Angus Watson - Clash of Iron - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405528535
    • Publication date:14 Apr 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405533270
    • Publication date:14 Apr 2015
Books in this series

Clash of Iron

By Angus Watson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Bloodthirsty druids and battle-hardened Iron Age warriors collide in the second volume of this action-packed historical fantasy trilogy which will appeal to fans of Joe Abercrombie and HBO's Game of Thrones. The first volume of this trilogy, Age of Iron, is currently shortlisted for the 2015 David Gemmell Award.

LEADERS ARE FORGED IN THE FIRES OF WAR
Iron Age warriors Dug and Lowa captured Maidun castle and freed its slaves. But now they have conquered it, they must defend it.
A Roman invasion is coming from Gaul, but rather than uniting to protect their home, the British tribes battle each other - and see Maidun as an easy target.
Meanwhile, Lowa's spies infiltrate Gaul, discovering the Romans have recruited bloodthirsty British druids, and Maidunite Ragnall finds his loyalties torn when he meets Rome's charismatic general, Julius Caesar.
War is coming. Who will pay its price?

Look out now for YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE - first in a new series from Angus Watson.

Biographical Notes

Angus Watson is the David Gemmell-Award-nominated author of Age of Iron. As well as writing epic fantasy, he's written hundreds of features for newspapers including The Times, Financial Times and Telegraph, and the latter even sent him to look for Bigfoot in America. He lives in London, but you can find him on Twitter at @GusWatson or find his website: www.guswatson.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356502625
  • Publication date: 16 Apr 2015
  • Page count: 560
  • Imprint: Orbit
Unflinchingly bloodthirsty and outrageously entertaining — Christopher Brookmyre on AGE OF IRON
It simply grabbed me by the throat and wouldn't let go — Bibliosanctum (five star review for AGE OF IRON)
Watson's tale is gore soaked and profanity laden - full of visceral combat and earthy humor, and laced with subtle magic — Publishers Weekly on AGE OF IRON
Would I read the next one? Yes, absolutely. Bring me my hammer, bring my beer, bring it on! — SF Crowsnest on AGE OF IRON
A fun and addictive read — Fantasy Faction on AGE OF IRON
Orbit

It Devours!

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

Hachette Audio

The Eternity War: Pariah

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer
Piatkus

The Chosen

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
ATOM

Intensity

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon

It's a demon-eat-demon world . . . Just when Nick Gautier thinks he's finally gotten a handle on how not to take over the world and destroy it, Death returns with an all-star cast that is determined to end the Malachai reign and lineage forever. Worse? Death and War have found the one, true enemy Nick can't find, and even if he did, it's one he could never bring himself to banish or kill.Now framed for murders he hasn't committed, and surrounded by new friends who might be turncoats, Nick is learning fast how his father went down in flames.The heat in New Orleans is rising fast, and Nick's threat-level has gone into a whole new level of intensity. He's learning quickly that when War and Death decide to battle, they don't take prisoners. They don't negotiate. And they're immune to both his biting sarcasm and Cajun charm. To win this, he will have to embrace a new set of powers, but one wrong step and he will belong to the side of Darkness, forever.The eighth book in bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon's fantasy YA series featuring Nick Gautier from the Dark-Hunter world

Sphere

The Cuban Affair

Nelson DeMille
Authors:
Nelson DeMille
Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett
Sphere

The House of Secrets

Sarra Manning
Authors:
Sarra Manning
Hachette Audio

Age of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker

TO CATCH AN ASSASSIN, USE AN ASSASSIN . . . Girton Club-Foot, apprentice to the land's best assassin, still has much to learn about the art of taking lives. But their latest mission tasks him and his master with a far more difficult challenge: to save a life. Someone, or many someones, is trying to kill the heir to the throne, and it is up to Girton and his master to uncover the traitor and prevent the prince's murder. In a kingdom on the brink of civil war and a castle thick with lies Girton finds friends he never expected, responsibilities he never wanted, and a conspiracy that could destroy an entire land.

Orbit

YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Wonder at the Edge of the World

Nicole Helget
Authors:
Nicole Helget
Piatkus

A Letter From Italy

Pamela Hart
Authors:
Pamela Hart

Inspired by the life of the world's first woman war correspondent, Australia's Louise Mack, the most gorgeous love story yet by Pamela Hart.1917, Italy. Australian journalist Rebecca Quinn is an unconventional woman. At the height of World War I, she has given up the safety of her Sydney home for the bloody battlefields of Europe, following her journalist husband to the frontline as a war correspondent in Italy.Reporting the horrors of the Italian campaign, Rebecca finds herself thrown together with American-born Italian photographer Alessandro Panucci, and soon discovers another battleground every bit as dangerous and unpredictable: the human heart.

Orbit

Kings of the Wyld

Nicholas Eames
Authors:
Nicholas Eames
Orbit

The Waking Fire

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan
Piatkus

The Mermaid's Scream

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis

Why did Wynn Staniland, a legend in the literary world, suddenly become a recluse in the 1980s? Most assumed he stopped writing because of his wife's bizarre suicide; a death that mirrored a murder case from the nineteenth century. And now a promising young author called Zac Wilkinson is working on Staniland's biography and hopes to reveal the true story to a waiting world - while at the same time keeping his own troubled past hidden from public view.When Wilkinson is found brutally murdered, DI Wesley Peterson finds links to the unexplained poisoning of a middle-aged couple at a local caravan park - and Wynn Staniland appears to be the connection.As Wesley delves further into the case he suspects a sinister puppet show might provide the solution: a grim re-enactment of the murder of Mary Field, a cause celebre from the reign of Queen Victoria that inspired Staniland's best-known novel.The case becomes personal for Wesley when he discovers his son is involved, and as he begins to unravel decades of secrets and deception, the shocking truth proves almost too much to bear . . .

Piatkus

Breath of Fire

Amanda Bouchet
Authors:
Amanda Bouchet

In a land where magic is might, Catalia Fisa is the mightiest of them all . . . Catalia Fisa, Lost Princess, has been running from destiny her whole life. Yet deep down, she has always believed that the prophecy shadowing her every step is inescapable: her unimaginable power will bring unfathomable disaster. But now her newfound loved ones are caught between the shadow of Cat's tortured past and the threat of her world-shattering future. Although it may be that this, even with all her power, is still the one battle she cannot win, Cat's determined not to go down without a fight. As the realms descend into all-out war, Cat knows she must embrace the power at her command. With Griffin by her side and Gods willing, perhaps she can emerge victorious in this fiery forging of a new Kingdom. 'Breath of Fire is a heart-pounding and joyous romantic adventure that swept me away. Amanda Bouchet's talent is striking.' Nalini Singh, New York Times bestselling author'Absolutely fabulous. I didn't want to put [Breath of Fire] down. Amanda Bouchet is now on my auto-buy list! I highly recommend her books to my readers and to anyone looking for a great blend of fantasy and romance.' C.L. Wilson, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Winter King'This book is utterly breathtaking!' Darynda Jones, New York Times bestselling author of the Charley Davidson series'A Promise of Fire made me laugh out loud more than once.' Thea Harrison, New York Times bestselling author of the Elder Races seriesA USA Today Bestseller

Orbit

Mostly Void, Partially Stars: Welcome to Night Vale Episodes, Volume 1

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Corsair

Chimes at Midnight (Toby Daye Book 7)

Seanan McGuire
Authors:
Seanan McGuire

Things are starting to look up for October "Toby" Daye. She's training her squire, doing her job, and has finally allowed herself to grow closer to the local King of Cats. It seems like her life may finally be settling down...at least until dead changelings start appearing in the alleys of San Francisco, killed by an overdose of goblin fruit.Toby's efforts to take the problem to the Queen of the Mists are met with harsh reprisals, leaving her under sentence of exile from her home and everyone she loves. Now Toby must find a way to reverse the Queens decree, get the goblin fruit off the streets-and, oh, yes, save her own life, since more than a few of her problems have once again followed her home. And then there's the question of the Queen herself, who seems increasingly unlikely to have a valid claim to the throne...To find the answers, October and her friends will have to travel from the legendary Library of Stars into the hidden depths of the Kingdom of the Mists-and they'll have to do it fast, because time is running out. In faerie, some fates are worse than death.October Daye is about to find out what they are.

Corsair

Radiance

Catherynne M. Valente
Authors:
Catherynne M. Valente
Orbit

Quest For Lost Heroes

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

The Drenai fortress of Dros Delnoch has fallen and blood hungry Nadir hordes sweep across the land, bringing desolation and despair. But, with the Nadir triumphant, slavers seize a young girl in the tiny realm of Gothir and a peasant boy stes off on a quest that will shake the world.To rescue her, Kiall must cross the savage steppes and journey through the Halls of Hell, facing ferocious beasts, deadly warriors and demons of the dark.But the boy is not alone. With him are the legendary heroes of Bel-Azar: Chareos the Blademaster, Beltzer the Axeman and the bowmen Finn and Maggrig.And one among them hides a secret that could free the world of Nadir domination. For he is the Nadir Bane, the hope of the Drennai.He is the Earl of Bronze.

Orbit

The King Beyond The Gate

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

A century has passed since the heroic defence of Dros Delnoch. But the people of the Drenai face a new terror: a mad emperor kept in power by two forces of unsurpassed evil. The Joinings are werebeasts of awesome power. The Dark Templars are warrior-priests whose fighting skills are without equal. Against them, the Drenai face certain defeat. One man, an outsider hated by the Drenai for his Nadir blood, and despised by the Nadir for his Drenai ancestry, sets out to bring down the emperor. He is one man against the armies of chaos.He is Tenaka Khan - the Prince of Shadows.