Mark Haysom - Love, Love Me Do - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349403892
    • Publication date:31 Jul 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349403908
    • Publication date:03 Apr 2014

Love, Love Me Do

By Mark Haysom
Read by David Thorpe and Katie Scarfe

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Set in the 60s, this is the most original, funny, wise, dark and touching family drama you will read all year. A fabulously unique debut.

1963. The year the Beatles first top the charts. The year Martin Luther King has a dream. The year Truman Bird moves his family from their home in Brighton to a dilapidated caravan in the Ashdown Forest - then disappears.

Truman's a charmer, a chancer, a liar. He's always got away with it, too. But now he's gone a dangerous step too far and only has one day to put things right - before he loses everything.

For Truman's wife, Christie, life has not turned out the way she'd imagined. How has she, that young girl of not that many years ago, ended up like this? In a caravan. With three children. And an absent husband.

Honest and unsettling, yet ultimately uplifting, this unique, wise and addictive British debut weaves themes of love, betrayal, family and childhood, and shows that even though life has a habit of getting in the way of dreams, people find their own extraordinary ways of bouncing back.

Biographical Notes

After graduating from Leicester University, Mark Haysom had a thirty year career in newspapers during which he rose from trainee journalist on a local weekly to Managing Director of Mirror Group. In 2003 he moved into education as head of a large Government agency. In recent years he has served on the boards of a number of charities dedicated to overcoming poverty, disadvantage and addiction. He was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from Leicester University in 2005 and the CBE in 2008. Mark lives in Brighton with his wife, Ann. This is his first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405532211
  • Publication date: 31 Jul 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
Dialogue Books

Cygnet

Season Butler
Authors:
Season Butler
Hachette Audio

The Lost Man

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper
Sphere

An Island Christmas

Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jenny Colgan

Christmas on the remote Scottish island of Mure is bleak, stark - and incredibly beautiful.It's a time for hunkering down, getting cosy in front of whisky barrel wood fires, and enjoying a dram with the people you love - unless, of course, you're accidentally pregnant to your ex-boss, and don't know how to tell him. In what should be the season of peace and goodwill on earth, will Joel think Flora is a bearer of glad tidings?Meanwhile Saif, the doctor and refugee from war-torn Syria is trying to enjoy his first western Christmas with his sons - but without his missing wife. Can the little family possibly find comfort and joy?Travel to the beautiful northern edge of the world and join the welcoming community of Mure for an unforgettable Christmas.

Virago

The Incendiaries

R. O. Kwon
Authors:
R. O. Kwon
Sphere

My Sisters And Me

Lisa Dickenson
Authors:
Lisa Dickenson

From the author of You Had Me at Merlot***THE 2018 KINDLE BESTSELLER***'Fresh and hilarious' Holly Martin'Utterly fabulous, effortlessly modern, totally irresistible' HeatThe BRAND NEW feel-good, kick-ass novel about sisterhood and second chances. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk, Mhairi McFarlane and Anna Bell. Available to PRE-ORDER now in paperback and ebook**** They're fixing up their childhood home. It's going to get messy. When Willow Lake asks her daughters for help renovating the family home, each has a reason to hesitate about returning to Maplewood . . . For quiet and bookish Emmy going back to the town that ridiculed her fills her with dread. The youngest Noelle is perfectly comfortable in herself now, but once wanted to fit in so badly that she walked away from her first love. A first love who still lives in Maplewood. And outspoken Rae is painfully aware of how much the townspeople hurt her little sisters growing up. She didn't protect them then, but there's no way she'll let history repeat itself. The sisters agree to go home and make the best of it. After all if they've changed over the years, it's possible the townspeople have too . . . isn't it?The BRAND NEW feel-good, kick-ass novel about sisterhood and second chances. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk, Mhairi McFarlane and Anna Bell.Praise for Lisa Dickenson 'PERFECT' - Miranda Dickenson 'FLAWLESS' - Holly Martin 'Sprinkled with humour' - Cathy Bramley 'HILARIOUS' - Fabulous 'Will have you laughing out loud... A must read' - Daily Express 'DELICIOUS' - Jo Thomas 'A classic' - Sun 'SPARKLING' - Sunday Express 'Feisty, fun, and fierce!' - Ali McNamara 'HEART-WARMING' - Red 'Perfect poolside reading' - The Lady 'LOVELY' - Marie Claire 'UPLIFTING' - Bella

Sphere

Blackpool Lass

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason
Fleet

What We Owe

Golnaz Hashemzadeh Bonde
Authors:
Golnaz Hashemzadeh Bonde

Tehran, 1978: Nahid and Masood, both eighteen, are young lovers and young revolutionaries, determined to overthrow the Shah's regime and help to bring about democracy. Their clandestine activities are dangerous, but with youth, passion and right on their side, they feel invincible. Then one night, Nahid allows her younger sister to come along to a huge demonstration. Violence breaks out. Nahid lets go of her sister's hand. Everything changes.As the revolution sours, and the loss becomes too much to bear, Nahid and Masood are forced to flee to Sweden, on borrowed money with forged passports. Tehran is no longer safe for them, and now they are expecting a baby; they need to get out before they lose everything.Thirty years later, Nahid lies in a hospital bed replaying her life, raging at her carers, at her recent cancer diagnosis, at Masood, at her - now pregnant - daughter, and at her exile among people who while purporting to understand know nothing of what she has been through. Told with startling honesty, dark wit and an irresistible momentum, What We Owe is a novel of love, guilt and dreams for a better future, vibrating with both sorrow and an unquenchable joie de vivre.

