Ian Tregillis - The Rising - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356502335
    • Publication date:03 Dec 2015
Books in this series

The Rising

Book Two of the Alchemy Wars

By Ian Tregillis

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Following The Mechanical comes the second novel in this thrilling and heart-breaking new series about one individual's struggle for freedom - perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi, Ann Leckie and Neal Stephenson. It is a series poised to catapult Ian Tregillis into the company of the most exceptionally talented, award-worthy authors of the science fiction and fantasy genre. George R. R. Martin called Ian Tregillis "a major new talent."

They called me Jax.

That was the name given by those who built me and enslaved me. But a miracle has happened, and now my bonds are broken.

Now I must flee - because a rogue mechanical is a very dangerous thing.

But I will not run forever.

Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, this is the second novel in a stunning new series by Ian Tregillis, confirming his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction.


Praise for The Mechanical:

'The first thing readers will say after finishing this splendid book is: 'Wow.' The second thing will probably be: 'When can I read the next one?''
Booklist

'One of the sharpest, most intelligent, hugely compelling works I've read this year, and I cannot wait to see where Tregillis takes this series next'
Forbidden Planet International

'Superb alternate history . . . the rich characters and gripping story really make this tale soar'
Publishers Weekly

'An absolutely thrilling adventure . . . so absorbing that readers will be dying for the next entry'
Library Journal

Biographical Notes

Ian Tregillis is the son of a bearded mountebank and a discredited tarot card reader. He was born and raised in Minnesota, where his parents had landed after fleeing the wrath of a Flemish prince. (The full story, he's told, involves a Dutch tramp steamer and a stolen horse.) Nowadays he lives in New Mexico, where he consorts with writers, scientists and other unsavoury types.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405524957
  • Publication date: 01 Dec 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Thrilling action scenes and breakneck pacing will leave readers desperate for the next volume — Library Journal
A vivid alternate history tale filled with action sequences, fascinating characters, and great worldbuilding . . . Engrossing, with plenty of mid-story twists, and it's well worth the ride. — Publishers Weekly
The chases, the battles, the brutal violence, and the scheming are nonstop. As always, Tregillis offers richly textured and genuinely likable personalities with shades-of-gray morality . . . Middle volumes are always tricky; they can often read as an obstacle to overcome on the way to the forgone conclusion of the third installment. Tregillis commendably avoids this trap, deepening his story and keeping it moving along toward an unknown horizon. Part 3 can't come too soon. — Kirkus
Piatkus

Deep Blue

Jane O'Reilly
Authors:
Jane O'Reilly
Orbit

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Little, Brown Young Readers US

CatStronauts: Robot Rescue

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington
Orbit

Wrath of Empire

Brian McClellan
Authors:
Brian McClellan
Dialogue Books

The Old Slave and the Mastiff

Patrick Chamoiseau
Authors:
Patrick Chamoiseau

A profoundly unsettling story of a plantation slave's desperate escape into a rainforest beyond human control, with his master and a ferocious dog on his heels. This flight to freedom takes them on a journey that will transform them all, as the overwhelming physical presence of the forest and its dense primeval wilderness reshapes reality and time itself. In the darkness, the old man grapples with the spirits of all those who have gone before him; the knowledge that the past is always with us, and the injustice that can cry out from beyond the grave. From a Prix Goncourt writer hailed by Milan Kundera as the "heir of Joyce and Kafka," The Old Slave and the Mastiff fearlessly portrays the demonic cruelties of the slave trade and its human costs ­- a wise, loving tribute to the Creole culture of Martinique, and a vividly told journey into the heart of Caribbean history and human endurance.

Orbit

Everything About You

Heather Child
Authors:
Heather Child
Orbit

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller
Authors:
Sam J. Miller
Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward

New enemies rise from the shadows in the next novel of the New York Times bestselling paranormal romance series the Black Dagger Brotherhood.Having allied themselves with the Band of Bastards, the Brotherhood is committed now more than ever to eradicating the Lessening Society. Recovering from the most recent battle against the last of the lessers, the Brotherhood comes to realize their fight against enemies is far from over. Throe, Xcor's former secondin command, is using an ancient tome to summon a new army engineered by a force more dangerous and evil than the Omega. With an army rising from the shadows, brothers of the Black Dagger Brotherhood will be tested both at home and on the battlefield.

Orbit

Scourged

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne
Hachette Audio

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz
Orbit

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Orbit

Olympus Bound

Jordanna Max Brodsky
Authors:
Jordanna Max Brodsky
Orbit

Into the Fire

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon
Orbit

The Legion of Flame

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan

'Fabulous . . . Sure to be another fantasy classic' Huffington Post UK'A marvellous piece of imagination with plenty of twists, a refreshingly different setting, and excellent world-building' Mark LawrenceClaydon Torcreek has survived drake-infested jungles, hostile tribes and the cold touch of betrayal - yet his troubles have only just begun.The legendary white drake - believed to be nothing more than a myth - has awoken from its long slumber with a thirst to reduce the world of men to ashes.One city has already fallen to the drake's formidable legions. More will follow, unless Clay can uncover an ancient secret that lies buried beneath the southern ice.Once again Clay must face unthinkable danger, and this time he carries not just the hopes of his own nation, but the fate of the entire world.The Legion of Flame is the action-packed second novel in the Draconis Memoria series - an enthralling epic fantasy of magic, adventure and the furious battle to forge an empire.Praise for the series: 'The world Ryan has created for his new dragon adventure is a joy to visualise' SciFiNow'A fascinating world packed with dragons, pirates, political machinations and an interesting magic system to boot' Fantasy Faction'Memorable characters and great action' Django Wexler'Excellent epic fantasy' BookBagBooks by Anthony Ryan: Draconis Memoria The Waking FireThe Legion of FlameThe Empire of AshesRaven's ShadowBlood SongTower LordQueen of Fire

Orbit

Senlin Ascends

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft
Piatkus

Blood Fury

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Orbit

Rosewater

Tade Thompson
Authors:
Tade Thompson

Winner of the inaugural Nommo Award for Best Novel Africa's first award for speculative fiction John W. Campbell Award finalist for Best Science Fiction NovelRosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless - people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers. Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again - but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future.

Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee
Hachette Audio

The Corporation Wars: Emergence

Ken MacLeod
Authors:
Ken MacLeod

The enemy is out in the open. The Reaction has seized control of a resource-rich moon. Now it's enslaving conscious robots - and luring the Corporations into lucrative deals.Taransay is out in the jungle. Her friends are inside a smart boulder on the slope of an active volcano. The planet is super-habitable - for its own life, not hers. But soon, the alien infestation growing on her robot body is the least of her problems.Carlos is out of patience. With the Reaction arming for conquest, the Corporations trading with the enemy and the Direction planning to stamp out the rebel robots and their allies for good, he has to fight fire with fire.Seba is out of time. Deep inside the enemy stronghold, the free robots have to spark a new revolt before the whole world falls in on them.As battle looms, the robots must become their own last hope.

Orbit

Arm of the Sphinx

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft

'Like its predecessor, it is a brilliant piece of work . . . these two books are genius. I just love them. The story, characters and imagination shine' Mark LawrenceForced by necessity into a life of piracy, Senlin and his eclectic crew struggle to survive aboard their stolen airship. Senlin's search for his lost wife continues, even as her ghost haunts his every step. But the Tower of Babel proves to be as difficult to re-enter as it was to escape.In desperation, he turns to a rumoured legend of the Tower, the mysterious and dangerous Sphinx. But help from the Sphinx does not come cheaply, and one of his crew already knows the terrible cost.