James Bennett - Chasing Embers - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356506630
    • Publication date:08 Sep 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405535410
    • Publication date:08 Sep 2016
Books in this series

Chasing Embers

By James Bennett

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher will revel in this fiery tale of adventure and modern-day mythology, from a stellar new talent

Behind every myth there is a spark of truth . . .

There's nothing special about Ben Garston.

Or so he'd have you believe. He won't tell you, for instance, that he's also known as Red Ben. Or that the world of myth and legend is more real than you think.

Because it's his job to keep all that a secret.

But now a centuries-old rivalry has resurfaced, and the delicate balance between his world and ours is about to be shattered.

Something is hiding in the heart of the city - and it's about to be unleashed.

'A thrilling fusion of myth and modernity, Chasing Embers will have you cheering for dragons over humans and loving every minute of it' - Kevin Hearne

Biographical Notes

James Bennett is a British writer born in Loughborough and raised in Sussex, South Africa and Cornwall. His travels have furnished him with an abiding love of different cultures, history and mythology. He's had several short stories published internationally and Chasing Embers is his debut fantasy novel. James currently lives in west Wales and draws inspiration from long walks, deep forests and old stones . . . and also the odd bottle of wine.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356506647
  • Publication date: 08 Sep 2016
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Orbit
A superior piece of magical myth-making . . . An extremely promising debut — SFFWorld
Bennett has done an extremely good job of creating some detailed and believable characters — SFX
Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher are both fair comparisons to Bennett's attempts to fuse fantasy with a modern-day setting — SciFi Now
Blending together the best of action, adventure and urban fantasy . . . Chasing Embers is going to be one of my highlights for 2016. This is a cracking tale — The Eloquent Page
Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett
Orbit

Besieged

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne
Orbit

The Unholy Consult

R. Scott Bakker
Authors:
R. Scott Bakker

A SCORE OF YEARS AFTER HE FIRST WALKED INTO THE HISTORIES OF MEN, ANASÛRIMBOR KELLHUS RULES ALL THE THREE SEAS, THE FIRST TRUE ASPECT-EMPEROR IN A THOUSAND YEARS.The Unholy Consult is the hugely anticipated final novel in R. Scott Bakker's acclaimed Aspect-Emperor series, set in a vivid world of myth, war and sorcery. It is a series that stands alongside the finest in the genre, for its grand scope, rich detail and thrilling story.

Orbit

The Legion of Flame

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan

The Legion of Flame is the action-packed second novel in the Draconis Memoria series - an enthralling epic fantasy of magic, adventure and the furious battle to forge an empire.Claydon Torcreek has survived drake-infested jungles, hostile tribes and the cold touch of betrayal - yet his troubles have only just begun.The legendary white drake - believed to be nothing more than a myth - has awoken from its long slumber, with a thirst to reduce the world of men to ashes.One city has already fallen to the drake's formidable legions. More will follow, unless Clay can uncover an ancient secret that lies buried beneath the southern ice.Once again Clay must face unthinkable danger, and this time he carries not just the hopes of his own nation, but the fate of the entire world.

Orbit

The Fatal Gate

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine

The cruel Merdrun, the greatest warriors in the void, have invaded Santhenar but their portal failed, leaving them stranded. They're desperately trying to regain contact with the summon stone so they can reopen the portal and begin the slaughter of humanity. Llian, hurled through another portal, sees the summon stone wake and knows the allies have but one chance to destroy the Merdrun - though it will involve an alchemical quest that has always ended in ruin, a mad invasion in untested sky ships with untrained pilots, then the most unequal battle in all the Histories.

Hachette Audio

Quest For Lost Heroes

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

The Drenai fortress of Dros Delnoch has fallen and blood hungry Nadir hordes sweep across the land, bringing desolation and despair. But, with the Nadir triumphant, slavers seize a young girl in the tiny realm of Gothir and a peasant boy stes off on a quest that will shake the world.To rescue her, Kiall must cross the savage steppes and journey through the Halls of Hell, facing ferocious beasts, deadly warriors and demons of the dark.But the boy is not alone. With him are the legendary heroes of Bel-Azar: Chareos the Blademaster, Beltzer the Axeman and the bowmen Finn and Maggrig.And one among them hides a secret that could free the world of Nadir domination. For he is the Nadir Bane, the hope of the Drennai.He is the Earl of Bronze.

Orbit

The Black Elfstone: The Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Orbit

Kings of the Wyld

Nicholas Eames
Authors:
Nicholas Eames
Yen Press

Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon? On the Side: Sword Oratoria, Vol. 2

Fujino Omori, Kiyotaka Haimura, Suzuhito Yasuda
Authors:
Fujino Omori, Kiyotaka Haimura, Suzuhito Yasuda
Yen Press

Konosuba: God's Blessing on This Wonderful World!, Vol. 1 (Novel)

Natsume Akatsuki, Kurone Mishima
Contributors:
Natsume Akatsuki, Kurone Mishima
Yen Press

A Certain Magical Index, Vol. 10 (Novel)

Kazuma Kamachi, Kiyotaka Haimura
Contributors:
Kazuma Kamachi, Kiyotaka Haimura

Seven days have passed since the start of the Daihasei Festival, one of the biggest events of Academy City. Everyone is participating--Seiri Fukiyose is helping coordinate the games, Komoe Tsukuyomi dresses for the part as she cheers for her students, and of course, famous Mikoto Misaka is blowing away the competition. Even Kamijou has appearances!But a shadow has fallen across the celebrations: The Croce di Pietro. This magical artifact threatens the livelihoods of everyone Kamijou holds dear so he dashes off to try and bring Academy City back from the brink. But Oriana Thompson, the magician known as Route Disturb, and the Roman Catholic Church are determined to bring the bastion of science to its knees. Kamijou is going to need all the help he can get-and some luck for once wouldn't hurt!

Orbit

The Waking Fire

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan

Anthony Ryan - bestselling author of fantasy sensation Blood Song - returns with an action-packed new epic fantasy of exploration and adventure, spies and assassins, explosive magic and the furious battle to forge an empire.Claydon Torcreek is a Blood-blessed, able to channel the powers contained in the blood of wild drakes. While his brethren serve as elite spies and assassins, Clay prefers the life of a small-time criminal in the dangerous slums of Carvenport.Yet war is coming, and it seems Clay is going to end up on the losing side - unless he can track down a legendary drake, whose powerful blood might just be enough to achieve victory. Clay has handled many things in his time (most of them illegal) but nothing as priceless as his nation's future.'Fabulous . . . Sure to be another fantasy classic' Huffington Post UK'The world Ryan has created for his new dragon adventure is a joy to visualise' SciFiNow'A fascinating world packed with dragons, pirates, political machinations and an interesting magic system to boot' Fantasy Faction'A marvellous piece of imagination with plenty of twists, a refreshingly different setting, and excellent world-building' Mark Lawrence'Memorable characters and great action' Django Wexler'Excellent epic fantasy' BookBag

Piatkus

Power Game

Christine Feehan
Authors:
Christine Feehan

'Stepping back into Feehan's Ghostwalker series was like putting on an old, comfy pair of slippers that you just found hiding under the bed . . . you stick your feet in them and ahhh . . . heaven!' Book Chick City'Thrilling... Treachery and betrayal continue to stalk the GhostWalker teams, keeping the danger quotient high.' RT Book ReviewsWhen members of a United Nations joint security force are taken hostage by radical terrorists in Indonesia, Captain Ezekiel Fortunes is called to lead the rescue team. Part of a classified government experiment, Zeke is a supersoldier with enhanced abilities. He can see better and run faster than the enemy, disappear when necessary and hunt along any terrain. There are those in the world willing to do anything for power like that...A formidable spy genetically engineered to hide in plain sight, Bellisia rarely meets a man who doesn't want to control her or kill her. But Zeke is different. His gaze, his touch - they awaken feelings inside her that she never thought possible. He's the kind of man she could settle down with - if she can keep him alive...

Yen Press

Goblin Slayer, Vol. 1 (Novel)

Kumo Kagyu, Noboru Kannatuki
Contributors:
Kumo Kagyu, Noboru Kannatuki

A young priestess has formed her first adventuring party, but almost immediately they find themselves in distress. It's the Goblin Slayer who comes to their rescue - a man who's dedicated his life to the extermination of all goblins, by any means necessary. And when rumors of his feats begin to circulate, there's no telling who might come calling next...

Yen Press

The Irregular At Magic High School, Vol. 2

Tsutomu Sato
Authors:
Tsutomu Sato
Orbit

The Summon Stone

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine
Yen Press

The Devil Is a Part-Timer!, Vol. 5 (Manga)

Satoshi Wagahara, Akio Hiiragi
Authors:
Satoshi Wagahara, Akio Hiiragi
Yen Press

Log Horizon, Vol. 4 (Novel)

Mamare Touno, Kazuhiro Hara
Authors:
Mamare Touno, Kazuhiro Hara

The stronghold of Akihabara faces a new threat: a mighty goblin army! In their efforts to build the city, the adventurers of Elder Tale neglected important quests, and now they reap the consequences. With the revelation that in-game death leads to memory loss of the real world, the stakes have never been higher--and will cutthroat politics destroy tenuous new alliances before the real battle even begins?

Yen Press

Trinity Seven, Vol. 4

Kenji Saitou, Akinari Nao
Authors:
Kenji Saitou, Akinari Nao

One of Trinity Seven's own members, the fiendish Liese, attacks Arata with a "passionate kiss" that purloins all of his magical powers! With the Demon Lord Candidate's magic in her possession, Liese's powers are unmatched. But the key to defeating Liese must lie with the Demon Lord Candidate Arata! What will happen when he's forced to undergo insanely tough training?!It's Volume 3 of this romantic comedy and sometimes-serious wizard school story!

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Wonder at the Edge of the World

Nicole Helget
Authors:
Nicole Helget