Angus Watson - Reign of Iron - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats Books in this series

Reign of Iron

By Angus Watson

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

Bloodthirsty druids and battle-hardened Iron Age warriors collide in the final volume of this action-packed historical fantasy trilogy for fans of Joe Abercrombie and HBO's Game of Thrones. The first book in this trilogy, Age of Iron, was shortlisted for the 2015 David Gemmell Award.

THE ACTION-PACKED FINAL VOLUME IN THE EPIC TRILOGY THAT FANTASY FANS EVERYWHERE ARE TALKING ABOUT

'Unflinchingly bloodthirsty and outrageously entertaining' Christopher Brookmyre

'It simply grabbed me by the throat and wouldn't let go' Bibliosanctum

'Gore soaked and profanity laden - full of visceral combat and earthy humor' Publishers Weekly

'Would I read the next one? Yes, absolutely. Bring me my hammer, bring my beer, bring it on!' SF Crowsnest

'Fun and addictive' Fantasy Faction

Invaders have massacred and pillaged their way through neighbouring kingdoms and loom on the far side of the sea, ready to descend upon the fortress of Maidun - with them are an unstoppable legion of men twisted by dark magic. Somehow Queen Lowa's army must repel the invasion, although their best general is dead and their young druid powerless. She faces impossible odds, but when the alternative is death or slavery, a warrior queen will do whatever it takes to save her people.

Biographical Notes

Angus Watson is the David Gemmell-award nominated author of Age of Iron. As well as writing epic fantasy, he's written hundreds of features for newspapers including The Times, Financial Times and Telegraph, and the latter even sent him to look for Bigfoot in America. He lives in London, but you can find him on Twitter at @GusWatson or find his website: www.guswatson.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356502601
  • Publication date: 03 Sep 2015
  • Page count: 544
  • Imprint: Orbit
Orbit

Successor's Promise

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan
Hachette Audio

YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson
Piatkus

Deadmen Walking

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon

'Kenyon boldly goes where no author has gone before and claims yet another genre as her own. [She is] a publishing phenomenon . . .' Publishers Weekly'Brisk, ironic and relentlessly imaginative. These are not your mother's vampire novels.' Boston GlobeDeadmen tell their tales . . .To catch evil, it takes evil. Enter Devyl Bane - an ancient dark warlord returned to the human realm as one of the most notorious pirates in the New World. A man of many secrets, Bane makes a pact with Thorn - an immortal charged with securing the worst creations the ancient gods ever released into our world. Those powers have been imprisoned for eons behind enchanted gates . . . gates that are beginning to buckle. At Thorn's behest, Bane takes command of a crew of Deadmen: humanity's last hope to restore the gates.But things are never so simple. And one of Bane's biggest problems is the ship they sail upon. For the Sea Witch isn't just a vessel, she's also a woman born of an ancient people he wronged - a woman who is also sister to their primary target. Now Marcelina, the Sea Witch, must choose. Either she remains loyal to her evil sister and watches humanity fall, or she puts her faith in an enemy who has already betrayed her. Her people over the totality of humanity? Let's hope Bane can sway her favour. . . Brand new Historical Fantasy series, set in the Dark-Hunter World from #1 NYT bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon, 'arguably one of the most in-demand and prolific authors in America' Publishers Weekly

Orbit

The Waking Fire

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan

Anthony Ryan - bestselling author of fantasy sensation Blood Song - returns with an action-packed new epic fantasy of exploration and adventure, spies and assassins, explosive magic and the furious battle to forge an empire.Claydon Torcreek is a Blood-blessed, able to channel the powers contained in the blood of wild drakes. While his brethren serve as elite spies and assassins, Clay prefers the life of a small-time criminal in the dangerous slums of Carvenport.Yet war is coming, and it seems Clay is going to end up on the losing side - unless he can track down a legendary drake, whose powerful blood might just be enough to achieve victory. Clay has handled many things in his time (most of them illegal) but nothing as priceless as his nation's future.'Fabulous . . . Sure to be another fantasy classic' Huffington Post UK'The world Ryan has created for his new dragon adventure is a joy to visualise' SciFiNow'A fascinating world packed with dragons, pirates, political machinations and an interesting magic system to boot' Fantasy Faction'A marvellous piece of imagination with plenty of twists, a refreshingly different setting, and excellent world-building' Mark Lawrence'Memorable characters and great action' Django Wexler'Excellent epic fantasy' BookBag

Sphere

The Land of My Dreams

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

It is 1916 and the Hunters, their friends and their servants are settling down to the business of war. As conscription reaches into every household, Britain turns out men and shells in industrial numbers from army camps and munitions factories up and down the land. Bobby, the second Hunter son, gains his wings and joins his brother in France. Ethel, the under housemaid, embarks on a quest and Laura Hunter sets out on her biggest adventure yet. Diana, the elder Hunter daughter, finds a second chance at happiness in the last place she'd think of looking, and matriarch Beattie's past comes back to haunt her. But as the battle of the Somme grinds into action, the shadow of death falls over every part of the country, and the Hunter household cannot remain untouched.The Land of my Dreams is the third book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1916, at home and on the front, this is a richly researched and a wonderfully authentic family drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Orbit

