Elizabeth Moon - Into the Fire - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356506319
    • Publication date:06 Feb 2018
Books in this series

Into the Fire

Vatta's Peace: Book 2

By Elizabeth Moon

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Nebula Award-winner Elizabeth Moon triumphantly returns to science fiction with this space opera series - Into the Fire is the sequel to Cold Welcome and perfect for fans of Lois McMaster Bujold, James S. A. Corey and Star Wars

When Admiral Kylara Vatta and a ship full of strangers were marooned on an inhospitable arctic island, they uncovered secrets that someone on Ky's planet was ready to kill to keep hidden. Now, the existence of the mysterious arctic base has been revealed, but the organisation behind it still lurks in the shadows, doing all it can to silence her.

It is up to the intrepid Ky to force the perpetrators into the light, and uncover decades' worth of secrets - some of which lie at the very heart of her family's greatest tragedy.

Biographical Notes

Elizabeth Moon served in the US Marine Corps, reaching the rank of 1st Lieutenant during active duty. She has also earned degrees in history and biology, run for public office and been a columnist on her local newspaper. She lives near Austin, Texas, with her husband and their son. Twenty-six of her books are in print, and she won the Nebula Award with her science fiction novel Speed of Dark (also shortlisted for the Clarke Award), and was a finalist for the Hugo in 1997.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356506302
  • Publication date: 06 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: Orbit
Sphere

The War of the Worlds

H. G. Wells
Authors:
H. G. Wells
Hachette Audio

Someone Like Me

M. R. Carey
Authors:
M. R. Carey
Hachette Audio

The Labyrinth Index

Charles Stross
Authors:
Charles Stross

Britain is under New Management. The disbanding of the Laundry - the British espionage agency that deals with supernatural threats, has culminated in the unthinkable - an elder god in residence in 10 Downing Street.But in true 'the enemy of my enemy' fashion, Mhari Murphy finds herself working with His Excellency Nylarlathotep on foreign policy - there are worse things, it seems, than an elder god in power, and they lie in deepest, darkest America.A thousand-mile-wide storm system has blanketed the midwest, and the president is nowhere to be found - Mhari must lead a task force of disgraced Laundry personnel into the storm front to discover the truth. But working for an elder god is never easy, and as the stakes rise, Mhari will soon question exactly where her loyalties really lie.

Orbit

It Devours!

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

From the authors of the New York Times bestselling novel Welcome to Night Vale and the #1 podcast of the same name, comes a powerful new novel about two young people finding their place in the world, and the terrifying, toothy power of the Smiling God.Nilanjana Sikdar is an outsider to the town of Night Vale. Working for Carlos, the town's top scientist, she relies on fact and logic as her guiding principles. But all of that is put into question when Carlos gives her a special assignment investigating a mysterious rumbling in the desert wasteland outside of town. This investigation leads her to the Joyous Congregation of the Smiling God, and to Darryl, one of its most committed members. Caught between her beliefs in the ultimate power of science and her growing attraction to Darryl, she begins to suspect the Congregation is planning a ritual that could threaten the lives of everyone in town. Nilanjana and Darryl must search for common ground between their very different world views as they are faced with the Congregation's darkest and most terrible secret.

Orbit

Rosewater

Tade Thompson
Authors:
Tade Thompson
Orbit

Places in the Darkness

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Orbit

Everything About You

Heather Child
Authors:
Heather Child
Orbit

New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson

NOMINATED FOR THE HUGO AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2018'A towering novel' Guardian'Relevant and essential' Bloomberg BusinessweekAs the sea level rose, every street became a canal, every skyscraper an island. For the residents of one apartment building in Madison Square, however, New York in the year 2140 is far from a drowned city. New York Times bestselling author Kim Stanley Robinson delivers a bold and brilliant vision of New York in the next century.'New York may be underwater but it's better than ever' New Yorker 'Massively enjoyable' Washington Post'Gripping . . . so hard to put down' Business Insider 'A document of hope as much as dread' Los Angeles Review of Books

Orbit

The Boy on the Bridge

M. R. Carey
Authors:
M. R. Carey

'SPECTACULAR!' No. 1 bestselling author Martina Cole'UNPUTDOWNABLE' Irish TimesThe thrilling stand-alone novel set in the same world as the million-copy bestseller THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS.Once upon a time, in a land blighted by terror, there was a very clever boy.The people thought the boy could save them, so they opened their gates and sent him out into the world.To where the monsters lived.'Carey writes with compassion and fire - strange and surprising and humane' Lauren Beukes, author of The Shining Girls'I loved it just as much as The Girl With All the Gifts, if not more' Martina Cole'A tense story with superbly rendered characters' SciFiNow'A terrifying, emotional page-turner that explores what it means to be human' Kirkus

