Jon Skovron - Bane and Shadow - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356507156
    • Publication date:23 Feb 2017
Books in this series

Bane and Shadow

Book Two of Empire of Storms

By Jon Skovron

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Following Hope and Red comes the next novel in the Empire of Storms series - a blisteringly paced epic fantasy perfect for fans of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson and Scott Lynch

In a fracturing empire spread across savage seas, two young people from different cultures find common purpose.

Red is being trained as a cold-blooded assassin by the biomancers. As he becomes increasingly embroiled in palace politics, he learns that even life amongst the nobility can be deadly.

While terrorizing imperial ships as the pirate Dire Bane, Hope stumbles onto a biomancer plot of such horrifying scope that it makes even the massacre of her childhood village seem small in comparison.

With the biomancers tightening their grip of fear over the empire, Hope and Red struggle to fill their new roles and responsibilities, but the cost will be greater than any of them realize.

Biographical Notes

Jon Skovron is the author of several young adult novels. Hope and Red is his first adult fantasy novel. He lives outside Washington DC with his two sons.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356507149
  • Publication date: 23 Feb 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Exciting and action-packed . . . A thrilling read — BOOKBAG
Orbit

Blood and Tempest

Jon Skovron
Authors:
Jon Skovron

Blood and Tempest is the final novel in Jon Skovron's acclaimed Empire of Storms fantasy trilogy, an epic tale of vengeance and revolution. Still reeling from the events on Dawn's Light, Hope struggles to understand what it means to be a warrior who has vowed to never again take up a sword. Her search for enlightenment gives her mastery of surprising new abilities, which leads her to uncover some disturbing clues about the true origin of the empire. Red has excelled in his new role as an imperial spy. Now he's been assigned to the one task he's desired all along: recruiting Hope and Brigga Lin to help rid the empire of the council of biomancery once and for all.But the council have set their own plans in motion. Their increasingly tenuous grip on the empire has left them desperate and willing to do anything to maintain their power . . .

Hachette Audio

A Plague of Giants

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

'Hearne is a terrific storyteller' SFF WorldIn the city of Pelemyn, Fintan the bard takes to the stage to tell what really happened the night the giants came . . .From the east came the Bone Giants, from the south, the fire-wielding Hathrim - an invasion that sparked war across the six nations of Teldwen. The kingdom's only hope is the discovery of a new form of magic that calls the world's wondrous beasts to fight by the side of humankind. In the start of a compelling new series, the New York Times bestselling author of The Iron Druid Chronicles creates an unforgettable fantasy world of warring giants and elemental magic.

Orbit

The Stone Sky

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Orbit

Conspiracy of Ravens

Lila Bowen
Authors:
Lila Bowen
Orbit

The Obelisk Gate

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Orbit

Hope and Red

Jon Skovron
Authors:
Jon Skovron
Orbit

A Blade of Black Steel

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall

After five hundred years, the Sunken Kingdom has returned, and brought with it a monstrous secret that threatens to destroy every country on the Star. As an inhuman army gathers on its shores, poised to invade the Immaculate Isles, the members of the Cobalt Company face an ugly choice: abandon their dreams of glory and vengeance to combat a menace from another realm, or pursue their ambitions and hope the Star is still there when the smoke clears. Five villains. One legendary general. A battle for survival.

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Cthulhu

Paula Guran
Authors:
Paula Guran

For more than 80 years H. P. Lovecraft has inspired writers of horror and supernatural fiction with his dark vision of humankind's insignificant place in a vast, uncaring cosmos. At the time of his death in 1937, Lovecraft was virtually unknown, but from early cult status his readership expanded exponentially; his nightmarish visions laying down roots in the collective imagination of his readers. Now this master of the macabre is accepted as part of the literary mainstream, as an American author of note, and the impact of his work on modern popular culture - in literature, film, television, music, the graphic arts, gaming and theatre - has been profound. As Stephen King wrote in Danse Macabre, the shadow of H. P. Lovecraft 'underlies almost all of the important horror fiction that has come since.'Today, Lovecraft's themes of cosmic indifference, the utter insignificance of humankind, minds invaded by the alien, and the horrors of history remain not only viable motifs for modern speculative fiction, but are more relevant than ever as we explore the mysteries of a universe in which our planet is infinitesimal.This outstanding anthology of original stories - from both established award-winning authors and exciting new voices - collects tales of cosmic horror inspired by Lovecraft from authors who do not merely imitate, but reimagine, re-energize, and renew the best of his concepts in ways relevant to today's readers, to create fresh new fiction that explores our modern fears and nightmares. From the depths of R'lyeh to the heights of the Mountains of Madness, some of today's best weird fiction writers traverse terrain created by Lovecraft and create new eldritch geographies to explore . . .With stories by: Laird Barron, Nadia Bulkin, Amanda Downum, Ruthanna Emrys, Richard Gavin, Lois H. Gresh, Lisa L. Hannett, Brian Hodge, Caitlín R. Kiernan, John Langan, Yoon Ha Lee, Usman T. Malik, Helen Marshall, Silvia Moreno, Norman Partridge, W. H. Pugmire, Veronica Schanoes, Michael Shea, John Shirley, Simon Strantzas, Sandra McDonald, Damien Angelica Walters, Don Webb, Michael Wehunt and A.C. Wise Praise for the editor:'For fans of Lovecraftian fiction and well-wrought horror' - Library Journal'Guran smartly selects stories that evoke the spirit of Lovecraft's work without mimicking its style.' - Publishers Weekly'It's a pretty impressive line-up, with nary a clunker to be found. . . . You don't have to be a Lovecraft fan to enjoy this anthology... You'll find alienation, inhumanity, desperation, cruelty, insanity, hopelessness and despair, all set against the backdrop of a vast, unknowable universe filled with vile, indifferent monstrosities. You'll also find beauty, hope, redemption, and the struggle for survival. What more can you ask for?' - Tor.com'I highly recommend this collection... If you have even the slightest interest in contemporary horror fiction, you'll want to try this one on for size!' - BookGuide

