Michael Fry - How to Be a Supervillain: Bad Guys Finish First - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

How to Be a Supervillain: Bad Guys Finish First

By Michael Fry

  • Hardback
  • £9.99

In this steadily growing, bestselling series, the world's nicest bad guy wants to quit and be a librarian. But when robot ninjas attack his library, Victor has to don his cape once more.

The bestselling middle-grade supervillain series is back! Victor Spoil realizes he's not cut out for life as a supervillain and instead decides to be...a librarian. Little does he know that librarians are a secret society who will stop at nothing to control---and shush---the world!

It's time for Victor Spoil to hang up his cape. After trying to be the supervillain his diabolical parents always wanted, it's time he followed his own dream to become a librarian. As a nice guy who likes quiet and order, Victor knows he'll be happy reading books for the rest of his life.

But when his library is suddenly attacked by robot ninjas and he sees his boss leap into battle, Victor learns that librarians are actually a secret league working to bring order to the whole world. It all sounds wonderful to Victor...until he finds out that his friends are planning to destroy the librarians' plan for peace. Who's right and who's wrong? Sometimes it's hard to tell if you're a good guy...or a supervillain.

Biographical Notes

Michael Fry has been a cartoonist for over 30 years, and is the co-creator and writer of the Over the Hedge comic strip which was turned into a Dreamworks film starring Bruce Willis and William Shatner. He lives near Austin, TX.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316420198
  • Publication date: 13 Jun 2019
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
Running Press Kids

Caleb and Kit

Beth Vrabel
Authors:
Beth Vrabel

Twelve-year-old Caleb is shorter, frailer and more protected than most kids his age. That's because he has cystic fibrosis, a diagnosis meaning lungs that fill with mucus and a shortened lifespan. Caleb tries not to let his disorder define him but it can be hard with an overprotective mom and a perfect big brother. Then Caleb meets Kit - a vibrant, independent and free girl - and his world changes instantly. Kit reads Caleb's palm and tells him they are destined to become friends. She calls birds down from the sky and turns every day into an adventure. Her magic is contagious, making Caleb question the rules and order in his life. But being Kit's friend means embracing deception and danger and soon Caleb will have to decide if his friendship with Kit is really what's best for him - or her.This new paperback edition includes a Q&A with the author as well as a sneak peek at Beth Vrabel's next middle grad novel, The Humiliations of Pipi McGee.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rise

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett

Sisters Akeylah, Ren, and Zofi are all a step closer to their dying father's throne, a step closer to the crown that will allow one of them to rule over Kolonya. But the sisters' pasts continue to haunt them. Each hides a secret marked with blood and betrayal, and now their blackmailer--calling themselves the "true heir"--is holding nothing back. When King Andros discovers one sister's traitorous past, events are set in motion that will shake the entire kingdom to its core. As Kolonya's greatest threat stalks closer and closer, weaving a web of fear and deceit around Ren, Zofi, and Akeylah, even the people they love are under suspicion. If the sisters are going to survive, they'll have to learn to trust each other above all else and work together, not only to save themselves, but to save everything they hold dear.With shocking reveals and suspenseful storytelling, this breathtaking sequel to Rule will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Don't Worry Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Hangry

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington

When a young lizard monster gets a hankering for his favorite hot dog spot, he takes the train all the way to the city--only to find that the place is closed for vacation. But when this little monster gets too hungry, he starts to get angry. And when he gets hangry, this poor city is at risk of a full-scale monster attack. As his rage swells, so does he, until he's the size of a skyscraper, and it falls to the citizens to find him some food--and fast! In a hilarious story about a hunger-induced tantrum, Drew Brockington uses speech bubbles and sight gags to bring a smile to the face of any little monster.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Bear Came Along