Orbit

Persepolis Rising

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

The Corporation Wars: Emergence

Ken MacLeod
Authors:
Ken MacLeod

The enemy is out in the open. The Reaction has seized control of a resource-rich moon. Now it's enslaving conscious robots - and luring the Corporations into lucrative deals.Taransay is out in the jungle. Her friends are inside a smart boulder on the slope of an active volcano. The planet is super-habitable - for its own life, not hers. But soon, the alien infestation growing on her robot body is the least of her problems.Carlos is out of patience. With the Reaction arming for conquest, the Corporations trading with the enemy and the Direction planning to stamp out the rebel robots and their allies for good, he has to fight fire with fire.Seba is out of time. Deep inside the enemy stronghold, the free robots have to spark a new revolt before the whole world falls in on them.As battle looms, the robots must become their own last hope.

Orbit

The Eternity War: Pariah

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer

'A NEW MASTER OF SCIENCE FICTION' William C. Dietz, author of the Halo tie-in novels'Jamie Sawyer is easily one of the best military SF writers working today - a must read for anyone who grew up watching Aliens and reading 2000AD' Gavin Smith, author of The Bastard LegionThe Eternity War series is an explosive tale of elite marines, deep-space exploration and warring galactic empires.The soldiers of the Simulant Operations Programme are mankind's elite warriors. Veterans of a thousand battles across a hundred worlds, they undertake suicidal missions to protect humanity from the insidious Krell Empire and the mysterious machine race known as the Shard. Lieutenant Keira Jenkins is an experienced simulant operative and leader of the Jackals, a team of raw recruits keen to taste battle. They soon get their chance when the Black Spiral terrorist network seizes control of a space station. Yet no amount of training could have prepared the Jackals for the deadly conspiracy they soon find themselves drawn into - a conspiracy that is set to spark a furious new war across the galaxy.Set in the same universe as Jamie Sawyer's acclaimed Lazarus War novels, The Eternity War series is an explosive tale of elite marines, deep-space exploration and warring galactic empires.Praise for Jamie Sawyer:'A gripping read that moves at warp speed' Jack Campbell, author of the Lost Fleet series'Alien biomechs . . . terrorism, subterfuge and traitors . . . starships sporting particle beam weapons, railguns the size of skyscrapers, laser batteries, missiles . . . This, dear readers, is the good stuff' Neal Asher, author of the Agent Cormac novels 'Fast-paced and full of action' SFX'Gripping, gritty and unsentimental - Sawyer shows us how perilous future war can be' Michael Cobley, author of Seeds of Earth'An adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF' Stephen Deas

Orbit

The Stone Sky

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin

WINNER OF THE HUGO AWARD 2018WINNER OF THE NEBULA AWARD 2018 WINNER OF THE LOCUS AWARD FOR BEST FANTASY 2018An Amazon Best Book of the YearThe incredible conclusion to the record-breaking triple Hugo award-winning trilogy that began with the The Fifth Season The Moon will soon return. Whether this heralds the destruction of humankind or something worse will depend on two women. Essun has inherited the phenomenal power of Alabaster Tenring. With it, she hopes to find her daughter Nassun and forge a world in which every outcast child can grow up safe. For Nassun, her mother's mastery of the Obelisk Gate comes too late. She has seen the evil of the world, and accepted what her mother will not admit: that sometimes what is corrupt cannot be cleansed, only destroyed. Praise for this trilogy: 'Amazing' Ann Leckie 'Breaks uncharted ground' Library Journal 'Beautiful' Nnedi Okorafor 'Astounding' NPR 'Brilliant' Washington PostThe Broken Earth trilogy begins with The Fifth Season, continues in The Obelisk Gate and concludes with The Stone Sky - out now.

Orbit

The Nightmare Stacks

Charles Stross
Authors:
Charles Stross
Orbit

Cold Welcome

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon

Admiral Ky Vatta should return to her childhood home a war hero, but on the way her shuttle is downed by sabotage.Marooned in a hostile landscape it'll take every bit of wit, skill and luck she can muster to lead her fellow survivors to safety, knowing that the mysterious enemies who destroyed the ship are on the hunt, and may have an agent in the group ready to finish the job at any moment. And was the sabotage an attempt on Ky's own life, or someone else's?

Orbit

Welcome to Night Vale: A Novel

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Orbit

The Obelisk Gate

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Orbit

The Water Knife

Paolo Bacigalupi
Authors:
Paolo Bacigalupi
Orbit

Ancillary Sword

Ann Leckie
Authors:
Ann Leckie
Orbit

The Remaining: Refugees

D. J. Molles
Authors:
D. J. Molles