Frances Brody - Sixpence in Her Shoe - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Sixpence in Her Shoe

By Frances Brody

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A story of courage, loyalty and enduring love set in 1920s Leeds, from the bestselling author of the Kate Shackleton mysteries

In working-class Leeds in the 1920s, Jess is starting on her journey through life. Growing up in the aftermath of the Great War, she is torn between her downtrodden father and her cantankerous, ambitious mother. After a disastrous spell as housekeeper to the local priest, she works happily in the office of her uncle's shoe factory and falls in love with her childhood sweetheart, Wilf.

But Wilf is determined to be a successful artist, and Jess can't bring herself to stand in the way of his dreams. She also faces a bigger fight: she is consumed by the desire to save her godchild Leila from an orphanage - a battle that eventually threatens to break her heart.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349410715
  • Publication date: 07 Apr 2016
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Piatkus
Frances writes strong, believable characters and has a meticulous eye for period detail. — Leah Fleming
Frances Brody captures the tragedies and joys of old working-class Leeds in vivid and heartfelt storytelling. — Elizabeth Gill
Frances Brody makes every turn of the page a step back into time in her wonderfully sumptuous sagas . . . storytelling at its very best. — Diane Allen
Constable

Indian Summer

Sara Sheridan
Authors:
Sara Sheridan

Brighton,1957Mirabelle Bevan can't resist a cry for help, be it the little girl at a seaside sanatorium who is getting bullied or the strange behaviour of Uma, the Indian nurse who is looking after her. Intrigued she soon finds herself drawn into a spider's web of connections between an upmarket brothel, local priest Father Grogan, a man's body washed up on Brighton beach and a missing nursing sister.Attracted to handsome police doctor, Chris Williams, Mirabelle is determined to finally put her love affair with Jack Duggan behind her and recover from the betrayal of Superintendent Alan McGregor, but the police force in Brighton is undergoing a sea change that keeps leading her back to the sanatorium at the epicentre of a spate of brutal killings. And very soon it becomes apparent Mirabelle is in much more danger than she realises...'With sharp blows delivered for gender and racial equality, Sheridan's story builds to a chilling climax' Daily Mail

Piatkus

A Lonely Heart

Kay Brellend
Authors:
Kay Brellend
Blackfriars

The Lost Family

Jenna Blum
Authors:
Jenna Blum

'A dazzling novel of great compassion' Laura Moriarty'An extraordinary read, the kind of book that makes you sob and smile' Tatiana de Rosnay'Blum plumbs the depths of loss and love in this exquisite page-turner' PeopleIn 1960s Manhattan, patrons flock to Masha's to savor its brisket Wellington and impeccable service, and to admire its dashing owner and head chef, Peter Rashkin. With his movie-star good looks and tragic past, Peter, a survivor of Auschwitz, is the most eligible bachelor in town. But he has resigned himself to a solitary life. Running Masha's consumes him, as does the terrible guilt of having survived the horrors of a Nazi death camp while his wife, Masha - the restaurant's namesake - and two young daughters perished.Then exquisitely beautiful June Bouquet, an up-and-coming model, appears at the restaurant, piercing Peter's guard. Though she is twenty years his junior, the two begin a passionate, whirlwind courtship. When June unexpectedly becomes pregnant, Peter proposes, believing that beginning a new family with the woman he loves will allow him to let go of the atrocities of the past, even though he cannot forget all that he has lost. But over the next twenty years, the indelible sadness of those memories will overshadow Peter, his new wife, June, and their daughter, Elsbeth, transforming them in heartbreaking and unexpected ways.The Lost Family is a charming, funny, and elegantly bittersweet study of the repercussions of loss and love that spans a generation, from the 1960s to the 1980s. It is a vivid portrait of marriage, family, and the haunting grief of World War II.

Constable

Dangerous Deception at Honeychurch Hall

Hannah Dennison
Authors:
Hannah Dennison
Sphere

Christmas with the East End Angels

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry

It's the most wonderful time of the year - and the East End Angels are working hard to keep Londoners safe. Frankie is trying hard to keep everything together. She can count on the support of the East End Angels, even in the face of family trouble. Winnie's beloved husband, Mac, is putting himself at risk every day in the bomb disposal unit and she's finding it hard while he's away. Bella is growing in confidence and happiness. Her friendship with Winnie's brother, James, is getting closer all the time. Christmas on the Home Front is a hard time with loved ones far away - but the women of the Auxiliary Ambulance service are making do and mending. A gorgeously uplifting saga for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna Douglas

Piatkus

A Snapshot of Murder

Frances Brody
Authors:
Frances Brody
Sphere

Maggie Jordan

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair
Bookouture

The Girls from See Saw Lane

Sandy Taylor
Authors:
Sandy Taylor
Piatkus

Kate Shackleton's First Case

Frances Brody
Authors:
Frances Brody

Yorkshire, 1921. Kate Shackleton, thirty years old, is taking tea with her friend, Doris who is on a visit from London. In the genteel environs of Harrogate's premier tea room, violence is the furthest thing from anyone's mind. But when Doris is set upon by a mystery assailant, it's up to Kate to find out why - and in doing so, she soon develops a taste for detective-work.A heroine ahead of her time, this is the story of how Kate Shackleton became Yorkshire's most tireless private investigator.

