Jill Eisenstadt - From Rockaway - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

From Rockaway

By Jill Eisenstadt

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

"FROM ROCKAWAY is a sweet, wistful coming-of-age saga, a fragmentary view of teenagers vibrating between high school flings and adult responsibilities...less a novel than an album, a series of feisty, compassionate literary Polaroids." --Paul Rudnick, Los Angeles Times

In Jill Eisenstadt's savvy, heartfelt novel we enter the world of working-class kids in 1980's-era Rockaway, New York, a beach community where beer cans and cigarette butts stud the sand instead of seashells. Peg, Alex, Chowderhead, and Timmy play, drink, and dream together. Their circle breaks apart when Alex gets a scholarship to a "rich kids" school in New England. Soon the rituals described in her anthropology text seem less bizarre than the games in the dorms around her. It is back to Rockaway, reunited with the old gang for the summer, that the explosive depth of feeling in kids with no options beyond the local deli and the lifeguard stands shows Alex what it means to face adulthood.

Biographical Notes

Jill Eisenstadt is the author of the novels From Rockaway, Kiss Out, and Swell. Her writing has appeared in the New York Times, Vogue, Elle, Boston Review, New York Magazine, and BOMB. She lives in Brooklyn.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316506335
  • Publication date: 26 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Back Bay
Little, Brown US

Swell

Jill Eisenstadt
Authors:
Jill Eisenstadt
Grand Central Publishing

Take You Wherever You Go

Kenny Leon
Authors:
Kenny Leon

Starting from humble beginnings under his grandmother's care, Leon takes us to unexpected places in his ascent to the top from the house off the dirt road without electricity in rural Florida to being the first African American director to win a Tony Award. In TAKE YOU WHEREVER YOU GO, Kenny reflects on the lessons he learned every step of the way from the most important people in his life-from his grandmother's sagacious and encouraging motivations to the deep artistic influence of iconic American playwright August Wilson in his work. The pillars and wisdom he has learned through all the seminal people that have influenced him, paired with his tremendous storytelling, will show that you can find a classroom anywhere and it will inspire you to never change who you are, and as his grandmother instilled in him, "take you wherever you go".

Sphere

Deadfall

Linda Fairstein
Authors:
Linda Fairstein
Hachette Books

The Clear Skin Diet

Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Authors:
Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Life and Style

The Freds at Barneys New York Cookbook

Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Authors:
Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield

Barneys New York, with its flagship store on Madison Avenue, is a world-famous cutting-edge fashion destination, and a true New York phenomenon. And since 1996, Barneys' restaurant Freds at Barneys New York--named after found Barneys Pressman's son Fred--has been offering in food what Barneys offers in fashion: a luxury destination that provides a level of personal service second to none, where the food keeps their celebrity clientele coming back for more. In THE FREDS AT BARNEYS COOKBOOK, Strausman invites you into the kitchen of this restaurant institution and teaches you how to bring a piece of Fred's into your own home. Whether its the Belgian Fries or Estelle's Chicken Soup, Mark's Madison Avenue Salad or Chicken Paillard, Traditional Bolognese (or Vegan!) or Cheese Fondue Scrambled Eggs, this cookbook commemorates all of the delicious recipes Freds has served over the years at the Madison Avenue, Chelsea, Beverly Hills, and Chicago locations.

Running Press Kids

The Battle of Junk Mountain

Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Authors:
Lauren Abbey Greenberg

For fans of Rebecca Stead and Jennifer L. Holm, this is an atmospheric summer beach read for middle school readers. Twelve-year-old Shayne Whittaker has always spent summers on the Maine coast, visiting her grandmother Bea and playing with her BFF Poppy. Both Shayne and Bea are treasure seekers, in their own ways: Bea trolls flea markets and garage sales for valuable finds, while Shayne revels in golden memories of gorging on lobster rolls, searching for sea glass, and weaving friendship bracelets with Poppy. This summer, though, everything has changed. Poppy would rather talk about boys than bracelets, and Bea's collecting mania has morphed into hoarding. Only Linc, the weird boy next door who is obsessed with the Civil War, seems to care about her. Turns out Linc's coveting a treasure of his own. What begins as the worst summer of Shayne's life becomes the most memorable as she learns when to hang on, when to let go, and how to find treasures in unexpected places.

Dialogue Books

The Leavers

Lisa Ko
Authors:
Lisa Ko

Winner of the 2016 PEN/Bellwether Prize for FictionOne morning, Deming Guo's mother, Polly, an undocumented Chinese immigrant, goes to her job at a nail salon - and never comes home. No one can find any trace of her. With his mother gone, eleven-year-old Deming is left mystified and bereft. Eventually adopted by a pair of well-meaning white professors, Deming is moved from the Bronx to a small town upstate and renamed Daniel Wilkinson. But far from all he's ever known, Daniel struggles to reconcile his adoptive parents' desire that he assimilate with his memories of his mother and the community he left behind. Set in New York and China, The Leavers is a vivid examination of borders and belonging. It's a moving story of how a boy comes into his own when everything he loves is taken away, and how a mother learns to live with the mistakes of the past.

Hachette Audio

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Orbit

Olympus Bound

Jordanna Max Brodsky
Authors:
Jordanna Max Brodsky

'The Immortals is a lively re-imagining of classical mythology with an engaging premise, a page-turning plot, and an eye for the arresting and uncanny in contemporary urban life' Deborah Harkness, New York Times bestselling author of A Discovery of WitchesManhattan has many secrets. Some are older than the city itself.Summer in New York: a golden hour on the city streets, but a dark time for Selene. She's lost her home and the man she loves. A cult hungry for ancient power has kidnapped her father and targeted her friends. To save them, Selene must face the past she's been running from: a past that stretches back millennia, to when the faithful called her Huntress. Moon Goddess. Artemis. With the pantheon at her side, Selene must journey back to the seat of her immortal power: from the streets of Rome and the temples of Athens, to the heights of Mount Olympus itself.

Fleet

The Colossus of New York

Colson Whitehead
Authors:
Colson Whitehead
Piatkus

Dark in Death

J. D. Robb
Authors:
J. D. Robb

There's always a reason for murder. But when a young actress is killed in a swift and violent attack at a cinema screening, that reason is hard to fathom - even for Lieutenant Eve Dallas and her team. It's only when bestselling crime writer Blaine DeLano arrives at the precinct that the shocking truth is revealed. Someone is recreating the murder scenes from her latest series, book by book. With six more novels left in the series, Eve now knows how the killer will strike next. But why has DeLano been targeted? Could her abusive husband be involved?As fiction is transformed into bloody reality, Eve will need all her skill and experience to solve this unique case. Luckily for her, husband Roarke happens to be a fan of DeLano's work. And he's more than happy to work side by side with his brilliant wife - no matter how dark things become...

Da Capo Press

American Witness

RJ Smith
Authors:
RJ Smith
Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee

TWO CRIME FAMILIES, ONE SOURCE OF POWER: JADE.An Amazon.com Best Book of the Month November 2017'Vivid and tautly described' Scott Lynch'Gripping!' Ann Leckie'Stylish and action-packed' Ken Liu Jade is the lifeblood of the city of Janloon - a stone that enhances a warrior's natural strength and speed. Jade is mined, traded, stolen and killed for, controlled by the ruthless No Peak and Mountain families. When a modern drug emerges that allows anyone - even foreigners - to wield jade, simmering tension between the two families erupts into open violence. The outcome of this clan war will determine the fate of all in the families, from their grandest patriarch to even the lowliest motorcycle runner on the streets. Jade City is an epic tale of blood, family, honour, and of those who live and die by ancient laws in a changing world.

Little, Brown US

The World of Tomorrow

Brendan Mathews
Authors:
Brendan Mathews
Twelve

Motherest

Kristen Iskandrian
Authors:
Kristen Iskandrian

It's the early 1990s, and as a new college student, Agnes is caught between the broken home she leaves behind and the wilderness of campus life. What she needs most is her mother, who has disappeared once and for all, and her brother, who left the family tragically a few years prior. As Agnes tries to find her footing, she writes letters to her mother to conjure a closeness they never. But when she finds out she is pregnant, Agnes begins to contend with what it means to be a mother and, in some ways, what it means to be your own mother. The end of the world as she knows it is also the beginning of a brand new one.

Orbit

Provenance

Ann Leckie
Authors:
Ann Leckie
Piatkus

Secrets in Death

J. D. Robb
Authors:
J. D. Robb

No one is going to miss Larinda Mars. A ruthless gossip queen with a lucrative sideline in blackmail, there's no lack of suspects when she's murdered in a fashionable New York bar. With so many people wanting her dead, it's going to be a tough case to crack.Lieutenant Eve Dallas may not like this particular victim, but it's her duty to bring the killer to justice. As she digs deeper into Larinda's mysterious past, it becomes clear the reporter had a unique talent for uncovering secrets. Including ones very close to home for Eve and her husband Roarke... Someone was willing to commit murder to keep their secrets hidden. And with Eve now working to uncover the truth, she and her team are heading into serious danger.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Star Thief

Lindsey Becker
Authors:
Lindsey Becker

Honorine's life as as maid at the Vidalia mansion is rather dull, dusting treasures from faraway places and daydreaming in front of maps of the world. But everything changes when she catches two brutish sailors ransacking Lord Vidalia's study, and then follows a mysterious girl with wings out into the night....Suddenly, Honorine is whisked into the middle of a battle between the crew of a spectacular steamship and a band of mythical constellations. The stars in the sky have come to life to defend themselves against those who want to harness their powers. Much to her surprise, Honorine is the crux of it all, the center of an epic clash between magic and science, the old ways and the new. But can this spirited young girl bring both sides of a larger-than-life fight together before they unleash an evil power even older than the stars?

Hachette Books

A Speck in the Sea

John Aldridge, Anthony Sosinski
Authors:
John Aldridge, Anthony Sosinski
Orbit

New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson

The waters rose, submerging New York City.But the residents adapted and it remained the bustling, vibrant metropolis it had always been. Though changed forever.Every street became a canal. Every skyscraper an island.Through the eyes of the varied inhabitants of one building Kim Stanley Robinson shows us how one of our great cities will change with the rising tides.And how we too will change.