Mark Hardie - Burned and Broken - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405534857
    • Publication date:23 Jun 2016
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751562088
    • Publication date:18 May 2017
Books in this series

Burned and Broken

By Mark Hardie

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A gripping, gritty British crime debut - perfect for fans of Peter Robinson, Ian Rankin and Denise Mina.

'Immensely impressive' The Times
'Accomplished' Sunday Times
'A feast of intrigue' Choice magazine

A vulnerable young woman, fresh out of the care system, is trying to discover the truth behind the sudden death of her best friend.

The charred body of a policeman - currently the subject of an internal investigation - is found in the burnt-out-shell of his car on the Southend seafront.

To DS Frank Pearson and DC Catherine Russell of the Essex Police Major Investigation Team, the two events seem unconnected. But as they dig deeper into their colleague's murder, dark secrets begin to emerge.

Can Pearson and Russell solve both cases, before more lives are destroyed?

Biographical Notes

Mark Hardie began writing full time after completely losing his eyesight in 2002. He has completed a creative writing course and an advanced creative writing course at the Open University, both with distinction.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751562064
  • Publication date: 02 Jun 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
The investigation into a copper's dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debut — The Sunday Times
Auspicious debut . . . finely drawn, overlapping story — Geoffrey Wansell, Daily Mail
Emotional, intelligent, sensual & with such a strong voice, Burned & Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success — Harry Illingworth (@Harryillers), Goldsboro Books
A very strong debut by someone whom I believe is going to become a household name. You heard it here first! A great story-line, with very real characters . . . Mark has created a new police partnership, with his main characters DS Frank Pearson and DC Catherine Russell: one from the dark ages of the Met, the other from the wrong side of the tracks. The partnership works really well, as you begin to empathise with the other main characters, plus Donna and Malc, a couple that you aren't likely to forget in a hurry! Read it for yourself, and then tell me that I'm wrong! It does exactly as it says on the cover, 'Burned and Broken' — Sainsburys Entertainment, 5 stars
Immensely impressive. — The Times
A feast of intrigue. — CHOICE magazine
Piatkus

Death in the Stars

Frances Brody
Authors:
Frances Brody
Sphere

Truly Evil

Mark Hardie
Authors:
Mark Hardie

The body of a young woman has been found on the shores of Southend. Already under scrutiny following the murder of a corrupt cop, DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell of the Essex Major Investigation Team are tasked with solving the case quickly, and quietly.When the identity of the victim is revealed by an unexpected source, the list of suspects begins to grow. A young woman knows more than she's saying, but is she involved or covering for someone else? As Pearson and Russell search for answers, they uncover a link with another murder, fifty years before. Could the killer still be at large, or is the truth even more terrifying?

Sphere

Never Let You Go

Chevy Stevens
Authors:
Chevy Stevens

A chilling, twisting thriller that crackles with suspense, perfect for fans of BA Paris and Clare Mackintosh.She thought she'd escaped him forever. But will he ever let her go?Eleven years ago, Lindsey Nash fled into the night with her young daughter, leaving an abusive relationship behind. Her ex-husband ended up in jail and Lindsey started a new life.Now, Lindsey is older, wiser and believes she has cut all ties with the past. But when Andrew is released from prison, strange things start happening. Lindsey's new boyfriend is threatened, her home invaded and her daughter followed.Her ex-husband denies all knowledge, but Lindsey is convinced he's responsible. Because, after all, who else could it be...?'Stevens's taut writing and chilling depiction of love twisted beyond recognition make this a compelling read' Publishers Weekly, Starred Review'Disturbing, suspenseful, and just a little nerve-wracking' Library Journal

Constable

Where She Went

B.E. Jones
Authors:
B.E. Jones
Constable

Agatha Raisin: Something Borrowed, Someone Dead

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

Incomer Gloria French is at first welcomed in the Cotswold village of Piddlebury. She seems like a do-gooder par excellence, raising funds for the church and caring for the elderly. But she has a bad habit of borrowing things and not giving them back, so when she is discovered dead, poisoned by a bottle of elderberry wine, folk in the village don't mourn her passing too intently.Parish councillor Jerry Tarrant hires Agatha Raisin to track down the murderer. But the village is creepy and secretive and the residents don't seem to want Agatha to find who the murderer is, and Agatha's investigations are hampered by the emotional upset of finding her ex, James Lacey, has fallen in love with young detective Toni Gilmour.And now the murderer is targeting Agatha!Praise for the Agatha Raisin series:'M.C. Beaton's imperfect heroine is an absolute gem' Publishers Weekly'Clever red herrings and some wicked unfinished business guarantees that the listener will pant for a sequel' The Times (audio review)

Piatkus

All the Little Liars

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

Sunday Times bestseller Charlaine Harris returns at last to her fan favourite Aurora Teagarden series with a brand new mystery Librarian Aurora Teagarden is basking in the news of her pregnancy when disaster strikes her small town: four children, including her fifteen-year-old brother, Philip, have vanished from the school football field. What's even more worrisome is the dead body found at their last known location. While the local police comb the county for the missing children, Aurora and her new husband, true crime writer Robin Crusoe, begin their own investigation. Could the two incidents have something to do with a group of school bullies? Are Aurora's father's gambling debts related to the disappearance of her brother? Or could it be that Philip himself, new to town and relatively unknown, is the one responsible? With Christmas approaching, Aurora is determined to find her brother . . . if he's still alive.'Aurora Teagarden is back! Newcomers to the series as well as rejoicing long-time readers should leap at the chance to catch up with Aurora.' G.M. Malliet, award-winning author of the St. Just and Max Tudor mysteries

Little, Brown

Darktown

Thomas Mullen
Authors:
Thomas Mullen
Sphere

The Method

Shannon Kirk
Authors:
Shannon Kirk
Constable

Shoot to Kill

James Craig
Authors:
James Craig

When French gangster Tuco Martinez threatens Carlyle and his family, the inspector has to call on the resources and skills of Dominic Silver to try and see him off. But Dom won't do all the dirty work and so Carlyle has to go into hiding. Cut off from his home turf, both literally and metaphorically, Carlyle struggles to cope with the situation while meanwhile, back in London, the charismatic major, Christian Holroyd, is finally spiralling completely out of control.

Sphere

The Bones Beneath

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham
C & R Crime

Death of a Policeman

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

A pen pusher from Head Office soon finds himself pushing up the daisies...Local police stations all over the Scottish Highlands are being threatened with closure and this presents the perfect opportunity for Detective Chief Inspector Blair, who would love nothing more than to get rid of Sergeant Hamish Macbeth. Blair suggests that Cyril Sessions, a keen young police officer, visit the town of Lochdubh to monitor exactly what Hamish does every day. On hearing of Blair's plans Hamish is fully prepared to ensure young Cyril returns back to headquarters with a full report... but before he can do that, Cyril is found dead and Hamish very quickly becomes the prime suspect for his murder...

C & R Crime

A Man of Sorrows

James Craig
Authors:
James Craig

Hunting down a paeodophile priest, Carlyle finds himself up against his old adversary Christian Holyrod. The Mayor of London is responsible for hosting an upcoming visit by the Pope and does not want any more scandals involving the Catholic church. Carlyle, however, is not prepared to let crimes side, putting him on a collision course with both the mayor and the church.Without his sympathetic boss, Carole Simpson, to protect him, could this be the end of the line for Carlyle? Never one to fight only one battle at a time, he also has to deal with an armed robbery at an upscale jewellers in Mayfair... and a serious health scare for Helen, his wife.

C & R Crime

Then We Die

James Craig
Authors:
James Craig

'I need to talk to you... about your father.'Inspector John Carlyle gets the shock of his life when his mother announces she is getting a divorce after 50 years of marriage. But that's nothing compared to the storm that erupts when he stumbles across an execution of a wealthy businessman in a luxury London hotel room.The victim is the latest in a line of bodies being left across London by a ruthless Israeli hit squad. Going up against this deadly crew could prove to be fatal to Carlyle, but compared to his troubles at home, however, tracking them is something of a relief.But the body count continues to rise and then it gets personal... Can Carlyle sweep the killers from London's streets before more innocent people die?

C & R Crime

Death of Yesterday

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

A dead witness. A forgotten crime. Hamish Macbeth never had it so hard as in this newest Highlands mystery!Morag Merrilea is working at the Shopmark Fashions factory during her summer holidays to earn some extra cash. But when the art student complains to Hamish about the theft of her sketchbook in the pub, he doesn't take her too seriously. After all, she had been drinking and can't quite remember what happened... and then turns out to be snippy when Hamish questions her further.But then her body is discovered -- and Hamish is forced to investigate a crime where the only witness has been murdered . . .

C & R Crime

Agatha Raisin: Hell's Bells

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
C & R Crime

The Circus

James Craig
Authors:
James Craig

When the body of journalist Duncan Brown is found in the back of a rubbish truck, Inspector John Carlyle is thrown into the middle of a scandal that threatens to expose the corrupt links between the police, the political establishment and the hugely powerful Zenger media group.Hunting down Brown's killer, Carlyle finds himself going head-to-head with his nemesis, Trevor Miller. A former police officer turned security adviser to the Prime Minister, Miller has dirty money in his pockets and other people's blood on his hands. Untouchable until now, he is prepared to kill again to protect his position - having failed once already to dispose of Carlyle he is not prepared to slip up again...

C & R Crime

Agatha Raisin and the Christmas Crumble

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
C & R Crime

The Sirens Sang of Murder

Sarah Caudwell
Authors:
Sarah Caudwell
Grand Central Publishing

City Of Whispers

Marcia Muller
Authors:
Marcia Muller
Abacus

Jaggy Splinters

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre