Richard Woodman - A Brig Of War - Little, Brown Book Group

A Brig Of War

Number 3 in series

By Richard Woodman

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

This third novel in the classic, acclaimed Nathaniel Drinkwater naval adventure series is perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian and C.S. Forester

Nathaniel Drinkwater is promoted lieutenant of the brig Hellebore, and routine convoy escort duties end abruptly when Admiral Nelson, pursuing the French fleet to Egypt, sends Hellebore to the Red Sea with an urgent warning to the British squadron there. However, Nelson's apprehensions over French ambitions in the East are more than justified. Edouard Santhonax, Drinkwater's old enemy, is already preparing for a French descent on India.

The hunt for this elusive Frenchman and his frigate combine with British naval operations on the flank of Napoleon's Egyptian campaign. The attack on Kosseir spells near-fatal danger for the hero, and Drinkwater is left for dead, with victory over Santhonax a distant hope.

Biographical Notes

Richard Woodman was born in London in 1944. He became an indentured midshipman in cargo liners at 16 and has sailed in a variety of ships, serving from apprentice to captain. He remains a professional sailor and in 1978 won the Marine Society's Harmer Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751559651
  • Publication date: 06 Nov 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

Action-orientated space opera with a spaceship crewed by rogues and scoundrels, perfect for fans of Star Wars, Firefly or FarscapeFor Pyke and his crew it should have been just another heist. Travel to a backwater desert planet, break into a museum, steal a tracking device then use it to find a ship buried in the planet's vast and trackless sandy wastes. Except that the museum vault is a bio-engineered chamber, and the tracking device is sought after by another gang of treasure hunters led by an old adversary of Pyke's, the devious Raven Kaligara. Also, the ship is a quarter of a million years old and about two kilometres long and somewhere aboard it is the Essavyr Key, a relic to unlock all the treasures and technologies of a lost civilisation . . .

Hachette Audio

Empire of Sand

Tasha Suri
Authors:
Tasha Suri

Mehr is a girl trapped between two cultures. Her father comes from the ruling classes of the empire but her mother's people were outcasts, Amrithi nomads who worshipped the spirits of the sands. Caught one night performing these forbidden rites, Mehr is brought to the attention of the Emperor's most feared mystics, who force her into their service by way of an arranged marriage. She discovers that her new husband is a mysterious, enslaved Amrithi with abilities like her own: together they must use every ounce of cunning, power and will they possess to resist the order's cruel agenda - and should they fail, the spirits themselves may awaken seeking vengeance...

Hachette Australia

HMAS Sydney

Tom Frame
Authors:
Tom Frame
Orbit

The Land You Never Leave

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson
Orbit

Magefall

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan
Orbit

Blood of the Gods

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing

'A great epic fantasy debut' James Islington on Soul of the World With its memorable characters, vivid world-building and unique magic systems, Blood of the Gods is the powerful second novel in David Mealing's Ascension Cycle - perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson, Brent Weeks and Brian McClellan. The battle for the city is over, but the aftermath of a revolution is never simple . . . Sarine begins to experience visions, ones which make her dragon familiar sicker every day. Erris pushes toward conquest and the need to expand her territory and restore her power. And, exiled from his tribe, Arak'Jur apprentices himself to a deadly master.Faced with the threat of a return to the days of darkness, the heroes begin to understand the depth of the sacrifices required from them. To protect their world, they'll have to stand and fight once more.Praise for the Ascension Cycle: 'A magical book, almost overflowing with originality . . . Fascinating world, fun characters, and captivating magic' - The Quill to Live'Tense enough to make your spine crack . . . This is one hell of a debut novel' - Bookworm BluesThe Ascension CycleSoul of the WorldBlood of the Gods Chains of the Earth (coming 2019)

Orbit

The Dragon Lords 3: Bad Faith

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins

Will and his comrades went to war to overthrow the reign of dragons, winning battle after battle, gold and, best of all, a reputation as conquering heroes.But now they've angered the gods, these great dragonslayers suddenly need to turn to the dragons for help . . .We won't tell if you don't.'Jon Hollins is a one-of-a-kind storyteller, a master of epic fun and nonstop action' Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the Wyld

Little, Brown

The Little Italian Bakery

Valentina Cebeni
Authors:
Valentina Cebeni
Constable

The Blood

E. S. Thomson
Authors:
E. S. Thomson
Basic Books

Crucible of Faith

Philip Jenkins
Authors:
Philip Jenkins

One of America's foremost scholars of religion examines the tumultuous era that gave birth to the modern Judeo-Christian traditionIn The Crucible of Faith, Philip Jenkins argues that much of the Judeo-Christian tradition we know today was born between 250-50 BCE, during a turbulent "Crucible Era." It was during these years that Judaism grappled with Hellenizing forces and produced new religious ideas that reflected and responded to their changing world. By the time of the fall of the Temple in 70 CE, concepts that might once have seemed bizarre became normalized-and thus passed on to Christianity and later Islam. Drawing widely on contemporary sources from outside the canonical Old and New Testaments, Jenkins reveals an era of political violence and social upheaval that ultimately gave birth to entirely new ideas about religion, the afterlife, Creation and the Fall, and the nature of God and Satan.

