Jennifer Torres - Stef Soto, Taco Queen - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Stef Soto, Taco Queen

By Jennifer Torres

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Cupcakes, twinkies, pies...things are getting a little too sweet at LBYR. It's time to add some salsa, with this middle grade debut about family, friendship, and finding your voice. (Plus, tacos!)

Seventh grader Estefania "Stef" Soto is itching to shake off the onion-and-cilantro embrace of Tia Perla, her family's taco truck. She wants nothing more than for her dad to get a normal job and for Tia Perla to be put out to pasture. It's no fun being known as the "Taco Queen" at school.

But just when it looks like Stef is going to get exactly what she wants, and her family's livelihood is threatened, she will have to become the truck's unlikely champion. In this fun and multicultural middle grade novel, Stef will discover what matters the most, and ultimately embrace an identity that even includes old Tia Perla.

Biographical Notes

Jennifer Torres works as a freelance journalist and leads an early literacy campaign on behalf of the University of the Pacific. She is the author of Finding the Music/En pos de la musica and lives with her husband and two little girls in central California. Stef Soto, Taco Queen is her debut novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316306867
  • Publication date: 26 Jan 2017
  • Page count: 176
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
Sphere

It Was Her

Mark Hill
Authors:
Mark Hill
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Star Thief

Lindsey Becker
Authors:
Lindsey Becker
Little, Brown Young Readers US

CatStronauts: Robot Rescue

Drew Brockington
Authors:
Drew Brockington

In the fourth book in the CatStronauts graphic novel series, the stalwart Cat-Stro-Bot is stranded, and the CatStronauts have to stage an off the books robot rescue! Cat-Stro-Bot has been with the CatStronauts through it all. He's saved the team as a stowaway on their mission to the moon, brought the team back from a crash on Mars, and co-piloted the crucial shuttle in the dreaded space station situation.But now Cat-Stro-Bot is stranded on Jupiter's coldest moon after a mission gone wrong--and his best friend/creator Blanket isn't about to leave him behind. When CATSUP brass declines a rescue mission request, Blanket creates robot stand-ins for the team. Soon, the rest of the CatStronauts, Major Meowser, Pom Pom and Waffles, are off on their longest journey ever with experimental new technology. The robot rescue is afoot! In this full-color graphic novel, debut author/illustrator Drew Brockington takes the CatStronauts to the brink, adding in mounds of robot glitches, wonky cover-ups, and fish jokes by the ton!

Hachette Books

The Clear Skin Diet

Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Authors:
Nina Nelson, Randa Nelson
Life and Style

The Freds at Barneys New York Cookbook

Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Authors:
Mark Strausman, Susan Littlefield
Hachette Audio

What We Did

Christobel Kent
Authors:
Christobel Kent

He stole her childhood. She'll take his futureWhat would you do if you accidentally encountered the man who once abused you? And how would you get away with it?Bridget's life is small and safe: she loves her husband, her son and works hard to keep her own business afloat. Then one day her world is changed forever. The music teacher who abused her walks into a shop with the teenager he's clearly grooming. Bridget is sent spiralling back into her past.Anthony begins to stalk Bridget, trying to ensure her silence - until suddenly, she snaps.And now Bridget must find away to deal with the aftermath of her actions...

Hachette Audio

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

Following The Black Elfstone comes the second book in the triumphant four-part conclusion to the Shannara series, from one of the all-time masters of fantasy.Tensions in the Four Lands are high. The mysterious force that laid waste to Paranor has revealed a more human face. While some gain a new understanding of the invaders and what they are after, others continue their existing quests even as the peril rises. For what looked to be a formidable invading force proves only the forerunner of a much vaster army - one that is now marching against the Four Lands in all its fury.'Terry's place is at the head of the fantasy world' Phillip Pullman'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks

Running Press Kids

The Battle of Junk Mountain

Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Authors:
Lauren Abbey Greenberg
Running Press Mini Editions

By Hand

Nicole Miyuki Santo
Authors:
Nicole Miyuki Santo

Learn the art of modern hand lettering, and create adorable banners, with By Hand: A Modern Lettering Kit!This kit includes:* Miniature watercolor brush.* Two pots of watercolor paint.* 10 miniature banner sheets, with holes for hanging.* 20 printed, instructional art paper cards.* 10 blank art paper cards.* White string for banners.* 32-page miniature book.

Running Press Adult

Bring It!

Ali Rosen
Authors:
Ali Rosen

Bring It! is the ultimate source for potluck, picnic, or dinner party-worthy dishes that combine simple prep with big taste!The word "potluck" may inspire memories of church dinners and mystery covered dishes. But today's potlucks are essentially outsourced dinner parties, which make gathering around a shared table a cinch. Inside Bring It!, you will find dozens of impressive-looking recipes that come together easily, and are perfect for carrying to any occasion. Author Ali Rosen has put a long career in the food world to use, drawing on chef and restaurant secrets for easy dishes that will have friends begging for the recipe. Must-have dishes include: * Pimento Cheese and Crab Dip* Snap Pea Salad with Parmesan and Bacon* Pistachio and Anchovy Pasta * Short Ribs with Quick Pickled Shallots* S'mores Bars Each recipe includes a note called "How to Bring It," for make-ahead, reheating, and transport instructions. Flavors are designed for maximum impact, but won't take hours to cook, or require special ingredients. Have dinner with the neighbors, sit down to a picnic in the park, or bring a dish to the school luncheon. They come together easily, hold well, and travel beautifully. They'll have you rethinking the potluck.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Baby Bear's Book of Tiny Tales

David McPhail
Authors:
David McPhail

Great for fans of the Little Bear series, this collection of four sweet stories of friendship and discovery makes a perfect new baby gift.This collection of simple, short, and irresistibly sweet stories about Baby Bear finding things--and figuring out what to do with them--includes "Baby Bear Finds a Book," "Baby Bear Finds a Flower," "Baby Bear Finds a Baby Bird," and "Baby Bear Finds a Friend." Charmingly written and illustrated by celebrated artist David McPhail, the impeccably classic feel of the text and art will take readers back to Sendak's Little Bear and Lobel's Frog and Toad books.

Virago

On Smaller Dogs and Larger Life Questions

Kate Figes
Authors:
Kate Figes
Forever

More to Love

Alison Bliss
Authors:
Alison Bliss

Max Hager has been eating lunch at the same Granite, Texas, diner for the past ten years. Not only is he a loyal customer, but he's also good friends with the owner, "Pops." For years, Pops has gone out of his way to make Max any special lunch he wants. So when Pops confides that the diner is in danger of closing because of the new food truck across the street, Max concocts the perfect plan. He'll pretend to be the town's new health inspector and get the food truck shut down.Jessa Gibson may be new in town, but her gourmet food truck business is booming and it's only a matter of time before she has enough money saved to open the restaurant of her dreams. So when the health inspector appears, Jessa is more than ready to correct the violations he's insisting she's breached...if only they made any sense. Smiling her best fake smile at the cocky--and annoyingly handsome-- inspector, Jessa gets to work. When Max appears the next day he's shocked to see sweet, gullible Jessa actually followed the ridiculous guidelines he made up on the spot. Suddenly, the voluptuous redhead is feeding him an insanely delicious meal. The next thing he knows, Max has Jessa in his bed, and she's quickly making her way into his heart. But, how can he reveal his secret without losing her for good?

Grand Central Publishing

We Were Strangers Once

Betsy Carter
Authors:
Betsy Carter
Sphere

The Empire Girls

Sue Wilsher
Authors:
Sue Wilsher
Orbit

Jade City

Fonda Lee
Authors:
Fonda Lee
Constable

Patronising Bastards

Quentin Letts
Authors:
Quentin Letts
Little, Brown US

Sting-Ray Afternoons

Steve Rushin
Authors:
Steve Rushin
Piatkus

Mothers

Cath Weeks
Authors:
Cath Weeks

For fans of Liane Moriarty and Dorothy Koomson, this is an emotional, gripping and suspenseful family drama of secrets and intrigue. It's a story for mothers and daughters, about the battles between them, but also the everlasting bond that they share.Until now, Steffie has been proud of the decisions she's made as a mother - even when she battled with her husband's infidelity and resolved to raise their daughter, Jemima, alone. But now Jemima has the chance to pursue her own dreams of becoming a ballerina, which means her leaving home at the age of ten. And Steffie finds herself faced with that most unbearable of parental decisions: to keep her child at home, or to give them the wings to fly.She knows what's right. And so does her husband. But will Steffie ever forgive herself if something goes wrong? Especially given the dangerous and devastating secret she's kept hidden for so many years.Praise for Cath Weeks'It'll make you weep' Elle'Blind gnaws away at you, forcing you to question your own morals' Evening Standard'Beautifully written and refreshingly unique' Peterborough Evening Telegraph

Hachette Books

Don't Worry, Life Is Easy

Agnès Martin-Lugand
Authors:
Agnès Martin-Lugand