James Bennett - Chasing Embers - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356506630
    • Publication date:08 Sep 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405535410
    • Publication date:08 Sep 2016

Chasing Embers

By James Bennett

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher will revel in this fiery tale of adventure and modern-day mythology, from a stellar new talent

'A thrilling fusion of myth and modernity' Kevin Hearne, author of the Iron Druid Chronicles

'Blending together the best of action, adventure and urban fantasy . . . Chasing Embers is one of my highlights!' The Eloquent Page

Fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher will revel in this fiery tale of magic, mayhem and modern-day mythology.

BEHIND EVERY MYTH THERE IS A SPARK OF TRUTH . . .

There's nothing special about Ben Garston.

Or so he'd have you believe. He won't tell you, for instance, that he's also known as Red Ben. Or that the world of myth and legend is more real than you think.

Because it's his job to keep all that a secret.

But now a centuries-old rivalry has resurfaced, and the delicate balance between his world and ours is about to be shattered.

Something is hiding in the heart of the city - and it's about to be unleashed.


Reader reviews for The Ben Garston novels:

'Ben Garston is one of my all time favourite characters'

'Brilliant and touching'

'This is a series I shall devour in flames, with each new instalment'

'This is a brilliant page-turner. And now Book 2 is out... there's no excuse!'


The Ben Garston novels:

Chasing Embers
Raising Fire
Burning Ashes (coming 2018)

Biographical Notes

James Bennett is a British writer raised in Sussex and South Africa. His travels have furnished him with an abiding love of different cultures, history and mythology. His short fiction has appeared internationally and the acclaimed Chasing Embers was his debut fantasy novel. James lives in London and sees dragon bones in the Thames whenever he crosses a bridge.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356506647
  • Publication date: 08 Sep 2016
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Orbit
A superior piece of magical myth-making . . . An extremely promising debut — SFFWorld
Bennett has done an extremely good job of creating some detailed and believable characters — SFX
Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher are both fair comparisons to Bennett's attempts to fuse fantasy with a modern-day setting — SciFi Now
Blending together the best of action, adventure and urban fantasy . . . Chasing Embers is going to be one of my highlights for 2016. This is a cracking tale — The Eloquent Page
Orbit

Brief Cases

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher
Orbit

The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn

Tyler Whitesides
Authors:
Tyler Whitesides

Ardor Benn is no ordinary thief - master of wildly complex heists, he styles himself a Ruse Artist Extraordinaire. When a priest hires him for the most daring ruse yet, Ardor knows he'll need more than quick wit and sleight of hand. Assembling a dream team of forgers, disguisers, schemers and thieves, he sets out to steal from the most powerful king the realm has ever known. But it soon becomes clear there's more at stake than fame and glory - Ard and his team might just be the last hope for human civilisation.

Orbit

The Defiant Heir

Melissa Caruso
Authors:
Melissa Caruso
Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Hachette Audio

The Hawk Eternal

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Hachette Audio

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Hachette Audio

The Gods of Love: to save the world, she'll have to save herself . . .

Nicola Mostyn
Authors:
Nicola Mostyn
Orbit

The Fatal Gate

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine
Orbit

Silence Fallen

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs
Piatkus

Blood Fury

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Piatkus

Born of Vengeance

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon

'A publishing phenomenon... [Sherrilyn Kenyon] is the reigning queen of the wildly successful paranormal scene.' Publishers Weekly 'Kenyon builds a story that is wall-to-wall action, yet touched with poignancy.' Romantic TimesA fate worse than death . . . Bastien Cabarro survived the brutal slaughter of his entire family only to have his wife pin their murders on him. Made Ravin by The League, he is now a target for their assassins-in-training to hunt and kill. The average life expectancy for such beings is six weeks. But defying the odds is what this Gyron Force officer does best, and Bastien won't rest until he lays his betrayers in their graves.Ten years later, he has one chance to balance the scales of justice, provided he relies on his former wingman - the very sister of the woman who testified against him.Major Ember Wyldestarrin joined the outlaw Tavali the day Kirovar fell into the hands of a tyrant, and she and her team were left on an outpost to die under the barrage of enemy fire. The last thing she wants is to be involved in politics again. But if she doesn't bring Bastien in, her sister will pay the ultimate price. Now she has to find some way to betray her former wingman before he catches on and kills her. Even so, treachery doesn't come easy to a woman who took a loyalty oath to protect her homeworld and comrades-in-arms, especially when Bastien means more to her than just another partner.Yet as she tries to do right for her family, she learns that Bastien doesn't just hold the key to the fate of Kirovar, he is vital to The Sentella-League war, and to The Tavali. If she hands him over, three nations fall. If she doesn't, her entire family dies. Their fates are all in her hands, and time for all of them is quickly running out.

Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume Three

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall

FIVE VILLAINS. ONE MISSION. A WAR AGAINST DEVILS. Warrior queen and pariah Cold Zosia wakes in the ashes of a burning city. Her vengeance has brought her to this - her heroic reputation in tatters, her friends scattered far and wide and her world under threat by unknown forces. General Ji-Hyeon is trapped in the Gates between worlds, while her lover Sullen grapples with a mission from a dead goddess. The barbarian warrior Maroto is held captive by a demonic army that threatens to spill into the Crimson Empire at any moment. The once-legendary Zosia must rally her comrades and old enemies one last time, for a battle that will be greater than any tale ever told of her deeds before. If anyone lives to tell it.

Orbit

Malice of Crows

Lila Bowen
Authors:
Lila Bowen

'I don't care what else you've seen in the bookstore today. Read this one' Kevin Hearne on Wake of Vultures'I enjoyed the hell out of it' Patrick Rothfuss on Wake of Vultures'Quite simply, brilliant. A mind-bending mix of history, fantasy and folklore, it's a wild bronco of a read that'll leave you breathless for more' Rachel Caine on Wake of Vultures 'Weird and wonderful . . . Hot damn, this book is good' Chuck Wendig on Wake of VulturesThe Ranger known as Rhett has shut down a terrible enterprise running on the blood and bones of magical folk, but failed to destroy the dark alchemist behind it. Now his destiny as the Shadow refuses to let him rest.To save his friends - and the lives of countless others - he'll first have to lead them on a mission more dangerous than anything they've ever faced.Malice of Crows is the gripping third instalment of the acclaimed Shadow series, starring a hero who has been hailed as 'one of the iconic characters of this generation'.

Hachette Audio

A Plague of Giants

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

'TRULY EPIC FANTASY' James Islington, author of The Shadow of What Was LostFrom the east came the Bone Giants. From the south, the fire-wielding Hathrim.It was an invasion that sparked war across the six nations of Teldwen. Now the kingdom's only hope is the discovery of a new form of magic - one that will call the wondrous beasts of the world to fight by the side of humankind.In the start of a thrilling new series, the New York Times bestselling author of The Iron Druid Chronicles creates an unforgettable fantasy world of warring giants and elemental magic.'This isn't just a breath of fresh air for the genre, it's a damned hurricane' Jason M. Hough, New York Times bestselling author'A rare masterpiece that's both current and timeless . . . merging the fantasy bones of Tolkien and Rothfuss with a wide cast of characters who'll break your heart'Delilah S. Dawson

Piatkus

Dark Legacy

Christine Feehan
Authors:
Christine Feehan

'After Bram Stoker, Anne Rice and Joss Whedon, Christine Feehan is the person most credited with popularizing the neck gripper.'Time'Feehan has a knack for bringing vampiric Carpathians to vivid, virile life in her Dark Carpathian novels.'Publishers Weekly

Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett
Orbit

The End of the Day

Claire North
Authors:
Claire North

***SHORTLISTED FOR THE SUNDAY TIMES / PFD YOUNG WRITER OF THE YEAR AWARD 2017***'Funny, ambitious, immensely humane and full of philosophical panache' Sunday Times'Extraordinary . . . wildly impressive" Lucy Hughes-Hallett, BBC Radio 4'Wholly original and hauntingly beautiful' Kirkus Sooner or later, death visits everyone. Before that, they meet Charlie.Charlie meets everyone - but only once. Sometimes he is sent as a courtesy, sometimes as a warning. Either way, this is going to be the most important meeting of your life.The End of the Day is the stunning new story from Claire North, the voice behind the word-of-mouth bestseller The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August.'Reaffirms the passion and ambition that have made North such a consistently intriguing writer' Locus'Every one of the chapters is shaped with philosophical panache' Guardian'Compelling . . . keeps the surprises coming until the very end' San Francisco Chronicle

Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington
Orbit

Senlin Ascends

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft

'One of my favourite books of all time' Mark Lawrence'An extraordinary debut that is well worthy of the hype. A beautifully written, highly engaging page-turning masterpiece' Fantasy Book Review Mild-mannered headmaster, Thomas Senlin prefers his adventures to be safely contained within the pages of a book. So when he loses his new bride shortly after embarking on the honeymoon of their dreams, he is ill-prepared for the trouble that follows. To find her, Senlin must enter the Tower of Babel - a world of geniuses and tyrants, of menace and wonder, of unusual animals and mysterious machines. He must endure betrayal, assassination attempts and the long guns of a flying fortress. And if he hopes to ever see his wife again, he will have to do more than just survive . . . this quiet man of letters must become a man of action.'Thomas Senlin is the most unlikely yet likeable hero since a certain hobbit rushed out of Bag End leaving his second breakfast half-finished and entirely unwashed-up' Fantasy Faction