Frances Brody - Sixpence in Her Shoe - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349410722
    • Publication date:07 Apr 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405536257
    • Publication date:07 Jul 2016

Sixpence in Her Shoe

By Frances Brody

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A story of courage, loyalty and enduring love set in 1920s Leeds, from the bestselling author of the Kate Shackleton mysteries

In working-class Leeds in the 1920s, Jess is starting on her journey through life. Growing up in the aftermath of the Great War, she is torn between her downtrodden father and her cantankerous, ambitious mother. After a disastrous spell as housekeeper to the local priest, she works happily in the office of her uncle's shoe factory and falls in love with her childhood sweetheart, Wilf.

But Wilf is determined to be a successful artist, and Jess can't bring herself to stand in the way of his dreams. She also faces a bigger fight: she is consumed by the desire to save her godchild Leila from an orphanage - a battle that eventually threatens to break her heart.

Biographical Notes

Frances Brody is the author of ten mysteries featuring Kate Shackleton as well as many stories and plays for BBC Radio, scripts for television and three sagas, one of which won the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin Award. A Woman Unknown was short-listed for the Mary Higgins Clark Award. Her stage plays have been toured by several theatre companies and produced at Manchester Library Theatre, the Gate and Nottingham Playhouse. Jehad was nominated for a Time Out Award.

Frances lived in New York for a time before studying at Ruskin College, Oxford, and reading English Literature and History at York University. She has taught in colleges, and on writing courses for the Arvon Foundation.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349410715
  • Publication date: 07 Apr 2016
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Piatkus
Frances writes strong, believable characters and has a meticulous eye for period detail. — Leah Fleming
Frances Brody captures the tragedies and joys of old working-class Leeds in vivid and heartfelt storytelling. — Elizabeth Gill
Frances Brody makes every turn of the page a step back into time in her wonderfully sumptuous sagas . . . storytelling at its very best. — Diane Allen
Sphere

Pack Up Your Troubles

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

The sixth and final book in the War at Home series by the author of The Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the evocative backdrop of World War I, this is an epic family drama featuring the Hunters and their servants

Piatkus

A Lonely Heart

Kay Brellend
Authors:
Kay Brellend
Constable

Indian Summer

Sara Sheridan
Authors:
Sara Sheridan
Piatkus

Ten Bells Street at War

Mary Collins
Authors:
Mary Collins
Orbit

The Witch's Kind

Louisa Morgan
Authors:
Louisa Morgan
Piatkus

Ten Bells Street

Mary Collins
Authors:
Mary Collins
Constable

A Clean Canvas

Elizabeth Mundy
Authors:
Elizabeth Mundy

Crime always leaves a stain . . .Lena Szarka, a Hungarian cleaner, dusts off her detective skills when a masterpiece is stolen from a gallery she cleans with her cousin Sarika. But when Sarika goes missing too, accusations start to fly. Convinced her cousin is innocent, Lena sweeps her way through the secrets of the London art scene. With the evidence mounting against Sarika and the police on her trail, Lena needs to track down the missing painting if she is to clear her cousin. Embroiling herself in the sketchy world of thwarted talents, unpaid debts and elegant fraudsters, Lena finds that there's more to this gallery than meets the eye.Praise for Elizabeth Mundy'Formidable and funny' Sunday Independent'Terrific and heartwarming; a charming debut' Daisy Waugh'A warmly-crafted crime debut, perfect for our multicultural age' Vaseem Khan'I loved In Strangers' Houses - poignant, funny and races effortlessly along. Lena is a wonderfully unusual heroine and I can't wait for her next adventure' Elodie Harper'Lena's tenacity and common sense illuminate this engaging story' Daily Mail'Beautiful writing, a fine debut' The Sun

Sphere

Blackpool Evacuee

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason
Piatkus

Someone to Trust

Mary Balogh
Authors:
Mary Balogh
Sphere

Christmas with the East End Angels

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry
Piatkus

A Snapshot of Murder

Frances Brody
Authors:
Frances Brody

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' Daily MailTaking the perfect photograph can be murder . . . Yorkshire, 1928. Indomitable sleuth Kate Shackleton is taking a well-deserved break from her detective work and indulging in her other passion: photography. When her local Photographic Society proposes an outing, Kate jumps at the chance to visit Haworth and Stanbury, in the heart of Brontë country, the setting for Wuthering Heights.But when an obnoxious member of their party is murdered, the group is thrown into disarray. Is the murderer amongst them, or did the loud-mouthed Tobias have more enemies than they might have imagined?Armed with her wit and wiles, and of course her trusty camera, it's up to Kate to crack the case, and get that perfect shot too . . .Praise for Frances Brody's Kate Shackleton series:'The series is right up there with Miss Marple' Sunday Sport'Delightful' People's Friend 'Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish' Barry Turner, Daily Mail'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT Book Reviews'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' Ann Granger'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences. As self-reliant women in a society that still regards them a second-class citizens, they make excellent heroines' Literary Review'Frances Brody skilfully holds our attention, making us want to read on and then look forward to the next Kate Shackleton mystery' Gazette & Herald'Kate Shackleton is a delightful leading character. The flavour of post First World War England is beautifully portrayed. An enjoyable and gripping mystery story' CrimeSquad.com'The author keeps us highly entertained with an interesting and exciting plot, impeccably researched, and a style of writing that has the reader turning the pages eagerly to discover the truth of the mystery. Francis Brody is fast becoming "the queen of light crime fiction"' Gazette & Herald'This is whimsical, colourful stuff and readers will warm to the entrepreneurial yet fragile Kate' Take a Break'Refreshing and highly entertaining, especially for the winter nights' Gazette & Herald'Delightful . . . the series is right up there with Miss Marple and the like. On top of that, the covers are fantastic, too' Weekend Sport

