Jon Skovron - Bane and Shadow - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356507156
    • Publication date:23 Feb 2017
Books in this series

Bane and Shadow

Book Two of Empire of Storms

By Jon Skovron

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Following Hope and Red comes the next novel in the Empire of Storms series - a blisteringly paced epic fantasy perfect for fans of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson and Scott Lynch

In a fracturing empire spread across savage seas, two young people from different cultures find common purpose.

Red is being trained as a cold-blooded assassin by the biomancers. As he becomes increasingly embroiled in palace politics, he learns that even life amongst the nobility can be deadly.

While terrorizing imperial ships as the pirate Dire Bane, Hope stumbles onto a biomancer plot of such horrifying scope that it makes even the massacre of her childhood village seem small in comparison.

With the biomancers tightening their grip of fear over the empire, Hope and Red struggle to fill their new roles and responsibilities, but the cost will be greater than any of them realize.

Biographical Notes

Jon Skovron is the author of several young adult novels. Hope and Red is his first adult fantasy novel. He lives outside Washington DC with his two sons.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356507149
  • Publication date: 23 Feb 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Exciting and action-packed . . . A thrilling read — BOOKBAG
Hachette Audio

Brief Cases

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher

Magic. It can get a guy killed. Return to the world of the Dresden Files with Harry Dresden (the only wizard in the Chicago phone book) and friends as they solve supernatural mysteries, protect the helpless, and fight evil.Brief Cases is a new collection of Dresden Files stories that will include an original novella, from international bestseller Jim Butcher.Stories included in this collection: 'Curses', 'AAAA Wizardry', 'Even Hand', 'B is for Bigfoot', 'I was a Teenage Bigfoot', 'Bigfoot on Campus', 'Bombshells', 'Jury Duty', 'Cold Case', 'Day One', 'A Fistful of Warlocks', 'Zoo Day' (original novella taking place between Skin Game and Peace Talks).

Orbit

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

Following The Black Elfstone comes the second book in the triumphant four-part conclusion to the Shannara series, from one of the all-time masters of fantasy.Tensions in the Four Lands are high. The mysterious force that laid waste to Paranor has revealed a more human face. While some gain a new understanding of the invaders and what they are after, others continue their existing quests even as the peril rises. For what looked to be a formidable invading force proves only the forerunner of a much vaster army - one that is now marching against the Four Lands in all its fury.'Terry's place is at the head of the fantasy world' Phillip Pullman'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks

Orbit

The Defiant Heir

Melissa Caruso
Authors:
Melissa Caruso
Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Hachette Audio

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Orbit

Of Gods and Men

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan

The gruff and mysterious warrior known as Vargus has meant many things to many people over the course of his long life. But when he hears of a village suffering strange attacks in the dead of night, he must take up the role of the Gath - the people's protector - once again, before any more children go missing.Exclusive to ebook and audiobook, Of Gods and Men is an original epic fantasy novella by Stephen Aryan focusing on a fan-favourite character from the Age of Dread trilogy. Story takes place before the events of Battlemage.

Piatkus

Blood Fury

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward

In this sexy paranormal romance novel set in the world of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1 New York Times bestselling author J. R. Ward tells the story of two couples - both fighting to find love in the midst of the war with the Lessening Society.A vampire aristocrat, Peyton is well aware of his duty to his bloodline: mate with an appropriate female of his class and carry on his family's traditions. And he thought he'd found his perfect match - until she fell in love with someone else. Yet when his split-second decision in a battle with the enemy endangers the life of another trainee, Peyton has to face the idea that his future, and his heart, actually lie with another.Novo, as a female in the Black Dagger Brotherhood's training program, feels like she has to prove herself to everybody - and she has no interest in being distracted by falling in love. But when Peyton proves to be so much more than a rich playboy, she is forced to confront the tragedy that has broken her soul and closed her off from love.As the two grapple with Novo's past and Peyton's present, another couple must contend with an erotic connection that is unparalleled - and potentially scandalous. Saxton, who has had his heart broken, discovers in himself a deep-seated attraction to Ruhn, a new member of the household. But will the other male explore the connection? Or will he close his mind and his heart to what could be true love . . . and cost Saxton everything?

Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall
Piatkus

Year One

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

With one drop of blood, the old world is gone for ever. And in its place, something extraordinary begins...They call it The Doom - a deadly pandemic that starts on a cold New Year's Eve in the Scottish countryside. There's something mysterious about the virus and the way it spreads. As billions fall sick and die, some survivors find themselves invested with strange, unexpected abilities. Lana, a New York chef, has the power to move things and people with her will. Fred can summon light in the darkness. Jonah, a paramedic, sees snatches of the future in those he touches. Katie gives birth to twins, and suspects that she has brought fresh magic into the world, along with new life. But The Doom affects people differently. Along with the light, a dark and terrifying magic will also rise. As the remaining authorities round up the immune and the 'Uncannies' for testing, Lana, Katie and others flee New York in search of a safe haven. The old world is over, and Year One has begun.

Orbit

Blood and Tempest

Jon Skovron
Authors:
Jon Skovron
Orbit

A Plague of Giants

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

'TRULY EPIC FANTASY' James Islington, author of The Shadow of What Was LostFrom the east came the Bone Giants. From the south, the fire-wielding Hathrim.It was an invasion that sparked war across the six nations of Teldwen. Now the kingdom's only hope is the discovery of a new form of magic - one that will call the wondrous beasts of the world to fight by the side of humankind.In the start of a thrilling new series, the New York Times bestselling author of The Iron Druid Chronicles creates an unforgettable fantasy world of warring giants and elemental magic.'This isn't just a breath of fresh air for the genre, it's a damned hurricane' Jason M. Hough, New York Times bestselling author'A rare masterpiece that's both current and timeless . . . merging the fantasy bones of Tolkien and Rothfuss with a wide cast of characters who'll break your heart'Delilah S. Dawson

Orbit

Mageborn

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan
Orbit

Successor's Promise

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan
Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett
Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington
Orbit

Senlin Ascends

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft

'One of my favourite books of all time' Mark Lawrence'An extraordinary debut that is well worthy of the hype. A beautifully written, highly engaging page-turning masterpiece' Fantasy Book Review Mild-mannered headmaster, Thomas Senlin prefers his adventures to be safely contained within the pages of a book. So when he loses his new bride shortly after embarking on the honeymoon of their dreams, he is ill-prepared for the trouble that follows. To find her, Senlin must enter the Tower of Babel - a world of geniuses and tyrants, of menace and wonder, of unusual animals and mysterious machines. He must endure betrayal, assassination attempts and the long guns of a flying fortress. And if he hopes to ever see his wife again, he will have to do more than just survive . . . this quiet man of letters must become a man of action.'Thomas Senlin is the most unlikely yet likeable hero since a certain hobbit rushed out of Bag End leaving his second breakfast half-finished and entirely unwashed-up' Fantasy Faction

Orbit

Age of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker

'Age of Assassins reveals its mysteries with the style of a magic show and the artful grace of a gifted storyteller' Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the WyldTO CATCH AN ASSASSIN, USE AN ASSASSIN...Girton Club-Foot, apprentice to the land's best assassin, still has much to learn about the art of taking lives. But his latest mission tasks Girton and his master with a far more difficult challenge: to save a life. Someone, or many someones, is trying to kill the heir to the throne, and it is up to Girton and his master to uncover the traitor and prevent the prince's murder. In a kingdom on the brink of civil war and a castle thick with lies Girton finds friends he never expected, responsibilities he never wanted, and a conspiracy that could destroy an entire land.'Dead gods, dread magic, and a lead that feels like a breath of fresh air. Great fun' Peter Newman, author of The Vagrant'Outstanding. Beautifully written, perfectly paced and assured. Kept me reading well into the early hours of the morning. A wonderful first book - a wonderful book, period - that should be at the very top of your to-read list' James Islington, author of The Shadow of what was Lost 'Simply unputdownable . . . the perfect mix of fantasy and mystery' Fantasy Book Review 'With an original, immersive world that wouldn't let me go and a pair of assassins worth rooting for, Age of Assassins is a pleasure to read. I can't wait for more!' Melissa Caruso, author of The Tethered Mage 'A dark-humored game of cat and mouse between assassins, with traitors on all sides' David Dalglish, author of the Shadowdance series 'Age of Assassins builds a compelling fantasy world and peoples it with characters you can care about. Riddled with intrigue and dangerous magic, this is a hugely enjoyable debut' Jen Williams, author of The Copper Promise 'Age of Assassins is a beguiling story of action and intrigue combined with a poignancy and humour that are as sharp as any blade' Jon Skovron, author of Hope and Red'Compellingly complex political intrigue and steel-sparking action sequences leavened by warm humour and genuine emotional depth' Chris Brookmyre, author of the Jack Parlabane novels

Orbit

The Fifth Ward: First Watch

Dale Lucas
Authors:
Dale Lucas
Orbit

The Fatal Gate

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine
Piatkus

Born of Vengeance

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon