Jannie Ho - Bear and Chicken - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Bear and Chicken

By Jannie Ho

  • Hardback
  • £10.99

Humor, sincerity, and a surprise twist ending make Bear and Chicken fall into ranks with Mo Willems and Dev Petty, and the vegetable soup recipe at the end is sure to inspire young chefs to get busy in the kitchen.

When Bear finds a chicken frozen in the winter snow, he brings it home to try to defrost it. As Chicken thaws--um, awakens--he fears that Bear is actually prepping to eat him. Oh no! All signs are pointing to a fateful end for Chicken--being wrapped like a burrito, chopped basil and veggies sitting on the counter, the huge pot on the stove that's just the right size for a chicken to fit inside.

It's almost time for lunch, so Chicken makes a run for it! But in the end, Chicken learns that perhaps he too quickly jumped to conclusions. This funny and clever friendship tale teaches kids that things are not always as they seem, while learning a thing or two about making soup with a friend!

Biographical Notes

Jannie Ho has a BFA in illustration from Parsons The New School of Design and has been an in-house graphic designer at Nickelodeon and Scholastic, as well as art director for TIME Magazine for Kids. Since 2006, she has been doing illustration work full time. Jannie lives in Boston, MA.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780762462667
  • Publication date: 28 Dec 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Running Press Kids
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Alpaca Lunch

Jennifer Churchman, John Churchman
Authors:
Jennifer Churchman, John Churchman
Running Press Kids

The Story of David and Goliath

Running Press, Helen Dardik
Authors:
Running Press, Helen Dardik
Little, Brown Young Readers US

How to Be a Supervillain: Born to Be Good

Michael Fry
Authors:
Michael Fry
Little, Brown Young Readers US

CatStronauts: Robot Rescue

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington
Running Press Kids

The Battle of Junk Mountain

Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Authors:
Lauren Abbey Greenberg
ATOM

A Secret Beat

Rebecca Denton
Authors:
Rebecca Denton
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Books That Drive Kids CRAZY!: This Book Is Red

Beck Stanton, Matt Stanton
Authors:
Beck Stanton, Matt Stanton
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The True Adventures of Esther the Wonder Pig

Steve Jenkins, Derek Walter, Caprice Crane, Cori Doerrfeld
Contributors:
Steve Jenkins, Derek Walter, Caprice Crane, Cori Doerrfeld

The true story of social media sensation Esther the Wonder Pig and her two dads that inspired the New York Times bestselling memoir for adults is now being told in a picture book with adorable illustrations and a message of love.When Steve and Derek adopted a mini pig named Esther, they had no idea that she would turn out to be not-so-mini after all. When her new family saw just how big and wonderful Esther really was, they fell in love--and their lives changed forever. Esther would soon grow too large for her bed, and their small apartment. She got into everything, including her neighbor's tasty garden. So the whole family moved from a small apartment to a big farm, where Esther and her animal friends could fit happily (and get into a little less mischief). Eventually, that farm would become the Happily Esther After animal sanctuary, home to rescued animals of all kinds.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Brother Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Sister Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr

Some sisters are big. Some sisters are little.Some sisters want to be scientists. Some sister want to be mermaids.All sisters are a special part of your family!Following up on his family classics The Mommy Book, The Daddy Book, The Grandma Book, and The Grandpa Book, Todd Parr turns to siblings! With his trademark childlike art, Todd celebrates all different kinds of sisters. Whether they are older or younger, enjoy helping in the kitchen or the garage, live with you or live far away, sisters are always lots of fun and a great part of your family. This sibling celebration is perfect for sisters of all ages, and for older girls and boys who are expecting a new little one. This book is publishing simultaneously with THE BROTHER BOOK.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Neither

Airlie Anderson
Authors:
Airlie Anderson
ATOM

Stranger

Keren David
Authors:
Keren David

Astor, Ontario. 1904.A boy staggers out of the forest covered in blood and collapses at the feet of 16-year-old Emmy. While others are suspicious and afraid, Emmy is drawn to him. Is he really the monster the townsfolk say he is?Astor, Ontario. 1994. Megan arrives from London for her great grandmother Emmy's 105th birthday. It should be a happy family occasion, but Megan is nursing a broken heart and carrying a secret she fears might consume her.One family. Two women. A century of secrets. A timeless love story.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Super Awful Superheroes of Classroom 13

Honest Lee, Matthew J. Gilbert, Joelle Dreidemy
Contributors:
Honest Lee, Matthew J. Gilbert, Joelle Dreidemy

For fans of Captain Underpants or Sideways Stories from Wayside School, this new chapter book series is perfect for reluctant readers.When the 13th Classroom is struck by purple lightning, something strange happens--all of the students get SUPERPOWERS!You might think this was superb, but it was not. (It was sorta silly.) With great gifts comes wild weather, giant roaches, atomic farts, and other tricky troubles. As the students of Classroom 13 are about to learn, getting superpowers is not always super.If YOU could have a superpower, what would it be? The final chapter of each book encourages young readers to write their OWN chapter and send it in to the author, Honest Lee!The Super Awful Superheroes of Classroom 13is the fourth title in a new chapter book series of hilarious stories about a very unlucky classroom. Each story is full of humor, action, and fun that will prompt hours of conversation among friends, families, and classrooms.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Best Worst Thing

Kathleen Lane
Authors:
Kathleen Lane
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Baby Bear's Book of Tiny Tales

David McPhail
Authors:
David McPhail
Piatkus

Differently Normal

Tammy Robinson
Authors:
Tammy Robinson
Running Press Kids

Sesame Street Big Book of ABCs and 123s

Sesame Workshop
Authors:
Sesame Workshop
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The End of the Wild

Nicole Helget
Authors:
Nicole Helget
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Towers Falling

Jewell Parker Rhodes
Authors:
Jewell Parker Rhodes

When her fifth-grade teacher hints that a series of lessons about home and community will culminate with one big answer about two tall towers once visible outside their classroom window, Deja can't help but feel confused. She sets off on a journey of discovery, with new friends Ben and Sabeen by her side. But just as she gets closer to answering big questions about who she is, what America means, and how communities can grow (and heal), she uncovers new questions, too. Like, why does Pop get so angry when she brings up anything about the towers? As the fifteenth anniversary of September 11th nears, Towers Falling explores the thought-provoking question of how kids born after 2001 can find meaning in events they have no personal memory of, but which still have a monumental impact on their families, educators, and communities. In the tradition of her revered body of middle grade work including Ninth Ward, Sugar, and Bayou Magic, once again Jewell deftly weaves historical and socio-political layers into a story that is at its heart about friendship, family, and finding your way in a complicated world.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Mayday

Karen Harrington
Authors:
Karen Harrington