Jennifer Torres - Stef Soto, Taco Queen - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £5.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780316306843
    • Publication date:31 May 2018

Stef Soto, Taco Queen

By Jennifer Torres

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Cupcakes, twinkies, pies...things are getting a little too sweet at LBYR. It's time to add some salsa, with this middle grade debut about family, friendship, and finding your voice. (Plus, tacos!)

Seventh grader Estefania "Stef" Soto is itching to shake off the onion-and-cilantro embrace of Tia Perla, her family's taco truck. She wants nothing more than for her dad to get a normal job and for Tia Perla to be put out to pasture. It's no fun being known as the "Taco Queen" at school.

But just when it looks like Stef is going to get exactly what she wants, and her family's livelihood is threatened, she will have to become the truck's unlikely champion. In this fun and multicultural middle grade novel, Stef will discover what matters the most, and ultimately embrace an identity that even includes old Tia Perla.

Biographical Notes

Jennifer Torres works as a freelance journalist and leads an early literacy campaign on behalf of the University of the Pacific. She is the author of Finding the Music/En pos de la musica and lives with her husband and two little girls in central California. Stef Soto, Taco Queen is her debut novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316306867
  • Publication date: 26 Jan 2017
  • Page count: 176
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Thank You, Omu!

Oge Mora
Authors:
Oge Mora

A generous woman is rewarded by her community in this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for the Thanksgiving season, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street.Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself?Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings a heartwarming story of sharing and community to life in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma."

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Finding Yvonne

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert
Moon Travel

Moon Pittsburgh (Fourth Edition)

Emily B. King
Authors:
Emily B. King
Forever

Heart of Glass

Nicole Jacquelyn
Authors:
Nicole Jacquelyn
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Flor and Miranda Steal the Show

Jennifer Torres
Authors:
Jennifer Torres

Enjoy carnival rides and deep fried pickles in this warm, funny middle grade novel about family and friendship.Miranda is the lead singer in her family's musical band, Miranda y Los Reyes. Her family has worked hard performing at festivals and quinceañeras. Now, they have a shot at the main stage. How will Miranda make it a performance to remember?Flor's family runs the petting zoo at Mr. Barsetti's carnival. When she accidentally overhears Mr. Barsetti and Miranda's dad talk about cutting the zoo to accommodate Miranda y Los Reyes's main stage salary, she knows she has to take action. Will she have the heart for sabotage once she and Miranda actually start to become friends?

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Inventors at No. 8

A. M. Morgen
Authors:
A. M. Morgen
Grand Central Publishing

Take You Wherever You Go

Kenny Leon
Authors:
Kenny Leon
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Love & Other Carnivorous Plants

Florence Gonsalves
Authors:
Florence Gonsalves
Black Dog & Leventhal

Secrets of the Butcher

Arthur Le Caisne
Authors:
Arthur Le Caisne
Little, Brown Young Readers US

CatStronauts: Robot Rescue

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Creativity Project

Colby Sharp
Authors:
Colby Sharp
Orbit

Everything About You

Heather Child
Authors:
Heather Child
Abacus

Less

Andrew Sean Greer
Authors:
Andrew Sean Greer

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 'You will sob little tears of joy' Nell Zink'I recommend it with my whole heart' Ann Patchett'I adore this book' Armistead Maupin'Marvellously, endearingly, unexpectedly funny' Gary Shteyngart'Bedazzling, bewitching and be-wonderful' New York Times Book Review'A fast and rocketing read . . . a wonderful, wonderful book!' Karen Joy Fowler'Hilarious, and wise, and abundantly funny' Adam HaslettWHO SAYS YOU CAN'T RUN AWAY FROM YOUR PROBLEMS?Arthur Less is a failed novelist about to turn fifty. A wedding invitation arrives in the post: it is from an ex-boyfriend of nine years who is engaged to someone else. Arthur can't say yes - it would be too awkward; he can't say no - it would look like defeat. So, he begins to accept the invitations on his desk to half-baked literary events around the world. From France to India, Germany to Japan, Arthur almost falls in love, almost falls to his death, and puts miles between him and the plight he refuses to face. Less is a novel about mishaps, misunderstandings and the depths of the human heart.

Sphere

The Empire Girls

Sue Wilsher
Authors:
Sue Wilsher

Sue Wilsher, author of When My Ship Comes In, makes an emotional return to 1950s EssexTilbury, 1950s. The Empire is a boarding house run by Vi, Doris's mother - the Empire Girls of the title. When Doris becomes pregnant out of marriage, she is kicked out of the house and forced to fend for herself. Desperate to look after her daughter, she takes any job going. She falls in with the Windrush immigrants and finds herself helping one to a new life in Britain.

Constable

Patronising Bastards

Quentin Letts
Authors:
Quentin Letts
Grand Central Publishing

The Nearness of You

Dorothy Garlock
Authors:
Dorothy Garlock

The new novel from bestselling author Dorothy Garlock, the Voice of America's Heartland, set in the small town of Hooper's Crossing, New York in 1952.Librarian Lily Denton has spent her entire life as the dutiful mayor's daughter--polite, responsible, and devoted. She had no choice. Her mother died when she was little and all she wanted was to make her dad smile. So she did everything he ever wanted and stayed in town. But now at twenty-one years old, Lily has a secret. She's been fantasizing about leaving the small town of Hooper's Crossing and moving to New York City, being rebellious and free. She craves excitement and adventure. Little does she know trouble is on its way.... Life Magazine photographer Boone Tatum does not want to photograph a fall festival in some tiny little town. He's captured war-ravaged Europe and the jungles of South America. How exciting could hayrides and bobbing for apples be for Life's readers? But duty calls. The last thing Boone expected was to be utterly captivated by the town's beautiful blonde librarian so he snaps her picture and begins falling for her immediately. But Lily's over-protective father won't allow his precious daughter to take up with a rootless city slicker. Can Boone convince Lily--and her powerful father--that his intentions are true?

Little, Brown US

Sting-Ray Afternoons

Steve Rushin
Authors:
Steve Rushin
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The End of the Wild

Nicole Helget
Authors:
Nicole Helget

Eleven-year-old Fern's rundown home borders a pristine forest, where her impoverished family hunts and forages for food. It's also her refuge from the crushing responsibility of caring for her wild younger brothers and PTSD-stricken stepfather. But when a fracking company rolls into town, Fern realizes that her special grove could be ripped away, and no one else seems to care.Her stepfather thinks a job with the frackers could help pull the family out of poverty. Her wealthy grandfather--who wants to take custody of Fern and her brothers--likes the business it brings to his manufacturing company. Facing adversity from all sides, can one young girl make a difference in the fate of her family and their way of life?This modern, beautifully written story from the acclaimed author of Wonder at the Edge of the Worldexplores the timely themes of poverty, environmental protection, what makes a family, and finding your place in the world.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Towers Falling

Jewell Parker Rhodes
Authors:
Jewell Parker Rhodes

When her fifth-grade teacher hints that a series of lessons about home and community will culminate with one big answer about two tall towers once visible outside their classroom window, Deja can't help but feel confused. She sets off on a journey of discovery, with new friends Ben and Sabeen by her side. But just as she gets closer to answering big questions about who she is, what America means, and how communities can grow (and heal), she uncovers new questions, too. Like, why does Pop get so angry when she brings up anything about the towers? As the fifteenth anniversary of September 11th nears, Towers Falling explores the thought-provoking question of how kids born after 2001 can find meaning in events they have no personal memory of, but which still have a monumental impact on their families, educators, and communities. In the tradition of her revered body of middle grade work including Ninth Ward, Sugar, and Bayou Magic, once again Jewell deftly weaves historical and socio-political layers into a story that is at its heart about friendship, family, and finding your way in a complicated world.

Rick Steves

Rick Steves Pocket Venice (Second Edition)

Gene Openshaw, Rick Steves
Authors:
Gene Openshaw, Rick Steves