Angus Watson - YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats Books in this series

YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE

An Epic Fantasy from the author of AGE OF IRON

By Angus Watson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The start of a brand-new epic fantasy trilogy from the David Gemmell Award-shortlisted author of Age of Iron - for fans of Joe Abercrombie or Nick Eames' The Kings of the Wyld

***The start of a brand new trilogy***
***Epic fantasy from a David Gemmell Award shortlisted author***
***Watson has 1000s of Goodreads and Amazon ratings***

YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE . . .

You can't change your fate - so throw yourself into battle, because you'll either end the day a hero or drinking mead in the halls of the gods. That's what Finn's people believe.

But Finn wants to live. When his settlement is massacred by a hostile nation, Finn plus several friends and rivals must make their escape across a brutal, unfamiliar landscape, and to survive, Finn will fight harder than he's ever fought before.

The author of Age of Iron returns with You Die When You Die - an epic fantasy adventure in which a mismatched group of refugees battle animals and monsters, determined assassins, an unforgiving land and each other as they cross a continent to fulfil a prophecy.

'I loved every second of it . . . More please, as soon as is humanly possible!' The Eloquent Page

'Hugely entertaining' SFX

'A rip-roaring, swiftly paced adventure set in a sprawling and beautifully detailed world . . . sure to win the devotion of plenty of fans' RT Book Reviews

'The first book in Watson's new fantasy trilogy is raw, violent, and gritty . . . You Die When You Die blurs the lines between hero and villain into who lives and who dies. He who survives another day wins for the moment; tomorrow might be another story' Booklist


For more epic action from Angus Watson, check out:

West of West Trilogy
You Die When You Die
The Land you Never Leave
Where Gods Fear to Go

The Iron Age Trilogy
Age of Iron
Clash of Iron
Reign of Iron

Biographical Notes

Angus Watson is the David Gemmell-Award-nominated author of Age of Iron. As well as writing epic fantasy, he's written hundreds of features for newspapers including The Times, Financial Times and Telegraph, and the latter even sent him to look for Bigfoot in America. He lives in London, but you can find him on Twitter at @GusWatson or find his website: www.guswatson.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356507569
  • Publication date: 22 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Orbit
Raw, violent, and gritty — BOOKLIST
Hugely entertaining — SFX
A rip-roaring, swiftly paced adventure set in a sprawling and beautifully detailed world . . . visceral, action-packed, full of humour and vivid details — RT BOOK REVIEWS
I loved every second of it . . . More please, as soon as is humanly possible! — The Eloquent Page
A story that commands your full attention from the very first page, whisking readers away on a journey set in an imaginative world full of riveting characters and gritty adventure. Watson has written another winner! — BIBLIOSANCTUM
Unflinchingly bloodthirsty and outrageously entertaining — Christopher Brookmyre on AGE OF IRON
Would I read the next one? Yes, absolutely. Bring me my hammer, bring my beer, bring it on! — SF CROWSNEST on AGE OF IRON
Watson's tale is gore-soaked and profanity-laden - full of visceral combat and earthy humour, and laced with subtle magic — PUBLISHERS WEEKLY on AGE OF IRON
A fun and addictive read — FANTASY FACTION on AGE OF IRON
Orbit

The Land You Never Leave

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson
Orbit

Reign of Iron

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson
Orbit

Clash of Iron

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson

LEADERS ARE FORGED IN THE FIRES OF WARIron Age warriors Dug and Lowa captured Maidun castle and freed its slaves. But now they have conquered it, they must defend it.A Roman invasion is coming from Gaul, but rather than uniting to protect their home, the British tribes battle each other - and see Maidun as an easy target.Meanwhile, Lowa's spies infiltrate Gaul, discovering the Romans have recruited bloodthirsty British druids, and Maidunite Ragnall finds his loyalties torn when he meets Rome's charismatic general, Julius Caesar.War is coming. Who will pay its price?For more epic action from Angus Watson, check out:West of West TrilogyYou Die When You DieThe Land you Never LeaveWhere Gods Fear to GoThe Iron Age TrilogyAge of IronClash of IronReign of Iron

Orbit

Age of Iron

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson

LEGENDS AREN'T BORN. THEY'RE FORGED.Dug Sealskinner is a down-on-his-luck mercenary travelling south to join up with King Zadar's army. But he keeps rescuing the wrong people. First, Spring, a child he finds scavenging on the battlefield, and then Lowa, one of Zadar's most fearsome warriors, who's vowed revenge on the king for her sister's execution. Now Dug's on the wrong side of that thousands-strong army he hoped to join ­- and worse, Zadar has bloodthirsty druid magic on his side. All Dug has is his war hammer, one rescued child and one unpredictable, highly-trained warrior with a lust for revenge that's going to get them all killed . . . It's a glorious day to die.Look out now for YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE - first in a new historical fantasy series from Angus Watson.'Watson's tale is gore soaked and profanity laden - full of visceral combat and earthy humor, and laced with subtle magic. The blend of historical accuracy and authorial liberties suggests an old-school sword-and-sorcery epic, though with some modern sensibilities thrown in for good measure!' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY'Would I read the next one? Yes, absolutely. Bring me my hammer, bring my beer, bring it on.' SF CROWSNEST'Watson has created a brilliant and confident debut . . . If you like your fantasy packed with hammer-wielding heroes, bloodthirsty druids, strong female leads, action, intrigue, betrayal, and a brilliantly conceived world then AGE OF IRON is for you.' THE BOOK BEARD'Thoroughly entertaining from the get go . . . I really got a kick out of the AGE OF IRON'THE ELOQUENT PAGEFor more epic action from Angus Watson, check out:West of West TrilogyYou Die When You DieThe Land you Never LeaveWhere Gods Fear to GoThe Iron Age TrilogyAge of IronClash of IronReign of Iron

Alan Dean Foster

Alan Dean Foster is the author of many SF adventures, the Spellsinger fantasy series and a number of film and TV tie-ins - including the hugely popular Alien novelizations.

Alexander McCall Smith

Alexander McCall Smith is the author of over eighty books on a wide array of subjects, including the award-winning The No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency series. He is also the author of the Isabel Dalhousie novels and the world's longest-running serial novel, 44 Scotland Street. His books have been translated into forty-six languages. Alexander McCall Smith is Professor Emeritus of Medical Law at the University of Edinburgh and holds honorary doctorates from thirteen universities.

Amanda Quick

Amanda Quick is a pseudonym for Jayne Ann Krentz, the author of forty NEW YORK TIMES bestsellers under various pen names; more than twenty-five million copies of her books are in print. She lives in the Pacific Northwest. Visit her at www.krentz-quick.com

Andy McSmith

Andy McSmith has been chief reporter of the Independent newspaper since April 2007, having previously been a political correspondent on the same paper, and political editor of the Independent on Sunday and chief political correspondent of the Daily Telegraph and Observer. He is the author of four books: biographies of John Smith and Kenneth Clarke, a collection of short biographies called Faces of Labour, and a novel, Innocent in the House. He has also contributed to numerous other books. He lives in London.

Angus Donald

Angus Donald was born in 1965 and educated at Marlborough College and Edinburgh University. He has worked as a fruit-picker in Greece, a waiter in New York and as an anthropologist studying magic and witchcraft in Indonesia. For twenty years, he was a journalist in Hong Kong, India, Afghanistan and London. He is married to Mary, with whom he has two children, and he now writes full time from home in Tonbridge, Kent.

Barbara Cardy

BARBARA CARDY originally trained in art, design and construction, before moving through a variety of careers. To date, she has edited twenty-seven anthologies of various kinds. She lives in Kent with her two boys.

Beryl Bainbridge

Beryl Bainbridge was one of the greatest living novelists. Author of seventeen novels, two travel books and five plays for stage and television, she was shortlisted for the Booker Prize five times, and won many literary awards including the Whitbread Prize and the Author of the Year Award at the British Book Awards. She died in July 2010.

Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska. He lives in Provo, Utah, with his wife, Emily, and their children.

C. J. Daugherty

International bestselling author C. J. Daugherty is a former newspaper reporter and crime writer. Her Night School series has been translated into 21 languages, and has been the number 1 best selling young adult book in Germany, Poland, France, and Israel, topping charts in countries around the world.

Caleb Carr

Caleb Carr is a military historian and a bestselling novelist, contributing editor to MHQ: The Quarterly Journal of Military History and contributor to the World Policy Journal.

Carl Hiaasen

Carl Hiaasen was born and raised in Florida, where he still lives. He is a prize-winning journalist with a regular column in the Miami Herald and many articles in varied magazines. He started writing crime fiction in the early 1980s and has recently branched out into children's books; he has also had several works of non-fiction published.

Chris Bunch

Chris Bunch is a Vietnam veteran and served as a patrol commander and combat correspondent for Stars and Stripes. He has written for the underground press, outlaw motorcycle magazines and Rolling Stone.

Christine Feehan

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Christine Feehan has received numerous honours including being a nominee for the Romance Writers of America RITA and receiving a Career Achievement Award from ROMANTIC TIMES. Visit her at www.christinefeehan.com

Christopher Hibbert

Christopher Hibbert (1924-2008) was born in Leicestershire and educated at Radley and Oriel Colleges, Oxford. He served as infantry officer during the war, was twice wounded and was awarded the Military Cross in 1945. Described by Professor J. H. Plumb as 'a writer of the highest ability', he was, in the words of the Times Educational Supplement, 'perhaps the most gifted popular historian' of his day. Christopher Hibbert was a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and an Hon. D. Litt of Leicester University.

Dan Simmons

Dan Simmons was born in Peoria, Illinois, in 1948, and grew up in various cities and small towns in the Midwest. He received his Masters in Education from Washington University in St. Louis in 1971. He worked in elementary education for eighteen years, winning awards for his innovative teaching, and became a full-time writer in 1987. Dan lives in Colorado with his wife, Karen, and has a daughter in her twenties. His books are published in twenty-nine counties and many of them have been optioned for film.

David Brin

David Brin is the acclaimed Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of ten novels and two collections of short stories. He has a doctorate in astrophysics, and has been a consultant to NASA and a graduate-level physics professor. He lives in California.