Richard T. Morris, LeUyen Pham
Contributors:
Richard T. Morris, LeUyen Pham

Little, Brown Young Readers US

When We Were Lost

Kevin Wignall
Authors:
Kevin Wignall
FaithWords

Micah's Super Vlog: The Big Fail

Andy McGuire, Girish Manuel
Authors:
Andy McGuire, Girish Manuel

When deciding whether to keep up the lie of his "A paper," will Micah admit his mistakes or risk losing his friends?Based on the popular JellyTelly show, Micah's Super Vlog, book two in this series finds Micah wrestling with a decision facing every kid his age: to study or play video games? Micah chooses to ditch his responsibility, so it's no surprise when the result is a big . . . F. Seeing that his friends did well on the same test, Micah is too ashamed to show his grade before changing the F to an A with a marker. Although he knows it's wrong, Micah feels the need to keep up the façade . . . which only leads to more lying. Will Micah continue to be dishonest, or admit his mistakes before things spin so far out of control that he loses his friends?

Running Press Kids

Super Jake & the King of Chaos

Naomi Milliner
Authors:
Naomi Milliner
Little, Brown Young Readers US

We Contain Multitudes

Sarah Henstra
Authors:
Sarah Henstra
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Absence of Sparrows

Kurt Kirchmeier
Authors:
Kurt Kirchmeier

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Abner & Ian Get Right-Side Up

Dave Eggers, Laura Park
Contributors:
Dave Eggers, Laura Park
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Inventors and the Lost Island

A. M. Morgen
Authors:
A. M. Morgen
Running Press Kids

Georgia's Terrific, Colorific Experiment

Zoe Persico
Authors:
Zoe Persico
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James

Ashley Herring Blake
Authors:
Ashley Herring Blake
Running Press Kids

Cowhide-and-Seek

Sheri Dillard, Jess Pauwels
Contributors:
Sheri Dillard, Jess Pauwels

Bessie is a cow determined to be the winner of hide and seek. However, she's she's the only one playing the game! Bessie thinks the farmer is trying to play the classic children's game when he starts counting all his cows, so she moooves off to find a series of successively ridiculous hiding spots. As Bessie keeps searching, she sets off a chain reaction of craziness in and around her farm until she finally finds that perfect place to hide.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Great Jeff

Tony Abbott
Authors:
Tony Abbott
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rule

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett

Three Dark Crowns meets Pretty Little Liars in this sensational and striking new fantasy from debut author Ellen Goodlett, for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Kristin Cashore.Three girls. Three deadly secrets. Only one can wear the crown.The king is dying, his heir has just been murdered, and rebellion brews in the east. But the kingdom of Kolonya and the outer Reaches has one last option before it descends into leaderless chaos.Or rather, three unexpected options.Zofi has spent her entire life trekking through the outer Reaches with her band of Travelers. She would do anything to protect the band, her family. But no one can ever find out how far she's already gone.Akeylah was raised in the Eastern Reach, surrounded by whispers of rebellion and abused by her father. Desperate to escape, she makes a decision that threatens the whole kingdom.Ren grew up in Kolonya, serving as a lady's maid and scheming her way out of the servants' chambers. But one such plot could get her hung for treason if anyone ever discovers what she's done.When the king summons the girls, they arrive expecting arrest or even execution. Instead they learn the truth: they are his illegitimate daughters, and one must become his new heir. But someone in Kolonya knows their secrets, and that someone will stop at nothing to keep the sisters from their destiny... to rule.Magic, mystery, and blackmail abound in the first book of this sensational and striking fantasy duology.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Finding Yvonne

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert
Little, Brown Young Readers US

President of the Whole Sixth Grade: Girl Code

Sherri Winston
Authors:
Sherri Winston
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Zip! Zoom! On a Broom

Teri Sloat, Rosalinde Bonnet
Contributors:
Teri Sloat, Rosalinde Bonnet

One goes zip,two go zoom.Three witches glide from room to room.So begins this witchy counting story. Counting up from 1 to 10 and back down again, ten witches jump on a broom--and then fall off one by one! Written in pitch-perfect rhyme, and full of fun read-aloud energy that will have kids memorizing lines and clamoring to read the book again and again, this book hits the mash-up sweet spot between perennially important concept and growing holiday promotional moment.