Jenny T. Colgan - Spandex and the City - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356505435
    • Publication date:18 May 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405535106
    • Publication date:18 May 2017

Spandex and the City

By Jenny T. Colgan

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A superpowered love story from the Sunday Times bestselling Jenny T. Colgan, author of Resistance Is Futile and Meet Me at the Cupcake Café

LOCAL GIRL SWEPT OFF HER FEET
Mild-mannered publicist Holly Phillips is unlucky in love. She's embarrassed beyond belief when the handsome stranger she meets in a bar turns out to be 'Ultimate Man' - a superpowered hero whose rescue attempt finds her hoisted over his shoulder and flashing her knickers in the newspaper the next day.
But when Holly's fifteen minutes of fame make her a target for something villainous, she only has one place to turn - and finds the man behind the mask holds a lot more charm than his crime-fighting alter-ego.
Can Holly find love, or is superdating just as complicated as the regular kind?

Biographical Notes

Jenny Colgan is the author of numerous bestselling novels, including Christmas at the Cupcake Café and Little Beach Street Bakery. Meet Me at the Cupcake Café won the 2012 Melissa Nathan Award for Comedy Romance and was a Sunday Times top ten bestseller, as was Welcome to Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop of Dreams, which won the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year Award 2013. Under the Jenny T. Colgan pen name, she has also written the Doctor Who tie-in novel Dark Horizons and Doctor Who short stories 'Into the Nowhere', 'Long Way Down' and 'All the Empty Towers'. Jenny is married with three children and lives in London and France. For more about Jenny, visit her website and her Facebook page, or follow her on Twitter: @jennycolgan.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356505442
  • Publication date: 18 May 2017
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Orbit
It's wonderfully different, romantic, quirky and has the warmth and humour I love from a Jenny Colgan novel — NOVEL KICKS
If you're looking for a fun escapist read this summer then Spandex and the City could be just the book for you — ONE MORE PAGE
Entertaining and weirdly refreshing . . . Oh, and it's funny. Like, really funny . . . the humour could light a forest fire — SFX
Charming and completely addictive — BOOKABIE
Want something different? Want a good laugh? Then this is the book for you . . . hysterically funny — ANNIE'S BOOK CORNER
In short: superheroes, romance, a dash of humour and a gentle dig at 21st century popular culture — BOOKS, LIFE AND EVERYTHING
I became hooked from the very first chapter by Ms. Colgan's easy, relaxing, writing style, and her delightful, playful plot, unlike any of her other work that I have read — WHISPERING STORIES
Forever

Heart of Glass

Nicole Jacquelyn
Authors:
Nicole Jacquelyn

The next standalone novel from Nicole Jacquelyn about love, friendship, and forgiveness.Henry Harris was living his dream as a staff sergeant in the Marines. When he's killed in action, his devastated family is in for one more shock: he had a daughter they never knew about.Morgan Riley has been raising Etta on her own, and that's always been fine by her - until Henry's brother Trevor arrives on her doorstep, willing to do anything to help and make up for his brother's mistakes. Their attraction feels wrong, but Morgan can't seem to turn him away.Trevor is suddenly in too deep. He has always wanted a family, but Etta and Morgan come with complications. Yet as Etta brings them closer together, Trevor begins to imagine giving Morgan and Etta the life his brother never could. But he wonders if Morgan will ever learn to trust another man with her heart, especially a man whose last name is Harris.

Orbit

The Dragon Lords 3: Bad Faith

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins

Will and his comrades went to war to overthrow the reign of dragons, winning battle after battle, gold and, best of all, a reputation as conquering heroes.But now they've angered the gods, these great dragonslayers suddenly need to turn to the dragons for help . . .We won't tell if you don't.'Jon Hollins is a one-of-a-kind storyteller, a master of epic fun and nonstop action' Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the Wyld

Hachette Audio

Everything About You

Heather Child
Authors:
Heather Child

Gripping, heartrending and quietly terrifying, this cutting-edge debut imagines a world where people can be recreated as data ghosts and lives can be changed by the information they've left behind - perfect for fans of Black Mirror and Gone Girl.Freya has a new virtual assistant. It knows what she likes, knows what she wants and knows whose voice she most needs to hear: her missing sister's. It adopts her sister's personality, recreating her through a life lived online. This data ghost knows everything about Freya's sister: every date she ever went on, every photo she took, every secret she ever shared. In fact it knows things it shouldn't be possible to know. It's almost as if her sister is still out there somewhere, feeding fresh updates into the cloud. But that's impossible. Isn't it?

Little, Brown

The Little Italian Bakery

Valentina Cebeni
Authors:
Valentina Cebeni
Grand Central Publishing

Small Hours

Jennifer Kitses
Authors:
Jennifer Kitses
Orbit

Into the Fire

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon
Twelve

Motherest

Kristen Iskandrian
Authors:
Kristen Iskandrian
Piatkus

Maggie Jordan

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair

When most of Maggie Jordan's family are killed in a freak flood in the small coastal village of Heymouth, she is forced to find work in one of Glasgow's carpet mills. She becomes engaged to Nevil Sanderson, who suddenly decides he must go to Spain and join the Republicans in their fight against Franco.Although she struggles on without him, Maggie eventually realises her place is by his side and journeys to Spain to join him. But the newly promoted Nevil has become distant and ruthless, and is fiercely jealous of her new friendship with American journalist Howard Taft.Years later, married and with an eight-year-old daughter, Maggie has returned to Glasgow. Astonished when Howard reappears, bringing light and laughter back into her life, she is forced to take decisions - decisions which threaten to destroy even the vibrant and courageous Maggie Jordan.Praise for Emma Blair:'An engaging novel and the characters are endearing - a good holiday read' Historical Novels Review'All the tragedy and passion you could hope for . . . Brilliant' The Bookseller'Romantic fiction pure and simple and the best sort - direct, warm and hugely readable. Women's fiction at an excellent level' Publishing News'Emma Blair explores the complex and difficult nature of human emotions in this passionately written novel' Edinburgh Evening News'Entertaining romantic fiction' Historical Novels Review'[Emma Blair] is well worth recommending' The Bookseller

Sphere

Letters from Lighthouse Cottage

Ali McNamara
Authors:
Ali McNamara
Yen Press

Puella Magi Suzune Magica, Vol. 3

Magica Quartet, GAN
Authors:
Magica Quartet, GAN
Hachette Audio

The Chocolate Lovers' Wedding

Piatkus

Who's Afraid?

Maria Lewis
Authors:
Maria Lewis
Sphere

Moving

Jenny Eclair
Authors:
Jenny Eclair

The Sunday Times top ten bestsellerThis house has our blood, sweat, love, laughter and betrayal seeped into its very bones. I might leave this place, but bits of me will remain here, tears soaked deep into the floorboards. You could hoover this place for ever and you'd never get rid of us completely.It only took one night to tear a family apart. Artist and illustrator Edwina Spinner used to have a busy family life. Now she lives alone, in a house that has grown too big for her. She has decided to sell it. As Edwina takes the estate agent from room to room, she finds herself transported back to her life as a young mother. Back to her twins, Rowena and Charlie, and a stepson she cannot bring herself to mention by name.As the house reveals its secrets, Edwina is forced to confront her family's past, and a devastating betrayal that changed everything. But Edwina doesn't know the whole story. And to discover the truth, she will have to face the one person she vowed never to see again.

Yen Press

Puella Magi Suzune Magica, Vol. 2

Magica Quartet, GAN
Authors:
Magica Quartet, GAN

Suzune Amano is a hard-working middle school student, but her ever-smiling face conceals a dark secret--that she's a magical-girl assassin. As the magical girls of the town are picked off one after another, the remaining few fall into despair. In their darkest hour, what path must these girls take...?

Hachette Audio

The Chocolate Lovers' Christmas

Hachette Audio

Welcome to Night Vale: A Novel

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

A friendly desert community where the sun is hot, the moon is beautiful and mysterious lights pass overhead while we all pretend to sleep. Welcome to Night Vale.

Yen Press

Puella Magi Suzune Magica, Vol. 1

Magica Quartet, GAN
Authors:
Magica Quartet, GAN
Hachette Audio

Blood Bound

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs
Orbit

Moon Called

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs

I didn't realize he was a werewolf at first. My nose isn't at its best when surrounded by axle grease and burnt oil . . .'Mercedes Thompson runs a garage in the Tri-Cities. She's a mechanic, and a damn good one, who spends her spare time karate training and tinkering with a VW bus that happens to belong to a vampire. Her next-door neighbour is an alpha werewolf - literally, the leader of the pack. And Mercy herself is a shapeshifter, sister to coyotes. As such, she's tolerated by the 'wolves but definitely down the pecking order. As long as she keeps her eyes down and remembers her place, the pack will leave her in peace.

Orbit

Iron Kissed

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs

It wasn't hard to follow the scent of blood to the living room where the fae had been killed. It had been a violent death, perfect for creating ghosts.Mercy Thompson enjoys life as a mechanic, but life is never simple given her increasing closeness to the local werewolf pack, and her ability to change into coyote form at will. And when a member of the fae community calls in a favour, needing her skills for a covert murder investigation, she jumps into the hunt.But the dangers multiply and she clashes with shadowed creatures of great power. When her old boss Zee is charged with a brutal assassination, Mercy find herself fighting alone. There are those who love her, who would keep her safe, but she is wary and holds her freedom precious. Until, that is, she has nothing left to lose but her life ...