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Yen Press

Very! Very! Sweet Vol. 1

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Yen Press

Chocolat: Vol. 5

Ji-Sang Shin, Geo
Contributors:
Ji-Sang Shin, Geo

Kum-Ji may have started following Yo-I to get close to her favorite boy band, D.D.L., but it's E-Wan of Yo-I that she can't get out of her head! With E-Soh's confession still heavy on her heart, a confused Kum-Ji joins her fellow fan girls in strategizing for the next tour. But Barbie, the fan club president, has other plans. When a surprise attack leaves Kum-Ji bruised and beaten, E-Soh charges in as her knight in shining armor! Will this dashing rescue be enough to change Kum-Ji's affections?

Abbi Waxman

Born in England, Abbi Waxman has worked as a copywriter and then a creative director at various advertising agencies in London and New York, including Ogilvy and Mather, Y&R, Grey, and Wunderman. After successfully ghost-writing Nicole Ritchie's novel, Abbi quit advertising, and turned to writing of her own. Abbi lives in Los Angeles with her husband, three kids, three dogs, three cats and seven chickens.

Alexander McCall Smith

Alexander McCall Smith is the author of over eighty books on a wide array of subjects, including the award-winning The No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency series. He is also the author of the Isabel Dalhousie novels and the world's longest-running serial novel, 44 Scotland Street. His books have been translated into forty-six languages. Alexander McCall Smith is Professor Emeritus of Medical Law at the University of Edinburgh and holds honorary doctorates from thirteen universities.

Ali McNamara

Ali McNamara attributes her over-active and very vivid imagination to one thing - being an only child. Time spent dreaming up adventures when she was young has left her with a head bursting with stories waiting to be told.When stories she wrote for fun on Ronan Keating's website became so popular they were sold as a fundraising project for his cancer awareness charity, Ali realised that not only was writing something she enjoyed doing, but something others enjoyed reading too. Ali lives in Cambridgeshire with her family and two Labradors. When she isn't writing, she likes to travel, read, and people-watch, more often than not accompanied by a good cup of coffee. Her dogs and a love of exercise keep her sane!To find out more about Ali visit her website: www.alimcnamara.co.uk or follow her on Twitter: @AliMcNamara

Angela Huth

Angela Huth has written three short story collections and several novels. She also writes plays for radio, television and stage, and is a well-known freelance journalist, critic and broadcaster. She is married to a don, lives in Oxford and has two daughters.

Angela Thirkell

Angela Thirkell (1890-1961) was the eldest daughter of John William Mackail, a Scottish classical scholar and civil servant, and Margaret Burne-Jones. Her relatives included the pre-Raphaelite artist Edward Burne-Jones, Rudyard Kipling and Stanley Baldwin, and her grandfather was J. M. Barrie. She was educated in London and Paris, and began publishing articles and stories in the 1920s. In 1931 she brought out her first book, a memoir entitled Three Houses, and in 1933 her comic novel High Rising - set in the fictional county of Barsetshire, borrowed from Trollope - met with great success. She went on to write nearly thirty Barsetshire novels, as well as several further works of fiction and non-fiction. She was twice married and had four children.

Anita Shreve

Anita Shreve is the author of nine other critically acclaimed and bestselling novels, all published in Abacus paperback.

Beryl Bainbridge

Beryl Bainbridge was one of the greatest living novelists. Author of seventeen novels, two travel books and five plays for stage and television, she was shortlisted for the Booker Prize five times, and won many literary awards including the Whitbread Prize and the Author of the Year Award at the British Book Awards. She died in July 2010.