Peter Lovesey - The Circle - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751553581
    • Publication date:05 Jun 2014

The Circle

By Peter Lovesey

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A fiendishly clever Hen Mallin mystery, from the award-winning Peter Lovesey

When widowed parcel-force worker Bob Naylor plucks up the courage to join a writers' circle, he discovers a motley collection of wannabe authors whom he would rather avoid at all costs. But when a publisher is found murdered, after recently addressing the group, Bob feels compelled to stay.

Investigating Officer Hen Mallin attempts to investigate the group, despite their amateur sleuthing efforts and exhaustingly dramatic outbursts. And as another death casts the bewildered Bob in suspicion, the sinister secret of this circle finally starts to come to light . . .

The first solo case for DCI Hen Mallin, introduced in The House Sitter.

Biographical Notes

Peter Lovesey was born in Middlesex and studied at Hampton Grammar School and Reading University, where he met his wife Jax. He won a competition with his first crime fiction novel, Wobble to Death, and has never looked back, with his numerous books winning and being shortlisted for nearly all the prizes in the international crime writing world.
He was Chairman of the Crime Writers' Association and has been presented with Lifetime Achievement awards both in the UK and the US.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405519816
  • Publication date: 16 Jul 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
The superb Peter Lovesey provides yet another novel of unalloyed delight — The Scotsman
Lovesey, who can out-Christie Dame Agatha when he sets his mind to it, offers a smorgasbord of red herrings, a nifty plot twist, charming bits of doggerel and delicious digs at writers of the un-publishable — Kirkus Reviews
Brilliantly keeps one guessing — Daily Mail
Sphere

It Was Her

Mark Hill
Authors:
Mark Hill

Do you want a thriller where nothing is as it seems?Twenty years ago Tatia was adopted into a well-off home, where she seemed happy, settled. Then the youngest boy in the family dies in an accident, and she gets the blame. Did she do it?Tatia was cast out, away from her remaining adopted siblings Joel and Sarah. Now she yearns for a home to call her own. So when she see families going on holiday, leaving their beautiful homes empty, there seems no harm in living their lives while she is gone. But somehow, people keep ending up dead.Did she kill them?As bodies start to appear in supposedly safe neighbourhoods, DI Ray Drake and DS Flick Crowley race to find the thinnest of links between the victims. But Drake's secret past is once more threatening to destroy everything.Will they catch her?PRAISE FOR MARK HILL'A fantastic debut: dark, addictive and original. I couldn't put it down'Robert Bryndza, author of The Girl in the Ice'Grips from the start and never lets up' The Times 'Wreaks havoc with your assumptions. Hill has a hell of a career ahead of him' Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls and The Darkest Secret 'A cracking debut. I can't wait to see more of Ray Drake' Mark Billingham, #1 bestselling author of Love Like Blood and In The Dark 'Utterly gripping, packed with unforgettable characters - and SO well-written. The twists had me reeling!' Louise Voss

Little, Brown Young Readers US

CatStronauts: Robot Rescue

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington
Hachette Books

The Clear Skin Diet

Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Authors:
Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson

From YouTube rising stars Nina and Randa Nelson comes the doctor-approved, clinically-tested, low-fat vegan diet that instantly and dramatically transformed their skin.The Clear Skin Diet is the natural and safe solution to banish acne and remain acne-free for good. The vegan diet, developed by twin actors and social media stars Nina and Randa Nelson (whose careers and personal lives were nearly destroyed by out of control acne) teaches people how to naturally conquer acne once and for all.Before they created The Clear Skin Diet, Nina and Randa and-tried nearly everything to deal with their acne-expensive facials, lotions, antibiotics, and other painful procedures. Several doctors told them their only hope for recovery was Accutane. So they decided to try to deal with their problem from the inside out-by changing their diet. Their dietary intervention worked, and there has been no stopping them since. The girls now share the good news about how they achieved beautiful skin without drugs with millions of people across the world, many of whom write regularly with their own heart-warming success stories. The recipes Nina and Randa created for The Clear Skin Diet are based on diets eaten by a variety of people around the world who have no acne in their society, such as Papua New Guinea, Eastern Paraguay, and rural South Africa. The food is healthy, starch-based, low-fat, inexpensive, and delicious. An acne solution and easy diet, all in one.

Life and Style

The Freds at Barneys New York Cookbook

Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Authors:
Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Sphere

What We Did

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent

He stole her childhood. She'll take his futureWhat would you do if you accidentally encountered the man who once abused you? And how would you get away with it?Bridget's life is small and safe: she loves her husband, her son and works hard to keep her own business afloat. Then one day her world is changed forever. The music teacher who abused her walks into a shop with the teenager he's clearly grooming. Bridget is sent spiralling back into her past.Anthony begins to stalk Bridget, trying to ensure her silence - until suddenly, she snaps.And now Bridget must find away to deal with the aftermath of her actions...

