Angus Watson - Clash of Iron - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405528535
    • Publication date:14 Apr 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405533270
    • Publication date:14 Apr 2015
Books in this series

Clash of Iron

By Angus Watson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Bloodthirsty druids and battle-hardened Iron Age warriors collide in the second volume of this action-packed historical fantasy trilogy which will appeal to fans of Joe Abercrombie and HBO's Game of Thrones. The first volume of this trilogy, Age of Iron, is currently shortlisted for the 2015 David Gemmell Award.

LEADERS ARE FORGED IN THE FIRES OF WAR

Iron Age warriors Dug and Lowa captured Maidun castle and freed its slaves. But now they have conquered it, they must defend it.
A Roman invasion is coming from Gaul, but rather than uniting to protect their home, the British tribes battle each other - and see Maidun as an easy target.
Meanwhile, Lowa's spies infiltrate Gaul, discovering the Romans have recruited bloodthirsty British druids, and Maidunite Ragnall finds his loyalties torn when he meets Rome's charismatic general, Julius Caesar.

War is coming. Who will pay its price?

Biographical Notes

Angus Watson is the David Gemmell-award nominated author of Age of Iron. As well as writing epic fantasy, he's written hundreds of features for newspapers including The Times, Financial Times and Telegraph, and the latter even sent him to look for Bigfoot in America. He lives in London, but you can find him on Twitter at @GusWatson or find his website: www.guswatson.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356502625
  • Publication date: 16 Apr 2015
  • Page count: 560
  • Imprint: Orbit
Unflinchingly bloodthirsty and outrageously entertaining — Christopher Brookmyre on AGE OF IRON
It simply grabbed me by the throat and wouldn't let go — Bibliosanctum (five star review for AGE OF IRON)
Watson's tale is gore soaked and profanity laden - full of visceral combat and earthy humor, and laced with subtle magic — Publishers Weekly on AGE OF IRON
Would I read the next one? Yes, absolutely. Bring me my hammer, bring my beer, bring it on! — SF Crowsnest on AGE OF IRON
A fun and addictive read — Fantasy Faction on AGE OF IRON