Piatkus

The Desert Nurse

Pamela Hart
Authors:
Pamela Hart
Sphere

The Empire Girls

Sue Wilsher
Authors:
Sue Wilsher

Sue Wilsher, author of When My Ship Comes In, makes an emotional return to 1950s EssexTilbury, 1950s. The Empire is a pub run by Vi, Doris's mother. When Doris falls pregnant out of marriage, she is kicked out of the house and forced to fend for herself. Desperate to look after her daughter, Doris finds refuge in Southend and takes a job in a factory, hoping for a better life. When she finds herself cast out one night, Doris has nowhere to go but home - back to Tilbury. But she's still not welcome there and once again has to look for shelter and work. Homeless and as a single mother, life is tough for Doris. And it becomes harder when she helps a neighbour, Claude, to find a new life in Britain. Now Doris must decide where her heart lies...

Orbit

A Secret History of Witches

Louisa Morgan
Authors:
Louisa Morgan

Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters and the power of witchcraft - perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora Roberts.'Will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss . . . mesmerising' Tish Thawer'It's true, ma petite. If they know - if they discover what we are - they will try to kill us'Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mere Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her. Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew. The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden.But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history.A Secret History of Witches is a moving historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters - witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift.*SHORTLISTED FOR THE ENDEAVOUR AWARD*'A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft' Carol Goodman, author of Incubus'Deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters' Jordanna Max Brodsky'Enthralling . . . Deeply moving and richly conceived' Kay Kenyon'I loved it. A beautiful generational tale, reminiscent of Practical Magic . . . Grounded and real, painful and hopeful at the same time' Laure Eve'Epic in scope and heartbreakingly tender . . . Recommended for fans of Nora Roberts' Booklist

Piatkus

Elsewhere

Ken McCoy
Authors:
Ken McCoy
Constable

In Strangers' Houses

Elizabeth Mundy
Authors:
Elizabeth Mundy
Sphere

East End Angels

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry
Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee
Piatkus

Death in the Stars

Frances Brody
Authors:
Frances Brody

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' Daily MailYorkshire, 1927. Eclipse fever grips the nation, and when beloved theatre star Selina Fellini approaches trusted sleuth Kate Shackleton to accompany her to a viewing party at Giggleswick School Chapel, Kate suspects an ulterior motive.During the eclipse, Selina's friend and co-star Billy Moffatt disappears and is later found dead in the chapel grounds. Kate can't help but dig deeper and soon learns that two other members of the theatre troupe died in similarly mysterious circumstances in the past year. With the help of Jim Sykes and Mrs Sugden, Kate sets about investigating the deaths - and whether there is a murderer in the company.When Selina's elusive husband Jarrod, injured in the war and subject to violent mood swings, comes back on the scene, Kate begins to imagine something far deadlier at play, and wonders just who will be next to pay the ultimate price for fame . . .Praise for Frances Brody's Kate Shackleton series:'Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish' Barry Turner, Daily Mail'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT Book Reviews'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' Ann Granger'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences. As self-reliant women in a society that still regards them a second-class citizens, they make excellent heroines' Literary Review'Frances Brody skilfully holds our attention, making us want to read on and then look forward to the next Kate Shackleton mystery' Gazette & Herald'Kate Shackleton is a delightful leading character. The flavour of post First World War England is beautifully portrayed. An enjoyable and gripping mystery story' CrimeSquad.com'The author keeps us highly entertained with an interesting and exciting plot, impeccably researched, and a style of writing that has the reader turning the pages eagerly to discover the truth of the mystery. Francis Brody is fast becoming "the queen of light crime fiction"' Gazette & Herald'This is whimsical, colourful stuff and readers will warm to the entrepreneurial yet fragile Kate' Take a Break'Refreshing and highly entertaining, especially for the winter nights' Gazette & Herald

Corsair

Manhattan Beach

Jennifer Egan
Authors:
Jennifer Egan
Corsair

The Maid's Courage

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin

C & R Crime

The More Deceived

David Roberts
Authors:
David Roberts