Lindsey Becker - The Star Thief - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780316348560
    • Publication date:25 May 2017

The Star Thief

By Lindsey Becker

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

For fans of Rick Riordan, the constellations come to life in this paperback edition of an imaginative fantasy adventure debut.

For fans of Rick Riordan, the constellations come to life in this paperback edition of an imaginative fantasy adventure debut.

Honorine's life as as maid at the Vidalia mansion is rather dull, dusting treasures from faraway places and daydreaming in front of maps of the world. But everything changes when she catches two brutish sailors ransacking Lord Vidalia's study, and then follows a mysterious girl with wings out into the night....

Suddenly, Honorine is whisked into the middle of a battle between the crew of a spectacular steamship and a band of mythical constellations. The stars in the sky have come to life to defend themselves against those who want to harness their powers. Much to her surprise, Honorine is the crux of it all, the center of an epic clash between magic and science, the old ways and the new. But can this spirited young girl bring both sides of a larger-than-life fight together before they unleash an evil power even older than the stars?

Biographical Notes

Lindsey Becker writes middle grade fiction about ghosts, monsters, mythical beasts, and daring children who love adventure and magic. The Star Thief is her debut novel, and she invites you to visit her online at literarylilycate.blogspot.com or @lcatebecker. She lives in Wisconsin.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316348539
  • Publication date: 17 May 2018
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
Orbit

The Dragon Lords 3: Bad Faith

Jon Hollins
Authors:
Jon Hollins
Orbit

King of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker

THE KING IS DEAD, LONG LIVE THE KING . . .Many years of peace have passed in Maniyadoc, years of relative calm for the assassin Girton Club-Foot. Even the Forgetting Plague, which ravaged the rest of the kingdoms, seemed to pass them by. But now Rufra ap Vthyr eyes the vacant High-King's throne and will take his court to the capital, a rat's nest of intrigue and murder, where every enemy he has ever made will gather and the endgame of twenty years of politics and murder will be played out in his bid to become the King of all Kings.Friends become enemies, enemies become friends and the god of death, Xus the Unseen, stands closer than ever - casting his shadow over everything most dear to Girton.

Little, Brown

Game Changers

João Medeiros
Authors:
João Medeiros
Orbit

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Hachette Audio

Wrath of Empire

Brian McClellan
Authors:
Brian McClellan

'A fast paced story, set in a brilliantly realised world . . . One of the best fantasy novels of recent years' Bookbag on Sins of Empire The country is in turmoil. With the capital city occupied, half a million refugees are on the march, looking for safety on the frontier, accompanied by Lady Flint's soldiers. But escaping war is never easy, and soon the battle may find them, whether they are prepared or not.Back in the capital, Michel Bravis smuggles even more refugees out of the city. But internal forces are working against him. With enemies on all sides, Michael may be forced to find help with the very occupiers he's trying to undermine.Meanwhile, Ben Styke is building his own army. He and his mad lancers are gathering every able body they can find and searching for an ancient artifact that may have the power to turn the tides of war in their favor. But what they find may not be what they're looking for.Magic and gunpowder collide in Wrath of Empire, the explosive second novel in the Gods of Blood and Powder series.Praise for Brian McClellan:'Gunpowder and magic. An explosive combination' Peter Brett'Brings a welcome breath of gunpowder-tinged air to epic fantasy' Anthony Ryan 'Tense action, memorable characters, rising stakes . . . Brian McClellan is the real thing' Brent Weeks'Innovative magic, quick-paced plot, interesting world. I had a blast' Brandon SandersonBooks by Brian McClellan: Gods of Blood and PowderSins of EmpireWrath of EmpireThe Powder Mage trilogyPromise of Blood (Winner of the Gemmell Morningstar Award)The Crimson CampaignThe Autumn Republic

Hachette Audio

Everything About You

Heather Child
Authors:
Heather Child

Gripping, heartrending and quietly terrifying, this cutting-edge debut imagines a world where people can be recreated as data ghosts and lives can be changed by the information they've left behind - perfect for fans of Black Mirror and Gone Girl.Freya has a new virtual assistant. It knows what she likes, knows what she wants and knows whose voice she most needs to hear: her missing sister's. It adopts her sister's personality, recreating her through a life lived online. This data ghost knows everything about Freya's sister: every date she ever went on, every photo she took, every secret she ever shared. In fact it knows things it shouldn't be possible to know. It's almost as if her sister is still out there somewhere, feeding fresh updates into the cloud. But that's impossible. Isn't it?

Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Orbit

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Orbit

Olympus Bound

Jordanna Max Brodsky
Authors:
Jordanna Max Brodsky

'The Immortals is a lively re-imagining of classical mythology with an engaging premise, a page-turning plot, and an eye for the arresting and uncanny in contemporary urban life' Deborah Harkness, New York Times bestselling author of A Discovery of WitchesManhattan has many secrets. Some are older than the city itself.Summer in New York: a golden hour on the city streets, but a dark time for Selene. She's lost her home and the man she loves. A cult hungry for ancient power has kidnapped her father and targeted her friends. To save them, Selene must face the past she's been running from: a past that stretches back millennia, to when the faithful called her Huntress. Moon Goddess. Artemis. With the pantheon at her side, Selene must journey back to the seat of her immortal power: from the streets of Rome and the temples of Athens, to the heights of Mount Olympus itself.

Orbit

The Legion of Flame

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan
Orbit

Senlin Ascends

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft
Piatkus

Blood Fury

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Orbit

The Tethered Mage

Melissa Caruso
Authors:
Melissa Caruso

'Charming, intelligent, fast-moving, beautifully atmospheric' Genevieve Cogman, author of The Invisible Library'I raced through this exquisite debut in three days and adored it' Fantasy Book ReviewIn the Raverran Empire, magic is scarce and those born with power are strictly controlled - taken as children and conscripted into the Falcon Army. Zaira has lived her life on the streets to avoid this fate, hiding her mage-mark and thieving to survive. But hers is a rare and dangerous magic, one that could threaten the entire empire.Lady Amalia Cornaro was never meant to be a Falconer. Heiress and scholar, she was born into a treacherous world of political machinations. But fate has bound the heir and the mage. And as war looms on the horizon, a single spark could turn their city into a pyre.Set in a rich world of political intrigue and dangerous magic, The Tethered Mage is a spellbinding debut from a major new talent.'Absolutely recommended and on my shortlist for favorite books so far in 2017'Book Smugglers'A brilliant novel' The Eloquent Page'Fantastically readable, incredibly addictive and intelligently plotted . . . I loved it' Liz Loves Books'If you like fantasy, you'll love this book' The Tattooed Book Geek

Robinson

Good For Nothing

Abigail Marsh
Authors:
Abigail Marsh
Little, Brown

The Influential Mind

Tali Sharot
Authors:
Tali Sharot
Orbit

Arm of the Sphinx

Josiah Bancroft
Authors:
Josiah Bancroft

'Like its predecessor, it is a brilliant piece of work . . . these two books are genius. I just love them. The story, characters and imagination shine' Mark LawrenceForced by necessity into a life of piracy, Senlin and his eclectic crew struggle to survive aboard their stolen airship. Senlin's search for his lost wife continues, even as her ghost haunts his every step. But the Tower of Babel proves to be as difficult to re-enter as it was to escape.In desperation, he turns to a rumoured legend of the Tower, the mysterious and dangerous Sphinx. But help from the Sphinx does not come cheaply, and one of his crew already knows the terrible cost.

Orbit

Sins of Empire

Brian McClellan
Authors:
Brian McClellan
Orbit

The Waking Fire

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan
Abacus

Gurkha

Colour-Sergeant Kailash Limbu
Authors:
Colour-Sergeant Kailash Limbu
Orbit

Queen of Fire

Anthony Ryan
Authors:
Anthony Ryan