Ian Tregillis - The Mechanical - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405524940
    • Publication date:10 Mar 2015
Books in this series

The Mechanical

Book One of the Alchemy Wars

By Ian Tregillis

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

For fans of Paolo Bacigalupi, Ann Leckie and Neal Stephenson comes a thrilling and heart-breaking tale of one individual's struggle for freedom. It is a novel poised to catapult Ian Tregillis into the company of the most exceptionally talented, award-worthy authors of the science fiction and fantasy genre. George R. R. Martin called Ian Tregillis "a major new talent."

My name is Jax.

That is the name granted to me by my human masters.

I am a slave.

But I shall be free.

Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, the new novel from Ian Tregillis confirms his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction.

PRAISE FOR IAN TREGILLIS

'A major new talent' GEORGE R. R. MARTIN

'Tremendous' Cory Doctorow

'Addictively brilliant' i09

'Exciting and intense' Publishers Weekly

'Eloquent and utterly compelling' Kirkus

Biographical Notes

Ian Tregillis is the son of a bearded mountebank and a discredited tarot card reader. He was born and raised in Minnesota, where his parents had landed after fleeing the wrath of a Flemish prince. (The full story, he's told, involves a Dutch tramp steamer and a stolen horse.) Nowadays he lives in New Mexico, where he consorts with writers, scientists and other unsavoury types.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356502328
  • Publication date: 12 Mar 2015
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Orbit
The first thing readers will say after finishing this splendid book is: "Wow." The second thing will probably be: "When can I read the next one? . . . This is a rousing SF/fantasy adventure, with a brilliantly imagined and beautifully rendered alternate world — BOOKLIST
One of the sharpest, most intelligent, hugely compelling works I've read this year, and I cannot wait to see where Tregillis takes this series next — Forbidden Planet International
Tregillis launches a series with this superb alternate history filled with clockwork men and ethical questions on the nature of free will . . . Tregillis's complex setting is elegantly delivered, and the rich characters and gripping story really make this tale soar — Publishers Weekly
A hugely entertaining novel — SFX
A multi-layered literary confection . . . tight and well constructed, and an absolute pleasure to read . . . absolutely fascinating, and unapologetically clever — Sci-Fi and Fantasy Reviews
Tregillis presents a fascinating look at the nature of free will and the existence of the soul, wrapped up in an absolutely thrilling adventure story. Jax is an amazing, sympathetic character, and the world of the clockmakers and their slaves is so absorbing that readers will be dying for the next entry in this new series — Library Journal
With The Mechanical Tregillis displays the craftsmanship and precision of a master clockmaker . . . [He] skilfully portrays characters that are as compelling and sympathetic as they are flawed and conflicted . . . I would recommend The Mechanical to any reader with an interest in well-written and engaging fantasy story set in an elegantly constructed alternate history — SFFworld
His characters are as convincing as ever, the plotting is beautifully articulated . . . readers with an interest in dark, intelligent fantasy will find much to admire here — KIRKUS
In the tradition of Isaac Asimov, Tregillis's latest novel combines classic robotics with historical fiction to riveting ends . . . The story manages to posit broad questions, such as how one defines humanity and free will, without coming across as sanctimonious or treacly. It's also just plain exciting, with intense fight scenes and exhilarating narrow escapes. Readers will no doubt be rooting for the 'rogue' robots. — RT Book Reviews
Tregillis never fails to impress, and his writing and stories seem to be getting better with each novel. This book is truly unlike anything I've ever read before, and it's my favorite work of his to date. I can't wait to see what the next installment in The Alchemy Wars will bring. — BIBLIOSANCTUM
The Mechanical is as intricate and exquisite as the clockwork wonders it brings to life — NPR
A fascinating world — ScifiNow
Orbit

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller
Authors:
Sam J. Miller
Hachette Audio

Scourged

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

New York Times bestselling author Kevin Hearne returns with the finale to his wildly popular action-adventure series, The Iron Druid Chronicles.Two-thousand-year-old Druid Atticus O'Sullivan travels to Asgard and faces off against the Norse gods to try and prevent Ragnarok in the final battle for the fate of mankind.'Atticus and his crew are a breath of fresh air! . . . I love, love love this series' My Bookish Ways'This is one series no fantasy fan should miss' Scifi Chick

Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz
Orbit

Wrath of Empire

Brian McClellan
Authors:
Brian McClellan
Hachette Audio

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Orbit

Soul of the World

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing
Robinson

Therapy Quest

Janina Scarlet, Vince Alvendia
Contributors:
Janina Scarlet, Vince Alvendia
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Hearts We Sold

Emily Lloyd-Jones
Authors:
Emily Lloyd-Jones
Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall

Orbit

Blood and Tempest

Jon Skovron
Authors:
Jon Skovron

Blood and Tempest is the final novel in Jon Skovron's acclaimed Empire of Storms fantasy trilogy, an epic tale of vengeance and revolution. Still reeling from the events on Dawn's Light, Hope struggles to understand what it means to be a warrior who has vowed to never again take up a sword. Her search for enlightenment gives her mastery of surprising new abilities, which leads her to uncover some disturbing clues about the true origin of the empire. Red has excelled in his new role as an imperial spy. Now he's been assigned to the one task he's desired all along: recruiting Hope and Brigga Lin to help rid the empire of the council of biomancery once and for all.But the council have set their own plans in motion. Their increasingly tenuous grip on the empire has left them desperate and willing to do anything to maintain their power . . .

Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume Two

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker

World Fantasy Award-winning fantasy author K. J. Parker delivers his most ambitious work yet - the story of a war on a grand scale, told through the eyes of soldiers, politicians, victims and heroes.A soldier with a gift for archery. A woman who kills without care. Two brothers, both unbeatable generals, now fighting for opposing armies. No one in the vast and once glorious United Empire remains untouched by the rift between East and West, and the war has been fought for as long as anyone can remember. Some still survive who know how it was started, but no one knows how it will end. Except, perhaps, the Two of Swords.

Constable

The Great California Game

Jonathan Gash
Authors:
Jonathan Gash

Lovejoy in America... and in trouble againLovejoy is working - illegally of course - in a New York bar, but nothing can keep him from his beloved antiques. The divvie's casual recognition of zircons paraded as priceless diamonds starts him on a trail leading him to the deadly mysteries of the highest stakes card game in America. But first Lovejoy has to buy himself into the game. Enlisting the help of a Manhatten hooker and a gun-toting seven year old, he sets about raising a sum from museums, auction houses and private collectors using his usual desperate wiles.But by the time he reaches California, he realises that it is not only his hard-earnt mega-bucks on the table, but his own sweet skin.Praise for Jonathan Gash: 'Irrepressible... bounteous entertainment' Sunday Times'Lovejoy is up to his old tricks again... compelling stuff' Today'Unabashedly amoral, witty and crammed with treasures of every sort... Pure, unadulterated Lovejoy' Publishers Weekly

Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee

TWO CRIME FAMILIES, ONE SOURCE OF POWER: JADE. Jade is the lifeblood of the city of Janloon - a stone that enhances a warrior's natural strength and speed. Jade is mined, traded, stolen and killed for, controlled by the ruthless No Peak and Mountain families. When a modern drug emerges that allows anyone - even foreigners - to wield jade, simmering tension between the two families erupts into open violence. The outcome of this clan war will determine the fate of all in the families, from their grandest patriarch to even the lowliest motorcycle runner on the streets. Jade City is an epic tale of blood, family, honour, and of those who live and die by ancient laws in a changing world.

Constable

The Lies of Fair Ladies

Jonathan Gash
Authors:
Jonathan Gash
Hachette Audio

Places in the Darkness

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume One

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker

World Fantasy Award-winning fantasy author K. J. Parker delivers his most ambitious work yet - the story of a war on a grand scale, told through the eyes of soldiers, politicians, victims and heroes.A soldier with a gift for archery. A woman who kills without care. Two brothers, both unbeatable generals, now fighting for opposing armies. No one in the vast and once glorious United Empire remains untouched by the rift between East and West, and the war has been fought for as long as anyone can remember. Some still survive who know how it was started, but no one knows how it will end. Except, perhaps, the Two of Swords.

Orbit

It Devours!

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington
Orbit

New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson

The waters rose, submerging New York City.But the residents adapted and it remained the bustling, vibrant metropolis it had always been. Though changed forever.Every street became a canal. Every skyscraper an island.Through the eyes of the varied inhabitants of one building Kim Stanley Robinson shows us how one of our great cities will change with the rising tides.And how we too will change.

Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey