Jon Skovron - Hope and Red - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats Books in this series

Hope and Red

By Jon Skovron

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

With intense characters, blisteringly-paced action and a heart-stopping plot, Hope and Red is destined to be the next fantasy blockbuster. Perfect for fans of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson and Peter V. Brett.


'The most fun I've had with a novel this year' Fantasy Faction

IN A FRACTURING EMPIRE SPREAD ACROSS SAVAGE SEAS, TWO PEOPLE FIND A COMMON CAUSE.

HOPE, the lone survivor of a village massacred by the emperor's forces, is secretly trained as a warrior and instrument of vengeance.

RED, an orphan adopted by a notorious matriarch of the criminal underworld, learns to be an expert thief and con artist.

Together they will take down an empire.

'A phenomenal read' Bookbag

'Vivid and unpredictable' SciFiNow

Biographical Notes

Jon Skovron is the author of several young adult novels. Hope and Red is his first adult fantasy novel. He lives outside Washington DC with his two sons.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356507125
  • Publication date: 30 Jun 2016
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: Orbit
Action-packed . . . Compelling characters and tense action — SFX
Superb fantasy packed with daring pirates, brave warriors, intelligent thieves and revolution . . . A phenomenal read — BookBag
A great swashbuckling adventure — Sun
Fast-paced, substantial and entertaining — Civilian Reader
Orbit

The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn

Tyler Whitesides
Authors:
Tyler Whitesides
Orbit

Wrath of Empire

Brian McClellan
Authors:
Brian McClellan
Hachette Audio

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Orbit

Olympus Bound

Jordanna Max Brodsky
Authors:
Jordanna Max Brodsky

Orbit

Soul of the World

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing
Hachette Audio

Of Gods and Men

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan
Robinson

Therapy Quest

Janina Scarlet, Vince Alvendia
Contributors:
Janina Scarlet, Vince Alvendia
Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Hearts We Sold

Emily Lloyd-Jones
Authors:
Emily Lloyd-Jones

Dee Moreno is out of options. Her home life sucks (to put it mildly), and she's about to get booted from her boarding school--the only place she's ever felt free--for lack of funds. But this is a world where demons exist, and the demons are there to make deals: one human body part in exchange for one wish come true. When Dee finally summons the courage to make a deal with one of these devils, she finds it may be more than she bargained for. The demon she approaches quickly informs her that he doesn't trade in the usual appendages, he's only interested in her heart. He'll put her body in a kind of stasis for two years, and she'll become part of his crew of "heartless"--teen soldiers sent to the demons' home world to fight their enemies. All of the heartless have their reasons for making this deal, but it begs the question: what are you willing to give up to achieve your heart's desire?A Faustian blend of sci-fi and paranormal horror, The Hearts We Sold is thrilling adventure with a romantic twist that will steal readers' hearts and then break them

Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume Three

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall

FIVE HEROES. NO HOPE. A WAR AGAINST DEVILS.Once a warrior queen, now a pariah among her own people, Cold Zosia wakes in the ashes of a burning city. Her vengeance has brought her to this - her heroic reputation in tatters, her allies scattered far and wide, and her world on the cusp of ruin.General Ji-Hyeon has vanished into the legendary First Dark, leaving her lover Sullen alone to carry out the grim commands of a dead goddess. The barbarian Maroto is held captive by a demonic army hell-bent on the extermination of the Crimson Empire, and only his protégé Purna believes he can be saved.Zosia must rally her comrades and old enemies one last time for a battle that will prove the greatest of her many legends . . . if anyone lives to tell of it.

Orbit

Blood and Tempest

Jon Skovron
Authors:
Jon Skovron
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume Two

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker

World Fantasy Award-winning fantasy author K. J. Parker delivers his most ambitious work yet - the story of a war on a grand scale, told through the eyes of soldiers, politicians, victims and heroes.A soldier with a gift for archery. A woman who kills without care. Two brothers, both unbeatable generals, now fighting for opposing armies. No one in the vast and once glorious United Empire remains untouched by the rift between East and West, and the war has been fought for as long as anyone can remember. Some still survive who know how it was started, but no one knows how it will end. Except, perhaps, the Two of Swords.

Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee

TWO CRIME FAMILIES, ONE SOURCE OF POWER: JADE. Jade is the lifeblood of the city of Janloon - a stone that enhances a warrior's natural strength and speed. Jade is mined, traded, stolen and killed for, controlled by the ruthless No Peak and Mountain families. When a modern drug emerges that allows anyone - even foreigners - to wield jade, simmering tension between the two families erupts into open violence. The outcome of this clan war will determine the fate of all in the families, from their grandest patriarch to even the lowliest motorcycle runner on the streets. Jade City is an epic tale of blood, family, honour, and of those who live and die by ancient laws in a changing world.

Hachette Audio

Shadowborn

David Dalglish
Authors:
David Dalglish
Orbit

The Tethered Mage

Melissa Caruso
Authors:
Melissa Caruso
Orbit

A Plague of Giants

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne
Orbit

Mageborn

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan

'Stephen Aryan puts the epic into Epic Fantasy.' Den Patrick Thousands died when mages sundered the earth and split the sky. It was a war that devastated entire kingdoms. Now one man believes eradicating magic is the only way to ensure a lasting peace. He and his followers will do anything to achieve his goal - even if it means murdering every child born with the ability. 'Aryan's battle scenes are visceral masterpieces that transport the reader deep into the melee' Taran Matharu on Battlemage 'A vivid and rousing adventure with the kind of magic that punches you right in the face' Jen Williams on Battlemage

Orbit

The Black Elfstone: Book One of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

The first book of the triumphant four-part conclusion to the Shannara series, from one of the all-time masters of fantasy.The age of peace that has reigned across the Four Lands is now at an end. An army of invaders, wielding a terrible new magic, is cutting a bloody swathe across the far north . . . The fate of the world now rests on the shoulders of an exiled druid, a conflicted warrior and a young woman struggling to master a powerful magic. As the conflict grows, they will face dangerous adversaries and deadly challenges - and the consequences of their actions will determine the future of the Four Lands.Through twenty-eight novels written over the course of forty years, Terry Brooks's Shannara series has entranced millions of readers around the world. Now, with The Black Elfstone - the first book in the Fall of Shannara - Terry begins to bring his epic vision to a grand conclusion.'Terry's place is at the head of the fantasy world' Phillip Pullman'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks

Orbit

The Wheel of Time Companion

Robert Jordan, Harriet McDougal, Alan Romanczuk, Maria Simons
Authors:
Robert Jordan, Harriet McDougal, Alan Romanczuk, Maria Simons

Since its debut in 1990, Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series has captivated millions of readers around the world. Over the course of fifteen books and millions of words, Jordan created a rich and detailed world. Yet only a fraction of Jordan's imaginings ended up on the page, with the rest going into his personal files.The Wheel of Time Companion finally reveals a wealth of previously-unreleased information about the world of the Wheel of Time, as well as expanding on many known details. It is unmissable reading for fans of this bestselling series.