The Summon Stone

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine
Piatkus

The Beast

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Piatkus

Blood Kiss

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward

Paradise, blooded daughter of the king's First Advisor, is ready to break free from the restrictive life of an aristocratic female. Her strategy? Join the Black Dagger Brotherhood's training center program and learn to fight for herself, think for herself...be herself. It's a good plan, until everything goes wrong. The schooling is unfathomably difficult, the other recruits feel more like enemies than allies, and it's very clear that the Brother in charge, Butch O'Neal, a.k.a. the Dhestroyer, is having serious problems in his own life.And that's before she falls in love with a fellow classmate. Craeg, a common civilian, is nothing her father would ever want for her, but everything she could ask for in a male. As an act of violence threatens to tear apart the entire program, and the erotic pull between them grows irresistible, Paradise is tested in ways she never anticipated--and left wondering whether she's strong enough to claim her own power...on the field, and off.

Orbit

Veiled

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka
Orbit

Clash of Iron

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson

LEADERS ARE FORGED IN THE FIRES OF WARIron Age warriors Dug and Lowa captured Maidun castle and freed its slaves. But now they have conquered it, they must defend it.A Roman invasion is coming from Gaul, but rather than uniting to protect their home, the British tribes battle each other - and see Maidun as an easy target.Meanwhile, Lowa's spies infiltrate Gaul, discovering the Romans have recruited bloodthirsty British druids, and Maidunite Ragnall finds his loyalties torn when he meets Rome's charismatic general, Julius Caesar.War is coming. Who will pay its price?

Orbit

Age of Iron

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson
Piatkus

Almost a Hero

Ken McCoy
Authors:
Ken McCoy
Orbit

Cold Steel

Kate Elliott
Authors:
Kate Elliott

'Kate Elliott is writing some of the best fantasy around' - Trudi CanavanWILL WAR SET THEM FREE?Trouble, treachery and magic seem to follow Cat Barahal wherever she goes. The Master of the Wild Hunt has stolen away her husband. The ruler of the Taino kingdom blames her for his mother's murder. An enraged fire mage wants to kill her. And Cat, her cousin Bee and her half-brother Rory aren't even back in Europa yet, where revolution is burning up the streets. Rebellions to plot. Enemies to crush. Handsome men to rescue. Cat and Bee have their work cut out for them.

Orbit

Chosen

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka
Piatkus

Styxx

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Little, Brown

The Collector of Lost Things

Jeremy Page
Authors:
Jeremy Page

I felt the worlds of ocean and ice were meeting in a frontier of rage, as if the Earth had torn in two along this line.This was a place if there ever was a place, where you could disappear.The year is 1845 and young researcher Eliot Saxby is paid to go on an expedition to the Arctic in the hope of finding remains of the by now extinct Great Auk. He joins a regular hunting ship, but the crew and the passengers are not what they seem. Caught in the web of relationships on board, Eliot struggles to understand the motivations of the sociopathic, embroidery-loving Captain Sykes, the silent First Mate French, the flamboyant laudanum-addicted Bletchley and, most importantly of all, Bletchley's beautiful but strange 'cousin' Clara. As the ship moves further and further into the wilds of the Arctic sea, Eliot clings to what he believes in, desperate to save Clara but drawn irrevocably back into the past that haunts him.The first historical novel from an author who has been critically acclaimed for his two contemporary novels (Salt and The Wake), The Collector of Lost Things is a compulsive, beautifully writtten read.

Orbit

Taken

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka

Welcome to Fountain Reach Ancient seat of the Aubuchon dynasty Majestic setting of the White Stone tournament Alex Verus's (not necessarily reliable) reputation attracts all sorts. Most are plain bonkers. Yet there's one invitation he just can't refuse. At Fountain Reach, Alex is perfectly placed among the noted and notorious to figure out why apprentices have been vanishing. But the tournament is a minefield of ancient grudges and new threats, and Alex can't afford to miss a trick as his elusive adversary stays one step ahead in this most dangerous of games.

Orbit

The First Chronicles Of Druss The Legend

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Orbit

Quest For Lost Heroes

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Orbit

Waylander II

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

High in the wooded, peaked mountains of Skeln, the woodsman, Dakeyras, and his beautiful daughter Miriel, live a life of harmonious solitude. Unbeknown to them, a group of grim-eyed, bloodthirsty warriors stalk the mountains. Men who have never known defeat, to whom revenge and torture are meat and drink. For ten thousand in gold they are eager to kill the woodsman.Battle-hardened warriors all, they have no fear of this task - they should have. For Miriel is a woman of fire and iron, skilled with bow and blade and taught her skills by one of the deadliest killers of all time . . . Her father, Dakeyras, better known as Waylander the Slayer.