Melissa Grey - The Girl at Midnight - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349002149
    • Publication date:28 Apr 2015
Books in this series

The Girl at Midnight

By Melissa Grey

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

For readers of Laini Taylor's The Daugher of Smoke and Bone and Rachel Hartman's Seraphina, The Girl at Midnight will take you to a fantastical world that lies just beneath your feet.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

Biographical Notes

Melissa Grey penned her first short story at the age of twelve and hasn't stopped writing since. As an undergrad at Yale, she learned how ride a horse and shoot a bow and arrow at the same time, but hasn't had much use for that skill since graduating in 2008.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349002132
  • Publication date: 28 Apr 2015
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: ATOM
A stunning debut. Equal parts atmosphere and adventure, Melissa Grey's THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT is positively divine — V. E. Schwab
A fun and fast-paced fantasy romp . . . There's a smart, quick-witted heroine, a brooding dragon prince, a snappily dressed bird man, and so many other great characters. I can't wait for the sequel — Library Journal
Little, Brown

Broken Ground

Val McDermid
Authors:
Val McDermid

Number one bestseller Val McDermid returns with another gripping, unputdownable thrillerPraise for Val McDermid:'The queen of crime is still at the top of her game' Independent'So gripping it puts your life on hold' The Times'Incredibly suspenseful' Sunday Mirror'A genuine page-turner' Independent on Sunday'McDermid remains unrivalled' Observer

Piatkus

Deep Blue

Jane O'Reilly
Authors:
Jane O'Reilly
Robinson

Tell Me What You Want

Justin J. Lehmiller
Authors:
Justin J. Lehmiller

What do we really want when it comes to sex? And is it possible for us to get what we want? Justin J. Lehmiller, a leading expert on human sexuality and author of the popular blog Sex and Psychology, has made it his career's ambition to answer these questions.Based on his monumental two-year study of sexual fantasies involving more than 4,000 people from all walks of life, Tell Me What You Want offers an unprecedented look into our fantasy worlds and what they reveal about us. It will help you to understand your own sexual desires and how to attain them within your relationships, but also to appreciate why your partner may have sexual proclivities that are so different from your own. Appreciating the incredible diversity of human sexual desire and why this diversity exists in the first place can help you to overcome distress, anxiety and shame about your own sexual fantasies; ultimately enhancing your sex life. Breaking down barriers to discussing sexual fantasies and allowing them to become a part your sexual reality is the pathway to maintaining more satisfying relationships.

Orbit

The Empire of Ashes

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan
Dialogue Books

One More Chance

Lucy Ayrton
Authors:
Lucy Ayrton
Orbit

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

'TERRY'S PLACE IS AT THE HEAD OF THE FANTASY WORLD' Philip PullmanFollowing The Black Elfstone comes the second book in the triumphant four-part conclusion to the Shannara series, from one of the all-time masters of fantasy.Tensions in the Four Lands are high. The mysterious force that laid waste to Paranor has revealed a more human face. While some gain a new understanding of the invaders and what they are after, others continue their existing quests even as the peril rises. For what looked to be a formidable invading force proves only the forerunner of a much vaster army - one that is now marching against the Four Lands in all its fury.'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks

Little, Brown

The Incurable Romantic

Frank Tallis
Authors:
Frank Tallis
Piatkus

Shelter in Place

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

When the shots rang out in the shopping mall, Simone Knox knew what to do. Shelter in place. That's what they taught you to do in the event of a mass shooting. So on that terrible, hot summer day in 2005, Simone was lucky. She escaped death. But she would never be the same again. More than ten years later, Simone still struggles with grief, trauma and the misplaced guilt of a survivor. She spends much of her time alone on Tranquility Island - a quiet, artistic community off the coast of Maine. But she is transforming - shaping herself the way she shapes her extraordinary and highly prized sculptures. As she heals herself, she opens up to Reed Quartermaine, who survived the shooting himself and has become a detective.But someone has been watching all the survivors of the DownEast Mall massacre. They have spent years perfecting a plan to finish what was started that day. Now that Reed and Simone have found each other, they are in more danger than they can possibly imagine - from a killer who will not, and cannot stop.

Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Piatkus

The Woman Left Behind

Linda Howard
Authors:
Linda Howard
Orbit

Senlin Ascends

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft

'One of my favourite books of all time' - Mark Lawrence'I'm wildly in love with this book' - Pierce BrownDISCOVER THE EXTRAORDINARY DEBUT THAT HAS GOT EVERYONE TALKINGMild-mannered headmaster, Thomas Senlin prefers his adventures to be safely contained within the pages of a book. So when he loses his new bride shortly after embarking on the honeymoon of their dreams, he is ill-prepared for the trouble that follows. To find her, Senlin must enter the Tower of Babel - a world of geniuses and tyrants, of menace and wonder, of unusual animals and mysterious machines. And if he hopes to ever see his wife again, he will have to do more than just survive . . . this quiet man of letters must become a man of action.'Brilliant' - Publishers Weekly'I loved it' - Django Wexler'An engrossing intoxicating delight' - Forbidden Planet 'An extraordinary debut that is well worthy of the hype. A beautifully written, highly engaging page-turning masterpiece' - Fantasy Book Review 'Thomas Senlin is the most unlikely yet likeable hero since a certain hobbit rushed out of Bag End leaving his second breakfast half-finished and entirely unwashed-up' - Fantasy Faction

Hachette Audio

Snowflakes on Christmas Street

Ivy Pembroke
Authors:
Ivy Pembroke
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Little & Lion

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert
Little, Brown

Deadfall

Linda Fairstein
Authors:
Linda Fairstein
ATOM

The Savage Dawn

Melissa Grey
Authors:
Melissa Grey

The sides have been chosen and the battle lines drawn. After awakening the firebird, Echo is now the only one with the power to face the darkness she unwittingly unleashed upon the world . . . right into the waiting hands of Tanith, the new Dragon Prince. Tanith has one goal in mind: destroy her enemies, raze their lands, and reign supreme in a new era where the Drakharin are almighty and the Avicen are nothing but a memory.The war that has been brewing for centuries is finally imminent. But the scales are tipped. Echo might hold the power to face the darkness within the Dragon Prince, but she has far to go to master it. And now she's plagued by uncertainty. Is she strong enough to stare into the face of evil and not lose herself in its depths?The war has begun, and there is no looking back. There are only two outcomes possible: triumph or death.

Orbit

Soul of the World

David Mealing
Authors:
David Mealing

Orbit

New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson
Constable

The Edge of Dreams

Rhys Bowen
Authors:
Rhys Bowen

Molly Murphy Sullivan's husband Daniel, a captain in the New York City police force, is stumped. He's chasing a murderer whose victims have nothing in common - nothing except for the taunting notes that are delivered to Daniel after each murder. And when Daniel receives a note immediately after Molly and her young son Liam are in a terrible subway crash, Daniel and Molly both begin to fear that maybe Molly herself was the target.Molly's detective instincts are humming, but finding the time to dig deeper into this case is a challenge. She's healing from injuries sustained in the train crash and she's refurbishing her house, which has only just been rebuilt after burning down. She's also sidetracked by her friends Sid and Gus's most recent hobby, dream analysis. And when Molly herself starts suffering from strange dreams, she wonders if they just might hold the key to solving Daniel's murder case.Rhys Bowen's characteristic blend of atmospheric turn-of-the-century history, clever plotting, and sparkling characters will delight readers in Edge of Dreams, the latest in her bestselling Molly Murphy series.

Constable

Time of Fog and Fire

Rhys Bowen
Authors:
Rhys Bowen

Molly Murphy Sullivan's husband Daniel, a police captain in turn-of-the-century New York City, is in a precarious position. The new police commissioner wants him off the force altogether. So Daniel accepts an assignment from John Wilkie, head of the secret service. Molly believes her husband is in Washington, working for the president, until she spots him in San Francisco during a movie news segment. Then she receives a strange letter from him, leading her to conclude that he wants her to join him in San Francisco.She takes her young son Liam on the cross-country train trip, but when they arrive in San Francisco, Molly is told that she's too late, her husband's funeral was yesterday. She's devastated, even more so when she receives a cryptic note saying Daniel's death was not an accident. In her grief she stays on to investigate, until she meets a strange man at a party, whom she soon starts to suspect may not be quite who he appears. Then Molly finds another body in the basement, but before she can report it, the Great Earthquake strikes San Francisco, and the servant runs off in a panic with Molly's son. Suddenly Molly has no idea where to turn or whom to trust, and she knows there are many lives on the line, including her own.

Piatkus

Maggie Jordan

Emma Blair
Authors:
Emma Blair