Elizabeth Moon - Cold Welcome - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356506296
    • Publication date:13 Apr 2017
Books in this series

Cold Welcome

Vatta's Peace: Book 1

By Elizabeth Moon

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Nebula-Award-winner Elizabeth Moon triumphantly returns to science fiction with this space opera adventure, perfect for fans of Lois McMaster Bujold, James S. A. Corey and Star Wars

Admiral Ky Vatta should return to her childhood home a war hero, but on the way her shuttle is downed by sabotage.
Marooned in a hostile landscape it'll take every bit of wit, skill and luck she can muster to lead her fellow survivors to safety, knowing that the mysterious enemies who destroyed the ship are on the hunt, and may have an agent in the group ready to finish the job at any moment. And was the sabotage an attempt on Ky's own life, or someone else's?

Biographical Notes

Elizabeth Moon served in the US Marine Corps, reaching the rank of 1st Lieutenant during active duty. She has also earned degrees in history and biology, run for public office and been a columnist on her local newspaper. She lives near Austin, Texas, with her husband and their son. Twenty-six of her books are in in print, and she won the Nebula Award with her science fiction novel Speed of Dark (also short-listed for the Clarke Award), and was a finalist for the Hugo in 1997.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356506289
  • Publication date: 13 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Orbit
Scenes of battling the odds are terrific, making for an adventure story that's written with an energy and pace that demands your attention — SFX
Piatkus

Deep Blue

Jane O'Reilly
Authors:
Jane O'Reilly
Orbit

Adrift

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard

'AN EDGE-OF-THE-SEAT EPIC OF SURVIVAL AND ADVENTURE IN DEEP SPACE' Gareth L. Powell, the BSFA award-winning author of Embers of War 'A UNIQUE MIX OF THRILLER, SPACE ADVENTURE AND CONSPIRACY NOVEL - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED' Jamie Sawyer, author of the Lazarus War novels In the far reaches of space, a tour group embarks on what will be the trip of a lifetime - in more ways than one . . .At Sigma Station, a remote mining facility and luxury hotel in deep space, a group of tourists boards a small vessel to take in the stunning views of the Horsehead Nebula.But while they're out there, a mysterious ship with devastating advanced technology attacks the station. Their pilot's quick thinking means that the tourists escape with their lives - but as the dust settles, they realise they may be the only survivors . . .Adrift in outer space on a vastly under-equipped ship, they've got no experience, no weapons, no contact with civilisation. They are way out of their depth, and if they can't figure out how to work together, they're never getting home alive.Because the ship that destroyed the station is still out there. And it's looking for them...Rob Boffard's Adrift is a thrilling science fiction tale of survival against all odds - perfect for fans of Alastair Reynold's Revenger, Becky Chamber's The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, Adrian Tchaikovksy' Children of Time and John Scalzi's The Collapsing Empire.'Adrift is rich in deep character-driven drama, built on a highly suspenseful premise' D. Nolan Clark, author of Forsaken Skies

Little, Brown Young Readers US

CatStronauts: Robot Rescue

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington

In the fourth book in the CatStronauts graphic novel series, the stalwart Cat-Stro-Bot is stranded, and the CatStronauts have to stage an off the books robot rescue! Cat-Stro-Bot has been with the CatStronauts through it all. He's saved the team as a stowaway on their mission to the moon, brought the team back from a crash on Mars, and co-piloted the crucial shuttle in the dreaded space station situation.But now Cat-Stro-Bot is stranded on Jupiter's coldest moon after a mission gone wrong--and his best friend/creator Blanket isn't about to leave him behind. When CATSUP brass declines a rescue mission request, Blanket creates robot stand-ins for the team. Soon, the rest of the CatStronauts, Major Meowser, Pom Pom and Waffles, are off on their longest journey ever with experimental new technology. The robot rescue is afoot! In this full-color graphic novel, debut author/illustrator Drew Brockington takes the CatStronauts to the brink, adding in mounds of robot glitches, wonky cover-ups, and fish jokes by the ton!

Piatkus

Death Doesn't Bargain

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Orbit

Everything About You

Heather Child
Authors:
Heather Child

Gripping, heartrending and quietly terrifying, this cutting-edge debut imagines a world where people can be recreated as data ghosts and lives can be changed by the information they've left behind - perfect for fans of Black Mirror and Gone Girl.Freya has a new virtual assistant. It knows what she likes, knows what she wants and knows whose voice she most needs to hear: her missing sister's. It adopts her sister's personality, recreating her through a life lived online. But this virtual version of her sister knows things it shouldn't be possible to know. It's almost as if the missing girl is still out there somewhere, feeding fresh updates into the cloud. But that's impossible. Isn't it?

Orbit

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller
Authors:
Sam J. Miller
Grand Central Publishing

Small Hours

Jennifer Kitses
Authors:
Jennifer Kitses

After the birth of their twin daughters, Tom and Helen trade in city life for a cozy home in a former mill town. But beneath the peaceful surface of their domestic bliss lie secrets that could unravel the life and family they've built together.On a day of rising tension Tom, a news editor, will confront the consequences of an indiscretion that he has tried desperately to hide and that now threatens to undo his family. And Helen, a graphic designer who works from home, will be drawn into an escalating conflict with two street-smart teenage girls--setting off a series of events that will change the course of her life forever.Told over the course of one twenty-four hour period, SMALL HOURS is a work of taut domestic suspense about what happens when unexpected pressures force long-buried truths to the surface.

Orbit

Into the Fire

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon

When Admiral Kylara Vatta and a ship full of strangers were marooned on an inhospitable arctic island, they uncovered secrets that someone on Ky's planet was ready to kill to keep hidden. Now, the existence of the mysterious arctic base has been revealed, but the organisation behind it still lurks in the shadows, doing all it can to silence her.It is up to the intrepid Ky to force the perpetrators into the light, and uncover decades' worth of secrets - some of which lie at the very heart of her family's greatest tragedy.

Hachette Australia

Terra Nullius

Claire G. Coleman
Authors:
Claire G. Coleman
Orbit

Rosewater

Tade Thompson
Authors:
Tade Thompson

Winner of the inaugural Nommo Award for Best Novel Africa's first award for speculative fiction John W. Campbell Award finalist for Best Science Fiction NovelRosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless - people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers. Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again - but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future.

Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee
Sphere

Island in the East

Jenny Ashcroft
Authors:
Jenny Ashcroft
Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz
Twelve

Motherest

Kristen Iskandrian
Authors:
Kristen Iskandrian
Orbit

Untitled Expanse Novella 4

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Hachette Audio

The Corporation Wars: Emergence

Ken MacLeod
Authors:
Ken MacLeod

The enemy is out in the open. The Reaction has seized control of a resource-rich moon. Now it's enslaving conscious robots - and luring the Corporations into lucrative deals.Taransay is out in the jungle. Her friends are inside a smart boulder on the slope of an active volcano. The planet is super-habitable - for its own life, not hers. But soon, the alien infestation growing on her robot body is the least of her problems.Carlos is out of patience. With the Reaction arming for conquest, the Corporations trading with the enemy and the Direction planning to stamp out the rebel robots and their allies for good, he has to fight fire with fire.Seba is out of time. Deep inside the enemy stronghold, the free robots have to spark a new revolt before the whole world falls in on them.As battle looms, the robots must become their own last hope.

Orbit

The Stone Sky

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Hachette Audio

The Delirium Brief

Charles Stross
Authors:
Charles Stross
Orbit

The Nightmare Stacks

Charles Stross
Authors:
Charles Stross
Piatkus

Deadmen Walking

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon