N. K. Jemisin - The Stone Sky - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356504902
    • Publication date:15 Aug 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405537285
    • Publication date:15 Aug 2017
Books in this series

The Stone Sky

The Broken Earth, Book 3, THE STUNNING FINALE TO THE DOUBLE HUGO AWARD-WINNING TRILOGY

By N. K. Jemisin

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The remarkable conclusion to the highly acclaimed post-apocalyptic trilogy that began with multi-award-nominated The Fifth Season

The incredible conclusion to the trilogy that began with the Hugo Award-winning The Fifth Season
· Shortlisted for the Hugo, Nebula, Kitschies, Audie and Locus Awards
· A New York Times Notable Book
· The inaugural Wired.com book club pick

The Moon will soon return. Whether this heralds the destruction of humankind or something worse will depend on two women.
Essun has inherited the phenomenal power of Alabaster Tenring. With it, she hopes to find her daughter Nassun and forge a world in which every outcast child can grow up safe.
For Nassun, her mother's mastery of the Obelisk Gate comes too late. She has seen the evil of the world, and accepted what her mother will not admit: that sometimes what is corrupt cannot be cleansed, only destroyed.

Praise for this trilogy:
'Amazing' Ann Leckie
'Breaks uncharted ground' Library Journal
'Beautiful' Nnedi Okorafor
'Astounding' NPR
'Brilliant' Washington Post

Biographical Notes

N. K. Jemisin is a Brooklyn author who won the Hugo Award for Best Novel for The Fifth Season, which was also a New York Times Notable Book of 2015. She previously won the Locus Award for her first novel, The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, and her short fiction and novels have been nominated multiple times for Hugo, World Fantasy, and Nebula awards, and shortlisted for the Crawford and the James Tiptree, Jr. awards. She is a science fiction and fantasy reviewer for the New York Times, and you can find her online at nkjemisin.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356508689
  • Publication date: 15 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Orbit
Vivid characters, a tautly constructed plot, and outstanding worldbuilding meld into an impressive and timely story — PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
Sphere

All That She Can See

Carrie Hope Fletcher
Authors:
Carrie Hope Fletcher
Sphere

A Very Distant Shore

Jenny Colgan
Authors:
Jenny Colgan
Little, Brown

The Dry

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper
Sphere

The House of Secrets

Sarra Manning
Authors:
Sarra Manning

'Extremely atmospheric and unputdownable. I loved it' Marian Keyes5-star reader reviews for The House of Secrets'Libby and Zoe are complex, courageous and believeable and I found their stories absolutely compelling to read with a very satisfying ending. Highly recommended''I cried, I smiled, I swore in anger at parts . . . such a brilliant piece of writing''Enjoyed every page of this lovely book and its lovely heroines Zoe and Libby. Highly recommended for a great feel good read''Finished the whole book in one night, literally unputdownable'Every home has a story to tell . . .An ordinary house on an ordinary street, built in 1936 and never lived in. Its rooms might be empty, but this house is full of secrets.When Zoe and Win, raw and reeling from a recent tragedy, move into their new home it's meant to be a fresh start and a way to mend the holes in their relationship.But pushed to the back of a cupboard is a suitcase that's been gathering dust for eighty years. Inside is a wedding dress, letters and a diary all belonging to a woman called Libby. And there's something else in the suitcase, something that echoes Zoe's own pain.Zoe follows Libby's trail from Paris to Spain on the brink of Civil War to secret trysts in London, and as Libby finds the courage to live and love again, Zoe begins to let go of her own grief.But when Libby's story takes a darker turn, Zoe becomes increasingly obsessed with discovering what really happened all those years ago. Because if Libby managed to get her happy ever after then maybe Zoe and Win can too . . .

Sphere

Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses

'A gorgeous novel that will delight' Katie FfordeA heart-warming and poignant novel of romance, family and second chances, Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses is Sunday Times bestselling Carole Matthews at her outstanding best. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson.Christie Chapman is a single working mother who spends her days commuting to her secretarial job in London and looking after her teenage son, Finn. It can be tough just getting through the day but Christie has always found comfort in her love of crafting and any spare time she has is spent in her parents' summerhouse working on her beautiful creations. From intricately designed birthday cards to personalised gifts, Christie's flair for the handmade knows no bounds and it's not long before opportunity comes knocking. All of a sudden Christie sees a different future for her and Finn - one full of hope and possibility, and if the handsome Max Alexander is to be believed, one full of love too. It's all there for the taking.And then, all of sudden, Christie's world is turned upside down. Christie knows that something has to give, but what will she choose? Will she give up her dreams and the chance of real love? What price will she pay for doing the right thing? Can Christie find her happy ending in . . . Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses.

