Cynthia Harrod-Eagles - Necrochip - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Necrochip

By Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Biographical Notes

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is the author of the hugely popular Morland Dynasty novels, which have captivated and enthralled readers for decades. She is also the author of the contemporary Bill Slider Mystery series, as well as her new series, War at Home, which is an epic family drama set against the backdrop of World War I. Cynthia's passions are music, wine, horses, architecture and the English countryside.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751575354
  • Publication date: 18 Oct 2018
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: Sphere
Sphere

Shallow Grave

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Blood Sinister

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Gone Tomorrow

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Dear Departed

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Killing Time: A Bill Slider Novel

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Dead End

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Blood Lines

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Death Watch

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Till the Boys Come Home

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1918 the Great War has taken so much from so many and it threatens to take even more still from the Hunters, their friends and their servants.Edward, in a bid to run away from problems at home, decides not to resist conscription and ends up at the Front. Sadie's hopes for love are unrequited, and Laura has to flee Artemis House when it is shelled and she finds herself in London driving an ambulance. Ethel, the nursery maid, masks her own pain by caring for other people's children but she must take care not to get too attached.The government has to bring in rationing, and manpower shortages means the conscription age is extended. The Russians have fallen out of the war and a series of terrifying all-out attacks drive the Allies back almost to the Channel, and for the first time England faces the real prospect of defeat. No one can see an end to the war and yet, a small glimmer of hope remains . . .When the Boys Come Home is the fifth book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1918, at home and on the front, this is a vivid and rich family drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Sphere

The Long, Long Trail

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1917 the Great War rages on, and for the Hunters, their friends and their servants the war is where they live now.David has returned from the Front a shadow of his former self; his sister Diana, newly married, copes with pregnancy alone, her husband at the Front. Aunt Laura, eager for challenge, goes to France with an ambulance; while Beattie struggles to manage war work and household, while racked with her secret guilt and a new threat of exposure.U-boat attacks face Britain with starvation, and with the worsening privation comes a new horror as Germany begins a lethal bombing campaign. But even in the darkest hours of war, new life and new hope can burgeon, with the promise that the future might still hold happiness for them all.The Long, Long Trail is the fourth book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1917, at home and on the front, this is a vivid and rich family drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Sphere

The Land of My Dreams

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

It is 1916 and the Hunters, their friends and their servants are settling down to the business of war. As conscription reaches into every household, Britain turns out men and shells in industrial numbers from army camps and munitions factories up and down the land. Bobby, the second Hunter son, gains his wings and joins his brother in France. Ethel, the under housemaid, embarks on a quest and Laura Hunter sets out on her biggest adventure yet. Diana, the elder Hunter daughter, finds a second chance at happiness in the last place she'd think of looking, and matriarch Beattie's past comes back to haunt her. But as the battle of the Somme grinds into action, the shadow of death falls over every part of the country, and the Hunter household cannot remain untouched.The Land of my Dreams is the third book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1916, at home and on the front, this is a richly researched and a wonderfully authentic family drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Sphere

Career of Evil

Robert Galbraith
Authors:
Robert Galbraith
Sphere

Keep the Home Fires Burning

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Piatkus

I, Victoria

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

A fatherless girl grows up a virtual prisoner in the shabby backwater of Kensington Palace, despised by her relations, bullied and insulted by her foolish mother's evil genius. Only the core of stubbornness in her nature sustains her as she waits for the day of deliverance - the day she will become Queen of England.She is Victoria; this is her story, recorded in her own words in the last troubled year of her life.With humanity and humour the Queen Empress of half the world looks back over eighty crowded years, remembering domestic crisis and public triumph, war, revolution and the fall of dynasties; remembering most of all the great and abiding love that illuminated every aspect of her life.This is the autobiography Queen Victoria might have written, and reveals the private woman behind the public mask - quick tempered, proud and incurably honest; shy, vulnerable and always, indefatigably, amused.

Sphere

Goodbye Piccadilly

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1914, Britain faces a new kind of war. For Edward and Beatrice Hunter, their children, servants and neighbours, life will never be the same again. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Barbara Taylor-Bradford.For David, the eldest, war means a chance to do something noble; but enlisting will break his mother's heart. His sister Diana, nineteen and beautiful, longs for marriage. She has her heart set on Charles Wroughton, son of Earl Wroughton, but Charles will never be allowed to marry a banker's daughter. Below stairs, Cook and Ada, the head housemaid, grow more terrified of German invasion with every newspaper atrocity story. Ethel, under housemaid, can't help herself when it comes to men and now soldiers add to the temptation; yet there's more to this flighty girl than meets the eye.The once-tranquil village of Northcote reels under an influx of khaki volunteers, wounded soldiers and Belgian refugees. The war is becoming more dangerous and everyone must find a way to adapt to this rapidly changing world.Goodbye Piccadilly is the first book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1914, Goodbye Piccadilly is extraordinary in scope and imagination and is a compelling introduction to the Hunter family.

Sphere

Galveston

Nic Pizzolatto
Authors:
Nic Pizzolatto

'Recalls only the finest examples of the form' Dennis Lehane'The elegance Pizzolatto brings to his heart-wrenching story makes it unforgettable' Daily MailFrom the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere.Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence. Following a fling with his boss's lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive.Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision. He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind.Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke and Breaking Bad.'A good old Southern gothic treat of a road trip through Texas and Louisiana. Think James Lee Burke meets Midnight In The Garden of Good And Evil with shades of Paris, Texas'Sam Baker, The Pool'Terrific dialogue'Kirkus'Pizzolatto's insightful portrayal is rough and tumble real. He vividly captures Galveston in all its desperate vulnerability'Publishers Weekly'A truly original and gifted writer'Litro

Sphere

The Phoenix

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

It is 1931 and the world is still reeling from the aftermath of the Wall Street Crash.Polly Morland has returned to Morland Place, saving it from financial ruin. Her plans to change things are met with resistance, however, and she must prove her mettle in a man's world. Jack, war hero and family man, knows that he must make a change for the sake of those he holds dear so when an opportunity arises that would take him back to York, he seizes it with both hands.In London, Robert is bored with his office job and seeks something grander. Fatherless and dealing with the repercussions of his family's bankruptcy, he must make his own way now that he has been left to the mercy of the world. His sister Charlotte, also frustrated with her life and sure that she will never receive an offer of marriage, longs for something different as well.As the years roll by, the threat of another war hangs in the air and when King Edward VIII takes to the throne, things seem to be on the brink of change once more. But like a phoenix rising up from the ashes, the Morlands prove yet again that they will emerge from whatever they must face stronger than ever before.

Piatkus

Fleur

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
C & R Crime

And Only to Deceive

Tasha Alexander
Authors:
Tasha Alexander
Sphere

Orchestrated Death

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles