Peter Lovesey - The Stone Wife - Little, Brown Book Group

The Stone Wife

By Peter Lovesey

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The new Peter Diamond case has the eminent detective in pursuit of a murderer after a theft at an auction house goes wrong

Just as the bidding gets exciting in a Bath auction house, three armed men stage a hold-up and attempt to steal Lot 129, a medieval carving of the Wife of Bath. The highest bidder, appalled to have the prize snatched away, tries to stop them and is shot dead.

Peter Diamond, head of the murder squad, soon finds himself sharing an office with the stone wife - until he is ejected. To his extreme annoyance the lump of stone appears to exert a malign influence over him and his investigation. Refusing to be beaten, he rallies his team and begins finding suspects and motives.

The case demands that someone goes undercover. The dangerous mission falls to Sergeant Ingeborg Smith, reverting to her journalist persona to get the confidence of a wealthy local criminal through his pop star girlfriend. And soon, murder makes a reappearance . . .

Biographical Notes

Peter Lovesey was born in Middlesex and studied at Hampton Grammar School and Reading University, where he met his wife Jax. He won a competition with his first crime fiction novel, Wobble to Death, and has never looked back, with his numerous books winning and being shortlisted for nearly all the prizes in the international crime writing world.
He was Chairman of the Crime Writers' Association and has been presented with Lifetime Achievement awards both in the UK and the US.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751554076
  • Publication date: 05 Feb 2015
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Sphere
With more violence than we normally associate with Lovesey, this is well up to his high standard of story telling. It will hold you to the deckchair even if the sun is not shining — Daily Mail
In his lengthy career, veteran novelist Peter Lovesey has supplied the most diverting (and elegantly written) crime fiction, very much the case in this latest novel...Lovesey admirers need not hesitate — Good Book Guide
[A] lively, surprise-filled police procedural — Wall Street Journal
The murder mystery is solved along traditional lines, but it's the wonderful tidbits of Chaucerian scholarship that enliven the novel — New York Times
Mr Lovesey more than lives up to his reputation as a brilliant wordsmith, he exceeds it. Superintendent Peter Diamond is a warm, witty and wonderful creation by one of England's most talented crime writers — New York Journal of Books
Peter Diamond is back, embroiled in a mystery that offers a wealth of wit and a true puzzle linked to a historical literary genius . . . As always, the character and his team are sharp, funny, and grab the reader's attention from beginning to end — Suspense magazine
I consider Lovesey to be the reigning king of British crime fiction — Deadly Pleasures
Well-plotted, with that lovely unexpected twist at the end that makes mystery fiction so fascinating. Highly recommended — Mystery People
Piatkus

Death in the Stars

Frances Brody
Authors:
Frances Brody
Sphere

Another One Goes Tonight

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

Peter Diamond, the Bath detective brilliant at rooting out murder, is peeved at being diverted to Professional Standards to enquire into a police car accident. Arriving late at the scene, he discovers an extra victim thrown onto an embankment - unconscious and unnoticed. Diamond administers CPR, but no one can say whether the elderly tricyclist will pull through.But why had the man been out in the middle of the night with an urn containing human ashes? Diamond 's suspicions grow after he identifies the accident victim as Ivor Pellegrini, a well-known local eccentric and railway enthusiast. A search of Pellegrini's workshop proves beyond question that he is involved in a series of uninvestigated deaths. While Pellegrini lingers on life support, Diamond wrestles with the appalling possibility that he has saved the life of a serial killer. . .

Constable

Where She Went

B.E. Jones
Authors:
B.E. Jones

TV journalist Melanie Black wakes up one morning next to a man she doesn't remember. It's not the first time - but he ignores her even though she's in his bed. Yet when his wife walks in with a cup of tea he greets her with a smile and to her horror, Melanie comes to realise that no one can see or hear her - because she is dead.But has she woken up next to her murderer? And where is her body? Why is she an invisible and uninvited guest in a house she can't leave; is she tied to this man forever? Is Melanie being punished in some way, or being given a chance to make amends?As she begins to piece together the last days of her life and circumstances leading up to her own death it becomes clear she has to make a choice: bring her killer to justice, or wreak her own punishment on the man who murdered her.Advance praise for Bev Jones:'I got completely sucked in by this . . . If Rebecca had written Rebecca what you'd get is Where She Went. An irresistible voice, a unique predicament and a cast of characters that plays acid jazz on your heartstrings. Hard to take and impossible to look away' Catriona McPherson

