Catherine Cerveny - The Chaos of Luck - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Chaos of Luck

By Catherine Cerveny

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

A thrilling new science fiction adventure series - perfect for fans of Fluency, Grimspace, and Gini Koch's Alien series. Linnea Sinclair, author of the Dock Five Universe novels calls it "an edge-of-your-seat ride."

A thrilling new science fiction series -- perfect for fans of character-driven SF adventure. Linnea Sinclair, author of the Dock Five Universe novels calls it "an edge-of-your-seat ride."

Mars, the terraformed jewel of the TriSystem, is the playground for the rich and powerful. A marvel of scientific engineering, the newly colonized world offers every luxury. For the first time in human history, the picture perfect life is possible.

Felicia Sevigny's come to the Red Planet for a fresh start. She's brought the tarot cards that have been her family's trade for generations but is hoping to leave the rest of her troubled past behind.

Felicia wants to believe that Mars will also be a clean slate for her and Alexei Petriv, notorious leader of the Tsarist Consortium, but her cards keep predicting something even darker and more insidious is ahead. Something that could mean the end, not just for her and Alexei, but for the entire TriSystem - and all of humanity.


For more from Catherine Cerveny check out The Rule of Luck.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316510554
  • Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Orbit US
Orbit

Velocity Weapon

Megan O'Keefe
Authors:
Megan O'Keefe
Orbit US

The Game of Luck

Catherine Cerveny
Authors:
Catherine Cerveny

Brazilian tarot card reader and a Russian crime lord try to restore peace to the galaxy in the third and final book of the steamy science fiction adventure series that began with The Rule of Luck. The perfect society One Gov engineered from Earth's ashes is beginning to crumble. As social unrest and dissatisfaction spread throughout the tri-system, One Gov struggles to maintain order, and a single misstep could see civilization spiraling into chaos.During this dark time, Felicia Sevigny is eager to use her card-reading ability and new position with One Gov to help restore peace. But she soon learns that the game of politics is a dangerous one, and being married to Alexei Petriv, head of the Tsarist Consortium and One Gov's biggest rival, is not necessarily a hand in her favor.When members of her family begin to disappear, the stakes skyrocket. There are those who would stop at nothing for the chance to exploit Felicia's luck gene to seize power all over the tri-system. And as the threat of revolution seems imminent, it may be that this time, nothing will be enough to keep Felicia and everyone she loves safe-not even luck."Cerveny's debut blends steamy sci-fi-fi with breathless intrigue and action, all set on a far-future Earth that's equal parts fascinating and terrifying."-Beth Cato, author of The Clockwork Dagger and Breath of Earth"Imaginative. Fans of romance in science fiction are going to love this!"-Kim Harrison, #1 New York Times bestselling authorFelicia Sevigny novelsThe Rule of LuckThe Chaos of LuckThe Game of Luck

Orbit

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller
Authors:
Sam J. Miller
Orbit US

The Rule of Luck

Catherine Cerveny
Authors:
Catherine Cerveny
Orbit

Intrusion

Ken MacLeod
Authors:
Ken MacLeod

Imagine a near-future city, say London, where medical science has advanced beyond our own and a single-dose pill has been developed that, taken when pregnant, eradicates many common genetic defects from an unborn child. Hope Morrison, mother of a hyperactive four-year-old, is expecting her second child. She refuses to take The Fix, as the pill is known. This divides her family and friends and puts her and her husband in danger of imprisonment or worse. Is her decision a private matter of individual choice, or is it tantamount to willful neglect of her unborn child?A plausible and original novel with sinister echoes of 1984 and Brave New World.

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Futuristic Romance

Trisha Telep
Authors:
Trisha Telep
Corsair

The Man from Primrose Lane

James Renner
Authors:
James Renner
Orbit

Chimera

T. C. McCarthy
Authors:
T. C. McCarthy
Orbit

Blackout

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant

The year is 2041, and Shaun Mason is having a bad day. Everyone he knows is dead or in hiding. The world is doing its best to end itself for the second time. The Centre for Disease Control is out to get him. With too much left to do and not much time left to do it in, he must face mad scientists, zombie bears and rogue government agencies before the conspiracy that killed Georgia manages to kill the only thing he has left of her - the truth.And if there's one thing he knows is true in this post-zombie, post-resurrection America, it's this: Things can always get worse.

Orbit

Gears of War: The Slab

Karen Traviss
Authors:
Karen Traviss
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 14

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 15

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois
Orbit

Exogene

T. C. McCarthy
Authors:
T. C. McCarthy
Orbit

Ender's Shadow

Orson Scott Card
Authors:
Orson Scott Card
Orbit

Gears Of War: Coalition's End

Karen Traviss
Authors:
Karen Traviss

When the bestselling video game Gears of War was released in late 2006, it quickly became the fastest selling original Xbox title ever, and has since gone on to sell more than five million copies, received more than fifty industry awards, and has garnered high praise from critics and fans alike. And the first novel in the series was released at the end of 2008, to coincide with the release of the second Gears of War video game.With this terrific track record to build on, this is the third tie-in novel to be based on the Gears of War franchise. The massive Gears of War fan-base will be eager to see more in this series of original novels.

Orbit

Germline

T. C. McCarthy
Authors:
T. C. McCarthy
Orbit

Deep State

Walter Jon Williams
Authors:
Walter Jon Williams
Orbit

Version 43

Philip Palmer
Authors:
Philip Palmer

The odds of surviving quantum teleportation to the Exodus Universe are, more or less, fifty/fifty. The only ones crazy enough to try it are the desperate, the insane and those sentenced to death for their crimes. Belladonna is home to the survivors and, in a planet run by criminals and desperados, death is commonplace. But a particularly horrific (and improbable) killing attracts the Galactic Police force, and a cyborg cop is sent to investigate.Version 43 has been here before, and has old scores to settle. The cop was human once, but is now more programme than man. And he intends to clean up this planet, permanently, whatever the cost.

Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Apocalyptic SF

Mike Ashley
Authors:
Mike Ashley
Orbit

The Eternal Prison

Jeff Somers
Authors:
Jeff Somers

Avery Cates is a wanted man. After surviving the worst bioengineered disaster in history, Cates finds himself incarcerated - in Chengara Penitentiary. As Chengara has a survival rate of exactly zero, the System's most famous gunner must do some serious plotting. And a betrayal or so later, he achieves his goal. At a price.All he has to do next is defeat some new personal demons, forge some unlikely alliances, and figure out why the people he's killed lately just won't stay dead. Plus pull off the biggest assassination of his career . . .