Ian Tregillis - Bitter Seeds - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356501697
    • Publication date:12 Jul 2012
Books in this series

Bitter Seeds

By Ian Tregillis

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An extraordinary and audacious debut novel - and a chilling supernatural retelling of World War II

The year is 1939. Raybould Marsh and other members of British Intelligence have gathered to watch a damaged reel of film in a darkened room. It appears to show German troops walking through walls, bursting into flames and hurling tanks into the air from afar.

If the British are to believe their eyes, a twisted Nazi scientist has been endowing German troops with unnatural, unstoppable powers. And Raybould will be forced to resort to dark methods to hold the impending invasion at bay.

But dealing with the occult exacts a price. And that price must be paid in blood.

Ian Tregillis' Bitter Seeds is a chilling masterpiece - a tale of a twentieth century like our own and also profoundly different.

Biographical Notes

Ian Tregillis is the son of a bearded mountebank and a discredited tarot card reader. He was born and raised in Minnesota, where his parents had landed after fleeing the wrath of a Flemish prince. (The full story, he's told, involves a Dutch tramp steamer and a stolen horse.) Nowadays he lives in New Mexico, where he consorts with writers, scientists and other unsavoury types.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405514538
  • Publication date: 12 Jul 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
A major talent . . . I can't wait to see more — George R. R. Martin, author of A Game of Thrones
Mad English warlocks battling twisted Nazi psychics? Yes please, thank you. Tregillis's debut has a white-knuckle plot, beautiful descriptions, and complex characters - an unstoppable Vickers of a novel — Cory Doctorow
Tregillis delivers a dynamite first novel in Bitter Seeds — SFREVU
Bitter Seeds shines in its characters about which we get to care a lot, and in the style which is just superb . . . the one novel of 2010 I would recommend to anyone who believes that speculative fiction cannot compete with "literary" novels — FANTASY BOOK CRITIC
A damned entertaining novel. If Bitter Seeds is any indication of what's to come, then Tregillis will have a fertile writing career. The novel receives my highest recommendations — SFFWORLD
Bitter Seeds is nothing short of an awesome read as far as I'm concerned. It's a testament to what Tregillis has done here that I'm already of the opinion that he keeps writing then I'll keep reading his work. Can you tell I'm excited? Read Bitter Seeds and you'll see why. — GRAEME'S FANTASY BOOK REVIEW
An excellent first book, and I am eagerly awaiting number two — Elizabeth Bear
Bitter Seeds is an incredible debut that Tregillis should be very noted for. It blends a hodgepodge of literary genius, horror, paranormal and history with some amazing dark tones and incredibly believable, tragically flawed characters . . . This is easily one of the most impressive debut works I've read — BOOKWORM BLUES
Orbit

Beyond the Empire

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers

The adrenaline-fueled, explosive conclusion to the Indranan War trilogy by K. B. Wagers.Gunrunner-turned-Empress Hail Bristol was dragged back to her home planet to take her rightful place in the palace. Her sisters and parents have been murdered, and the Indranan Empire is reeling from both treasonous plots and foreign invasion.Now, on the run from enemies on all fronts, Hail prepares to fight a full-scale war for her throne and her people, even as she struggles with the immense weight of the legacy thrust upon her. With the aid of a motley crew of allies old and new, she must return home to face off with the same powerful enemies who killed her family and aim to destroy everything and everyone she loves. Untangling a legacy of lies and restoring peace to Indrana will require an empress's wrath and a gunrunner's justice.Beyond the Empire is the adrenalin-fueled conclusion to the Indranan War space adventure trilogy by K. B. Wagers - perfect for fans of Star Wars.

Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume Two

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker

World Fantasy Award-winning fantasy author K. J. Parker delivers his most ambitious work yet - the story of a war on a grand scale, told through the eyes of soldiers, politicians, victims and heroes.A soldier with a gift for archery. A woman who kills without care. Two brothers, both unbeatable generals, now fighting for opposing armies. No one in the vast and once glorious United Empire remains untouched by the rift between East and West, and the war has been fought for as long as anyone can remember. Some still survive who know how it was started, but no one knows how it will end. Except, perhaps, the Two of Swords.