Running Press Kids

The Battle of Junk Mountain

Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Authors:
Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Sphere

Wobble to Death

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

The Detective Wore Silk Drawers

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

Forbidden in Victorian England, the grim and violent world of bare-knuckle fighting has gone underground. So when a headless body is found floating in the Thames, his hands 'pickled' for fighting, Sergeant Cribb knows he is facing a challenge.Desperate for information, they select the young constable Henry Jago to infiltrate the gang, subjecting him to a rigorous programme of purging, pickling and training. Cribb is certain that the losing fighters are being killed, or worse, so getting Jago out just in time is crucial . . .

Sphere

Abracadaver

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Hachette Audio

Beau Death

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Star Thief

Lindsey Becker
Authors:
Lindsey Becker
Sphere

Another One Goes Tonight

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

Peter Diamond, the Bath detective brilliant at rooting out murder, is peeved at being diverted to Professional Standards to enquire into a police car accident. Arriving late at the scene, he discovers an extra victim thrown onto an embankment - unconscious and unnoticed. Diamond administers CPR, but no one can say whether the elderly tricyclist will pull through.But why had the man been out in the middle of the night with an urn containing human ashes? Diamond 's suspicions grow after he identifies the accident victim as Ivor Pellegrini, a well-known local eccentric and railway enthusiast. A search of Pellegrini's workshop proves beyond question that he is involved in a series of uninvestigated deaths. While Pellegrini lingers on life support, Diamond wrestles with the appalling possibility that he has saved the life of a serial killer. . .

Piatkus

The Hating Game: 2017's funniest romcom

Sally Thorne
Authors:
Sally Thorne

'Warm, witty and wise.' The Daily Mail'The next Sophie Kinsella.' Bustle'Charming, self-deprecating, quick-witted and funny.' The New York Times'I made a mistake when I first met Joshua: I smiled at him.My best sunny smile with all my teeth, my eyes sparkling with stupid optimism. His eyes scanned me from the top of my head to the soles of my shoes. Then he looked away out the window. He did not smile back, and somehow I feel like he's been carrying my smile around in his breast pocket ever since. He's one up.'Lucy Hutton, baker-of-cakes and usually a determined people-pleaser, has finally had enough. Joshua Templeman is officially her nemesis. Over months in a shared office they've faced off against each other and now that a big promotion is up for grabs, it's time to take him down. But as the tension between Lucy and Joshua reaches its boiling point, it's clear that the real battle has only just begun . . . Perfect for fans of Fiona Gibson's THE WOMAN WHO MET HER MATCH, Christina Lauren's DATING YOU HATING YOU and Sarra Manning's UNSTICKY'A smart and funny modern romance.' Good Housekeeping**RT REVIEWERS CHOICE WINNER****iBooks Best Romance 2016****Amazon Pick Best Romance 2016**

Sphere

Down Among the Dead Men

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

A nightmare discovery in the boot of a stolen BMW plunges car thief Danny Stapleton into the worst trouble of his life. What links his misfortune to the mysterious disappearance of an art teacher at a private school for girls in Chichester? Orders from above push Peter Diamond of Bath CID into investigating a police corruption case in the Chichester force, and he soon finds himself reluctantly dealing with spirited schoolgirls, eccentric artists and his formidable old colleague, Hen Mallin.

Virago

Jamaica Inn

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Hachette Audio

The Stone Wife

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

The Tooth Tattoo

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

Peter Diamond, head of Bath CID, takes a city break in Vienna, where his favourite film, The Third Man, was set, but everything goes wrong and his companion, Paloma, calls a halt to their relationship.Meanwhile, strange things are happening to jobbing musician Mel Farran, who finds himself scouted by methods closer to the spy world than the concert platform. The chance of joining a once-famous string quartet in a residency at Bath Spa University is too tempting for Mel to refuse. Then a body is found in the city canal, and the only clue to the dead woman's identity is the tattoo of a musical note on one of her teeth. For Diamond, who wouldn't know a Stradivarius from a French horn, the investigation is his most demanding ever. Three mysterious deaths need to be probed while his own personal life is in free fall...Peter Lovesey has been hailed by the critics as 'superlative', 'a master of the genre', 'never puts a foot wrong' and the Peter Diamond series as 'one of the most enjoyable police series around'. This new case for the greatly loved detective will bring new praise and much satisfaction for his legions of fans.

Sphere

The Last Detective

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

Swing, Swing Together

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

After Jerome K. Jerome's Victorian bestseller Three Men in a Boat, rowing on the Thames has become a huge craze. But when several student teachers partake in a midnight skinny dip, one of them finds herself a witness to a body being dumped. The suspects: three men in a boat.When Sergeant Cribb and Constable Thackery begin to investigate, no one will take them seriously. However, refusing to give up, they stick to their trail and follow their supicions upstream towards Oxford...

Sphere

Waxwork

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey