Glenda Larke - Song Of The Shiver Barrens - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781841496078
    • Publication date:01 May 2008
Books in this series

Song Of The Shiver Barrens

Book Three of the Mirage Makers

By Glenda Larke

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The riveting conclusion to Glenda Larke's acclaimed MIRAGE MAKERS trilogy.

Ligea's son, Arrant, leaves Tyrans for Kardiastan to take his place as Mirager-heir, while Ligea prepares to halt an insurrection. But Arrant's skills as a Magoroth are dangerously inconsistent, and his father, Temellin, finds it difficult to communicate with this secretive young man he barely knows.

Arrant's singular ability to communicate with his half-brother, Tarran - a part of the collective mind known as the Mirage Makers - leads them both towards the possibility of a tragic clash with the encroaching Ravage.

As Arrant's enemies among the Magoroth plot to ruin his family and his future as heir, he begins to realise there is a greater mystery to solve if he is to prevail.

Biographical Notes

Glenda Larke was born in Western Australia and trained as a teacher. She has taught English in Australia, Vienna, Tunisia and Malaysia. Glenda has two children and lives in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, with her husband.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405512565
  • Publication date: 08 Dec 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Orbit

Soulkeeper

David Dalglish
Authors:
David Dalglish
Hachette Audio

The Gutter Prayer

Gareth Hanrahan
Authors:
Gareth Hanrahan

'A ground breaking and extraordinary novel . . . Hanrahan has an astonishing imagination' Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones'Beautifully written. Gripping. Guerdon is the city of my dreams' - Anna Smith Spark, author of The Court of Broken KnivesIn the ancient city of Guerdon, three thieves - an orphan, a ghoul and a cursed man - are accused of a crime they didn't commit. Their quest for revenge exposes a perilous conspiracy, the seeds of which were sown long before they were born.A centuries-old magical war is on the verge of reigniting and in the tunnels deep below the city, a malevolent power stirs. Only by standing together can the three friends prevent a conflict that would bring total devastation to their city - and the world beyond.Set in a world of dark gods and dangerous magic, The Gutter Prayer is thrilling and visceral debut fantasy from an exciting new talent.

Hachette Audio

How Long 'til Black Future Month

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Running Press Adult

The Compendium of Magical Beasts

Dr. Veronica Wigberht-Blackwater, Lily Seika Jones, Melissa Brinks
Authors:
Dr. Veronica Wigberht-Blackwater, Lily Seika Jones, Melissa Brinks
Hachette Audio

The Winter Road

Adrian Selby
Authors:
Adrian Selby
Orbit

Empire of Sand

Tasha Suri
Authors:
Tasha Suri
Piatkus

The Witch Who Courted Death

Maria Lewis
Authors:
Maria Lewis
Orbit

It Devours!

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

From the authors of the New York Times bestselling novel Welcome to Night Vale and the #1 podcast of the same name, comes a powerful new novel about two young people finding their place in the world, and the terrifying, toothy power of the Smiling God.Nilanjana Sikdar is an outsider to the town of Night Vale. Working for Carlos, the town's top scientist, she relies on fact and logic as her guiding principles. But all of that is put into question when Carlos gives her a special assignment investigating a mysterious rumbling in the desert wasteland outside of town. This investigation leads her to the Joyous Congregation of the Smiling God, and to Darryl, one of its most committed members. Caught between her beliefs in the ultimate power of science and her growing attraction to Darryl, she begins to suspect the Congregation is planning a ritual that could threaten the lives of everyone in town. Nilanjana and Darryl must search for common ground between their very different world views as they are faced with the Congregation's darkest and most terrible secret.

Piatkus

An Easy Death: the Gunnie Rose series

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

'Immersive, involving, suspenseful, and intriguing, with a main character you'll love' Lee ChildFrom the No. 1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse series and the inspiration behind HBO's True Blood, comes an electrifying new thriller centered on a young gunslinging mercenary, Lizbeth Rose. Set in a fractured United States, in the southwestern country now known as Texoma, this is a world where magic is acknowledged but mistrusted. Battered by a run across the border to Mexico, gunslinger Lizbeth Rose takes a job offer from a pair of Russian wizards. She may be young, but Gunnie Rose has acquired a fearsome reputation and the wizards are at a desperate crossroads, even if they won't admit it. They're searching frantically to locate the only man whose blood they believe can save their tsar's life.As the trio journey through an altered America, they're set upon by enemies. It's clear that a powerful force does not want them to succeed in their mission. Lizbeth Rose is a gunnie who has never failed a client, but her oath will test all of her skills and resolve to get them all out alive.The Dark Tower meets True Blood in this gritty and wildly entertaining tale of Gunnie Rose. A woman fighting unimaginable odds to keep her people alive after the disintegration of America, this is a surefire hit for fans of The Walking Dead or Westworld.Praise for Charlaine Harris'Harris has a remarkable talent for world building' Booklist'Will leave readers enthralled. [A] fascinating setting and a heroine who's sure to be a new fan favorite'Publishers' Weekly'A master of her craft . . . dazzling' Seanan McGuire, NYT Bestselling author'A gritty, action-filled story with a touch of magic' Anne Bishop, NYT Bestselling author

Orbit

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Rena Rossner
Authors:
Rena Rossner
Orbit

Magefall

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan
Hachette Audio

The King's Blood

Daniel Abraham
Authors:
Daniel Abraham
Orbit

Bloody Rose

Nicholas Eames
Authors:
Nicholas Eames

'Bloody Rose solidifies what Kings of the Wyld proved. Eames writes like a hurricane and has a voice like no one else in this genre' Sam Sykes'Kings of the Wyld was fun, but Bloody Rose is gods-damned epic . . . one of the best books of the year' Fantasy Hive*****Tam Hashford is tired of working at her local pub, slinging drinks for world-famous mercenaries and listening to the bards sing of adventure and glory in the world beyond her sleepy hometown.When the biggest mercenary band of all rolls into town, led by the infamous Bloody Rose, Tam jumps at the chance to sign on as their bard. It's adventure she wants-and adventure she gets as the crew embark on a quest that will end in one of two ways: glory or death.IT'S TIME TO TAKE A WALK ON THE WYLD SIDE*****Reviews for the series:'Bloody Rose is bloody brilliant! It is a book that will make you remember why you fell in love with reading in the first place' The Tattooed Book Geek'Eames once again hits the perfect balance of humor and heart, irreverent references and real emotion' Django Wexler'A rollicking, page-turning, edge-of-your-seat road-trip of a book . . . wonderful' John Gwynne'Absolutely awesome . . . Full of heroes, humor, and heart' Jon Hollins'Eames' narrative voice is one of the best in this generation of fantasy authors' The Quill to Live'Brings brazen fun and a rock & roll sensibility to the fantasy genre' Sebastien de Castell'An entertaining, brilliantly crafted adventure . . . with just the right amount of grit and wit' Bibliosanctum'George R. R. Martin meets Terry Pratchett' Buzzfeed Books

Piatkus

Supercute Futures

Martin Millar
Authors:
Martin Millar
Orbit

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Orbit

A Secret History of Witches

Louisa Morgan
Authors:
Louisa Morgan

Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters and the power of witchcraft - perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora Roberts.'Will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss . . . mesmerising' Tish Thawer'It's true, ma petite. If they know - if they discover what we are - they will try to kill us'Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mere Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her. Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew. The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden.But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history.A Secret History of Witches is a moving historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters - witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift.*SHORTLISTED FOR THE ENDEAVOUR AWARD*'A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft' Carol Goodman, author of Incubus'Deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters' Jordanna Max Brodsky'Enthralling . . . Deeply moving and richly conceived' Kay Kenyon'I loved it. A beautiful generational tale, reminiscent of Practical Magic . . . Grounded and real, painful and hopeful at the same time' Laure Eve'Epic in scope and heartbreakingly tender . . . Recommended for fans of Nora Roberts' Booklist

Orbit

Burn Bright

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs
Orbit

The Black Elfstone: Book One of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

'TERRY'S PLACE IS AT THE HEAD OF THE FANTASY WORLD' Philip Pullman The first book of the triumphant four-part conclusion to the Shannara series, from one of the all-time masters of fantasy.The age of peace that has reigned across the Four Lands is now at an end. An army of invaders, wielding a terrible new magic, is cutting a bloody swathe across the far north . . . The fate of the world now rests on the shoulders of an exiled druid, a conflicted warrior and a young woman struggling to master a powerful magic. As the conflict grows, they will face dangerous adversaries and deadly challenges - and the consequences of their actions will determine the future of the Four Lands.Through twenty-eight novels written over the course of forty years, Terry Brooks's Shannara series has entranced millions of readers around the world. Now, with The Black Elfstone - the first book in the Fall of Shannara - Terry begins to bring his epic vision to a grand conclusion.'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks

Orbit

The Tyrant's Law

Daniel Abraham
Authors:
Daniel Abraham
Orbit

The Dragon's Path

Daniel Abraham
Authors:
Daniel Abraham