Emma Donoghue - Touchy Subjects - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781844087396
    • Publication date:07 Apr 2011

Touchy Subjects

By Emma Donoghue

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From the acclaimed novelist an electrifying collection of stories exploring taboos and secrets.

How do you make conversation with a sperm donor? How do you say someone's novel is drivel? Would you give a screaming baby brandy? In what words would you tell your girlfriend to pluck a hair on her chin?

Touchy Subjects is about things that make people wince: taboos, controversies, secrets and lies. Some of the events that characters crash into are grand, tragic ones: miscarriage, overdose, missing persons, a mother who deserts her children. Other topics, like religion and money, are not inherently taboo, but they can cause acute discomfort because people disagree so vehemently. Many of these stories are about the spectrum of constrained, convoluted feeling that runs from awkwardness through embarrassment to shame.

Biographical Notes

Emma Donoghue is an Irish novelist, playwright and historian. Her second novel HOOD won the American Library Association Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual Award in 1997. She is currently adapting her novel STIR-FRY for Horizonline Films (Ireland).

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780748133451
  • Publication date: 11 Aug 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Virago
Sphere

All That She Can See

Carrie Hope Fletcher
Authors:
Carrie Hope Fletcher
Little, Brown

The Lie of the Land

Amanda Craig
Authors:
Amanda Craig

'I loved the The Lie of the Land. A panoramic, superbly-plotted novel about the ways we live now, about money and desire, cruelty and generosity, crime and vengeance, country and city. Craig is at the top of her game' Helen DunmoreQuentin and Lottie Bredin, like many modern couples, can't afford to divorce. Having lost their jobs in the recession, they can't afford to go on living in London; instead, they must downsize and move their three children to a house in a remote part of Devon. Arrogant and adulterous, Quentin can't understand why Lottie is so angry; devastated and humiliated, Lottie feels herself to have been intolerably wounded.Mud, mice and quarrels are one thing - but why is their rent so low? What is the mystery surrounding their unappealing new home? The beauty of the landscape is ravishing, yet it conceals a dark side involving poverty, revenge, abuse and violence which will rise up to threaten them.Sally Verity, happily married but unhappily childless knows a different side to country life, as both a Health Visitor and a sheep farmer's wife; and when Lottie's innocent teenage son Xan gets a zero-hours contract at a local pie factory, he sees yet another. At the end of their year, the lives of all will be changed for ever. A suspenseful black comedy, this is a rich, compassionate and enthralling novel in its depiction of the English countryside, and the potentially lethal interplay between money and marriage.

Sphere

Catch Me if You Cannes

Lisa Dickenson
Authors:
Lisa Dickenson
Abacus

The Little Breton Bistro

Nina George
Authors:
Nina George

From the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop, an extraordinary novel about self-discovery and new beginnings.Marianne Messman longs to escape her loveless marriage to an uncaring husband - an artillery sergeant major named Lothar. On a day trip to Paris, Marianne decides to leap off the Pont Neuf into the Seine, but she is saved from drowning by a homeless man. While recovering in hospital, Marianne comes across a painting of the tiny port town of Kerdruc in Brittany and decides to try her luck on the coast.In Kerdruc, Marianne meets a host of colourful characters who all gravitate around the restaurant of Ar Mor (The Sea). It is this cast of true Bretons who become Marianne's new family, and among whom she will find love once again. But with her husband looking to pull her back to her old life, Marianne is left with a choice: to step back into the known, or to take a huge jump into an exciting and unpredictable future.

Sphere

A Boy Made of Blocks

Keith Stuart
Authors:
Keith Stuart

THE RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB 2017 BESTSELLER'The publishing sensation of the year: a compelling, uplifting and heart-rending debut novel'Mail on SundayThe number one Amazon bestseller A Boy Made of Blocks is a moving, funny and heartwarming story of family and love inspired by the author's own experiences with his son, the perfect latest obsession for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes. A father who rediscovers loveAlex loves his wife Jody, but has forgotten how to show it. He loves his son Sam, but doesn't understand him. He needs a reason to grab his future with both hands.A son who shows him how to liveMeet eight-year-old Sam: beautiful, surprising - and different. To him the world is a frightening mystery. But as his imagination comes to life, his family will be changed . . . for good.Keith Stuart's magical and moving second novel Days of Wonder is available to pre-order now.'One of those wonderful books that makes you laugh and cry at the same time'Good Housekeeping'Funny, expertly plotted and written with enormous heart. Readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project will love A Boy Made of Blocks - I did'Graeme Simsion'Very funny, incredibly poignant and full of insight. Awesome.'Jenny Colgan'Heartwarming'The Unmumsy Mum'A wonderful, warm, insightful novel about family, friendship and love'Daily Mail'A great plot, with a rare sense of honesty'Guardian'A truly beautiful story'Heat'A heartwarming and wise story'Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of The Last Act of Love

Abacus

The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith

Mma Ramotswe is not one to sit about. Her busy life as the proprietress of the No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency gives her little time for relaxation. Nonetheless, she is persuaded by her co-director Mma Makutsi to take a holiday. But Mma Ramotswe finds it impossible to resist the temptation to interfere with the agency's cases - secretly, she intends . . . This leads her to delve into the past of a man whose reputation has been called into question. It also leads her to an orphan named Samuel. Meanwhile, Violet Sephotho, Mma Makutsi's arch-enemy, has had the temerity to set up a new secretarial college - one that aims to rival that great institution, the Botswana Secretarial College. Will she get her comeuppance? It will be a close-run thing.

Abacus

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry

Gabrielle Zevin
Authors:
Gabrielle Zevin
Abacus

Sunshine on Scotland Street

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Robinson

Love Alters

Emma Donoghue
Authors:
Emma Donoghue
Reagan Arthur

This Bright River

Patrick Somerville
Authors:
Patrick Somerville
Corsair

Emerald City and Other Stories

Jennifer Egan
Authors:
Jennifer Egan
Virago

Slammerkin

Emma Donoghue
Authors:
Emma Donoghue
Sphere

Third Time Lucky

Elizabeth Waite
Authors:
Elizabeth Waite
Abacus

A Change In Altitude

Anita Shreve
Authors:
Anita Shreve
Hachette Audio

The Swan Thieves

Elizabeth Kostova
Authors:
Elizabeth Kostova

Psychiatrist Andrew Marlowe has a perfectly ordered life--solitary, perhaps, but full of devotion to his profession and the painting hobby he loves. This order is destroyed when renowned painter Robert Oliver attacks a canvas in the National Gallery of Art and becomes his patient.In response, Marlowe finds himself going beyond his own legal and ethical boundaries to understand the secret that torments this genius, a journey that will lead him into the lives of the women closest to Robert Oliver and toward a tragedy at the heart of French Impressionism.Ranging from American museums to the coast of Normandy, from the late nineteenth century to the late twentieth, from young love to last love, THE SWAN THIEVES is a story of obsession, the losses of history, and the power of art to preserve human hope.

Sphere

The Pissed-Off Parents Club

Mink Elliott
Authors:
Mink Elliott
Little, Brown US

Amigoland

Oscar Casares
Authors:
Oscar Casares

In a small town on the Mexican border live two brothers, Don Fidencio and Don Celestino. Stubborn and independent, they now must face the facts: they are old, and they have let a family argument stand between them for too long. Don Celestino's good-natured housekeeper encourages him to make amends - while he still can. They secretly liberate Don Fidencio from his nursing home and travel into Mexico to solve the mystery at the heart of their dispute: the family legend of their grandfather's kidnapping. As the unlikely trio travels, the brothers learn it's never too late for a new beginning.With winsome prose and heartfelt humor, Oscar Casares's debut novel of family lost and found radiates with generosity and grace and confirms the arrival of a uniquely talented new writer.

Sphere

Crossings

Danielle Steel
Authors:
Danielle Steel

At journey's end would a new life begin? When Liane crossed the Atlantic and arrived in Europe, the future seemed bright and beautiful. Only the image of a face haunted her new life in France. Then the Second World War sent her on a fateful crossing, leaving her husband far behind. Suspended between two worlds, Liane was swept into a passionate affair, a bright brief moment of total happiness. Would the voyage seal her love for ever, or leave her stranded on the shores of heartbreak and despair?

Forever

Show No Fear

Marliss Melton
Authors:
Marliss Melton

top choice for a rescue mission to Colombia where American hostages are held deep in the jungle by rebel terrorists, Lucy is thrilled to take on the undercover assignment. The danger doesn't phase her...until she hears that Navy SEAL Gus Atwater will be her partner on the mission. Gus is the only man she ever loved, the man that broke her heart years ago, the man she swore she'd never let anywhere near her again. At odds from the start of the mission, Lucy and Gus trek deep into the jungle, desperate to locate the hostages and lead the Navy SEALs in to extract them. With the guerrilla opposition on their tail, out to protect their own interests at any cost, Lucy and Gus have only one another to rely on for survival. But when one of them is taken hostage, the tables are turned. Can they both find their way to safety and to the love that has always bound them together?

Virago

The Woman Who Gave Birth To Rabbits

Emma Donoghue
Authors:
Emma Donoghue

The Woman Who Gave Birth to Rabbits is a book of fictions, but they are also true. Over the last ten years, I have often stumbled over a scrap of history so fascinating that I had to stop whatever I was doing and write a story about it. My sources are the flotsam and jetsam of the last seven hundred years of British and Irish life: surgical case-notes; trial records; a plague ballad; theological pamphlets; a painting of two girls in a garden; an articulated skeleton. Some of the ghosts in this collection have famous names; others were written off as cripples, children, half-breeds, freaks and nobodies. The Woman Who Gave Birth to Rabbits is named for Mary Toft, who in 1726 managed to convince half England that she had done just that.So this book is what I have to show for ten years of sporadic grave-robbing, ferreting out forgotten puzzles and peculiar incidents, asking 'What really happened?', but also, 'What if?