Ian Tregillis - The Rising - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356502335
    • Publication date:03 Dec 2015
Books in this series

The Rising

Book Two of the Alchemy Wars

By Ian Tregillis

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Following The Mechanical comes the second novel in this thrilling and heart-breaking new series about one individual's struggle for freedom - perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi, Ann Leckie and Neal Stephenson. It is a series poised to catapult Ian Tregillis into the company of the most exceptionally talented, award-worthy authors of the science fiction and fantasy genre. George R. R. Martin called Ian Tregillis "a major new talent."

They called me Jax.

That was the name given by those who built me and enslaved me. But a miracle has happened, and now my bonds are broken.

Now I must flee - because a rogue mechanical is a very dangerous thing.

But I will not run forever.

Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, this is the second novel in a stunning new series by Ian Tregillis, confirming his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction.


Praise for The Mechanical:

'The first thing readers will say after finishing this splendid book is: 'Wow.' The second thing will probably be: 'When can I read the next one?''
Booklist

'One of the sharpest, most intelligent, hugely compelling works I've read this year, and I cannot wait to see where Tregillis takes this series next'
Forbidden Planet International

'Superb alternate history . . . the rich characters and gripping story really make this tale soar'
Publishers Weekly

'An absolutely thrilling adventure . . . so absorbing that readers will be dying for the next entry'
Library Journal

Biographical Notes

Ian Tregillis is the son of a bearded mountebank and a discredited tarot card reader. He was born and raised in Minnesota, where his parents had landed after fleeing the wrath of a Flemish prince. (The full story, he's told, involves a Dutch tramp steamer and a stolen horse.) Nowadays he lives in New Mexico, where he consorts with writers, scientists and other unsavoury types.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405524957
  • Publication date: 01 Dec 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Thrilling action scenes and breakneck pacing will leave readers desperate for the next volume — Library Journal
A vivid alternate history tale filled with action sequences, fascinating characters, and great worldbuilding . . . Engrossing, with plenty of mid-story twists, and it's well worth the ride. — Publishers Weekly
The chases, the battles, the brutal violence, and the scheming are nonstop. As always, Tregillis offers richly textured and genuinely likable personalities with shades-of-gray morality . . . Middle volumes are always tricky; they can often read as an obstacle to overcome on the way to the forgone conclusion of the third installment. Tregillis commendably avoids this trap, deepening his story and keeping it moving along toward an unknown horizon. Part 3 can't come too soon. — Kirkus
Orbit

The Liberation

Ian Tregillis
Authors:
Ian Tregillis
Orbit

The Mechanical

Ian Tregillis
Authors:
Ian Tregillis
Orbit

Necessary Evil

Ian Tregillis
Authors:
Ian Tregillis

The history of the Twentieth Century has been shaped by a secret conflict between technology and magic. When a twisted Nazi scientist devised a way to imbue ordinary humans with supernatural abilities - to walk through walls, throw fire and see the future - his work became the prized possession of first the Third Reich, then the Soviet Army. Only Britain's warlocks, and the dark magics they yield, have successfully countered the threat posed by these superhuman armies. But for decades, this conflict has been manipulated by Gretel, the mad seer. And now her long plan has come to fruition. And with it, a danger vastly greater than anything the world has known. Now British Intelligence officer Raybould Marsh must make a last-ditch effort to change the course of history - if his nation, and those he loves, are to survive.

Orbit

The Coldest War

Ian Tregillis
Authors:
Ian Tregillis
Orbit

Bitter Seeds

Ian Tregillis
Authors:
Ian Tregillis
Orbit

Beyond The Shadows

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks
Orbit

Furies Of Calderon

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher

For a thousand years, the people of Alera have united against the aggressive races that inhabit the world, using their unique bond with the furies - elementals of earth, air, fire, water and metal. But now, Gaius Sextus, First Lord of Alera, grows old and lacks an heir. Ambitious Lords manoeuvre to place their Houses in positions of power, and a war of succession looms on the horizon. Far from city politics in the Calderon Valley, young Tavi struggles with his lack of furycrafting. At fifteen, he has no wind fury to help him fly, no fire fury to light his lamps. Yet as the Alerans' most savage enemy - the Marat - return to the Valley, his world will change. Caught in a storm of deadly wind furies, Tavi saves the life of a runaway slave. But Amara is actually a spy, seeking intelligence on possible Marat traitors to the Crown. And when the Valley erupts into chaos - when rebels war with loyalists and furies clash with furies - Amara will find Tavi invaluable. His talents will outweigh any fury-born power - and could even turn the tides of war.

Orbit

A Madness Of Angels

Kate Griffin
Authors:
Kate Griffin
Orbit

Men Of The Otherworld

Kelley Armstrong
Authors:
Kelley Armstrong

I don't remember the first time I changed into a wolf. One night I passed out, and awoke to find my body covered in yellow fur. My brain was beyond reacting. It took this in its stride, as it had everything else in my new life. I got to my feet and went in search of food.As a curious and independent six-year-old, Clayton didn't resist the bite - he asked for it. But as a lone child werewolf his life is under constant threat. So when enigmatic Pack member Jeremy Danvers saves him, Clayton is determined to protect his adoptive father, no matter what the cost. So begins this gripping collection of four tales chronicling the bloody feuds of the American Pack, and the coming of age of Clay Danvers, a very powerful - and very singular - werewolf.

Piatkus

Blood Brothers

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts
Piatkus

The Hollow

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts
Orbit

Star Wars Republic Commando: True Colours

Karen Traviss
Authors:
Karen Traviss

As the savage Clone Wars rage unchecked, the Republic's deadliest warriors face the grim truth that the Separatists aren't their only enemy - or even their worst.In the Grand Army's desperate fight to crush the Separatists, the secret special ops missions of its elite clone warriors have never been more critical ... or more dangerous. A growing menace threatens Republic victory, and the members of Omega Squad make a shocking discovery that shakes their loyalty.As the lines continue to blur between friend and enemy, citizens - from civilians and sergeants to Jedi and generals - find themselves up against a new foe: the doubt in their own hearts and minds. The truth is a fragile, shifting illusion - and only the approaching inferno will reveal both sides in their true colours.

Orbit

Sister Of The Dead

Barb Hendee, J.C. Hendee
Authors:
Barb Hendee, J.C. Hendee
Orbit

The Way Between The Worlds

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine

The alliance has failed.There is a dark full moon on mid-winter's day - sign that the foretelling has come to pass. Karan is held captive in desolate Carcharon tower. Karan's lover, Llian, is in chains, falsely accused of betraying her to the enemy. Rulke the Charon is unstoppable now, and plans to open the Way between the Worlds. If he succeeds the world will be overwhelmed by the dread armies of the void and an endless night will fall...For more information on this or any other Orbit title, visit the Orbit website at www.orbitbooks.co.uk

Christine Feehan

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Christine Feehan has received numerous honours including being a nominee for the Romance Writers of America RITA and receiving a Career Achievement Award from ROMANTIC TIMES. Visit her at www.christinefeehan.com

Darynda Jones

Darynda Jones's writing has won her several awards, including a 2009 Golden Heart in the Paranormal Category for First Grave On The Right and the 2012 RITA awards for Best New Book. She lives in New Mexico, with her husband of more than 25 years and two sons.

Glenda Larke

Glenda Larke was born in Western Australia. She trained as a teacher and taught English in Australia, Vienna, Tunisia and Malaysia. She published Havenstar, a fantasy novel, with the now defunct Virgin Worlds in the UK, to enthusiastic reviews. She currently combines her passion for writing fantasy with an equal passion for birdwatching and rainforest conservation. Glenda has two children and lives in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, with her husband.

Ian Irvine

Ian Irvine has worked in many countries in the Asia-Pacific region. An expert in marine pollution, he has developed some of Australia's national environmental guidelines. Ian is married and lives in the mountains of northern New South Wales.

Jayne Castle

Jayne Ann Krentz, who also writes historical and futuristic fiction under the pseudonyms Amanda Quick and Jayne Castle respectively, has more than fifty NEW YORK TIMES bestsellers under various pen names; more than twenty-five million copies of her books are in print. She lives in the Pacific Northwest

Ken MacLeod

Ken MacLeod graduated with a BSc from Glasgow University in 1976. Following research at Brunel University, he worked in a variety of manual and clerical jobs whilst completing an MPhil thesis. He previously worked as a computer analyst/programmer in Edinburgh, but is now a full-time writer. He is the author of twelve previous novels, five of which have been nominated for the Arthur C. Clarke Award, and two which have won the BSFA Award. Ken MacLeod is married with two grown-up children and lives in West Lothian.