Orbit

The Obelisk Gate

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Orbit

The Fifth Season

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Piatkus

Honest Illusions

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

Roxy Nouvelle understands the art of deception. The daughter of a world-renowned magician, Roxy has inherited her father's talents - and his secret life as a jewel thief. She loves the thrill of the game and can take care of herself.Roxy is smart and resilient, but she has one weakness: Luke Callahan, a sexy escape artist with a roguish reputation. Five years ago they fell into a passionate affair - but then, true to his art - he disappeared, leaving Roxy broken hearted and furious.Now Luke is back, trailing secrets and danger in his wake. Why did he run out on Roxy all those years ago? And can she ever trust him again?

Sphere

The Chocolate Lovers' Wedding

A wonderful story of love, romance and friendship from readers' favourite and the Sunday Time Top Ten bestselling Carole Matthews. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson.The ladies of The Chocolate Lovers' Club should be gearing up for the wedding of the year but life keeps getting in the way . . . Lucy is worried about her financial situation and it keeps distracting her. Should she accept an offer of help from an untrustworthy source?Nadia may have a real chance at finding love but other areas of her life aren't so rosy. Something needs to change - but what?Autumn can't wait to meet someone she hasn't seen in a very long time. She's full of hope for the future but then things don't exactly go to plan . . . Chantal has been through so much and she's finally starting to feel settled. The last thing she needs is the kind of bad news that could change her life all over again.And yet, despite all the ups and downs, the Chocolate Lovers' ladies know they can get through it all as long as they have each other. They're not going to let anything get in the way of their happy-ever-afters in . . . The Chocolate Lovers' Wedding.

Sphere

The Chocolate Lovers' Christmas

Orbit

Shades in Shadow

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin

From the shadows of the greater stories, away from the bright light of Sky and wending 'round the sagas of the Arameri, come three quieter tales. A newborn god with an old, old soul struggles to find a reason to live. A powerful demon searches for her father, and answers. And in a prequel to the Inheritance Trilogy, a newly-enslaved Nahadoth forges a dark alliance with a mortal, for survival... and revenge. Return to the world of The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms in these three interconnected short tales.

Orbit

The Awakened Kingdom

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin

SOME TRUTHS MUST BE LEARNED THE HARD WAY...As the first new godling born in thousands of years - and the heir presumptive to Sieh the Trickster - Shill's got big shoes to fill. She's well on her way when she defies her parents and sneaks off to the mortal realm, which is no place for an impressionable young god. In short order she steals a demon's grandchild, gets herself embroiled in a secret underground magical dance competition, and offends her oldest and most powerful sibling.But for Eino, the young Darren man whom Shill has befriended, the god-child's silly games are serious business. Trapped in an arranged marriage and prohibited from pursuing his dreams, he has had enough. He will choose his own fate, even if he must betray a friend in the process - and Shill might just have to grow up faster than she thinks.

Sphere

The Christmas Party

Sphere

Voices In Summer

Rosamunde Pilcher
Authors:
Rosamunde Pilcher
Sphere

A Place to Call Home

Sphere

The Far Side of the Sun

Kate Furnivall
Authors:
Kate Furnivall

With beautiful blue skies, sandy beaches and glorious sunshine, the Bahamas is a slice of heaven. But in 1943, the world is at war and even paradise isn't safe . . .Twenty-three-year-old Dodie Wyatt thought she had escaped her turbulent past - but one night her peace is shattered when she chooses to help a man she finds stabbed in an alleyway.On the other side of Nassau, wealthy diplomat's wife Ella Stanford plays the role she has been born into, throwing herself into charitable work and charming her husband's powerful friends. But she has secrets to keep - and those secrets could put her life in danger.When one of the richest men in the world is found dead, these two very different women - Dodie, a shy introvert, and Ella, a confident socialite - are drawn together. With the unstable island spiralling into violence, deceit, greed and death, Dodie and Ella have only each other to rely on, as their lives are torn apart . . .

Virago

Oryx And Crake

Margaret Atwood
Authors:
Margaret Atwood
Sphere

The Disappearance of Emily Marr

Louise Candlish
Authors:
Louise Candlish
Sphere

Calling Mrs Christmas

Sphere

Sunshine, with a Chance of Snow

Beth and Michael have worked hard all their married life to give their children everything they want. It hasn't been easy but it's been worth it. Now, as Beth enjoys quality time with her family on their beach holiday, she knows she has a lot to be thankful for. But it's not until she's faced with her biggest challenge yet that Beth really begins to understand how lucky she is.In this ebook exclusive short story, Carole Matthews will transport you to a world filled with love, family and sunshine. So put your feet up, stick the kettle on and indulge yourself for just twenty minutes.Includes an extract from Carole's fabulous festive novel, Calling Mrs Christmas.