Orbit

The Dragon Lords 2: False Idols

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins

'Jon Hollins is a one-of-a-kind storyteller, a master of epic fun and nonstop action' Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the WyldA heist story with a difference: Guardians of the Galaxy meets The Hobbit in this rollicking fantasy adventure.The Dragons who once ruled over the land are dead. The motley crew that stole the dragons' gold and stumbled through a revolution are rich, and praised as saviors. Everyone gets to live happily ever after, right? Well, it might have worked out that way if the dragons in Kondorra had been the only ones. If they hadn't been just the tip of the spear about to fall upon the whole world . . .The Dragon Lords: False Idols combines non-stop action, death-defying adventure and a never-before-assembled cast of wisecracking misfits. This series is a worthy addition to every fantasy lover's horde.

Orbit

Soul of the World

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing
Orbit

YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson
Hachette Books

A Speck in the Sea

John Aldridge, Anthony Sosinski
Authors:
John Aldridge, Anthony Sosinski

In the dead of night on July 24, 2013, John Aldridge was thrown of the back of the Anna Mary while his fishing partner, Anthony Sosinski, slept below. As desperate hours ticked by, Sosinski, the families, the local fishing community, and the U.S. Coast Guard in three states mobilized in an unprecedented search effort that culminated in a rare and exhilarating success.A tale of survival, perseverance, and community, A Speck in the Sea tells of one man's struggle to survive as friends and strangers work separately, and together, to bring him home. Aldridge's wrenching first-person account intertwines with the narrative of the massive, constantly evolving rescue operation designed to save him.

Piatkus

Goodnight, Sweet Prince

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair
Piatkus

Little White Lies

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair

For sixteen-year-old Lizzie McDougall, life in the Glasgow tenements comes as a culture shock after her sheltered upbringing in the Highlands. But for her father, who has just lost his job in the tiny town of Tomintoul, Glasgow offers employment. Her new life enables Lizzie to work in a factory as a seamstress - and it opens her horizons to new friends as well. Especially the spirited Pearl, who introduces Lizzie to her boyfriend Willie, and her cousin, the handsome, happy-go-lucky Jack - a real bobby-dazzler . . . It's not just Lizzie who faces temptation in the big city. Her father Doogie, also working in a factory, is exposed to it in the shape of the buxom Daisy. He moved here for the sake of his family's future, but now he's in danger of throwing that future away. Praise for Emma Blair:'An engaging novel and the characters are endearing - a good holiday read' Historical Novels Review'All the tragedy and passion you could hope for . . . Brilliant' The Bookseller'Romantic fiction pure and simple and the best sort - direct, warm and hugely readable. Women's fiction at an excellent level' Publishing News'Emma Blair explores the complex and difficult nature of human emotions in this passionately written novel' Edinburgh Evening News'Entertaining romantic fiction' Historical Novels Review'[Emma Blair] is well worth recommending' The Bookseller

Sphere

Exposed

Roberta Kray
Authors:
Roberta Kray
Little, Brown

Landfalls

Naomi J. Williams
Authors:
Naomi J. Williams

An epic voyage, undertaken with the grandest of ambitions.Lapérouse leaves France in the Spring of 1785 with two ships under his command, knowing that he sails with the full backing of the French government. This is to be a voyage of scientific and geographical discovery - but every person on board has their own hopes, ambitions and dreams. As the ships move across vast distances in their journey of nearly four years, the different characters step forward and invite us into their world. From the remote Alaskan bay where a dreadful tragedy unfolds, to the wild journey Barthélemy de Lessups undertakes from the far east of Russia to St Petersburg, the reader is irresistibly drawn into a extraordinarily vivid world. Landfalls is a profoundly moving and intensely evocative novel about scientific exploration, human endeavour and individual tragedy,

Sphere

Uprising

Jack Whyte
Authors:
Jack Whyte
Robinson

A Brief History of the Battle of Agincourt

Christopher Hibbert
Authors:
Christopher Hibbert

There can be few military victories so complete, or achieved against such heavy odds, as that won by Henry V on 25 October 1415 against Charles VI's army at Agincourt. In the words of one contemporary French chronicler, it was the 'most disgraceful event that had ever happened to the Kingdom of France'.Christopher Hibbert's wonderfully concise account draws on the unusual number of contemporary sources available to historians to describe in lucid detail not only what happened, but how it happened. His classic account of the crushing defeat of the French at Agincourt combines historical rigour with a vigorous and very readable narrative style.