Orbit

Places in the Darkness

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Orbit

Shadowborn

David Dalglish
Authors:
David Dalglish

The final breathtaking novel in the Seraphim trilogy by USA Today bestselling author David DalglishThe protective dome has collapsed, and midnight fire rains down upon the five floating islands that house the last remnants of humanity. What started as a small rebellion has grown to all-out war, but Kael Skyborn no longer trusts the mysterious leader Johan, nor his disciples. Bree Skyborn is the Phoenix of Weshern and the face of the rebellion, but her skill is not enough to escape the entire army of Center hunting her down. When she's captured, Kael no longer cares about the war or the call for independence. All that matters is rescuing his sister from the clutches of those who would use her to merge the elemental power of demons with the blood of mankind.Both sides hold their secrets, which could be their ultimate undoing.

Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee
PublicAffairs

Destination Casablanca

Meredith Hindley
Authors:
Meredith Hindley
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume One

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker

World Fantasy Award-winning fantasy author K. J. Parker delivers his most ambitious work yet - the story of a war on a grand scale, told through the eyes of soldiers, politicians, victims and heroes.A soldier with a gift for archery. A woman who kills without care. Two brothers, both unbeatable generals, now fighting for opposing armies. No one in the vast and once glorious United Empire remains untouched by the rift between East and West, and the war has been fought for as long as anyone can remember. Some still survive who know how it was started, but no one knows how it will end. Except, perhaps, the Two of Swords.

Robinson

Norse Myths and Legends

Martyn Whittock, Hannah Whittock
Authors:
Martyn Whittock, Hannah Whittock
Running Press Mini Editions

Zombie Gnome

Andrew Farago, Shaenon K. Garrity
Authors:
Andrew Farago, Shaenon K. Garrity
Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington

Darkness spreads across a land in need of heroesIn the wake of the devastating attack on Ilin Illan, an amnesty has been declared for all Augurs - finally allowing them to emerge from hiding and openly oppose the dark forces massing against Andarra. However as Davian and his new allies hurry north toward the ever-weakening Boundary, fresh horrors along their path suggest that their reprieve may have come far too late.In the capital, Wirr is forced to contend with assassins and an increasingly hostile Administration as he controversially assumes the mantle of Northwarden, uncovering a mystery that draws into question everything commonly believed about the rebellion his father led twenty years ago. Meanwhile, Asha begins a secret investigation into the disappearance of the Shadows, determined to discover not only where they went but the origin of the Vessels that created them - and, ultimately, a cure.And with time against him as he races to fulfil the treacherous bargain with the Lyth, Caeden continues to wrestle with the impossibly heavy burdens of his past. Yet as more and more of his memories return, he begins to realise that the motivations of the two sides in this ancient war may not be as clear-cut as they first seemed . . .

Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett
Hachette Audio

Age of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker

TO CATCH AN ASSASSIN, USE AN ASSASSIN . . . Girton Club-Foot, apprentice to the land's best assassin, still has much to learn about the art of taking lives. But their latest mission tasks him and his master with a far more difficult challenge: to save a life. Someone, or many someones, is trying to kill the heir to the throne, and it is up to Girton and his master to uncover the traitor and prevent the prince's murder. In a kingdom on the brink of civil war and a castle thick with lies Girton finds friends he never expected, responsibilities he never wanted, and a conspiracy that could destroy an entire land.

Orbit

Besieged

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

Orbit

The Legion of Flame

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan

The Legion of Flame is the action-packed second novel in the Draconis Memoria series - an enthralling epic fantasy of magic, adventure and the furious battle to forge an empire.Claydon Torcreek has survived drake-infested jungles, hostile tribes and the cold touch of betrayal - yet his troubles have only just begun.The legendary white drake - believed to be nothing more than a myth - has awoken from its long slumber, with a thirst to reduce the world of men to ashes.One city has already fallen to the drake's formidable legions. More will follow, unless Clay can uncover an ancient secret that lies buried beneath the southern ice.Once again Clay must face unthinkable danger, and this time he carries not just the hopes of his own nation, but the fate of the entire world.

Orbit

The Fatal Gate

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine
Robinson

Back, Sack & Crack (& Brain)

Robert Wells
Authors:
Robert Wells
Orbit

YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson
Piatkus

Power Game

Christine Feehan
Authors:
Christine Feehan
Orbit

Cold Welcome

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon
Orbit

The Shadow of What Was Lost

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington

'A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' GuardianAS DESTINY CALLS, A JOURNEY BEGINSIt has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers. As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden powers of the Augurs, he sets in motion a chain of events that will change everything. To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is . . . And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated, begins to stir.'Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters' Boingboing.net'Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding' Fantasy Faction'Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series' Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog