Cath Weeks - Mothers - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349410654
    • Publication date:06 Jul 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405538848
    • Publication date:06 Jul 2017

Mothers

By Cath Weeks

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

From the author of Blind, an emotional, gripping and suspenseful family drama about mothers and daughters.

For fans of Liane Moriarty and Dorothy Koomson, this is an emotional, gripping and suspenseful family drama of secrets and intrigue. It's a story for mothers and daughters, about the battles between them, but also the everlasting bond that they share.

Until now, Steffie has been proud of the decisions she's made as a mother - even when she battled with her husband's infidelity and resolved to raise their daughter, Jemima, alone. But now Jemima has the chance to pursue her own dreams of becoming a ballerina, which means her leaving home at the age of ten. And Steffie finds herself faced with that most unbearable of parental decisions: to keep her child at home, or to give them the wings to fly.

She knows what's right. And so does her husband. But will Steffie ever forgive herself if something goes wrong?

Especially given the dangerous and devastating secret she's kept hidden for so many years.

Praise for Cath Weeks

'It'll make you weep' Elle

'Blind gnaws away at you, forcing you to question your own morals' Evening Standard

'Beautifully written and refreshingly unique' Peterborough Evening Telegraph

Biographical Notes

Cath Weeks was born and raise in Somerset. Her debut novel, Blind, was published in 2017 and she was named as an Author to Watch by Elle magazine. Cath lives in Bath with her husband and two sons.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349410661
  • Publication date: 08 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Piatkus
Piatkus

Blind

Cath Weeks
Authors:
Cath Weeks

Twyla Ridley, resourceful, optimistic, has just had her first child. It's what she and her husband, Dylan, have always wished for. However, Charlie is blind. For the first time in her adult life Twyla feels truly tested. She cherishes her son, showering him with love and boundless affection, but there's a part of her that aches for him to see. So Twyla throws herself into motherhood with a very private agenda, because maybe, if she strives hard enough, she'll be able to find a way to fix him. But is it a risk worth taking? Blind is about how hard we battle for our children and how blind we can be to the secrets of those closest to us. It's a story that delves into the very heart of our dangerous yearning for perfection.

Orbit

Abaddon's Gate

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Little, Brown

Flesh Wounds

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre
Piatkus

Duchess in Love

Eloisa James
Authors:
Eloisa James
Da Capo Press

Queens of Noise

Evelyn McDonnell
Authors:
Evelyn McDonnell
Abacus

A Shed Of One's Own

Marcus Berkmann
Authors:
Marcus Berkmann
Piatkus

Beyond Temptation

Audrey Boss, Sophie Boss
Authors:
Audrey Boss, Sophie Boss
Piatkus

Chaos in Death/Possession in Death

J. D. Robb
Authors:
J. D. Robb

Two exclusive J.D. Robb short stories.Possession in DeathAfter a Russian woman whispers her dying words to Eve Dallas, strange things begin to happen. Unable to concentrate on anything, Eve realises that in order to reclaim her mind, she must find the woman's great-granddaughter - one of a string of young missing girls, forgotten by all.Set between Indulgence in Death and Treachery in Death.Chaos in DeathWhen eye-witness testimony paints the killer as a green skinned monster, with swollen red eyes and goblin ears, even Eve Dallas is shaken. But as she gets closer, the trail suggests something even more disturbing - someone is playing at science . . .Set between New York to Dallas and Celebrity in Death.

Orbit

Caliban's War

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Abacus

The Day of the Lie

William Brodrick
Authors:
William Brodrick

They came for me in November nineteen fifty-one and took me to Mokotow prison.Cambridge, the present day. And out of the past, a cry for help: Father Anselm, the brilliant Benedictine, receives a visit from an old friend with a dangerous story to tell - the story of a woman betrayed by time, fate, and someone close to her . . . someone still unknown.As a young woman, Roza Mojeska was part of an underground resistance group in Communist Poland. But after her arrest, an agent of the secret police makes her a devil's bargain - and in the dark of a government prison, a terrible choice is made.Now, fifty years later, Anselm is called upon to investigate both Roza's story and a mystery dating back to the early 1980s, in the icy grip of the Cold War. And as he peels back years of history, decades of secrets, a half-century of lies, he exposes a truth that victim and torturer would keep hidden...

Abacus

A Mountain In Tibet

Charles Allen
Authors:
Charles Allen

Throughout the East there runs a legend of a great mountain at the centre of the world, where four rivers have their source. Charles Allen traces this legend to Western Tibet where there stands Kailas, worshipped by Hindus and Buddhists alike as the home of their gods and the navel of the world. Close by are the sources of four mighty rivers: the sacred Ganges, the Indus, the Sutlej and Tsangpo-Brahmaputra.For centuries Kailas remained an enigma to the outside world. Then a succession of remarkable men took up the challenge of penetrating the hostile, frozen wastelands beyond the Western Himalayas, culminating in the great age of discovery, the final years of the Victorian era.A Mountain in Tibet is an extraordinary story of exploration and high adventure, full of the excitement and colour expected from the author of Plain Tales from the Raj.

Back Bay

Love And Capital

Mary Gabriel
Authors:
Mary Gabriel
Virago

Henry James

Lyndall Gordon
Authors:
Lyndall Gordon
Virago

The Imperfect Life of T. S. Eliot

Lyndall Gordon
Authors:
Lyndall Gordon
Robinson

The Whole-Brain Child

Tina Payne Bryson, Daniel Siegel
Authors:
Tina Payne Bryson, Daniel Siegel
Virago

What I Don't Know About Animals

Jenny Diski
Authors:
Jenny Diski

What does Jenny Diski know about animals? She's really not sure. She remembers the animal books she read in her childhood; the cartoons she watched; the meals she ate; the strays she found; the animals who have lived and still live with her. She examines human beings, too, and the way in which we have looked at, studied, treated and written about the non-human creatures with whom we share the planet. Subtle, intelligent and brilliantly observed, What I Don't Know About Animals is an engaging look at what it means to be human - and what it means to be animal.

Orbit

Blooded: A Jessica McClain novella

Amanda Carlson
Authors:
Amanda Carlson

Jessica McClain was born the only female in an all male race. The only problem is-she's no wolf. Called a curse, a witch and the Daughter of Evil by the superstitious wolves, Jessica decides to fight for her freedom, at age nineteen, the only way she can-in the ring. When she's brutally attacked right after her fight, is it enough to finally earn her freedom off Compound, or will she be forced to endure the hatred even longer . . .

Virago

Complete Short Stories

Elizabeth Taylor
Authors:
Elizabeth Taylor

'Elizabeth Taylor is finally being recognised as an important British author: one of great subtlety, great compassion and great depth' Sarah WatersElizabeth Taylor, highly acclaimed author of classic novels such as Angel, A Game of Hide and Seek and Mrs Palfrey at the Claremont, is also renowned for her powerful, acutely observed stories. Here for the first time, the stories - including some only recently rediscovered - are collected in one volume. From the awkward passions of lonely holiday-makers to the anticipation of three school friends preparing for their first dance, from the minor jealousies and triumphs of marriage to tales of outsiders struggling to adapt to the genteel English countryside, with a delicate, witty touch Elizabeth Taylor illuminates the nuances of ordinary lives.

Virago

Vanishing Cornwall

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Piatkus

Soulmate Relationships

Ulli Springett, Tara Springett
Authors:
Ulli Springett, Tara Springett