Richard Woodman - A Brig Of War - Little, Brown Book Group

A Brig Of War

Number 3 in series

By Richard Woodman

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

This third novel in the classic, acclaimed Nathaniel Drinkwater naval adventure series is perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian and C.S. Forester

Nathaniel Drinkwater is promoted lieutenant of the brig Hellebore, and routine convoy escort duties end abruptly when Admiral Nelson, pursuing the French fleet to Egypt, sends Hellebore to the Red Sea with an urgent warning to the British squadron there. However, Nelson's apprehensions over French ambitions in the East are more than justified. Edouard Santhonax, Drinkwater's old enemy, is already preparing for a French descent on India.

The hunt for this elusive Frenchman and his frigate combine with British naval operations on the flank of Napoleon's Egyptian campaign. The attack on Kosseir spells near-fatal danger for the hero, and Drinkwater is left for dead, with victory over Santhonax a distant hope.

Biographical Notes

Richard Woodman was born in London in 1944. He became an indentured midshipman in cargo liners at 16 and has sailed in a variety of ships, serving from apprentice to captain. He remains a professional sailor and in 1978 won the Marine Society's Harmer Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751559651
  • Publication date: 06 Nov 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley
Orbit

Empire of Sand

Tasha Suri
Authors:
Tasha Suri
Sphere

Little White Lies

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair
Sphere

Maggie Jordan

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair
Sphere

Goodnight, Sweet Prince

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair

Emma Blair once again richly evokes the setting and characters of Scotland during the 30s. Continuing the story she began in Flower of Scotland, Emma invites the reader back into the lives of the Drummond family, who are still dealing with the aftermath of the First World War but now must also face up to the horrors of the Second.Andrew and Rose are running the distillery and have given a job to Jack's son, Tommy. Tommy hates the work and longs to be a pilot but Jack, horribly disfigured after the first war, forbids it. The onset of the new war sweeps aside any such decision . . . Andrew and Rose must cope with the loss of their baby; Andrew tries to manage as Rose's behaviour becomes increasingly bizarre but finds he must also face up to his own failing health . . . An enormously touching story and life, love and death.Praise for Emma Blair:'An engaging novel and the characters are endearing - a good holiday read' Historical Novels Review'All the tragedy and passion you could hope for . . . Brilliant' The Bookseller'Romantic fiction pure and simple and the best sort - direct, warm and hugely readable. Women's fiction at an excellent level' Publishing News'Emma Blair explores the complex and difficult nature of human emotions in this passionately written novel' Edinburgh Evening News'Entertaining romantic fiction' Historical Novels Review'[Emma Blair] is well worth recommending' The Bookseller

Sphere

Fur Coat, No Knickers

Anna King
Authors:
Anna King
Hachette Australia

HMAS Sydney

Tom Frame
Authors:
Tom Frame

The complete and authoritative account of the sinking of the HMAS Sydney, and the finding of her wreck in 2008. On 19 November 1941, the pride of the Australian Navy, the light cruiser Sydney, fought a close-quarters battle with the German armed raider HSK Kormoran off Carnarvon on the West Australian coast. Both ships sank - and not one of the 645 men on board the Sydney survived. Was Sydney's captain guilty of negligence by allowing his ship to manoeuvre within range of Kormoran's guns? Did the Germans feign surrender before firing a torpedo at the Sydney as she prepared to despatch a boarding party? This updated edition covers the discovery of the wreck - with the light this sheds on the events of that day in 1941, and the closure it has brought to so many grieving families. 'Tom Frame has produced the most comprehensive and compelling account of the loss of HMAS Sydney to date. His judgements are fair and his conclusions reasoned. If you only read one book on this tragic event in Australian naval history, and want all the facts and theories presented in a balanced way, Tom Frame's book is for you.' - Vice Admiral Russ Shalders AO CSC RANR Chief of Navy, 2005-08.

Orbit

The Land You Never Leave

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson

Newly and uneasily allied, two tribes from different worlds set off across the Ocean of Grass. Their mission is to fulfil a prophecy and take Ottar the Moaner west of west to save mankind. In their way are the denizens of the Badlands, the most terrifying and powerful collection of murderers and monsters the world has ever seen.

