Elise Parsley - If You Ever Want to Bring a Pirate to Meet Santa, Don't! - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

If You Ever Want to Bring a Pirate to Meet Santa, Don't!

By Elise Parsley

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

The fourth book in the New York Times-bestselling Magnolia Says DON'T! series that started with If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don't! is another loud and cautionary tale of what not to do...when you visit Santa.

If your dad says you're going to meet Santa, he means the bearded guy with a red suit and a bag full of treasures. He does not mean that guy. That's a pirate. If you make friends with a pirate anyway, your dad will tell you that pirates are on the Naughty List! Can Magnolia keep her salty new friend off the naughty list and save Santa before he has to walk the plank? Elise Parsley's boldly expressive illustrations will bring plenty of laughs in this book that has Magnolia in charge of what's right and what's a don't in this rousing fourth book in the bestselling MAGNOLIA SAYS DON'T series.

Biographical Notes

Elise Parsley has also written and illustrated the bestselling If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don't! which was her debut picture book. She lives in South Dakota with her husband.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316466776
  • Publication date: 15 Nov 2018
  • Page count: 40
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rise

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Don't Worry Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr

ATOM

The Boy and Girl Who Broke The World

Amy Reed
Authors:
Amy Reed
Running Press Kids

Super Jake & the King of Chaos

Naomi Milliner
Authors:
Naomi Milliner
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Year of the Rat (New Edition)

Grace Lin
Authors:
Grace Lin

In this sequel to Year of the Dog, Pacy has another big year in store for her. The Year of the Dog was a very lucky year: she met her best friend Melody and discovered her true talents. However, the Year of the Rat brings big changes: Pacy must deal with Melody moving to California, find the courage to forge on with her dream of becoming a writer and illustrator, and learn to face some of her own flaws. Pacy encounters prejudice, struggles with acceptance, and must find the beauty in change.Based on the author's childhood adventures, Year of the Rat, features the whimsical black and white illustrations and the hilarious and touching anecdotes that helped Year of the Dog earn rave reviews and satisfied readers.This special edition of the modern classic features over 15 pages of new content, including deleted stories, a Q&A with the author and editor, photos from the author's childhood, and more!

Running Press Kids

Secret Agents Jack and Max Stalwart: Book 3

Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson
Contributors:
Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson
Running Press Kids

Secret Agents Jack and Max Stalwart: Book 4

Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson
Contributors:
Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson
ATOM

Internment

Samira Ahmed
Authors:
Samira Ahmed
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Cars and Trucks Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Survival Tails

Katrina Charman
Authors:
Katrina Charman

Sled dog Samson wants nothing more than to be part of Ernest Shackleton's historic voyage to Antarctica. He wants to feel the snow under his paws and the wind on his face as he races across the ice fields, and most of all he wants to help his humans find eternal glory as they chart the last unexplored continent. His fellow sled dog, Bummer, just wants to get through the voyage in one piece. Why would he want to face down a dangerous, icy wasteland when he could stay inside his kennel, warm and safe?Treacherous seas and dangerous ice packs are not the only threat they'll face on their voyage, however. Not every dog on Shackleton's team is willing to put the expedition before themselves. Amundsen, a wolf dog with a grudge against Samson, will stop at nothing to ensure he's the best dog on the expedition...even if it means sabotaging Samson and his friends.When their ship, the Endurance, becomes trapped in the sea ice, leaving the dogs and men with no way home, their journey becomes not about personal glory, but about survival. Samson, Bummer, and the other dogs will have to put aside their differences and band together to rescue their humans...and themselves.With engaging nonfiction back matter that delves into the fascinating true story behind the book, Survival Tails: Endurance in Antarctica is sure to keep readers entertained as the second entry in this series of action-packed animal adventures.

