Jon Skovron - Hope and Red - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356507132
    • Publication date:28 Jun 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405535397
    • Publication date:30 Jun 2016
Books in this series

Hope and Red

By Jon Skovron

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

With intense characters, blisteringly-paced action and a heart-stopping plot, Hope and Red is destined to be the next fantasy blockbuster. Perfect for fans of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson and Peter V. Brett.


'The most fun I've had with a novel this year' Fantasy Faction

IN A FRACTURING EMPIRE SPREAD ACROSS SAVAGE SEAS, TWO PEOPLE FIND A COMMON CAUSE.

HOPE, the lone survivor of a village massacred by the emperor's forces, is secretly trained as a warrior and instrument of vengeance.

RED, an orphan adopted by a notorious matriarch of the criminal underworld, learns to be an expert thief and con artist.

Together they will take down an empire.

'A phenomenal read' Bookbag

'Vivid and unpredictable' SciFiNow

Biographical Notes

Jon Skovron is the author of several young adult novels. Hope and Red is his first adult fantasy novel. He lives outside Washington DC with his two sons.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356507125
  • Publication date: 30 Jun 2016
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: Orbit
Action-packed . . . Compelling characters and tense action — SFX
Superb fantasy packed with daring pirates, brave warriors, intelligent thieves and revolution . . . A phenomenal read — BookBag
A great swashbuckling adventure — Sun
Fast-paced, substantial and entertaining — Civilian Reader
Orbit

Blood and Tempest

Jon Skovron
Authors:
Jon Skovron
Orbit

It Devours!

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

ATOM

Intensity

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett

Ben Garston has broken the Lore. Now it's time to face the music. Life isn't treating Ben Garston very well. He's lost everything he once held dear, including the love of his life. Still, he did at least escape being dragged into hell by a malevolent spirit bent on total destruction. So there is that. Now Ben just wants to drink, and forget, and drink some more. But he can't. Not yet. Because someone is stirring up trouble. Someone who wants to unravel the powerful magic that was spun all those centuries ago, and watch the realm of mythology come crashing into the modern world. Only Ben can stop them. The world will burn if he fails - and that's the last thing he needs on his conscience.

Hachette Audio

Age of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Orbit

YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson

YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE . . .You can't change your fate - so throw yourself into battle, because you'll either end the day a hero or drinking mead in the halls of the gods. That's what Finn's people believe.But Finn wants to live. When his settlement is massacred by a hostile nation, Finn plus several friends and rivals must make their escape across a brutal, unfamiliar landscape, and to survive, Finn will fight harder than he's ever fought before.The David Gemmell Award-nominated author of Age of Iron returns with You Die When You Die - an epic fantasy adventure in which a mismatched group of refugees battle animals and monsters, determined assassins, an unforgiving land and each other as they cross a continent to fulfil a prophecy.'I loved every second of it . . . More please, as soon as is humanly possible!' The Eloquent Page'Hugely entertaining' SFX'A rip-roaring, swiftly paced adventure set in a sprawling and beautifully detailed world . . . sure to win the devotion of plenty of fans' RT Book Reviews'The first book in Watson's new fantasy trilogy is raw, violent, and gritty . . . You Die When You Die blurs the lines between hero and villain into who lives and who dies. He who survives another day wins for the moment; tomorrow might be another story' Booklist

Hachette Audio

Legend

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

The LegendDruss, Captain of the Axe: the stories of his life were told everywhere. Instead of the wealth and fame he could have claimed, he had chosen a mountain lair, high in the lonely country bordering on the clouds. There the grizzled old warrior kept company with snow leopards and awaited his old enemy death.The FortressMighty Dros Delnoch, protected by six outer walls, the only route by which an army could pass through the mountains. It was the stronghold of the Drenai empire. And now it was the last battleground, for all else had fallen before the Nadir hordes.And hope rested on the skills of that one old man...

Piatkus

The Chosen

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward

A scorching forbidden love threatens to tear a rift through the Black Dagger Brotherhood in J. R. Ward's newest novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling series.Xcor, leader of the Band of Bastards, convicted of treason against the Blind King, is facing a brutal interrogation and torturous death at the hands of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Yet after a life marked by cruelty and evil deeds, he accepts his soldier's fate, his sole regret the loss of a sacred female who was never his: the Chosen Layla.Layla alone knows the truth that will save Xcor's life. But revealing his sacrifice and his hidden heritage will expose them both and destroy everything Layla holds dear - even her role of mother to her precious young. Torn between love and loyalty, she must summon the courage to stand up against the only family she has for the only man she will ever love. Yet even if Xcor is somehow granted a reprieve, he and Layla would have to confront a graver challenge: bridging the chasm that divides their worlds without paving the way for a future of even greater war, desolation and death.As a dangerous old enemy returns to Caldwell, and the identity of a new deity is revealed, nothing is certain or safe in the world of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, not even true love . . . or destinies that have long seemed set in stone.