Virago

Promising Young Women

Caroline O'Donoghue
Authors:
Caroline O'Donoghue
Corsair

Never Anyone But You

Rupert Thomson
Authors:
Rupert Thomson
Constable

'Rock and Roll is Life'

D.J. Taylor
Authors:
D.J. Taylor
Corsair

Manhattan Beach

Jennifer Egan
Authors:
Jennifer Egan

* Winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction* New York Times Bestseller * A New York Times Notable Book and a Washington Post Notable Fiction Book of 2017* Longlisted for the National Book Award for Fiction* Named a Best Book of 2017 by NPR, The Guardian, Vogue, Esquire, Kirkus Reviews, Philadelphia Inquirer, BookPage, Bustle, Southern Living, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch"Immensely satisfying...an old-fashioned page-turner, tweaked by this witty and sophisticated writer...Egan is masterly at displaying mastery...she works a formidable kind of magic." -Dwight Garner, The New York TimesThe long-awaited novel from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad, Manhattan Beach opens in Brooklyn during the Great Depression. Anna Kerrigan, nearly twelve years old, accompanies her father to the house of a man who, she gleans, is crucial to the survival of her father and her family. Anna observes the uniformed servants, the lavishing of toys on the children, and some secret pact between her father and Dexter Styles. Years later, her father has disappeared and the country is at war. Anna works at the Brooklyn Navy Yard, where women are allowed to hold jobs that had always belonged to men. She becomes the first female diver, the most dangerous and exclusive of occupations, repairing the ships that will help America win the war. She is the sole provider for her mother, a farm girl who had a brief and glamorous career as a Ziegfield folly, and her lovely, severely disabled sister. At a night club, she chances to meet Styles, the man she visited with her father before he vanished, and she begins to understand the complexity of her father's life, the reasons he might have been murdered. Mesmerizing, hauntingly beautiful, with the pace and atmosphere of a noir thriller and a wealth of detail about organized crime, the merchant marine and the clash of classes in New York, Egan's first historical novel is a masterpiece, a deft, startling, intimate exploration of a transformative moment in the lives of women and men, America and the world. Manhattan Beach is a magnificent novel by one of the greatest writers of our time.

Abacus

Less

Andrew Sean Greer
Authors:
Andrew Sean Greer
Fleet

The Burning Girl

Claire Messud
Authors:
Claire Messud
Fleet

Love and Ruin

Paula McLain
Authors:
Paula McLain
Abacus

The Little Breton Bistro

Nina George
Authors:
Nina George
Fleet

Saints for all Occasions

J. Courtney Sullivan
Authors:
J. Courtney Sullivan

Sphere

Friend Request

Laura Marshall
Authors:
Laura Marshall
Little, Brown

Little Fires Everywhere

Celeste Ng
Authors:
Celeste Ng
Constable

Splash!

Stephen Glover
Authors:
Stephen Glover

'I thoroughly enjoyed Splash! It's a delicious confection of excellent plotting, an inventively bonkers cast of characters, subtle insights into the world of newspapers and a satisfying ending which invokes the great Evelyn Waugh's masterpiece, Scoop. A fine comedy of manners by a writer who knows the media inside out' BEL MOONEYSam Blunt is a drunken, broken-down tabloid reporter, working for a once-mighty newspaper struggling to come to terms with the digital age. With the assistance of Benedict, an earnest though clever wet-behind-the-ears young intern on the paper, Sam grapples to uncover the story of the century which reveals the political corruption and cynicism at the heart of a rotten Establishment.As they try to nail the story amid a series of capers, Sam and Benedict are frustrated by the self-serving proprietor of the Daily Bugle, various self-appointed do-gooders who want to rein in the Press, and Trevor Yapp, the malign and untrustworthy editor of Bugle Online. Splash! is a satire of the Press and politics in a modern London peopled by a Chinese billionaire would-be press proprietor, a worldly bishop, neglected immigrants, a corrupt and plaintive Prime Minister, and journalists who are often most interested in doing one another down.Yet however self-serving newspapers may sometimes be, Sam and Benedict are ultimately on the side of the angels as they battle to write their triumphant story.

Abacus

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith

Wayward daughters. Missing Husbands. Philandering partners. Curious conmen. If you've got a problem, and no one else can help you, then pay a visit to Precious Ramotswe, Botswana's only - and finest - female private detective.Her methods may not be conventional, and her manner not exactly Miss Marple, but she's got warmth, wit and canny intuition on her side, not to mention Mr J. L. B. Matekoni, the charming proprietor of Tlokweng Road Speedy Motors. And Precious is going to need them all as she sets out on the trail of a missing child, a case that tumbles our heroine into a hotbed of strange situations and more than a little danger . . .Delightfully different, THE NO.1 LADIES' DETECTIVE AGENCY offers a captivating glimpse of an unusual world.