Elise Parsley - If You Ever Want to Bring a Pirate to Meet Santa, Don't! - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

If You Ever Want to Bring a Pirate to Meet Santa, Don't!

By Elise Parsley

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

The fourth book in the New York Times-bestselling Magnolia Says DON'T! series that started with If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don't! is another loud and cautionary tale of what not to do...when you visit Santa.

If your dad says you're going to meet Santa, he means the bearded guy with a red suit and a bag full of treasures. He does not mean that guy. That's a pirate. If you make friends with a pirate anyway, your dad will tell you that pirates are on the Naughty List! Can Magnolia keep her salty new friend off the naughty list and save Santa before he has to walk the plank? Elise Parsley's boldly expressive illustrations will bring plenty of laughs in this book that has Magnolia in charge of what's right and what's a don't in this rousing fourth book in the bestselling MAGNOLIA SAYS DON'T series.

Biographical Notes

Elise Parsley has also written and illustrated the bestselling If You Ever Want to Bring an Alligator to School, Don't! which was her debut picture book. She lives in South Dakota with her husband.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316466776
  • Publication date: 15 Nov 2018
  • Page count: 40
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Adventurer's Guide to Treasure (and How to Steal It)

Wade Albert White
Authors:
Wade Albert White

At Saint Lupin's Quest Academy Completely Ordinary School Where Nothing Bizarre Ever Happens Most Especially Not Illegal Quests That Destroy Famous Landmarks, students are not taught about pirates. They're not taught how to identify them, how to befriend them, or even how to fight them. This leaves the school completely open to pirate invasion, which, on the first day of classes, is exactly what happens.When a pirate captain and her crew attack to steal an ancient Prophecy Medallion, Anne, Penelope, and Hiro are unwillingly caught up in yet another adventure. After accidentally activating a quest, Anne and her friends have no choice but to complete the task and deliver the medallion to the supreme pirate ruler, Octo-Horse-Pirate.But the quest and the medallion are not what they seem, and Octo-Horse-Pirate is more than just a simple rogue. To complete the quest, Anne will have to journey back into her own secretive past and discover the truth about who--and what-- she really is. And, just maybe, save the whole world in the process.Filled to the brim with heart-pounding action, miniature dragons, robot clones, and (sometimes friendly) pirates, The Adventurer's Guide to Treasure (and How to Steal It) is a laugh-out-loud, fast-paced adventure that will leave readers breathless.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Rude and Ridiculous Royals of Classroom 13

Honest Lee, Matthew J. Gilbert, Joelle Dreidemy
Contributors:
Honest Lee, Matthew J. Gilbert, Joelle Dreidemy
Running Press Kids

The 12 Days of Christmas

Jill Howarth
Authors:
Jill Howarth
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Phantom Wheel

Tracy Deebs
Authors:
Tracy Deebs
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Celebrate the Season: Let It Snow!

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Celebrate the Season: Home for the Holidays

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland

ATOM

The Punk Factor

Rebecca Denton
Authors:
Rebecca Denton
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rule

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett

Three Dark Crowns meets Pretty Little Liars in this sensational and striking new fantasy from debut author Ellen Goodlett. Three girls. Three deadly secrets. Only one can wear the crown.Zofi has spent her entire life traveling across the Reaches. Just when her freedom matters most, the king's men arrive and drag her away from her fellow Travelers to bring her to the capital--Kolonya. Ren grew up in Kolonya, serving as a ladies' maid at court. She dreams of being a noble herself one day, but being ominously summoned to the king's courtroom after a misdeed isn't exactly what she had in mind. Akeylah was raised by an abusive father in the Eastern Reach, surrounded by brewing insurrection. She'd do anything to escape her family, even accept the invitation of a king who has every reason to despise her.Each girl hides a dangerous secret--the kind that could get her killed for treason. But when the girls are brought before King Andros expecting an execution, instead they learn the truth: the king is dying and they are his only living heirs. Now the three of them must live at court and compete for the chance to rule. But someone in Kolonya knows the girls' secrets, and they'll stop at nothing to keep them from the throne.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rock What Ya Got

Kerascoët, Samantha Berger
Authors:
Kerascoët, Samantha Berger
Running Press Kids

The Reckless Club

Beth Vrabel
Authors:
Beth Vrabel

On the last day of middle school, five kids who couldn't be more different commit separate pranks, each sure they won't be caught and they can't get in trouble. They're wrong. As punishment, they each have to volunteer one beautiful summer day-the last one before school-at Northbrook Retirement and Assisted Living Home, where they'll push creamed carrots into toothless mouths, perform the world's most pathetic skit in front of residents who won't remember it anyway, hold gnarled hands of peach fuzzed old ladies who relentlessly push hard candies, and somehow forge a bond with each other that has nothing to do with what they've done and everything to do with who they're becoming. All the action takes place in the course of this one day, with each chapter one hour of that day, as the five kids reveal what they've done, why they did it, and what they're going to do now.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Thank You, Omu!

