The Creators of Mush - The Mumsition - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349417448
    • Publication date:28 Jun 2018

The Mumsition

Your friendly companion to the first year of motherhood

By The Creators of Mush

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

A hilarious, realistic and useful guide to the first year of motherhood from the creators of Mush, the fastest growing social app for mums.

'Funny and relatable . . . Buy it as a present for a pregnant friend and she'll probably make you godmother' Pandora Sykes

'Making the transition to motherhood is a seminal moment in the life of a woman and this gutsy, informative - and very funny - guidebook is the ideal 'best friend' to navigate new terrain. I loved it.' Rosie Nixon, Editor-in-Chief, Hello!

So, you're a mum. Now what? It's easy to spend so long thinking about the birth (and packing and re-packing that hospital bag) that you forget what happens next: becoming a fully-fledged actual parent.

Introducing The Mumsition: basically your smartest, wittiest mum friend. It covers everything you'll go through in that crazy first year in a way that's useful and informative - but also funny, chatty and above all, real.

Becoming a mum (i.e. your mumsition) is one of the biggest things that you'll ever go through. That's why the milestones in this book aren't just about your baby smiling or walking or sleeping through the night for the first time, but everything YOU'RE going through too: the first time you manage to leave the house, the first time you get on a bus with your little one and the first time you have sex again.

The Mumsition is clued-up without being judgemental or patronising, funny without trying too hard and sympathetic and supportive without being saccharine. From the moment you go on maternity leave until your baby's first birthday, this book has got your back.

Biographical Notes

Mush is the fastest-growing social app for mums in the UK. Launched in April 2016 by Katie Massie-Taylor and Sarah Hesz, two London mums who met in the playground and became each other's lifelines during maternity leave, Mush has now become the most wide-reaching social app for mums in the UK and Australia. They have one mission: to make being a mum more sociable and fun.


Their editor Isabel Mohan has been part of Team Mush from the start and has shaped the content on the app in terms of tone of voice and range of content. Isabel started her career on Heat magazine 15 years ago, left after six years to launch The Daily Mirror's 3am gossip site before going freelance in 2012, writing on entertainment and women's lifestyle for The Telegraph and Grazia, amongst others.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349417455
  • Publication date: 28 Jun 2018
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Piatkus
Ideal for nervous new mums . . . Drawing on their own experiences - and those of their 150,000 users - [the authors] have poured their own hard-won advice into one book — Marie Claire
Funny and relatable . . . Buy it as a present for a pregnant friend and she'll probably make you godmother — Pandora Sykes
Very relatable and funny. The only thing I've managed to read with a newborn, and such a good gift for a new mum — Alexandra Stedman, The Frugality
Making the transition to motherhood is a seminal moment in the life of a woman and this gutsy, informative - and very funny - guidebook is the ideal 'best friend' to navigate new terrain. I loved it. — Rosie Nixon, Editor-in-Chief, Hello!
As an ex doula and antenatal teacher this book was right up my street. The Mumsition is the perfect balance of advice, humour and reassurance. I loved it — Gemma Bray, The Organised Mum
Running Press Mini Editions

Desktop Shuffleboard

Ruoxi Chen
Authors:
Ruoxi Chen
Hachette Australia

Fatherhood

William McInnes
Authors:
William McInnes

William McInnes, one of Australia's best-known storytellers and actors, has turned to a subject that is close to his heart. Fatherhood is about family, about memories of his father and the memories he's creating as a dad himself, with his own son and daughter.Warm, witty and nostalgic, these tales are just like a friendly chat over the back fence, or the banter of a backyard BBQ. They will stir your own memories: of hot summer days and cooling off under the sprinkler while Dad works in the garden with the radio tuned to the sports results; that time Dad tried to teach you to drive - and then got out of the car and kissed the ground; or taking your own kids on a family road trip.Fatherhood is full of memories: the happy, the hilarious, the sad, bad, and the unexpectedly poignant moments. You will laugh, you may even cry - but you will recognise yourself and those you love somewhere in these pages.

Running Press Adult

We Only Dated for 11 Instagrams

Jesse Margolis, Emmet Truxes
Contributors:
Jesse Margolis, Emmet Truxes
Corsair

The 10 Commandments

A surprising, informative, enlightening and at times outrageous must have guide to life from the world's most famous rock stars. Together with the finest selection from the Qmagazine archives and new unseen material, TEN COMMANDMENTS presents ten rules for life from fifty musicians.'Thou shalt not play golf.' BONO'Painting is good for the soul.' IGGY POP 'A sexy man is one who looks after his family.' TORI AMOS'Snakes are built for the Summer.' ALICE COOPER'Make like a boy scout.' STEVIE NICKS'Do as Madonna says.' NILE RODGERS'Always be honest to your wife.' JOHN LYDON'Check the caffeine content.' JOHNNY MARR

Constable

Three Men on a Diet

George Courtauld
Authors:
George Courtauld
Virago

The Guilty Feminist

Deborah Frances-White
Authors:
Deborah Frances-White
Sphere

This Child of Ours

Sadie Pearse
Authors:
Sadie Pearse

Readers love This Child of Ours...'An important and moving story'Clare Mackintosh 'I absolutely loved this book' 5* Netgalley review 'Thought-provoking, nerve-wracking and poignantly relevant' 5* Netgalley review'A fantastic read with a sensitive subject at its heart' 5* Netgalley review'Thoughtful and sensitive' Cath Staincliffe------------------------------------------------------You know what's best for your child. Don't you? Riley Pieterson is an adventurous girl with lots of questions. There's plenty she doesn't know yet; what a human brain looks like. All the constellations in the night sky. Why others can't see her the way she sees herself.When Riley confides in her parents - Sally and Theo - that she feels uncomfortable in her own skin, a chain of events begins that changes their lives forever. Sally wants to support her daughter by helping her be who she dreams of being. Theo resists; he thinks Riley is a seven-year-old child pushing boundaries. Both believe theirs is the only way to protect Riley and keep her safe.With the wellbeing of their child at stake, Sally and Theo's relationship is pushed to breaking point. To save their family, each of them must look deeply at who they really are.A story of a marriage in crisis and a child caught in the middle, this is a beautiful novel of parents and their children, and how far we're prepared to go in the name of love. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Laurie Frankel, Kate Hewitt and Jill Childs.

Robinson

At Home with Dyslexia

Sascha Roos
Authors:
Sascha Roos
Piatkus

Little Soldiers

Lenora Chu
Authors:
Lenora Chu
Robinson

The Curious History of Dating

Nichi Hodgson
Authors:
Nichi Hodgson

AN EMPHATICALLY FEMINIST HISTORY OF DATING'A new approach to romance... The heroines of Regency novels could teach today's young women a trick or two' Sunday TimesWhat if Mr Darcy had simply been able to swipe right?'This book was a real education for me. It's like a Lonely Planet guidebook to dating.'Gilo'Lessons to learn for committed singletons and happily married alike, and everyone in between.'Anon'I loved it.'Adele Taylor'I found it hard to put down.'richie666Dating has never been easy. The road to true love has always been rutted with heartbreak, but do we have it any easier today? How did Victorians 'come out'? How did love blossom in war-torn Europe? And why did 80s video-dating never take off?Bursting with little-known facts and tantalizing tales of lovelorn men and besotted women, Nichi Hodgson's intriguing history of amorous relationships, from enamoured Georgians to frenziedly swiping millennials (and everyone in between) may leave you grateful that you live - and love - today.

Running Press Mini Editions

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers Dragon Dagger and Sticker Book

Running Press
Authors:
Running Press
Running Press Mini Editions

Berenstain Bears Light-Up Tree House

Running Press
Authors:
Running Press

Appealing to fans from pre-school on up, this kit includes a light-up mini replica of the famous Berenstain Bears abode,a cozy-looking tree house. It also comes with a 32-page book on the Berenstain Bears, featuring full-colour illustrations.

Running Press Mini Editions

Elf Talking Buddy-in-a-Box

Running Press
Authors:
Running Press
Running Press Mini Editions

Peanuts: A Charlie Brown Christmas Coloring Kit

Charles M. Schulz
Authors:
Charles M. Schulz
Running Press Mini Editions

Metallic Tattoos

Running Press
Authors:
Running Press
Running Press Mini Editions

Star Trek: Light-Up Shuttlecraft

Chip Carter
Authors:
Chip Carter
Running Press Mini Editions

The Calming Coloring Kit

Running Press
Authors:
Running Press
Running Press Mini Editions

Ghostbusters: Proton Pack and Wand

Running Press
Authors:
Running Press
Running Press Mini Editions

Star Trek: Light-and-Sound Communicator

Chip Carter
Authors:
Chip Carter

The communicator is used for voice communication and serves as an emergency-signaling device for Starfleet. This kit includes a replica of the iconic communicator, which features light and sound, and a 48-page book on the history of communicators, complete with full-colour photos.

Running Press Mini Editions

Harry Potter Wizard's Wand with Sticker Book

Running Press
Authors:
Running Press

Harry Potter Wizard's Wand and Sticker Book includes a mini replica of Harry Potter's wand with a light feature, and a unique stand, along with a 16-page book containing 8 full-colour stickers.