Vern Kousky - The Blue Songbird - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Blue Songbird

By Vern Kousky

  • Hardback
  • £11.99

A celebration of adventure and self-discovery with a modern sensibility. For fans of Jon Klassen and Oliver Jeffers

It's springtime and a young songbird hears the joyous songs of her siblings and desperately wants to sing along-only she doesn't yet know what special tune she can add to their chorus. Encouraged by her mother to leave the nest, the songbird flies off on a quest to find the song that only she can sing. With courage and tenacity, she travels far beyond her golden island home, seeking advice from a crane, an owl, and a mean-looking crow until she finally discovers her own unique voice.

Told in gentle, lyrical prose and with bright, beautiful watercolor illustrations that are rich in detail, The Blue Songbird is sure to become a perennial favorite-a story that teaches children to go on adventures and to discover what makes them truly unique. An empowering story for kids of all shapes, sizes, and singing ability.

Biographical Notes

Vern Kousky was born in Seattle, Washington, and grew up in Pennsylvania. He currently lives in Brooklyn, New York, where he works as an adjunct professor of English for Touro College. His first book, Otto the Owl Who Loved Poetry, was released by Nancy Paulsen Books in 2015 and received Frostburg State University's CLC Book Award as well as a Parent's Choice Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780762460663
  • Publication date: 20 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 40
  • Imprint: Running Press Kids
Little, Brown

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald – The Original Screenplay

J.K. Rowling
Authors:
J.K. Rowling

At the end of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, the powerful Dark wizard Gellert Grindelwald was captured in New York with the help of Newt Scamander. But, making good on his threat, Grindelwald escapes custody and sets about gathering followers, most unsuspecting of his true agenda: to raise pure-blood wizards up to rule over all non-magical beings.In an effort to thwart Grindelwald's plans, Albus Dumbledore enlists Newt, his former Hogwarts student, who agrees to help once again, unaware of the dangers that lie ahead. Lines are drawn as love and loyalty are tested, even among the truest friends and family, in an increasingly divided wizarding world. This second original screenplay from J.K. Rowling, illustrated with stunning line art from MinaLima, expands on earlier events that helped shaped the wizarding world, with some surprising nods to the Harry Potter stories that will delight fans of both the books and films.

Running Press Kids

The 12 Days of Christmas

Jill Howarth
Authors:
Jill Howarth
Little, Brown Young Readers US

If You Ever Want to Bring a Pirate to Meet Santa, Don't!

Elise Parsley
Authors:
Elise Parsley

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Celebrate the Season: Let It Snow!

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Celebrate the Season: Home for the Holidays

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland
ATOM

The Punk Factor

Rebecca Denton
Authors:
Rebecca Denton
Corsair

The Other Mother

Matthew Green
Authors:
Matthew Green
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Thank You, Omu!

Oge Mora
Authors:
Oge Mora
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Crash, Splash, or Moo!

Bob Shea
Authors:
Bob Shea

Calling all daredevils! It's time to play CRASH, SPLASH, OR MOO! in this boisterous picture book with all the excitement of a game show.Mr. McMonkey is your host, and your contestants are America's favorite stunt clam, Action Clam...and a cow! These unlikely daredevils face off in a zany sequence of challenges--and readers get to guess the outcome of all the wacky stunts. Winner gets a Golden Banana!Readers will be laughing, cheering, and giving themselves a round of applause as they play the game over and over again. Bob Shea, creator of many favorite funny books, including Unicorn Thinks He's Pretty Great and the Ballet Cat series, provides endless storytime fun with high-energy audience participation.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Three Grumpy Trucks

Todd Tarpley, Guy Parker-Rees
Contributors:
Todd Tarpley, Guy Parker-Rees

Whirr! Whomp! Grind! Chomp! How long can three busy trucks keep it up before...MELTDOWN? Three toy trucks have big plans for their day at the playground: digging and lifting, building and shifting. But then they start to get tired...and hot...and hungry....They're GRUMPY! When they throw a total truck tantrum, will anyone be able to calm them down?Kids (and parents) may just recognize themselves in this entertaining take on getting grouchy--and getting over it. The lighthearted, rhythmic text will have young readers chanting along, and the bright and buoyant illustrations of the trucks' looming meltdown will keep them giggling!

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rock What Ya Got

Kerascoët, Samantha Berger
Authors:
Kerascoët, Samantha Berger
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Littlest Train

Chris Gall
Authors:
Chris Gall

Chris Gall, creator of the hit series Dinotrux, now breathes life into more than a half-dozen trains that climb, haul, chug, zip, and zoom everywhere from sea to sea. Calling all train lovers: All aboard!In a small room, down a short flight of stairs, there lives a little toy train...about to have a BIG adventure! There's an endless world to explore, and awe-inspiring new friends to meet. Mighty Max, Chloe Cogs, Sara Speedster, and Farley Freighter can reach all the best sights, lickety-split. But when the day is done and the sun goes down, will the littlest train find his way home?

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Thank You and Good Night

Patrick McDonnell
Authors:
Patrick McDonnell
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Thankful Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr

I am thankful for music because it makes me want to dance.I am thankful for my feet because they help me run and play.I am thankful for kisses because they make me feel loved.The perfect book to treasure and share around the holidays and throughout the year is now available as a board book! Todd Parr's bestselling books have celebrated Valentine's Day, Earth Day, and Halloween, teaching kids about unconditional love, respecting the earth, and facing fears, all with his signature blend of playfulness and sensitivity. The Thankful Book celebrates all the little things children can give thanks for. From everyday activities like reading and bathtime to big family meals together and special alone time between parent and child, Todd inspires readers to remember all of life's special moments.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Tool of War

Paolo Bacigalupi
Authors:
Paolo Bacigalupi

From Printz Award winner and National Book Award finalist Paolo Bacigalupi comes the third companion novel in the dystopic Ship Breaker universe. Set in a future swamped by rising seas, depleted resources, corporate government, and civil war, this novel stars the most provocative, most talked-about, most controversial character from Paolo Bacigalupi's highly acclaimed books Ship Breaker and The Drowned Cities, and pulls no punches in exploring the gray areas between what it means to be human--and animal.An attack on the Drowned Cities leaves Tool, a part-human, part-animal super-soldier with heightened physical abilities, on the run. His pack of compatriots is destroyed, and his only allies are humans whom he can't afford to trust. But now he must resist his bioengineered impulse of loyalty toward his masters and embark on an all-out war against those who have enslaved him.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Ernestine, Catastrophe Queen

Merrill Wyatt
Authors:
Merrill Wyatt
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Little & Lion

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert
Sphere

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

J.K. Rowling
Authors:
J.K. Rowling
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Once Upon a Slime

Andy Maxwell, Samantha Cotterill
Contributors:
Andy Maxwell, Samantha Cotterill

A slapstick, fractured fairy-tale mashup meets the evergreen kid obsession with slime.Once upon a time--gloooooooorp! Ew, gross! Who slimed Goldilocks? Was it the Three Bears, exacting revenge? Not a chance! They're next on the list of fairy-tale sliming victims! Red Riding Hood, the Wolf, Rapunzel, the Three Pigs...they're all under attack. Who could be the mastermind behind this icky, sticky plan?Young detectives can look for clues and solve the mystery in this picture book whodunnit that's positively oozing with wit and charm, perfect for fans of Patrick McDonnell's A Perfectly Messed-Up Story.

Piatkus

The Definition Of Us

Sarah Harris
Authors:
Sarah Harris

NORMAL (definition)(adj.) Conforming to a standard; regular, typical or expected(urban) A word inapplicable to human beings(Florence) Round, smooth and bumpy like a cobbled streetFlorence doesn't always see things the way other people do. She feels different. When Florence meets Jasper, Andrew and Wilf she can't imagine they'd have much in common - with at least five mental health conditions between them, they all have very different reasons for being referred to Manor Lane Therapy Centre.It's only when their therapist, Howard, goes missing that they find a common purpose. Worried by his disappearance and wanting answers, the four of them decide to track him down. As they cross the country in a 'borrowed' van, asking each other Ultimate Questions and facing a series of challenges along the way, they start to reveal their true selves - and Florence realises there's more to all of them than just a diagnosis . . . Maybe they're not so different after all? Full of irreverent humour, witty dialogue and characters you can't help but fall in love with, this timely novel is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Jennifer Niven.'This is without a doubt one of the best (if not THE best) YA book about mental health that I've read; Sarah Harris takes such a delicate subject, weaves humour and love and friendship, and creates such a beautiful book' Beautiful Bookland