Shamini Flint - Inspector Singh Investigates: A Bali Conspiracy Most Foul - Little, Brown Book Group

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Bali Conspiracy Most Foul

Number 2 in series

By Shamini Flint

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

An exciting new international crime series with a truly memorable detective hero

Inspector Singh is back, but this time on secondment to Bali. A bomb has exploded and Singh has been sent to help with anti-terrorism efforts. But there's a slight problem: he knows squat about hunting terrorists. He's much better suited to solving murder!

So when a body is discovered in the wreckage, killed by a bullet before the bomb went off, Singh should be the one to find the answers - especially with the help of a wily Australian copper by his side. But simple murders are never as simple as they seem - and this one has far-reaching global consequences . . .

Biographical Notes

Shamini Flint is a Cambridge graduate and was a lawyer with the UK firm Linklaters for ten years, travelling extensively in Asia during that period, before giving up her practice to concentrate on writing. She is the author of several children's books.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780749929763
  • Publication date: 03 Sep 2009
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Piatkus
Piatkus

Death in the Stars

Frances Brody
Authors:
Frances Brody

Yorkshire, 1927. Eclipse fever grips the nation, and when beloved theatre star Selina Fellini approaches trusted sleuth Kate Shackleton to accompany her to a viewing party at Giggleswick School Chapel, Kate suspects an ulterior motive.During the eclipse, Selina's friend and co-star Billy Moffatt disappears and is later found dead in the chapel grounds. Kate can't help but dig deeper and soon learns that two other members of the theatre troupe died in similarly mysterious circumstances in the past year. With the help of Jim Sykes and Mrs Sugden, Kate sets about investigating the deaths - and whether there is a murderer in the company.When Selina's elusive husband Jarrod, injured in the war and subject to violent mood swings, comes back on the scene, Kate begins to imagine something far deadlier at play, and wonders just who will be next to pay the ultimate price for fame . . .

Constable

Where She Went

B.E. Jones
Authors:
B.E. Jones
Constable

Agatha Raisin: Something Borrowed, Someone Dead

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton
Piatkus

All the Little Liars

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

Sunday Times bestseller Charlaine Harris returns at last to her fan favourite Aurora Teagarden series with a brand new mystery Librarian Aurora Teagarden is basking in the news of her pregnancy when disaster strikes her small town: four children, including her fifteen-year-old brother, Philip, have vanished from the school football field. What's even more worrisome is the dead body found at their last known location. While the local police comb the county for the missing children, Aurora and her new husband, true crime writer Robin Crusoe, begin their own investigation. Could the two incidents have something to do with a group of school bullies? Are Aurora's father's gambling debts related to the disappearance of her brother? Or could it be that Philip himself, new to town and relatively unknown, is the one responsible? With Christmas approaching, Aurora is determined to find her brother . . . if he's still alive.'Aurora Teagarden is back! Newcomers to the series as well as rejoicing long-time readers should leap at the chance to catch up with Aurora.' G.M. Malliet, award-winning author of the St. Just and Max Tudor mysteries

Little, Brown

Darktown

Thomas Mullen
Authors:
Thomas Mullen

Atlanta, 1948. In this city, all crime is black and white.On one side of the tracks are the rich, white neighbourhoods; on the other, Darktown, the African-American area guarded by the city's first black police force of only eight men. These cops are kept near-powerless by the authorities: they can't arrest white suspects; they can't drive a squad car; they must operate out of a dingy basement.When a poor black woman is killed in Darktown having been last seen in a car with a rich white man, no one seems to care except for Boggs and Smith, two black cops from vastly different backgrounds. Pressured from all sides, they will risk their jobs, the trust of their community and even their own lives to investigate her death.Their efforts bring them up against a brutal old-school cop, Dunlow, who has long run Darktown as his own turf - but Dunlow's idealistic young partner, Rakestraw, is a young progressive who may be willing to make allies across colour lines . . .Soon to be a major TV series from Jamie Foxx and Sony Pictures Television.

Piatkus

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Frightfully English Execution

Shamini Flint
Authors:
Shamini Flint

Inspector Singh is irate. He's been instructed to attend a Commonwealth conference on policing in London: a job for paper pushers, not real cops, as far as he is concerned.And as if that isn't bad enough, his wife is determined to come along to shop for souvenirs and visit previously unknown relatives. But it isn't long before the cold case that lands on Singh's ample lap turns into a hot potato and he has to outwit Scotland Yard, his wife and London's finest criminals to prevent more frightful executions from occurring on his watch - or indeed, from being added to their number.

Constable

Death of a Nurse

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

James Harrison has recently moved to a restored hunting lodge in Sutherland with his gorgeous private nurse Gloria Dainty. When Hamish visits Mr. Harrison to welcome him to the neighborhood, the old man treats him very rudely. Gloria apologises for her employer's behavior, and Hamish takes the plunge and invites her out for dinner. On the appointed evening, Hamish waits for Gloria at the restaurant. And waits. But Gloria never shows up.Four days later, Gloria's body washes up on the beach near Braikie. She's been strangled. Now, without a date and without his former policeman Dick Fraser - who left the force to buy a bakery - Hamish must find out who killed the beautiful new resident of Sutherland, and why, before the murderer strikes again . . .

Sphere

The Method

Shannon Kirk
Authors:
Shannon Kirk

Kidnapped? Helpless? Looks can be deceiving... 'Disturbing, fresh, gripping and unforgettable' Heat'Deft ... refreshing ... Shannon Kirk is a writer to watch' Stylist'Completely original' Lisa Gardner'A monster twist' GlamourYou're sixteen, you're pregnant and you've been kidnapped.If you're anyone else you give in, but if you're a manipulative prodigy you fight back in the only way you can. You use what you've been given against your captors.You have only one chance to save your life and that of your unborn child. You're calculating, methodical, and as your kidnappers are about to discover, they made a big mistake in abducting you.What happens when the victim is just as dangerous as the captors?A dark, gripping and unique thriller that introduces a kickass new heroine - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Karin Slaughter.'A riveting debut novel ... welcome to a thrilling new voice in crime fiction' Boston Globe'A dark, literate page turner, utterly compelling. I read it in one sitting' Leonard Rosen, author of All Cry Chaos'This exciting tale builds to a surprising climax' Publishers Weekly

Constable

Shoot to Kill

James Craig
Authors:
James Craig
Sphere

The Bones Beneath

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham
C & R Crime

Death of a Policeman

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

A pen pusher from Head Office soon finds himself pushing up the daisies...Local police stations all over the Scottish Highlands are being threatened with closure and this presents the perfect opportunity for Detective Chief Inspector Blair, who would love nothing more than to get rid of Sergeant Hamish Macbeth. Blair suggests that Cyril Sessions, a keen young police officer, visit the town of Lochdubh to monitor exactly what Hamish does every day. On hearing of Blair's plans Hamish is fully prepared to ensure young Cyril returns back to headquarters with a full report... but before he can do that, Cyril is found dead and Hamish very quickly becomes the prime suspect for his murder...

Piatkus

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Calamitous Chinese Killing

Shamini Flint
Authors:
Shamini Flint

Inspector Singh is on a mission to China, against his better judgment. The son of a bigwig at the Singapore Embassy has been bludgeoned to death in a back alley in Beijing. The Chinese security insist that he was the victim of a robbery gone wrong, but the young man's mother demands that Singapore's finest (in his own opinion) rides to the rescue.But solving a murder in a country that practices socialism 'with Chinese characteristics' is a dangerous business. And it soon becomes apparent that getting to the bottom of this calamitous killing will be his toughest case yet . . .

C & R Crime

Death of Yesterday

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

A dead witness. A forgotten crime. Hamish Macbeth never had it so hard as in this newest Highlands mystery!Morag Merrilea is working at the Shopmark Fashions factory during her summer holidays to earn some extra cash. But when the art student complains to Hamish about the theft of her sketchbook in the pub, he doesn't take her too seriously. After all, she had been drinking and can't quite remember what happened... and then turns out to be snippy when Hamish questions her further.But then her body is discovered -- and Hamish is forced to investigate a crime where the only witness has been murdered . . .

C & R Crime

The Circus

James Craig
Authors:
James Craig
C & R Crime

Agatha Raisin and the Christmas Crumble

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

The bossy, vain and irresistible Agatha is back in this latest short story.Agatha is spending Christmas at home in the Cotswolds - and in a fit of goodwill towards all men (and women) she invites six of Carsley's oldest residents to come around and share Christmas lunch with her.Christmas jollity soon turns to disaster as Agatha accidentally kills one of her guests with a gruesome homemade Christmas pudding... so will it be Christmas in the cells for Agatha? Or can she fix an escape out of this particular festive mess!

C & R Crime

The Sirens Sang of Murder

Sarah Caudwell
Authors:
Sarah Caudwell
Grand Central Publishing

City Of Whispers

Marcia Muller
Authors:
Marcia Muller
Abacus

Jaggy Splinters

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Piatkus

Inspector Singh Investigates: A Curious Indian Cadaver

Shamini Flint
Authors:
Shamini Flint

Inspector Singh is sick of sick leave, so when Mrs Singh suggests they attend a family wedding in Mumbai, he grudgingly agrees - hoping that the spicy Indian curries will make up for extended exposure to his wife's relatives.Unfortunately, the beautiful bride-to-be disappears on the eve of her wedding - did she run away to avoid an arranged marriage, or is there something more sinister afoot? When a corpse is found, the fat inspector is soon dragged into a curious murder investigation with very firm instructions from Mrs Singh to exonerate her family. But as he uncovers layer upon layer of deceit, he knows it isn't going to be that easy...

C & R Crime

The Harper's Quine

Pat McIntosh
Authors:
Pat McIntosh

At the May Day dancing at Glasgow Cross, Gil Cunningham sees not only the woman who is going to be murdered, but her murderer as well. Gil is a recently qualified lawyer whose family still expect him to enter the priesthood. When he finds the body of a young woman in the new building at Glasgow Cathedral he is asked to investigate, and identifies the corpse as the runaway wife of cruel, unpleasant nobleman John Semphill. With the help of Maistre Pierre, the French master-mason, Gil must ask questions and seek a murderer in the heart of the city.