Margaret Yorke - The Cost Of Silence - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Cost Of Silence

By Margaret Yorke

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A newly reissued edition of Margaret Yorke's classic crime novel, The Cost of Silence

Emma Widnes might have died at any moment, or she could have lived for years. Her husband, Norman, was certainly the kindest nurse his invalid wife could wish for. But then Norman was so pleasant to everyone - a blameless shopkeeper in a quiet town.

The murdered body of Emma Widnes shocked the most experienced of CID detectives, and soon Bidbury was alive with all manner of dark rumours and idle conjecture. And skeletons could be heard, rattling in the most unlikely cupboards . . .

Biographical Notes

Margaret Yorke began her crime writing career with a series of whodunnits featuring the Oxford don, Patrick Grant, but she found more freedom for her imagination outside the confines of a continuous character. As a result she has become as well-respected as P.D. James and Ruth Rendell.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751572421
  • Publication date: 15 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
Constable

Death of an Honest Man

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
Sphere

Find Me A Villain

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

I Know You Know

Gilly Macmillan
Authors:
Gilly Macmillan

For fans of Serial and Making a Murderer comes this clever, twisty and innovative new thriller by New York Times bestselling author Gilly Macmillan.'Vivid, smart, propulsive. A thoroughly immersive thriller' Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author Twenty years ago, eleven-year-olds Charlie Page and Scott Ashby were murdered, their bodies dumped near a dog racing track. A man was convicted of the brutal crime but, decades later, questions still linger.For his whole life, filmmaker Cody Swift has been haunted by the deaths of his childhood friends. Hoping to uncover new evidence, Cody starts a podcast to record his findings. But there are many people who don't want the case reopened, especially Charlie's mother, Jess, who decides to take matters into her own hands.When another body is found in the same location the boys were left decades before, the disturbing discovery launches another murder investigation. Now Detective John Fletcher, the investigator on the original case, must reopen his dusty files and decide if the two murders are linked. With his career in jeopardy, the clock is ticking and lives are in jeopardy...Praise for Gilly Macmillan: 'Amazing, gripping, beautifully written' Liane Moriarty'Deserves to stay on the bestseller list' Daily Mail'Electrifyingly good. An absolute firecracker of a thriller' Sunday Mirror'A nail-biting, sleep-depriving, brilliant read' Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins'Literary suspense at its finest' Mary Kubica'Deceptively clever' Rosamund Lupton'Utterly gripping' Tim Weaver

Constable

Mrs Jeffries and the Silent Knight

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Mrs Jeffries and the Feast of St Stephen

Emily Brightwell
Authors:
Emily Brightwell
Constable

Vengeance in Venice

Philip Gwynne Jones
Authors:
Philip Gwynne Jones
Sphere

The Mitford Murders

Jessica Fellowes
Authors:
Jessica Fellowes

'A lively, well-written, entertaining whodunit' THE TIMESLose yourself in the sumptuous first novel in a new series of Golden Age mysteries set amid the lives of the glamorous Mitford sisters.It's 1919, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London, and most of all her oppressive and dangerous uncle.Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nurserymaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially sixteen-year-old Nancy - an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories.But when a nurse - Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake - is killed on a train in broad daylight, Nancy and amateur sleuth Louisa find that in postwar England, everyone has something to hide . . . Written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the number one-bestselling Downton Abbey books, The Mitford Murders is the perfect new obsession for fans of Daisy Goodwin, Anthony Horowitz and Agatha Christie - and is based on a real unsolved crime.'An extraordinary meld of fact and fiction' GRAHAM NORTON'True and glorious indulgence. A dazzling example of a Golden Age mystery'DAISY GOODWIN'Exactly the sort of book you might enjoy with the fire blazing, the snow falling. The solution is neat and the writing always enjoyable'ANTHONY HOROWITZ'Oh how delicious! This terrific start to what promises to be a must-read series is exactly what we all need in these gloomy times. Inventive, glittering, clever, ingenious. I devoured The Mitford Murders... so will you. Give it to absolutely everyone for Christmas, then pre-order the next one'SUSAN HILL'All the blissful escapism of a Sunday-night period drama in a book'THE POOL'Keeps the reader guessing to the very end. An accomplished crime debut and huge fun to read'EVENING STANDARD'This story is drenched in detail and feels both authentic and fun. Curl up in your favourite reading spot and enjoy'HEAT'The plan is that each book will focus on a different Mitford sister. On the strength of this initial entry, success is assured'FINANCIAL TIMES'Elegant, whipsmart and brilliantly twisty-turny, this Downton-style mystery had me hooked from the first page'VIV GROSKOP'Full of period pleasure'WOMAN & HOME'An audacious and glorious foray into the Golden Age of mystery fiction. Breathtaking'ALEX GRAY'A real murder, a real family and a brand new crime fiction heroine are woven together to make a fascinating, and highly enjoyable, read. I loved it'JULIAN FELLOWES'Jessica Fellowes' deliciously immersive, effortlessly easy novel has a strong feel for period and a rollicking plot'METRO'What a captivating crime novel and heroine Jessica has created in The Mitford Murders. The instant reassurance of being in the hands of a true storyteller with a feel for period detail makes this a real treat'AMANDA CRAIG'This is a chocolate soufflé of a novel: as the enthralling mystery heats up, so the addictive deliciousness of the story rises. The sort of book you never want to end'JULIET NICOLSON

Constable

Death by Water

Kerry Greenwood
Authors:
Kerry Greenwood

The nice men at P+O are worried. A succession of jewellery thefts from first class passengers is hardly the best advertisement for their cruise liners, particularly when it is likely that a passenger is doing the stealing. Phryne Fisher, with her Lulu bob, green eyes, Cupid's bow lips and Chanel travelling suits, is exactly the sort of elegant sleuth to take on a ring of jewellery thieves aboard the high seas - or at least, aboard the SS Hinemoa on a luxury cruise to New Zealand. With the Maharani - the Great Queen of Sapphires - as the bait, Phryne rises magnificently to the challenge. There are shipboard romances, champagne cocktails, erotic photographers, jealous husbands, mickey finns, blackmail and attempted murder, all before the thieves find out - as have countless love-smitten men before them - that where the glamorous and intelligent Phryne is involved, resistance is futile.

Sphere

The Small Hours Of The Morning

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

The watcher spies late into the night on the enviably cosy domesticity of the Titmuss household. The seemingly happy couple, the loving children, the ordered normality of it all strikes a deep chord in Lorna Gibson, so different is it from the emotional emptiness of her own existence.But over a period of time, the watcher realises the Mrs Titmuss is no longer playing by the rules, and that her behaviour, if allowed to go unchecked, threatens to shatter the harmony of husband Cecil's life. And Cecil is a decent man, as Lorna well knows. He doesn't deserve such an ignominous fate.So the watcher decides to turn observation into action, and save the Titmuss family from inevitable heartbreak. But how far is she prepared to go?

Sphere

The Point Of Murder

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

'She went on making sounds in her throat, her eyes rolling frantically. Breathing heavily, he held her down...She freed a hand and pounded at him, but her didn't feel her blows; then she scratched his face and he released her mouth for a moment. Sandra screamed very loudly, and went on screaming. He had to stop the noise.'It has been the result of a chance encounter, Gary had never intended to kill the girl. But as his initial panic subsided he realised that there had been a witness, someone whose death he would now have to plan - in a premeditated, cold-blooded way . . .

Sphere

No Medals For The Major

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

Criminal Damage

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

Intimate Kill

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

Speak For The Dead

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

Crime In Question

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

Evidence To Destroy

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke
Sphere

The Smooth Face Of Evil

Margaret Yorke
Authors:
Margaret Yorke

On an otherwise unremarkable afternoon, two boys who had spent most of the day paddling about on the dark waters of the old gravel pit pulled in to the side to refresh themselves with Mars Bars and crisps. They made landfall at a slightly different spot from where they had put their canoe into the water that morning, which explained why they had missed it then. They saw the pale white hand of a dead man, partially screened by a bush that overhung the black water of the artificial lake, breaking the surface.Before then Terry Brett, a personable con-man, has 'befriended' Alice Armitage, an elderly and lonely widow, knowing he is on to a good thing. But when he joins forces with Alice's scheming neighbour, his greed takes him further than he had planned - and he finds himself accused of a murder he did not commit ...

Piatkus

Sleep Like a Baby

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Constable

Away with the Fairies

Kerry Greenwood
Authors:
Kerry Greenwood
Constable

The Castlemaine Murders

Kerry Greenwood
Authors:
Kerry Greenwood