Sphere

The Tilbury Poppies

Sue Wilsher
Authors:
Sue Wilsher
Sphere

A Home from Home

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry

A heart-warming story set in World War II, perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna DouglasNorfolk, 1944Phylly is a Land Girl on Catchetts Farm. She and her friend Gracie are doing their bit to support the war effort. But times are changing at Catchetts - there's an evacuee and two P.O.Ws on their way... And then Phylly meets an American airman from the base up the road. As the War rages on the Continent, Phylly and Gracie's world will be changed forever.

Sphere

My Sisters And Me

Lisa Dickenson
Authors:
Lisa Dickenson

Meet the Lake sisters... 'Fresh, funny and hugely entertaining' CATHY BRAMLEY'The perfect book!' HEIDI SWAIN'Cracking, cosy, emotional and witty'KIRSTY GREENWOOD 'You are all going to completely fall in love with this story' HOLLY MARTIN 'A feel-good hoot of a read' HEAT The BRAND NEW feel-good, kick-ass novel about sisterhood and second chances. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk, Mhairi McFarlane and Anna Bell. **** They're fixing up their childhood home. It's going to get messy. When Willow Lake asks her daughters for help renovating the family home, each has a reason to hesitate about returning to Maplewood . . . For quiet and bookish Emmy going back to the town that ridiculed her fills her with dread. The youngest Noelle is perfectly comfortable in herself now, but once wanted to fit in so badly that she walked away from her first love. A first love who still lives in Maplewood. And outspoken Rae is painfully aware of how much the townspeople hurt her little sisters growing up. She didn't protect them then, but there's no way she'll let history repeat itself. The sisters agree to go home and make the best of it. After all if they've changed over the years, it's possible the townspeople have too . . . isn't it? The BRAND NEW feel-good, kick-ass novel about sisterhood and second chances. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk, Mhairi McFarlane and Anna Bell. Praise for Lisa Dickenson 'PERFECT' - Miranda Dickenson 'FLAWLESS' - Holly Martin 'Sprinkled with humour' - Cathy Bramley 'HILARIOUS' - Fabulous 'Will have you laughing out loud... A must read' - Daily Express 'DELICIOUS' - Jo Thomas 'A classic' - Sun 'SPARKLING' - Sunday Express 'Feisty, fun, and fierce!' - Ali McNamara 'HEART-WARMING' - Red 'Perfect poolside reading' - The Lady 'LOVELY' - Marie Claire 'UPLIFTING' - Bella

Sphere

This Child of Ours

Sadie Pearse
Authors:
Sadie Pearse
Piatkus

Kate Shackleton's First Case

Frances Brody
Authors:
Frances Brody
Sphere

Blackpool Lass

Maggie Mason
Authors:
Maggie Mason
Constable

The Corpse at the Crystal Palace

Carola Dunn
Authors:
Carola Dunn
Sphere

A Home from Home: Part 4

Rosie Hendry
Authors:
Rosie Hendry

A heart-warming story set in World War II, perfect for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna DouglasNorfolk, 1944Phylly is a Land Girl on Catchetts Farm. She and her friend Gracie are doing their bit to support the war effort. But times are changing at Catchetts - there's an evacuee and two P.O.Ws on their way... And then Phylly meets an American airman from the base up the road. The final part of the latest heartwarming saga from Rosie Hendry, author of East End Angels

Sphere

Before and Again

Barbara Delinsky
Authors:
Barbara Delinsky

THE BRAND NEW NOVEL FROMNEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR BARBARA DELINSKY'Fans of Jodi Picoult will love this.' Daily Express 'Warm, rich, textured and impossible to put down.' Nora Roberts'A compelling, emotional read about love, loss, and becoming someone new.' Sadie Pearse, author of This Child of Ours ***************************************************Mackenzie Cooper took her eyes off the road for just a moment, but the resulting collision was enough to rob her of her life as she knew it. Forced to start again, she moved to a small town under a new name - Maggie Reid - and her only goal is to stay under the radar. She's thankful for the few friends she's made, although she can't risk telling them too much about her previous life.But Maggie isn't the only one in this peaceful town with secrets. When a friend's teenage son is thrust into the national spotlight, Maggie is torn between protecting herself or stepping into the glare to be at their side. Will she find the courage to face the world again? Praise for Barbara Delinsky:'Fans of Jodi Picoult will love this . . . a poignant family story.' Daily Express 'Compelling reading' The Sun 'Delinsky's writing is fluid and makes for a hard-to-put-down book.' Glamour