Ian Tregillis - The Rising - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405524957
    • Publication date:01 Dec 2015
Books in this series

The Rising

Book Two of the Alchemy Wars

By Ian Tregillis

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Following The Mechanical comes the second novel in this thrilling and heart-breaking new series about one individual's struggle for freedom - perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi, Ann Leckie and Neal Stephenson. It is a series poised to catapult Ian Tregillis into the company of the most exceptionally talented, award-worthy authors of the science fiction and fantasy genre. George R. R. Martin called Ian Tregillis "a major new talent."

They called me Jax.

That was the name given by those who built me and enslaved me. But a miracle has happened, and now my bonds are broken.

Now I must flee - because a rogue mechanical is a very dangerous thing.

But I will not run forever.

Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, this is the second novel in a stunning new series by Ian Tregillis, confirming his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction.


Praise for The Mechanical:

'The first thing readers will say after finishing this splendid book is: 'Wow.' The second thing will probably be: 'When can I read the next one?''
Booklist

'One of the sharpest, most intelligent, hugely compelling works I've read this year, and I cannot wait to see where Tregillis takes this series next'
Forbidden Planet International

'Superb alternate history . . . the rich characters and gripping story really make this tale soar'
Publishers Weekly

'An absolutely thrilling adventure . . . so absorbing that readers will be dying for the next entry'
Library Journal

Biographical Notes

Ian Tregillis is the son of a bearded mountebank and a discredited tarot card reader. He was born and raised in Minnesota, where his parents had landed after fleeing the wrath of a Flemish prince. (The full story, he's told, involves a Dutch tramp steamer and a stolen horse.) Nowadays he lives in New Mexico, where he consorts with writers, scientists and other unsavoury types.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356502335
  • Publication date: 03 Dec 2015
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Orbit
Thrilling action scenes and breakneck pacing will leave readers desperate for the next volume — Library Journal
A vivid alternate history tale filled with action sequences, fascinating characters, and great worldbuilding . . . Engrossing, with plenty of mid-story twists, and it's well worth the ride. — Publishers Weekly
The chases, the battles, the brutal violence, and the scheming are nonstop. As always, Tregillis offers richly textured and genuinely likable personalities with shades-of-gray morality . . . Middle volumes are always tricky; they can often read as an obstacle to overcome on the way to the forgone conclusion of the third installment. Tregillis commendably avoids this trap, deepening his story and keeping it moving along toward an unknown horizon. Part 3 can't come too soon. — Kirkus