Vern Kousky - The Blue Songbird - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Blue Songbird

By Vern Kousky

  • Hardback
  • £11.99

A celebration of adventure and self-discovery with a modern sensibility. For fans of Jon Klassen and Oliver Jeffers

It's springtime and a young songbird hears the joyous songs of her siblings and desperately wants to sing along-only she doesn't yet know what special tune she can add to their chorus. Encouraged by her mother to leave the nest, the songbird flies off on a quest to find the song that only she can sing. With courage and tenacity, she travels far beyond her golden island home, seeking advice from a crane, an owl, and a mean-looking crow until she finally discovers her own unique voice.

Told in gentle, lyrical prose and with bright, beautiful watercolor illustrations that are rich in detail, The Blue Songbird is sure to become a perennial favorite-a story that teaches children to go on adventures and to discover what makes them truly unique. An empowering story for kids of all shapes, sizes, and singing ability.

Biographical Notes

Vern Kousky was born in Seattle, Washington, and grew up in Pennsylvania. He currently lives in Brooklyn, New York, where he works as an adjunct professor of English for Touro College. His first book, Otto the Owl Who Loved Poetry, was released by Nancy Paulsen Books in 2015 and received Frostburg State University's CLC Book Award as well as a Parent's Choice Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780762460663
  • Publication date: 20 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 40
  • Imprint: Running Press Kids
Running Press Kids

Sesame Street Treasury of ABCs and 123s

Sesame Workshop
Authors:
Sesame Workshop

Join Elmo, Abby, Cookie Monster, and all their friends in this delightful collection of stories all about the alphabet and counting. Help Elmo to decide which letter is his favorite (is it A, B, C, or maybe even Z?) and enjoy silly stories featuring one of each of the twenty-six letters in the alphabet with all your favorite Sesame friends. Next it's time for some numbers fun with kids favorite Sesame characters as they learn the basics of counting from one and beyond! Combining learning with story-time fun, children and parents are sure to welcome this new treasury into their personal library.

ATOM

The Unknowns

Shirley-Anne McMillan
Authors:
Shirley-Anne McMillan

Tilly is perched at the top of Belfast's largest crane. She likes to climb up high at night in order to feel free from a city which, despite the best PR, is still full of trouble and conflict. Eventually, she comes back down to discover her bike is missing and in its place is a boy named Brew. Wearing eyeliner and high-heeled boots, he offers her a drink from his flask of coffee before disappearing into the night. The next morning, Tilly's bike is returned, but tucked into the spoke of the wheel is a card with Brew's number on it. As Tilly learns to trust Brew, he leads her into a world she never knew existed - a world of parties in abandoned houses, completing missions that involve break-ins, and risking everything just to help strangers in need; the world of The Unknowns. What Tilly doesn't anticipate is that they will also make her question everything she was brought up to believe in, and force her to make a choice that will stay with her for the rest of her life.The Unknowns is a story about hope in a city where increasing numbers of young people are struggling to get by, a place where there is no trust in the political system, and where some people still dare to dream.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Vampire Vacation

B. A. Frade
Authors:
B. A. Frade

Best friends Zoe and Mateo are excited for their families' annual winter break vacation together. This year, they're going somewhere new: a ski lodge that promises to give them fun days snowboarding and sledding, and cozy nights with hot cocoa and scary stories around the fireplace. But the last thing they expect is for scary stories to come to life! Enter Tales from the Scaremaster, a mysterious book with a mind of its own that starts writing Zoe and Matt's story. The book weaves a tale of ski lodge neighbors with a bloodsucking secret--could it be that their sneaky, bizarre next door neighbors at the lodge are actually vampires? It's up to Zoe and Matt to outwit and outlast the Scaremaster, and get to the bottom of this vampiric mystery....before they end up vampire victims!

ATOM

Not Yet Dark

Simon P. Clark
Authors:
Simon P. Clark

'There are other places, Philippa. Other dreams and mirrors.' 15-year-olds Philippa and Danny have been best friends for years, but things are starting to change between them. Danny has a new set of friends - the rugby boys - and suddenly whispers of 'Phil the Thrill' start to follow Philippa around school, and she knows exactly where those rumours started. One evening, Philippa escapes to an abandoned seaside house to clear her head, but quickly discovers that she is far from alone. Not only has Danny secretly followed her, the two of them are about to witness something that will change their lives for ever.A mysterious Society is meeting in the house to try to summon Death, and Danny and Philippa are caught up in their dark spell. The pair manages to escape but they soon realise that they're being followed by two children who, as they begin to talk, claim to not be human. Where do these creatures really come from? And what is that they want? Beautifully written and sizzling with magic, Not Yet Dark will take you on a journey to a world where the line between life and death is blurred, stars are in touching distance, and friendship means absolutely everything.'Simon P. Clark is a truly interesting new voice' David Almond, author of Skellig

ATOM

The Nowhere Girls

Amy Reed
Authors:
Amy Reed

Who are the Nowhere Girls? They're every girl. But they start with just three: Grace, the preacher's daughter who unwittingly moved into the old house of a victim whose pain adorns the walls.Bold Rosina, whose heart has become hardened by all of the straight girls who broke it.And misunderstood Erin, the girl who finds more solace in science and order than she does in people.They are brought together by the idea of changing the narrative of a girl they had never met, Lucy Moynihan, the victim of a sexual assault who was victimised further by people who found it easier to believe she had cried wolf than to confront what had really happened to her. A girl who, through the course of one evening, went from an excited teenager who felt wanted by a boy for the first time, to someone else entirely, with 'a voice in the darkness, giving her a new name: Slut'.Together, they form the Nowhere Girls, and decide to avenge the rape of a girl none of them knew.

ATOM

Before the Devil Breaks You

Libba Bray
Authors:
Libba Bray
Little, Brown US

Buried Heart

Kate Elliott
Authors:
Kate Elliott
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Fingers for Halloween

Brandt Lewis, Cori Doerrfeld
Contributors:
Brandt Lewis, Cori Doerrfeld

In this Halloween-themed follow-up to Fingers for Lunch, young readers will burst into giggles as they fit their fingers through die-cut holes and a hungry little monster (played by a parent) tries to gobble up every last one! The monster is dressed in classic Halloween costumes on each spread and is ready for a night of devilish trick-or-treating. But no amount of candy will satisfy its craving for delicious, juicy fingers! As the pages turn and the monster eats its fill, the finger holes disappear one by one until there are no wigglers left and it's time to drift off to sleep.Little readers will be drawn to the bold, colorful illustrations and kid-friendly rhyming text, each page ending with the fun sound word "chomp!" And once all the fingers are gone, it's easy to start back at the beginning and count down all over again!

ATOM

The Savage Dawn

Melissa Grey
Authors:
Melissa Grey

The sides have been chosen and the battle lines drawn. After awakening the firebird, Echo is now the only one with the power to face the darkness she unwittingly unleashed upon the world . . . right into the waiting hands of Tanith, the new Dragon Prince. Tanith has one goal in mind: destroy her enemies, raze their lands, and reign supreme in a new era where the Drakharin are almighty and the Avicen are nothing but a memory.The war that has been brewing for centuries is finally imminent. But the scales are tipped. Echo might hold the power to face the darkness within the Dragon Prince, but she has far to go to master it. And now she's plagued by uncertainty. Is she strong enough to stare into the face of evil and not lose herself in its depths?The war has begun, and there is no looking back. There are only two outcomes possible: triumph or death.

ATOM

Hole in the Middle

Kendra Fortmeyer
Authors:
Kendra Fortmeyer
Little, Brown Young Readers US

What The Dinosaurs Did At School

Refe Tuma
Authors:
Refe Tuma

Refe and Susan Tuma take the wonder of toys coming to life and having their own adventures to a school setting sure to capture the imagination of kids everywhere. Every November, writer and social media master Refe Tuma and his wife, Susan, work into the night to bring their four children scenes from the secret lives of their toys--specifically the nighttime antics of their plastic dinosaurs. But in the follow-up to the hit What the Dinosaurs Did Last Night, these scampish dinosaurs make the trip to school, hidden in a child's backpack. Each scene is photographed in meticulous detail, letting viewers joyfully suspend disbelief and think to themselves--just LOOK at what these diminutive dinos did at school!

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Nuts: Keep Rolling!

Eric Litwin, Scott Magoon
Contributors:
Eric Litwin, Scott Magoon
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Look Out for the Fitzgerald-Trouts

Esta Spalding, Sydney Smith
Contributors:
Esta Spalding, Sydney Smith
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Hate List

Jennifer Brown
Authors:
Jennifer Brown
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Be Who You Are

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr

Be old. Be young.Speak your language. Be proud of where you're from.Just BE WHO YOU ARE!Who better than Todd Parr to remind kids that their unique traits are what make them so special? With nods to everything from race to gender expression to economic background, Todd offers a 2016 twist on the themes that made his all-time best-selling book It's Okay to Be Different such a beloved classic.Todd's collection of work occupies a unique space in the children's book market, addressing topics in a way that feels wholly necessary, inclusive, and appropriate with a sensibility that's wacky, kid-friendly, and fun. The time is right for a book about acceptance in all forms, and we have no doubt this will resonate with many fans new and old.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Secret Life of Squirrels: A Love Story

Nancy Rose
Authors:
Nancy Rose
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Wild Robot

Peter Brown
Authors:
Peter Brown
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Goodbye Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr
Little, Brown

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two (Special Rehearsal Edition)

J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Authors:
J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Mayday

Karen Harrington
Authors:
Karen Harrington