Daphne Du Maurier - Don't Look Now And Other Stories - Little, Brown Book Group

Don't Look Now And Other Stories

By Daphne Du Maurier

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

Daphne Du Maurier's Don't Look Now and Other Stories showcases her unique blend of empathy and spine-tingling suspense. This is Virago's first publication of this classic book, now available in our beautiful hardback designer series.

John and Laura have come to Venice to try and escape the pain of their young daughter's death. But when they encounter two old women who claim to have second sight, they find that instead of laying their ghosts to rest they become caught up in a train of increasingly strange and violent events.


The four other haunting, evocative stories in this volume also explore deep fears and longings, secrets and desires: a lonely teacher who investigates a mysterious American couple, a young woman confronting her father's past, a party of pilgrims who meet disaster in Jerusalem and a scientist who harnesses the power of the mind to chilling effect.

Biographical Notes

Daphne du Maurier (1907-89) was born in London, the daughter of the famous actor-manager Sir Gerald du Maurier and granddaughter of George du Maurier, the author and artist. In 1931 her first novel, The Loving Spirit, was published. A biography of her father and three other novels followed, but it was the novel Rebecca that launched her into the literary stratosphere and made her one of the most popular authors of her day. In 1932, du Maurier married Major Frederick Browning, with whom she had three children.
Many of du Maurier's bestselling novels and short stories were adapted into award-winning films, including Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds and Nicolas Roeg's Don't Look Now. In 1969 du Maurier was awarded a DBE. She lived most of her life in Cornwall, the setting for many of her books.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349006604
  • Publication date: 01 Oct 2015
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Virago
Don't Look Now is a strange and intimate masterpiece: a perfect distillation of the confusion and desire that attend grief, which, as the story progresses, adventures forward through the winding streets of Venice with the logic of nightmare — Ethan Rutherford, NPR Books
One of the most shocking plot twists in all of literature. It hits you like a freight train — Gillian Flynn
Orbit

Brief Cases

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher
Hachette Audio

Outrages

Naomi Wolf
Authors:
Naomi Wolf
Corsair

Picnic in the Storm

Yukiko Motoya
Authors:
Yukiko Motoya

Published in the US as The Lonesome BodybuilderWinner of the Akutagawa Prize and the Kenzaburo Oe Prize. 'These arresting, hyper-real stories linger in the imagination . . . By the first few sentences, you know you're hearing the voice of a remarkable writer; by the end of [the story] "An Exotic Marriage", you're certain that Yukiko Motoya's shivery, murmuring voice will never completely leave you' Financial Times 'Delightful . . . Fun and funny . . . The style will remind readers of the Japanese authors Banana Yoshimoto and Sayaka Murata, but the stories themselves . . . are reminiscent, at least to this reader, of Joy Williams and Rivka Galchen and George Saunders' The New York Times Book ReviewA housewife takes up bodybuilding and sees radical changes to her physique - which her workaholic husband fails to notice. A boy waits at a bus stop, mocking businessmen struggling to keep their umbrellas open in a typhoon - until an old man shows him that they hold the secret to flying. A woman working in a clothing boutique waits endlessly on a customer who won't come out of the fitting room - and who may or may not be human. A newly wed notices that her husband's features are beginning to slide around his face - to match her own.In these eleven stories, the individuals who lift the curtains of their orderly homes and workplaces are confronted with the bizarre, the grotesque, the fantastic, the alien - and, through it, find a way to liberation. Winner of the Kenzaburo Oe Prize, Picnic in the Storm (published in the US as The Lonesome Bodybuilder) is the English-language debut of one of Japan's most fearless young writers.'People around the world have been whispering Motoya's name in my ear. Now she's translated into English!' Gary Shteyngart'Readers who still enjoy fiction for sheer entertainment should get their hands on these stories' The Japan Times

Fleet

The Burning Girl

Claire Messud
Authors:
Claire Messud

A bracing and hypnotic portrait of the complexities of female friendship from the New York Times bestselling author of The Woman Upstairs.Julia Robinson and Cassie Burnes have been friends since nursery school. They have shared everything, including their desire to escape the stifling limitations of their birthplace, the quiet town of Royston, Massachusetts. But as the two girls enter adolescence, their paths diverge: while Julia comes from a stable, happy, middle-class family, Cassie never knew her father, who died when she was an infant, and has an increasingly tempestuous relationship with her single mother, Bev. When Bev becomes involved with the mysterious Anders Shute, Cassie feels cruelly abandoned. Disturbed, angry and desperate for answers, she sets out on a journey that will put her own life in danger, and shatter her oldest friendship. Compact, compelling, and ferociously sad, The Burning Girl is at once a story about childhood, friendship and community, and a complex examination of the stories we tell ourselves about childhood and friendship. Claire Messud brilliantly mixes folklore and Bildungsroman, exploring the ways in which our made-up stories, and their consequences, become real.

Sphere

The Suffragette's Tale

Marjorie Eccles
Authors:
Marjorie Eccles

An original short story taken from the anthology Motives for Murder, by members of The Detection ClubA classic tale of murder amid the suffragette movement with a twist in the tail.When twenty-year-old Flora Daventry throws a rock through the window of known anti-suffragist Sir Robert Spurling, MP, tragic consequences ensue. Can Flora work out what really happened that night to avoid imprisonment and heartbreak?

Sphere

Murder and its Motives

Martin Edwards
Authors:
Martin Edwards

An original short story taken from the anthology Motives for Murder, by members of The Detection ClubFrom award-winning golden-age expert Martin Edwards comes a tale of twisted relationships.Young Mary-Ann, who lives in her father's bookshop, is developing an obsession with true crime - but soon she's having to deal with murder on her own doorstep...

Virago

The Birds And Other Stories

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
ATOM

Unspeakable

Abbie Rushton
Authors:
Abbie Rushton

Megan doesn't speak. She hasn't spoken in months.Pushing away the people she cares about is just a small price to pay. Because there are things locked inside Megan's head - things that are screaming to be heard - that she cannot, must not, let out.Then Jasmine starts at school: bubbly, beautiful, talkative Jasmine. And for reasons Megan can't quite understand, life starts to look a bit brighter.Megan would love to speak again, and it seems like Jasmine might be the answer. But if she finds her voice, will she lose everything else?

Virago

Daphne du Maurier Omnibus 4

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

Daphne du Maurier Omnibus 3

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

Daphne du Maurier Omnibus 2

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

Includes The House on the Strand, Julius, The Loving Spirit and The Doll: Short Stories.Written in the tradition of Poe and Lovecraft, The House on the Strand is a gripping, time-travelling horror tale. The eponymous hero of Julius is a quick-witted urchin caught up in the Franco-Prussian war, who is soon on his way to seek a fortune in London. The Loving Spirit, Daphne du Maurier's first published novel, is the history of the lives, loves and hardships of a Cornish family at the turn of the twentieth century. This omnibus also includes The Doll, a collection of some of du Maurier's most thrilling short stories.

Virago

Daphne du Maurier Omnibus 1

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

Vanishing Cornwall

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

The Doll: Short Stories

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
C & R Crime

A Grave Man

David Roberts
Authors:
David Roberts
Virago

Rule Britannia

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

It is rather awful, Emma thought as she walked across the fields down to the farm, how this business is leading us all into subterfuge and deception, and we can't really tell who is friend and who is enemy . . . 'Emma wakes up one morning to an apocalyptic world. The cosy existence she shares with her grandmother, a famous retired actress, has been shattered: there's no post, no telephone, no radio - and an American warship sits in the harbour. As the two women piece together clues about the 'friendly' military occupation on their doorstep, family, friends and neighbours gather round to protect their heritage. In this chilling novel of the future, Daphne du Maurier explores the implications of a political, economic and military alliance between Britain and the United States.

Virago

My Cousin Rachel

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

Orphaned at an early age, Philip Ashley is raised by his benevolent cousin, Ambrose. Resolutely single, Ambrose delights in making Philip his heir, knowing he will treasure his beautiful Cornish estate. But Philip's world is shattered when Ambrose sets off on a trip to Florence. There he falls in love and marries - and then dies suddenly in suspicious circumstances. Before long, the new widow - Philip's cousin Rachel - arrives in England. Despite himself, Philip is drawn to this beautiful, mysterious woman. But could she have masterminded Ambrose's death?

Virago

Frenchman's Creek

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

A tale of love and adventure on the high seas from the internationally bestselling author of RebeccaThe Restoration Court knows Lady Dona St Columb to be ripe for any folly, any outrage that will alter the tedium of her days. But there is another, secret Dona who longs for freedom, honest love - and sweetness, even if it is spiced with danger. To escape the shallowness of court life, Dona retreats to Navron, her husband's remote Cornish estate. There, she seeks peace in its solitary woods and hidden creeks. But she finds instead a daring pirate, hunted by all Cornwall, a Frenchman who, like Dona, would gamble his life for a moment's joy. Together, they embark upon a quest rife with danger and glory, one which bestows upon Dona the ultimate choice: sacrifice her lover to certain death or risk her own life to save him.

Virago

The House On The Strand

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier
Virago

Jamaica Inn

Daphne Du Maurier
Authors:
Daphne Du Maurier

After the death of her mother, Mary Yellan crosses the windswept Cornish moors to Jamaica Inn, the home of her Aunt Patience. There she finds Patience a changed woman, downtrodden by her domineering, vicious husband Joss Merlyn. The inn is a front for a lawless gang of criminals, and Mary is unwillingly dragged into their dangerous world of smuggling and murder. Before long she will be forced to cross her own moral line to save herself.