Orbit

Kings of the Wyld

Nicholas Eames
Authors:
Nicholas Eames
Orbit

Bane and Shadow

Jon Skovron
Authors:
Jon Skovron

In a fracturing empire spread across savage seas, two young people from different cultures find common purpose.Red is being trained as a cold-blooded assassin by the biomancers. As he becomes increasingly embroiled in palace politics, he learns that even life amongst the nobility can be deadly.While terrorizing imperial ships as the pirate Dire Bane, Hope stumbles onto a biomancer plot of such horrifying scope that it makes even the massacre of her childhood village seem small in comparison.With the biomancers tightening their grip of fear over the empire, Hope and Red struggle to fill their new roles and responsibilities, but the cost will be greater than any of them realize.

Orbit

The Waking Fire

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan

Anthony Ryan - bestselling author of fantasy sensation Blood Song - returns with an action-packed new epic fantasy of exploration and adventure, spies and assassins, explosive magic and the furious battle to forge an empire.Claydon Torcreek is a Blood-blessed, able to channel the powers contained in the blood of wild drakes. While his brethren serve as elite spies and assassins, Clay prefers the life of a small-time criminal in the dangerous slums of Carvenport.Yet war is coming, and it seems Clay is going to end up on the losing side - unless he can track down a legendary drake, whose powerful blood might just be enough to achieve victory. Clay has handled many things in his time (most of them illegal) but nothing as priceless as his nation's future.'Fabulous . . . Sure to be another fantasy classic' Huffington Post UK'The world Ryan has created for his new dragon adventure is a joy to visualise' SciFiNow'A fascinating world packed with dragons, pirates, political machinations and an interesting magic system to boot' Fantasy Faction'A marvellous piece of imagination with plenty of twists, a refreshingly different setting, and excellent world-building' Mark Lawrence'Memorable characters and great action' Django Wexler'Excellent epic fantasy' BookBag

Piatkus

Breath of Fire

Amanda Bouchet
Authors:
Amanda Bouchet
Orbit

Mostly Void, Partially Stars: Welcome to Night Vale Episodes, Volume 1

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Corsair

Chimes at Midnight (Toby Daye Book 7)

Seanan McGuire
Authors:
Seanan McGuire

Things are starting to look up for October "Toby" Daye. She's training her squire, doing her job, and has finally allowed herself to grow closer to the local King of Cats. It seems like her life may finally be settling down...at least until dead changelings start appearing in the alleys of San Francisco, killed by an overdose of goblin fruit.Toby's efforts to take the problem to the Queen of the Mists are met with harsh reprisals, leaving her under sentence of exile from her home and everyone she loves. Now Toby must find a way to reverse the Queens decree, get the goblin fruit off the streets-and, oh, yes, save her own life, since more than a few of her problems have once again followed her home. And then there's the question of the Queen herself, who seems increasingly unlikely to have a valid claim to the throne...To find the answers, October and her friends will have to travel from the legendary Library of Stars into the hidden depths of the Kingdom of the Mists-and they'll have to do it fast, because time is running out. In faerie, some fates are worse than death.October Daye is about to find out what they are.

Orbit

Fellside

M. R. Carey
Authors:
M. R. Carey
Corsair

Radiance

Catherynne M. Valente
Authors:
Catherynne M. Valente
Orbit

Warlords and Wastrels

Julia Knight
Authors:
Julia Knight

Vocho and Kacha may be known for the finest swordplay in the city of Reyes, but they've found themselves backed into a corner too often for their liking.Finally reinstated into the Duellists guild for services rendered to the prelate, who has found himself back in charge, Vocho and Kacha are tasked with bring a prisoner to justice. But this prisoner is none other than Kacha's old flame Egimont. The prelate wants him alive, and on their side. However the more they discover of Egimont and his dark dealings with the magician, the more Kacha's loyalties are divided. Soon she must choose a side - the prelate or the king, her brother or her ex-lover.The fate of Reyes is balanced on a knife-edge . . .

Orbit

The Paradox

Charlie Fletcher
Authors:
Charlie Fletcher
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Wonder at the Edge of the World

Nicole Helget
Authors:
Nicole Helget
Orbit

The King Beyond The Gate

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

A century has passed since the heroic defence of Dros Delnoch. But the people of the Drenai face a new terror: a mad emperor kept in power by two forces of unsurpassed evil. The Joinings are werebeasts of awesome power. The Dark Templars are warrior-priests whose fighting skills are without equal. Against them, the Drenai face certain defeat. One man, an outsider hated by the Drenai for his Nadir blood, and despised by the Nadir for his Drenai ancestry, sets out to bring down the emperor. He is one man against the armies of chaos.He is Tenaka Khan - the Prince of Shadows.