Related to: 'Breakfast In Bed'

The original Pop Idol

Will Young Memoir Set for October 2012

Little, Brown Book Group is delighted to announce the acquisition of Will Young's autobiography, set for publication by Sphere Books this autumn.

Chapter One

The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds

Read the first chapter of the latest book in Alexander McCall Smith's Sunday Philosophy Club series. The victim of an important art theft appeals to Isabel Dalhousie, Edinburgh philosopher and sleuth, for help.

by Nora Roberts

The Witness: Chapter 1

Chapter One of Nora Roberts' thrilling romance, The Witness.

How To Books

Start and Run a Bed & Breakfast 2nd Edition

Louise Weston, David Weston
Authors:
Louise Weston, David Weston

Whether you are thinking about running a B&B or have already made the decision and are ready to start planning your business, this book will tell you all you need to know. If you are already established with a B & B, it will help you provide quality accommodation and maximize your earnings and occupancy rates. Their book will help you in: - Planning and preparing your business, including defining your market, budgeting, pricing, regulation and compliance, accounting and taxation. - Deciding what to offer - in guest bedrooms and for meals and drinks. - Dealing with practicalities, such as managing reservations and keeping records, taking payments, maintaining safety and security. - Marketing your B&B - setting your strategy, networking and making local contacts, advertising and PR, creating your own website. - Expanding your business and ultimately selling it. Also included is direction to a dedicated website to support you as you build your successful B&B business. This second edition has been completely and thoroughly revised and updated to include, amongst other new material, important changes in the area of regulation.Contents: Introduction to the First Edition; Introduction to the Second Edition; Part One: Planning and Preparing; 1. 'The individual is beautiful' 2. Before you start; 3. Determining your market; 4. Budgeting; 5. Measuring success; 6. Pricing; 7. Classifying your B&B for business purposes; 8. Applying for licences; 9. Complying with fire regulations; 10. Obeying food safety requirements; 11. Further legislation; 12. Managing your finances; Part Two: Running your B&B; 13. Organising guest bedrooms and catering; 14. Making bookings; 15. Managing arrivals and departures; 16. Dealing with difficult customers and complaints; 17. Marketing your B&B; 18. Online marketing; Part Three: What Next? 19. Expanding your business; 20. Selling your business; Websites; Index.

by Mark Billingham

Rush Of Blood: An Extract

Read the first chapter of best-selling Mark Billingham's thrilling new novel 'Rush of Blood'.

Sphere

Bossypants

Tina Fey
Authors:
Tina Fey
First Published November 2007; Updated Winter 2011

Our Environmental and Ethical Policy

Hachette UK is committed to working with environmental organisations to ensure that its policies and practices not only protect the environment but also improve it wherever practical. Our environmental policy is part of a broader range of social responsibility policies that include a focus on working conditions at our own sites and those of suppliers, a responsible attitude to our suppliers, equal opportunities and charitable giving.

