Richard Woodman - A Brig Of War - Little, Brown Book Group

A Brig Of War

Number 3 in series

By Richard Woodman

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

This third novel in the classic, acclaimed Nathaniel Drinkwater naval adventure series is perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian and C.S. Forester

Nathaniel Drinkwater is promoted lieutenant of the brig Hellebore, and routine convoy escort duties end abruptly when Admiral Nelson, pursuing the French fleet to Egypt, sends Hellebore to the Red Sea with an urgent warning to the British squadron there. However, Nelson's apprehensions over French ambitions in the East are more than justified. Edouard Santhonax, Drinkwater's old enemy, is already preparing for a French descent on India.

The hunt for this elusive Frenchman and his frigate combine with British naval operations on the flank of Napoleon's Egyptian campaign. The attack on Kosseir spells near-fatal danger for the hero, and Drinkwater is left for dead, with victory over Santhonax a distant hope.

Biographical Notes

Richard Woodman was born in London in 1944. He became an indentured midshipman in cargo liners at 16 and has sailed in a variety of ships, serving from apprentice to captain. He remains a professional sailor and in 1978 won the Marine Society's Harmer Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751559651
  • Publication date: 06 Nov 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sphere
Orbit

Sixteen Ways to Defend a Walled City

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Sphere

The Honeytrap

Roberta Kray
Authors:
Roberta Kray

***The Honeytrap was previously published in 4 separate ebook parts.***This is the whole novella, combined in ebook for the first time.'A cracking good read' JESSIE KEANE'Well into Martina Cole territory'INDEPENDENT'Great writing, gripping story, loved it!'MANDASUE HELLER********Harry Lind isn't a huge fan of the honeytrap side of his detective business, but it is effective. So when there are no male 'honeytraps' available for a client, he realises her has to put his money where his mouth is and step up.Then one day he runs into an old acquaintance when he's on the job and things get a lot worse. Ellen Shaw is trouble with a capital T but why is she talking to Danny Street, one of the most notorious gangsters in the East End? Suddenly, Harry feels as though he's about to get involved in a different kind of trap altogether . . .Full of strong characters and authentic East End gangland action, The Honeytrap is an enthralling read from the author of No Mercy and Streetwise.Praise for Roberta Kray:'Action, intrigue and a character-driven plot . . . sure to please any crime fiction fans'Woman'Gripping' Daily Express

Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley
Hachette Australia

HMAS Sydney

Tom Frame
Authors:
Tom Frame
Little, Brown US

The Hellfire Club

Jake Tapper
Authors:
Jake Tapper
Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall
Sphere

Survivor

Roberta Kray
Authors:
Roberta Kray

'Well into Martina Cole territory' Independent THE ADDICTIVE NEW THRILLER: NO ONE KNOWS CRIME LIKE KRAYLolly has always known her mum was different. Sometimes Angela Bruce was ill in a quiet sort of way, but other times she roamed the Mansfield estate shouting about whatever had wormed its way into her head that day. Either way, Lolly was on her own so she learned how to look after herself pretty quickly.Mal Fury has never got over the disappearance of his daughter all those years ago, but there's still hope because the police never found Kay's body. So when his private investigator turns up a lead that connects Kay to Lolly, Mal needs to find out more. But in doing so, he's delving into a decades-old mystery that could throw Lolly's entire world into chaos and she'll need every ounce of her survival instinct if she's to make it out the other side . . .

Constable

Dark Asylum

E. S. Thomson
Authors:
E. S. Thomson
Hachette Books

A Speck in the Sea

John Aldridge, Anthony Sosinski
Authors:
John Aldridge, Anthony Sosinski
Sphere

The Land of My Dreams

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

It is 1916 and the Hunters, their friends and their servants are settling down to the business of war. As conscription reaches into every household, Britain turns out men and shells in industrial numbers from army camps and munitions factories up and down the land. Bobby, the second Hunter son, gains his wings and joins his brother in France. Ethel, the under housemaid, embarks on a quest and Laura Hunter sets out on her biggest adventure yet. Diana, the elder Hunter daughter, finds a second chance at happiness in the last place she'd think of looking, and matriarch Beattie's past comes back to haunt her. But as the battle of the Somme grinds into action, the shadow of death falls over every part of the country, and the Hunter household cannot remain untouched.The Land of my Dreams is the third book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1916, at home and on the front, this is a richly researched and a wonderfully authentic family drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Sphere

When the War Is Over

Barbara Fox
Authors:
Barbara Fox
Sphere

The Little Flower Shop by the Sea

Ali McNamara
Authors:
Ali McNamara

The blossom is out in the little Cornish harbour town of St FelixBut Poppy Carmichael's spirits aren't lifted by the pretty West Country spring. Inheriting her grandmother's flower shop has forced her to return to Cornwall, a place that holds too many memories. Poppy is determined to do her best for the sake of her adored grandmother, but she struggles with the responsibility of the more-shabby-than-chic shop. And with the added complication of Jake, the gruff but gorgeous local flower grower, Poppy is very tempted to run away... The pretty little town has a few surprises in store for Poppy. With new friends to help her and romance blooming, it's time for Poppy to open her heart to St Felix and to the special magic of a little flower shop by the sea!Let Ali McNamara, author of the much-loved From Notting Hill with Love...Actually, bring some sparkling sunshine into your life

Constable

Murphy's Law

Rhys Bowen
Authors:
Rhys Bowen

Murphy's Law is the captivating first entry of Rhys Bowen's New York Times bestselling Molly Murphy series.Meet Molly Murphy, a resourceful young woman who lives by her own set of laws...Molly Murphy always knew she'd end up in trouble, just as her mother had predicted. So when she commits murder in self-defence, she flees her cherished Ireland for the anonymous shores of America. When she arrives in New York and sees the welcoming promise of freedom in the Statue of Liberty, Molly begins to breathe a little easier. But when a man is murdered on Ellis Island, a man Molly was seen arguing with, she becomes a prime suspect in the crime.If she can't clear her name, Molly will be sent back to Ireland where the gallows await, so using her Irish charm and sharp wit, she escapes Ellis Island and sets out to find the wily killer on her own. Pounding the notorious streets of Hell's Kitchen and the Lower East Side, Molly undertakes a desperate mission to clear her name before her deadly past comes back to haunt her new future.'Irish humour and gritty determination... with charm and optimism.' Anne Perry'Delightful... as ever, Bowen does a splendid job of capturing the flavour of early twentieth-century New York and bringing to life its warm and human inhabitants.' Publishers Weekly'Molly grows ever more engaging against a vibrant background of New York's dark side at the turn of the century.' Kirkus Reviews

Sphere

The Rising Gale: Nathaniel Drinkwater Omnibus 1

Richard Woodman
Authors:
Richard Woodman
Sphere

Raging Seas: Nathaniel Drinkwater Omnibus 2

Richard Woodman
Authors:
Richard Woodman
Sphere

The Bomb Vessel

Richard Woodman
Authors:
Richard Woodman
Sphere

The Corvette

Richard Woodman
Authors:
Richard Woodman

The frozen splendour of the Arctic Ocean and the absorbing drama of a nineteenth-century whale hunt unfold in The Corvette. Rewarded by promotion for his services at the Battle of Copenhagen, Commander Drinkwater is dispatched in haste to replace the captain of the Melusine, who has been shot in a duel. The ship sails as an escort to a whaling fleet on its annual expedition to the Greenland Sea. During the whale hunt the loss of one of the vessels sets off a chain of misfortune. Disaster, death and treachery result. To repair his ship, Drinkwater seeks shelter off the Greenland coast and finds more hazards than the Arctic alone can produce, and it is here that Drinkwater makes the most difficult decision of his career.

Sphere

1805

Richard Woodman
Authors:
Richard Woodman

It is the summer of 1804 and Napoleon is massing his vast army for the invasion of England. Nathaniel Drinkwater has command of HMS Antigone, and he and his men are sent to patrol the Channel coast, helping the Royal Navy maintain a blockade of the enemy's ports. As Nelson's and Napoleon's mighty fleets draw closer to one another, Drinkwater is unprepared for the role that destiny deals him when he becomes a prisoner of the French and suddenly finds himself on the wrong side of the British bombardment.

Sphere

Baltic Mission

Richard Woodman
Authors:
Richard Woodman

Captain Nathaniel Drinkwater's frigate, HMS Antigone, is ordered to the Baltic Sea in the spring of 1807 as Napoleon's grip has begun to reach across Europe to the borders of Holy Russia. As country after country falls under the weight of French domination, Captain Drinkwater is faced with the challenges brought about by military disaster and diplomatic intrigue. On board the Antigone, Drinkwater is threatened by the seething discontent of his crew and the instability of his drunken first lieutenant. Drinkwater's task is to cooperate with his country's allies and intelligence agents. When a coded message is intercepted, his mission suddenly becomes one of extreme personal danger. As the fate of Europe is being decided, Drinkwater must carry out his mission in the face of his old enemy. This final confrontation brings him to the brink of death.

Sphere

In Distant Waters

Richard Woodman
Authors:
Richard Woodman