ATOM

All The Lonely People

David Owen
Authors:
David Owen
Running Press Kids

Love

Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Contributors:
Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff

What is love? Can you only express it in fancy meals, greeting cards, and heart-shaped chocolates? Kids will find love everywhere in this delightful book. It can be found in everyday moments such as baking cookies with grandma, notes from Mom in your lunchbox, or a family singing together on a car trip, and it isn't always what you expect!With delightful illustrations by Joanne Lew-Vriethoff and sweetly simple prose by award-winning author Stacy McAnulty, this is the perfect book to teach children what love means, why it's important, and how they can spread the love in their daily lives.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

10 Little Kisses

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland

This Valentine's Day, everyone from puppies to polar bears is saying "I love you!" Share hugs and kisses--and an easy counting lesson--with baby in this sing-along board book full of sweet animal photography.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

How She Died, How I Lived

Mary Crockett
Authors:
Mary Crockett

I was one of five. The five girls Kyle texted that day. The girls it could have been. Me. Lindsey Farrier. Taylor Avril. Blair Mattern. Jamie Stroud. Only Jamie--beautiful, saintly Jamie--was kind enough to respond. And it got her killed. On the eve of Kyle's sentencing a year after Jamie's death, all the other Chosen Ones are coping in various ways, but our narrator is stuck. She's still trying to figure out why she gets to live, while Jamie is dead. Now she finds herself drawn to Charlie, Jamie's boyfriend--knowing all the while that their relationship will always be haunted by what-ifs and why-nots. How do you go on living when you know it could have been you? Maybe should have been you?

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Invisible String

Patrice Karst, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Contributors:
Patrice Karst, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Running Press Kids

Lizzy and the Good Luck Girl

Susan Lubner
Authors:
Susan Lubner

Living in the small town of East Thumb, Maine, upstairs from her family's diner, twelve-year-old Lizzy Sherman searches for signs to guide her and perhaps guarantee her a bump-free path through life. She pays attention to the clouds in the sky, the ice cubes in her water, the heart-shaped puddle of the juice she's spilled. If only she can figure out what the signs are trying to tell her, she'll know what to do next. When Lizzy and her best friend go searching for a stray cat and find a runaway girl instead, they want to help. And when Lizzy notices a tiny four-leaf clover tattooed on the girl's hand, she knows it's a sign. Lizzy hides the girl inside her bedroom closet, convinced the girl will be able to protect Lizzy's family from tragedy. But signs can be tricky, and what the girl has to offer may be more valuable that luck.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Celebrate the Season: Home for the Holidays

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Phantom Wheel

Tracy Deebs
Authors:
Tracy Deebs

Believing they have been recruited by the CIA, six teen hackers arrive in LA for a hacking aptitude test with the promise of a college scholarship and a job with the CIA after graduation. But one of the teens, Owen, walks out, refusing to participate. The other five decide to stay and complete the tests. When they finish, they leave feeling equally accomplished and unnerved.Then silence-until they receive a text from Owen: You've been played. He's uncovered evidence that the hackers created "Phantom Wheel," the most devastating virus ever made. Jacento, the corporation behind it all, plans to use this virus to gain unprecedented access to personal data. And that's just the beginning of the devastation. Can the teen hackers stop Phantom Wheel-and protect their own secrets from being revealed-before it's too late?©2018 by Hachette Book Group, Inc.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rule

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett

Three Dark Crowns meets Pretty Little Liars in this sensational and striking new fantasy from debut author Ellen Goodlett, for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Kristin Cashore.Three girls. Three deadly secrets. Only one can wear the crown.The king is dying, his heir has just been murdered, and rebellion brews in the east. But the kingdom of Kolonya and the outer Reaches has one last option before it descends into leaderless chaos.Or rather, three unexpected options.Zofi has spent her entire life trekking through the outer Reaches with her band of Travelers. She would do anything to protect the band, her family. But no one can ever find out how far she's already gone.Akeylah was raised in the Eastern Reach, surrounded by whispers of rebellion and abused by her father. Desperate to escape, she makes a decision that threatens the whole kingdom.Ren grew up in Kolonya, serving as a lady's maid and scheming her way out of the servants' chambers. But one such plot could get her hung for treason if anyone ever discovers what she's done.When the king summons the girls, they arrive expecting arrest or even execution. Instead they learn the truth: they are his illegitimate daughters, and one must become his new heir. But someone in Kolonya knows their secrets, and that someone will stop at nothing to keep the sisters from their destiny... to rule.Magic, mystery, and blackmail abound in the first book of this sensational and striking fantasy duology.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Finding Yvonne

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert