Ceri Radford - A Surrey State Of Affairs - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748121526
    • Publication date:31 Mar 2011

A Surrey State Of Affairs

By Ceri Radford

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

* A witty, sharply observed and charming tale of midlife crisis and self-discovery in suburban Surrey -- 'A comic gem' ALEXANDER McCALL SMITH

Constance Harding's comfortable corner of the Home Counties is her own little piece of heaven. Her time is spent party-planning (disastrous), matchmaking for her startlingly well-dressed son Rupert (catastrophic), and dreaming of the hat aisles at John Lewis. But she's about to learn that her perfect home conceals scandal that would make the vicar blush.

Her Lithuanian housekeeper's polyester underwear keeps appearing in her husband's study, her parrot has gained a troubling new vocabulary and her daughter is turning into a Lycra-clad gap-year strumpet. As her family falls apart, Constance embarks on an extraordinary journey. From tripping in Ibiza to riding with a handsome Argentinean gaucho whose only English words are 'Britney' and 'Spears', Constance discovers a wider world she thought it was too late to find . . .

Biographical Notes

Ceri Radford is a journalist at the Telegraph. A Surrey State of Affairs is her debut novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349123110
  • Publication date: 31 Mar 2011
  • Page count: 320
Little, Brown

Tangerine

Christine Mangan
Authors:
Christine Mangan
Hachette Audio

Million Love Songs

After splitting up with her cheating ex-husband, Ruby Brown is ready for a change. She's single again for the first time in years and she's going to dive into this brave new world with a smile on her face and a spring in her step. The last thing she's looking for is another serious relationship.Mason Soames represents everything Ruby wants right now: he's charming, handsome, and perfect for some no-strings-attached fun, and yet Ruby can't help feel that something is missing. Joe Edwards on the other hand is also lovely and handsome but he comes with the sort of baggage Ruby wants to avoid: an annoyingly attractive ex-wife and two teenage children.Ruby soon has some very tough decisions to make. Is she ready for a relationship of any kind, and what type of life does she really want? Because while Ruby may think she knows what she wants, is that what she needs to be truly happy?Feel-good, wonderful and an absolute must-read from the queen of romance Carole Matthews, Ruby's story will make you laugh, cry and leave you wanting more. It's about to get emotional in Million Love Songs.

Fleet

Black Teeth and a Brilliant Smile

Adelle Stripe
Authors:
Adelle Stripe

Best known for her classic black comedy Rita, Sue and Bob Too, Andrea Dunbar wrote three plays before dying at a tragically young age. This new literary portrayal features a cast of real and imagined characters set against the backdrop of the infamous Buttershaw estate during the Thatcher era.A bittersweet tale of the north/south divide, it reveals how a shy teenage girl defied the circumstances into which she was born and went on to become one of her generation's greatest dramatists. Black Teeth and a Brilliant Smile is a poignant piece of kitchen sink noir that tells Dunbar's compelling story in print for the very first time.Adelle Stripe's writing has been described as a 'genuine breath of fresh air'. Black Teeth and a Brilliant Smile is her keenly anticipated debut novel.

Forever

Sugarplum Way

Debbie Mason
Authors:
Debbie Mason

Former DEA agent Aidan Gallagher has moved back to Harmony Harbor in hopes of winning shared custody of his seven-year-old daughter. He also hopes that finding the person responsible for the deaths of his mother and sister and bringing them to justice will give him the closure he needs. So he reopens the case, and the beautiful Julia Landon quickly becomes a person of interest... not only as a suspect. Julia Landon has a secret, a secret she has kept for eight long years. But when Aiden comes back to town, Julia can't help but fall for him and his adorable daughter. She knows that now more than ever she must hide the truth about what happened on the night of the drunk driving accident that killed Aidan's family. But with a little Christmas magic, maybe Julia can help Aiden find the forgiveness he needs...

Hachette Audio

Seven Days of Us

Francesca Hornak
Authors:
Francesca Hornak
Little, Brown

The House of Unexpected Sisters

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith

Precious Ramotswe has always idolised her father, the late Obed Ramotswe. She feels that she knows all about his life - but does she? Sometimes our parents surprise us, and we discover that things were not quite what we thought them to be. And the same goes for Mma Makutsi, Mma Ramotswe's feisty assistant, who also makes certain discoveries about her own past that cause some surprise. The placid world of the No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency is further disturbed by the arrival in Gaborone of somebody whom Mma Ramotswe - and Mr J.L.B. Matekoni, for that matter - definitely do not want to see. Of course calm eventually prevails - as it always does in the timeless world of these remarkable ladies. Tea is served, and life continues.