Orbit

Magefall

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan
Orbit

The Dragon Lords 3: Bad Faith

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins
Corsair

The Verdun Affair

Nick Dybek
Authors:
Nick Dybek
Orbit

Soul of the World

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing
Hachette Audio

Beau Death

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

A wrecking ball crashes through the roof of a terraced cottage in Bath and exposes a skeleton in eighteenth-century clothes. Can these possibly be the remains of Beau Nash, the so-called King of Bath, whose body is said to have ended up in a pauper's grave?Peter Diamond, the city's most experienced detective, is ordered to investigate, but grappling with historical events causes ructions in his team until everyone is diverted by a modern killing during a fireworks display on the Royal Crescent lawn.But Beau Nash refusesto be ignored - and when astonishing new facts emerge about the case, Bath's history is rewritten and mysteries ancient and modern are fused in a devastating climax.

Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall
Orbit

Mageborn

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan

'Stephen Aryan puts the epic into Epic Fantasy.' Den Patrick Thousands died when mages sundered the earth and split the sky. It was a war that devastated entire kingdoms. Now one man believes eradicating magic is the only way to ensure a lasting peace. He and his followers will do anything to achieve his goal - even if it means murdering every child born with the ability. 'Aryan's battle scenes are visceral masterpieces that transport the reader deep into the melee' Taran Matharu on Battlemage 'A vivid and rousing adventure with the kind of magic that punches you right in the face' Jen Williams on BattlemageFor more from Stephen Aryan, check out:Age of DarknessBattlemageBloodmageChaosmageThe Age of DreadMagebornMagefall

Orbit

The Remnant

Charlie Fletcher
Authors:
Charlie Fletcher

'The Oversight is most dangerous when most reduced. There are many dead and gone who did not remember that.'The Oversight of London has been sworn for millennia to prevent the natural and the supernatural worlds from preying on each other. Now at its lowest ebb, with its headquarters destroyed and its last members scattered far and wide, this secret society will battle for survival and face the harshest foe it has ever met: itself.'Exciting, exhilarating, scary and moving in equal measure, The Oversight is a teeming world of dark deeds and dark magics, brilliantly realised' - M. R. Carey on The Oversight

Grand Central Publishing

The Nearness of You

Dorothy Garlock
Authors:
Dorothy Garlock
Orbit

YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson

YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE . . .You can't change your fate - so throw yourself into battle, because you'll either end the day a hero or drinking mead in the halls of the gods. That's what Finn's people believe.But Finn wants to live. When his settlement is massacred by a hostile nation, Finn plus several friends and rivals must make their escape across a brutal, unfamiliar landscape, and to survive, Finn will fight harder than he's ever fought before.The David Gemmell Award-nominated author of Age of Iron returns with You Die When You Die - an epic fantasy adventure in which a mismatched group of refugees battle animals and monsters, determined assassins, an unforgiving land and each other as they cross a continent to fulfil a prophecy.'I loved every second of it . . . More please, as soon as is humanly possible!' The Eloquent Page'Hugely entertaining' SFX'A rip-roaring, swiftly paced adventure set in a sprawling and beautifully detailed world . . . sure to win the devotion of plenty of fans' RT Book Reviews'The first book in Watson's new fantasy trilogy is raw, violent, and gritty . . . You Die When You Die blurs the lines between hero and villain into who lives and who dies. He who survives another day wins for the moment; tomorrow might be another story' Booklist

Hachette Books

A Speck in the Sea

John Aldridge, Anthony Sosinski
Authors:
John Aldridge, Anthony Sosinski
Sphere

The Autumn Throne

Elizabeth Chadwick
Authors:
Elizabeth Chadwick

Eleanor of Aquitaine's powerful story is brought to a triumphant and beautiful close by much-loved author Elizabeth Chadwick in the trilogy that began with The Summer Queen and continued in The Winter CrownEngland, 1176Imprisoned by her husband, King Henry II, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Queen of England, refuses to let her powerful husband bully her into submission, even as he forces her away from her children and her birthright.Freed only by Henry's death, Eleanor becomes dowager Queen of England. But the competition for land and power that Henry stirred up among his sons has intensified to a dangerous rivalry.Eleanor will need every ounce of courage and fortitude as she crosses the Alps in winter to bring Richard his bride, and travels medieval Europe to ransom her beloved son. But even her indomitable spirit will be tested to its limits as she attempts to keep the peace between her warring sons, and find a place in the centres of power for her daughters.