Elizabeth Moon - Into the Fire - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356506302
    • Publication date:06 Feb 2018
Books in this series

Into the Fire

Vatta's Peace: Book 2

By Elizabeth Moon

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Nebula Award-winner Elizabeth Moon triumphantly returns to science fiction with this space opera series - Into the Fire is the sequel to Cold Welcome and perfect for fans of Lois McMaster Bujold, James S. A. Corey and Star Wars

When Admiral Kylara Vatta and a ship full of strangers were marooned on an inhospitable arctic island, they uncovered secrets that someone on Ky's planet was ready to kill to keep hidden. Now, the existence of the mysterious arctic base has been revealed, but the organisation behind it still lurks in the shadows, doing all it can to silence her.

It is up to the intrepid Ky to force the perpetrators into the light, and uncover decades' worth of secrets - some of which lie at the very heart of her family's greatest tragedy.

Biographical Notes

Elizabeth Moon served in the US Marine Corps, reaching the rank of 1st Lieutenant during active duty. She has also earned degrees in history and biology, run for public office and been a columnist on her local newspaper. She lives near Austin, Texas, with her husband and their son. Twenty-six of her books are in print, and she won the Nebula Award with her science fiction novel Speed of Dark (also shortlisted for the Clarke Award), and was a finalist for the Hugo in 1997.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356506319
  • Publication date: 06 Feb 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Orbit

Red Moon

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson

IT IS THIRTY YEARS FROM NOW, AND WE HAVE COLONIZED THE MOON. American Fred Fredericks is making his first trip, his purpose to install a communications system for China's Lunar Science Foundation. But hours after his arrival he witnesses a murder and is forced into hiding. It is also the first visit for celebrity travel reporter Ta Shu. He has contacts and influence, but he too will find that the moon can be a perilous place for any traveler. Finally, there is Chan Qi. She is the daughter of the Minister of Finance, and without doubt a person of interest to those in power. She is on the moon for reasons of her own, but when she attempts to return to China, in secret, the events that unfold will change everything - on the moon, and on Earth. RED MOON is a magnificent novel of space exploration and political revolution from New York Times bestselling author Kim Stanley Robinson. Praise for Kim Stanley Robinson:'Robinson is one of the world's finest working novelists, in any genre' Guardian 'Polymathic, visionary brilliance' Financial Times'Robinson's work has a strong, intelligent social conscience' GQ'Robinson blends mystery and suspense with lyrical evocation of a complex future' Sunday Telegraph 'Kim Stanley Robinson is one of science fiction's greats' Sunday TimesRecent titles by Kim Stanley Robinson:2312ShamanAuroraNew York 2140

Orbit

Adrift

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard

'AN EDGE-OF-THE-SEAT EPIC OF SURVIVAL AND ADVENTURE IN DEEP SPACE' Gareth L. Powell'A UNIQUE MIX OF THRILLER, SPACE ADVENTURE AND CONSPIRACY NOVEL - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED' Jamie SawyerIn the far reaches of space, a tour group embarks on what will be the trip of a lifetime - in more ways than one . . .For one small group, a tour of the nearby Horsehead Nebula is meant to be a short but stunning highlight in the trip of a lifetime.But when a mysterious ship destroys Sigma Station and everyone on it, suddenly their tourist shuttle is stranded.They have no weapons. No food. No water. No one back home knows they're alive.And the mysterious ship is hunting them.Rob Boffard's Adrift is a thrilling science fiction tale of survival against all odds - perfect for fans of Alastair Reynold's Revenger, Becky Chamber's The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, Adrian Tchaikovksy' Children of Time and John Scalzi's The Collapsing Empire.'This action-packed adventure is made for summer vacation reading' Publishers Weekly'Adrift is rich in deep character-driven drama, built on a highly suspenseful premise' D. Nolan Clark, author of Forsaken Skies'This book is an intense, heart-pounding, cast-away-in-the-vastness-of-space adventure that keeps you guessing right up until the end! I was so utterly enthralled, I couldn't put it down' K. B. Wagers, author of Behind the Throne

Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz
Orbit

New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson
Sphere

Survivor

Roberta Kray
Authors:
Roberta Kray

Only the strongest will survive... NO ONE KNOWS CRIME LIKE KRAY 'A cracking good read!' Jessie Keane 'Martina Cole territory' Independent'A compelling mystery' Heather Burnside 'Gripping' Daily Express Cut from the same cloth as Kimberley Chambers, Martina Cole and Casey Kelleher. ***DECEIVED is available to pre-order now in hardback and ebook*** Lolly has always known her mum was different. Sometimes Angela Bruce was ill in a quiet sort of way, but other times she roamed the Mansfield estate shouting about whatever had wormed its way into her head that day. Either way, Lolly was on her own so she learned how to look after herself pretty quickly. Mal Fury has never got over the disappearance of his daughter all those years ago, but there's still hope because the police never found Kay's body. So when his private investigator turns up a lead that connects Kay to Lolly, Mal needs to find out more. But in doing so, he's delving into a decades-old mystery that could throw Lolly's entire world into chaos and she'll need every ounce of her survival instinct if she's to make it out the other side . . . Praise for Roberta Kray: 'A cracking good read' Jessie Keane 'Well into Martina Cole territory' Independent 'Action, intrigue and a character-driven plot . . . sure to please any crime fiction fans' Woman 'Gripping' Daily Express

Orbit

Persepolis Rising

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

Into the Drowning Deep

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant

'VISCERAL . . . IRRESISTIBLE . . . a claustrophobic, deep-sea terror tale that will leave readers glad to be safely on dry land' Kirkus NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR MIRA GRANT RETURNS WITH A RAZOR-SHARP TALE OF THE HORRORS THAT LIE BENEATH . . . Seven years ago the Atargatis set off on a voyage to the Mariana Trench to film a mockumentary, bringing to life ancient sea creatures of legend. It was lost at sea with all hands. Some have called it a tragedy; others have called it a hoax.Now, a new crew has been assembled to investigate. And they'll discover that whatever is down there is definitely no joke . . .Praise for Mira Grant:'ASTONISHING' New York Times 'GRIPPING, THRILLING AND BRUTAL . . . A MASTERPIECE OF SUSPENSE' Publishers Weekly'INTELLIGENT AND EXCITING' Telegraph'MYSTERY, DANGER AND EXCITEMENT ABOUND' RT Book Reviews

Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

The Stone Sky

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin

WINNER OF THE HUGO AWARD 2018WINNER OF THE NEBULA AWARD 2018 WINNER OF THE LOCUS AWARD FOR BEST FANTASY 2018An Amazon Best Book of the YearThe incredible conclusion to the record-breaking triple Hugo award-winning trilogy that began with the The Fifth Season The Moon will soon return. Whether this heralds the destruction of humankind or something worse will depend on two women. Essun has inherited the phenomenal power of Alabaster Tenring. With it, she hopes to find her daughter Nassun and forge a world in which every outcast child can grow up safe. For Nassun, her mother's mastery of the Obelisk Gate comes too late. She has seen the evil of the world, and accepted what her mother will not admit: that sometimes what is corrupt cannot be cleansed, only destroyed. Praise for this trilogy: 'Amazing' Ann Leckie 'Breaks uncharted ground' Library Journal 'Beautiful' Nnedi Okorafor 'Astounding' NPR 'Brilliant' Washington PostThe Broken Earth trilogy begins with The Fifth Season, continues in The Obelisk Gate and concludes with The Stone Sky - out now.

Orbit

Cold Welcome

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon
Orbit

Feedback

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant
Orbit

Mostly Void, Partially Stars: Welcome to Night Vale Episodes, Volume 1

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Orbit

The Obelisk Gate

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Orbit

Resistance Is Futile

Jenny T. Colgan
Authors:
Jenny T. Colgan

Discover this summer's most irregular love story . . .Connie's smart. She's funny. But when it comes to love, she's only human.As a brilliant mathematician with bright red hair - Connie's used to being considered a little unusual. But when she's recruited for a top-secret code-breaking project, nothing can prepare her for working with someone quite as peculiar as Luke.From the Sunday Times bestselling author Jenny Colgan comes a charmingly quirky tale of love, friendship . . . and the possible obliteration of mankind.'Quirky, funny and romantic' Sophie Kinsella'A riotous cocktail of geeks' Matt Haig, author of The Humans'It's not so often that I fall so completely in love with a book . . intelligent, funny, moving and beautiful' Rowan Coleman, author of The Memory Book'Joyous, suspenseful, poignant, funny, heart-breaking, and above all else, a pleasure to read' Claire North, author of The First Fifteen Lives of Harry AugustJenny Colgan is the author of numerous bestselling novels, including Christmas at the Cupcake Café, Little Beach Street Bakery and Welcome to Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop of Dreams. As Jenny T. Colgan she has also written the Doctor Who tie-in novel Dark Horizons and several Doctor Who short stories.

Orbit

Nemesis Games

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

A Crown for Cold Silver

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall

Cold Cobalt, the Banshee with a Blade, First Among Villains . . . Queen ZosiaWhen there were no more titles to win and no more worlds to conquer, the warrior queen Zosia faked her demise and gave up her legend to history. But when violence finds its way to her door years later, she must round up her adventuring companions - each surprised to see her alive - and set out for revenge.Time has not been kind to her old comrades, and some have only their own goals in mind. Not only that, but there's a young, beautiful and skilled general out there, gathering soldiers to her banner for a war against the deadliest of enemies. The girl is using a legend she did not earn, and calling herself by a name that was never hers - that of Zosia herself.

Orbit

Touch

Claire North
Authors:
Claire North

The electrifying new thriller from the author of the acclaimed The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August.Kepler is like you, but not like you. With a simple touch, Kepler can move into any body, live any life - for a moment, a day or for years. And your life could be next.SOME PEOPLE TOUCH LIVES. OTHERS TAKE THEM. I DO BOTH.'Just extraordinary' Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go'North's talent shines out' Sunday Times'Dazzlingly imaginative' Sunday Mirror'Breathless and brilliantly original' Love Reading'Destined to be one of the biggest thrillers of 2015' Rick O'Shea, radio presenterDiscover the mesmerising new novel from one of the most original new voices in modern fiction.Also by Claire NorthNovels:The First Fifteen Lives of Harry AugustThe Sudden Appearance of Hope (coming May 2016)Digital novellas:The Serpent: Gameshouse Novella 1The Thief: Gameshouse Novella 2 The Master: Gameshouse Novella 3

Sphere

The Italian Wife

Kate Furnivall
Authors:
Kate Furnivall
Orbit

Descent

Ken MacLeod
Authors:
Ken MacLeod
Orbit

The Girl With All The Gifts

M. R. Carey
Authors:
M. R. Carey