Orbit

The Widow's House

Daniel Abraham
Authors:
Daniel Abraham
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Dieselpunk

Sean Wallace
Authors:
Sean Wallace

Dieselpunk: an emerging retro-futuristic sub-genre, similar to steampunk, based on the era between the First World War and the start of the Atomic Age, merging elements of noir, pulp, and the past with today's technology . . . and sometimes a dash of the occult. Award-winning editor Wallace presents a cutting-edge collection of twenty-five vibrant stories that explore the possibilities of history while sweeping readers into high-powered hydrocarbon-fuelled adventures. Join us in an era when engines were huge, fuel was cheap and plentiful, and steel and chrome blended with the grit and grease of modern machines.Praise for The Mammoth Book of Steampunk:'World Fantasy Award-winning editor Wallace has compiled an outstanding anthology . . . sure to satisfy even the most jaded steampunk fans and engage newcomers and skeptics. Each story exemplifies steampunk's knack for critiquing both the past and the present, in a superb anthology that demands rereading.' Publishers Weekly

Orbit

Prudence

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger
Sphere

The Gray Man

Mark Greaney
Authors:
Mark Greaney

To those who lurk in the shadows, he's known as the Gray Man. He is a legend in the covert realm, moving silently from job to job, accomplishing the impossible and then fading away. And he always hits his target. But there are forces more lethal than Gentry in the world. Forces like money. And power. And there are men who hold these as the only currency worth fighting for. In their eyes, Gentry has just outlived his usefulness.But Court Gentry is going to prove that, for him, there's no grey area between killing for a living and killing to stay alive...

Orbit

Otherworld Nights

Kelley Armstrong
Authors:
Kelley Armstrong
Orbit

The Shadow Rising

Robert Jordan
Authors:
Robert Jordan

The Stone of Tear, invulnerable fortress of legend, has fallen. The Children of the Dragon have risen to the call of prophecy and march to the aid of the Light. Callandor, the Sword That Is Not a Sword, is held by Rand al'Thor, the man proclaimed as the Dragon Reborn.But still the shadows lengthen and still the Forsaken grow in strength. If he is to fight them, Rand must master the male half of the True Source, a power corrupted by the Dark One, a power that drives men to madness, a power that may save or damn the world.Be sure to look out for the Wheel of Time Companion - the definitive encyclopedia for this global bestselling fantasy phenomenon.

Orbit

Winter's Heart

Robert Jordan
Authors:
Robert Jordan
Orbit

Dirty Magic

Jaye Wells
Authors:
Jaye Wells
Orbit

A Dance of Cloaks

David Dalglish
Authors:
David Dalglish
Orbit

Knight's Dawn

Kim Hunter
Authors:
Kim Hunter
Orbit

Trapped

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

After twelve years of secret training, Atticus O'Sullivan is finally ready to bind his apprentice, Granuaile, to the earth and double the number of Druids in the world. But on the eve of the ritual, the world that thought he was dead abruptly discovers that he's still alive, and they would much rather he return to the grave.Having no other choice, Atticus, his trusted Irish wolfhound, Oberon, and Granuaile travel to the base of Mount Olympus, where the Roman god Bacchus is anxious to take his sworn revenge - but he'll have to get in line behind an ancient vampire, a band of dark elves, and an old god of mischief, who all seem to have KILL THE DRUID at the top of their to-do lists.

Orbit

The Rogue

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan

Kyralia is facing threats at home and abroad, as a rogue killer stalks its capital's streets, while the neighbouring kingdom of Sachaka is breeding a rebellion that could destabilise the entire region.High Lord Akkarin and Sonea's son Lorkin has a legacy of heroism to live up to, but despite his good intentions, his incarceration in Sachaka's rebel traitor stronghold could destroy the tenuous peace between the two countries. Angered by Lorkin's seeming defection the Sachakans blame the Kyralian ambassador, Danny--and they are a savage people when roused.And back home, in the University, two young novices are about to remind the Guild that sometimes their greatest enemy comes from within . . .