Oge Mora
Authors:
Oge Mora

A generous woman is rewarded by her community in this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for the Thanksgiving season, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street.Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself?Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings a heartwarming story of sharing and community to life in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma."

Little, Brown Young Readers US

A Big Mooncake for Little Star

Grace Lin
Authors:
Grace Lin
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Adventurer's Guide to Dragons (and Why They Keep Biting Me)

Wade Albert White
Authors:
Wade Albert White
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Finding Yvonne

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Ernestine, Catastrophe Queen

Merrill Wyatt
Authors:
Merrill Wyatt

Ernestine is the kind of kid who gets things done. Smart, clever, and armed with a take-charge personality, she's easily the most responsible member of her family. Her most important task? Helping her absent-minded parents with their job of looking after the kooky residents of the MacGillicuddie House For Elderly and Retired Artists, Both Performing and Otherwise.But there's bigger trouble than leaky pipes brewing inside the walls of the rambling old mansion...and it's Ernestine who uncovers the clues that point in one direction--murder! From the mysterious figure climbing in through the basement window to the suspicious evidence found by the koi pond, there's a dangerous mystery lurking and only one person who can solve it--Ernestine, catastrophe queen!

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Dad By My Side

Soosh
Authors:
Soosh

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The End of the Wild

Nicole Helget
Authors:
Nicole Helget

Now available in paperback, this timely coming of age novel takes on the controversial issues of fracking and environmental protection.Stay away from my woods.Eleven-year-old Fern doesn't have the easiest life. Her stepfather is out of work, and she's responsible for putting dinner on the table--not to mention keeping her wild younger brothers out of trouble. The woods near their home is her only refuge, where she finds food and plays with her neighbor's dog. But when a fracking company rolls into town, her special grove could be ripped away, and no one else seems to care.Her stepfather needs the money that a job with the frackers could bring to their family, and her wealthy grandfather likes the business it brings to their town. Even her best friend doesn't understand what the land means to Fern. With no one on her side, how can she save the forest that has protected her for so long?The acclaimed author of Wonder at the Edge of the World weaves a poignant story about life on the poverty line, the environment, friendship and family--and, most of all, finding your place in the world.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Inventors at No. 8

A. M. Morgen
Authors:
A. M. Morgen

Brimming with mystery and treasure, this action-packed tale sends a boy in need of luck and girl in need of a friend on an adventure that will change their lives forever.Meet George, the third Lord of Devonshire and the unluckiest boy in London. Why is George so unlucky? First, he's an orphan. Second, unless he sells everything, he's about to lose his house. So when his family's last heirloom, a priceless map to the Star of Victory (a unique gem said to bring its owner success in any battle) is stolen by a nefarious group of criminals, George knows that there is no one less lucky--or more alone--than he is.That is until Ada Byron, the future Countess of Lovelace, bursts into his life. She promises to help George recover his family legacy, and is determined to find her own father along the way--all in a flying machine she built herself. Joined by a mischievous orangutan and the long-lost son of an infamous pirate, Ada and George take off on a cross-continent journey through the skies that will change their lives, and perhaps the world, forever.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Flor and Miranda Steal the Show

Jennifer Torres
Authors:
Jennifer Torres

Enjoy carnival rides and deep fried pickles in this warm, funny middle grade novel about family and friendship.Miranda is the lead singer in her family's musical band, Miranda y Los Reyes. Her family has worked hard performing at festivals and quinceañeras. Now, they have a shot at the main stage. How will Miranda make it a performance to remember?Flor's family runs the petting zoo at Mr. Barsetti's carnival. When she accidentally overhears Mr. Barsetti and Miranda's dad talk about cutting the zoo to accommodate Miranda y Los Reyes's main stage salary, she knows she has to take action. Will she have the heart for sabotage once she and Miranda actually start to become friends?

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Princess Hair

Sharee Miller
Authors:
Sharee Miller

Princesses with curls wear pearls.Princesses with head wraps take long naps.And princesses with teeny-weeny Afros wear teeny-weeny bows.Celebrate different hair shapes, textures, and styles in this self-affirming picture book! From dreadlocks to blowouts to braids, Princess Hair shines a spotlight on the beauty and diversity of black hair, showing young readers that every kind of hair is princess hair.Debut author-illustrator Sharee Miller encourages confidence and pride in this playful, colorful picture book that teaches readers to love every bit of themselves.