Constable

Agatha Raisin: Something Borrowed, Someone Dead

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
Piatkus

All the Little Liars

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Little, Brown

Darktown

Thomas Mullen
Authors:
Thomas Mullen
Sphere

Down Among the Dead Men

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

The Method

Shannon Kirk
Authors:
Shannon Kirk

Kidnapped? Helpless? Looks can be deceiving... 'Disturbing, fresh, gripping and unforgettable' Heat'Deft ... refreshing ... Shannon Kirk is a writer to watch' Stylist'Completely original' Lisa Gardner'A monster twist' GlamourYou're sixteen, you're pregnant and you've been kidnapped.If you're anyone else you give in, but if you're a manipulative prodigy you fight back in the only way you can. You use what you've been given against your captors.You have only one chance to save your life and that of your unborn child. You're calculating, methodical, and as your kidnappers are about to discover, they made a big mistake in abducting you.What happens when the victim is just as dangerous as the captors?A dark, gripping and unique thriller that introduces a kickass new heroine - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Karin Slaughter.'A riveting debut novel ... welcome to a thrilling new voice in crime fiction' Boston Globe'A dark, literate page turner, utterly compelling. I read it in one sitting' Leonard Rosen, author of All Cry Chaos'This exciting tale builds to a surprising climax' Publishers Weekly

Sphere

Rough Cider

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

The False Inspector Dew

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

The House Sitter

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

The Bones Beneath

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham
Sphere

Diamond Dust

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

The Tooth Tattoo

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

Bloodhounds

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

Winner of the Crime Writers Association Silver Dagger, the Barry Award and the Macavity Award.'Darling, if ever I've met a group of potential murderers anywhere, it's the Bloodhounds.' Thus says one of the members of the Bloodhounds of Bath, a society that meets in a crypt to discuss crime novels. But to their latest recruit, they seem just a gaggle of dotty misfits, until one of them reveals that he is in possession of an immensely valuable stamp, recently stolen from the Postal Museum.Then theft is overtaken by murder when the corpse of one of the Bloodhounds is found in a locked houseboat, with the only key in the possession of a man with a perfect alibi. Burly Peter Diamond finds himself embroiled in a mystery evoking the classic crime puzzles of John Dickson Carr.

Sphere

Mad Hatter's Holiday

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

It's 1882 and Albert Moscrop is holidaying in Brighton, his time dedicated to taking in the seaside scenes, no matter how private. Marching down Queen's Road to the beach, he draws us straight into a compelling drama played out in the fashionable haunts of the nineteenth-century resort: beach, pier, promenade, swimming bath and Devil's Dyke. A keen observer, Moscrop is fascinated by one particular family - the Protheros; and in particular the beautiful Zena Prothero, excessively taken for granted by her husband. Gradually, Moscrop moves into the circle of the Prothero family, only to become involved in a sensational and gruesome murder which horrifies all of Brighton. The local police seek the help of Scotland Yard, provided in the persons of Sergeant Cribb and Constable Thackeray. Once there, they find themselves facing the strangest case of their careers, one just as mystifying as it is macabre.

Sphere

Invitation to a Dynamite Party

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

A Case of Spirits

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Sphere

Swing, Swing Together

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

After Jerome K. Jerome's Victorian bestseller Three Men in a Boat, rowing on the Thames has become a huge craze. But when several student teachers partake in a midnight skinny dip, one of them finds herself a witness to a body being dumped. The suspects: three men in a boat.When Sergeant Cribb and Constable Thackery begin to investigate, no one will take them seriously. However, refusing to give up, they stick to their trail and follow their supicions upstream towards Oxford...

Sphere

Waxwork

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey

By her own confession, the beautiful Miriam Cromer is a murderess. She is sentenced to death for the killing of her husband's assistant, and the hangman travels to London to earn his fee. Then the Home Office is sent a photograph that casts doubt on her confession, and the matter must be investigated - fast. Sergeant Cribb is called in, but his investigations produce nothing to ease the minds of the authorities. As he plunges deeper into the relationships and history of the intimate group connected with the murder, he becomes increasingly suspicious that something very different indeed happened at Park Lodge, Kew Green, on that March day in 1888.