Constable

Mr Key's Shorter Potted Brief, Brief Lives

Frank Key
Authors:
Frank Key

Wesley, Samuel (British clergyman and poet, 1662 - 1735). On Christmas Day 1716, Wesley was haunted by an apparition of a badger with no head. It was called Jeffrey.Frank writes: "It occurred to me that it would be a good idea to write a modern, updated version of John Aubrey's Brief Lives. But it further occurred to me that some books are unimproveable, and that in trying to follow in Aubrey's footsteps I would embarrass myself and become the butt of ridicule. The idea continued to nag at me, however, and eventually I decided the solution was to outdo Aubrey in brevity. My own Brief Lives would consist of a single, unadorned fact about each of my subjects. So the reader may not learn very much about the life of X or Y or Z, but they would be armed with one little nugget which might come in handy to chuck into a lull during the conversation at the kind of swish sophisticated cocktail party to which they no doubt get invited."Other entries include: Gibson, Willie (Irish, 2nd Baron Ashbourne, 1868 - 1942). An enthusiastic Gaelic nationalist, Gibson was rumoured to keep a tortoise in his sporran. Harmsworth, Alfred, Lord Northcliffe (British newspaper magnate, 1865 - 1922). One day at a seaside resort, Northcliffe wantonly struck down a seagull with his stick and beat it to death on the sand. Jansson, Tove (Finnish writer and illustrator, 1914 - 2001). When staying at her Finnish island retreat, it was Tove Jansson's practice to get out of bed at four o' clock in the morning and stand stock still, pretending to be a tree, while a squirrel ran up and down her frozen limbs. Lennon, John (British musician, 1940 - 1980). According to Bernard Levin (q.v.), "there is nothing wrong with John Lennon that could not be cured by standing him upside down and shaking him gently until whatever is inside his head falls out". Stein, Gertrude (American writer, 1874 - 1946). Stein liked to write while looking at cows. She and Alice B Toklas would drive around until they found a suitable spot, then Stein would sit on a campstool armed with pad and pencil, while Toklas coaxed a cow into her line of vision.Nixon, Richard Milhous (American politician and Potus, 1913 - 1994) Nixon's favourite pastime was mashing potatoes.Schubert, Franz (Austrian composer, 1797 - 1828). Upon his deathbed, Schubert's final wish was that someone would bring him some books by James Fenimore Cooper.Tippett, Michael (British composer, 1905 - 1998). Tippett called the refrigerator in his kitchen "Bernard Levin".Anderson, John Henry (British magician, 1814 - 1874). The first magician to pull a rabbit out of a hat, Anderson also did a trick which he described as "a Grand Ambidexterological Illusion with 12 Handkerchiefs, into which will be introduced the Enchanted Loaf and Learned Bottle, the Animated Orange and the Invisible Pigeon".Brooke, Charles (British, Rajah of Sarawak, 1829 - 1917). An austere character, Brooke deemed jam "effeminate" and replaced his glass eye with one taken from a stuffed albatross.Callaghan, James (British politician and Prime Minister, 1912 - 2005). When Tom Driberg married Ena Binfield in 1951, Callaghan gave them as a wedding present four ashtrays, two of which were broken.Russell, Ken (British film director, 1927 - 2011). According to Glenda Jackson, the only direction Russell ever gave to his actors was to say "It needs to be a bit more . urrrgh", or "a bit less hmmm".

Constable

Bully Beef and Boiled Sweets

James Mannion
Authors:
James Mannion

Eleanor Moran

Eleanor Moran is an executive producer for TV drama at the BBC. She is the author of two previous novels, Stick or Twist and Mr Almost Right.

Forever

Too Tempting to Resist

Cara Elliott
Authors:
Cara Elliott
How we gave back in 2013

Our ethical and social commitments

Read on to find out more about our staff initiatives and charitable commitments in 2013.

Little, Brown

Fools Rush In

Anthea Turner
Authors:
Anthea Turner
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Erotica presents The Best of Thomas S. Roche

Thomas S. Roche
Authors:
Thomas S. Roche
The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

Our ethical and social committments

How we gave back in 2013

Read on to find out more about our staff initiatives and charitable commitments in 2013.

FaithWords

The Hatmaker's Heart

Carla Stewart
Authors:
Carla Stewart
The start of a magnificent new trilogy

An Extract from The Summer Queen

Overflowing with scandal, sex, triumph and tragedy. Read the first chapter of The Summer Queen, the gripping new novel from New York Times Bestseller, Elizabeth Chadwick.

Abacus

The Fields

Kevin Maher
Authors:
Kevin Maher
Piatkus

The Vegetarian Low-Carb Diet Cookbook

Rose Elliot
Authors:
Rose Elliot

The Vegetarian Low-Carb Diet Cookbook is the ideal accompaniment to the successful Vegetarian Low-Carb Diet - the fast, no-hunger, healthy way to lose weight. One of the joys of the low-carb lifestyle - and one of the reasons why people find that this is a diet they can stick to - is that the food is delicious, and this book is full of tasty ideas for vegetarians who want the slimming benefits of a low-carb diet. With over 100 fantastic recipes ranging from energising breakfasts and light lunches to satisfying suppers and even sweet treats and desserts, there's something for everyone - vegetarians or vegans wanting to shed some pounds, successful low-carbers looking for new ideas, or anyone who loves fresh-tasting, quick and easy recipes. All the dishes are straightforward, high in protein, low in carbs and packed full of fresh vegetables. Protein and carb counts are provided for each recipe, along with details of which diet phase the recipe is suitable for. There are plenty of vegan recipes and vegan variations are suggested where appropriate. It couldn't be simpler!

How To Books

Halogen Cooking For Two

Sarah Flower
Authors:
Sarah Flower