Corsair

The Locals

Jonathan Dee
Authors:
Jonathan Dee
Sphere

Two by Two

Nicholas Sparks
Authors:
Nicholas Sparks

From the author of The Notebook and See Me comes a beautiful story of heartbreak, strength and unconditional love that will capture your heart.Sometimes the end is just the beginning . . .Russell Green has it all: a loving family, a successful career and a beautiful house. But underneath his seemingly perfect world, cracks are beginning to appear . . . and no one is more surprised than Russ when the life he took for granted is turned upside down. Finding himself single-handedly caring for his young daughter, while trying to launch his own business, the only thing Russ knows is that he must shelter his little girl from the consequences of these changes. As Russ embarks on this daunting and unexpected new chapter of his life, a chance encounter will challenge him to find a happiness beyond anything he could ever have imagined.Praise for Nicholas Sparks'Pulls at the heartstrings' Sunday Times'When it comes to tales about love, Nicholas Sparks is one of the undisputed kings' Heat'An absorbing page-turner' Daily Mail'A fiercely romantic and touching tale' Heat on The Longest Ride'An A-grade romantic read' OK! on Safe Haven'This one won't leave a dry eye' Daily Mirror on The Lucky One

Sphere

Before I Was Yours

Virginia Macgregor
Authors:
Virginia Macgregor
Sphere

Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses

Sphere

The Return of Norah Wells

Virginia Macgregor
Authors:
Virginia Macgregor

'A future classic'Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go, on What Milo SawOne family. Two mothers. Which one will they choose? A moving family drama perfect for fans of Dorothy Koomson, Harriet Evans and Lisa Jewell.One ordinary morning, Norah Wells walked out of her house on Willoughby Street and never looked back. Six years later, she returns to the home she left only to find another woman in her place. Fay held Norah's family together after she disappeared, she shares a bed with Norah's husband and Norah's youngest daughter calls Fay 'Mummy'.Now that Norah has returned, everyone has questions. Where has she been? Why did she leave? And why is she back? As each member of the family tries to find the answers they need, they must also face up to the most pressing question of all - what happens to The Mother Who Stayed when The Mother Who Left comes back?Powerful, emotional and perceptive, The Return of Norah Wells is a novel about what it takes to hold a family together and what you're willing to sacrifice for the ones you love.*Originally published with the title The Astonishing Return of Norah Wells*

Sphere

Career of Evil

Robert Galbraith
Authors:
Robert Galbraith
Sphere

The Chocolate Lovers' Wedding

Sphere

Trust

Mike Bullen
Authors:
Mike Bullen

The debut novel from BAFTA Award-winning writer of TV's COLD FEET: a laugh-out-loud tale of contemporary relationships, this is perfect for anyone who has ever fallen in love. Or out of love. Or back in love again.'Trust wasn't something you could have in degrees; it was all or nothing...'Greg and Amanda are happy. They've been together thirteen years and have two young daughters. They're very much in love. Dan and Sarah aren't so fortunate. Their marriage is going through the motions and they're just staying together for the sake of their son.When one bad decision sends a happy couple into turmoil and turns an unhappy couple into love's young dream, there's only one thing that can keep everything from falling apart: trust.Praise for TRUST:'A smart and fun story about relationships from the creator of Cold Feet' (Heat) 'A funny, poignant and complex story of what happens to relationships when trust breaks down, beautifully handled by an accomplished writer' (Carole Matthews)'Move over David Nicholls. For here's a serious contender for your contemporary-urban-ironic crown. A comic tour de force, brimming with wit and weary wisdom' (Daily Mail)'A brilliantly funny debut novel about mid-life relationships from the creator of Cold Feet' (The Pool)

Sphere

What Milo Saw

Virginia Macgregor
Authors:
Virginia Macgregor

'I defy you not to fall in love with Milo . . . a future classic' Clare Mackintosh, author of number one bestseller I See You'If you loved The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, this is for you' Heat'Warm, wise and insightful' Good Housekeeping'A poignant a very clever read' CompanyA BIG story about a small boy who sees the world a little differentlyNine-year-old Milo Moon has retinitis pigmentosa: his eyes are slowly failing and he will eventually go blind. But for now he sees the world through a pin hole and notices things other people don't. When Milo's beloved gran succumbs to dementia and moves into a nursing home, Milo soon realises there's something wrong at the home. So with just Tripi, the nursing home's cook, and Hamlet, his pet pig, to help, Milo sets out on a mission to expose the nursing home and the sinister Nurse Thornhill.Insightful, wise and surprising, What Milo Saw is filled with big ideas and simple truths. Milo sees the world in a very special way and it will be impossible for you not to fall in love with him and then share his story with everyone you know.

Sphere

The Chocolate Lovers' Christmas

Virago

Circling the Sun

Paula McLain
Authors:
Paula McLain
Sphere

The Cake Shop in the Garden

Sphere

The Silver Collection

Abacus

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry

Gabrielle Zevin
Authors:
Gabrielle Zevin

Originally published as The Collected Works of A. J. Fikry."Who the hell are you?" A.J. asks the baby. For no apparent reason, she stops crying and smiles at him. "Maya," she answers. That was easy, A.J. thinks. "How old are you?" he asks. Maya holds up two fingers. "You're two?" Maya smiles again and holds up her arms to him." A.J. Fikry, the grumpy owner of Island Books, is going through a hard time: his bookshop is failing, he has lost his beloved wife, and a prized rare first edition has been stolen. But one day A.J. finds two-year-old Maya sitting on the bookshop floor, with a note attached to her asking the owner to look after her. His life - and Maya's - is changed forever.