Related to: 'The Universe In A Single Atom'

Abacus

The Essence Of Wisdom

The Dalai Lama
Authors:
The Dalai Lama
Abacus

Towards The True Kinship Of Faiths

The Dalai Lama
Authors:
The Dalai Lama

No country, no culture, no person today is untouched by what happens in the rest of the world, and globalization presents many challenges. The Dalai Lama understands that the essential task of humanity in the twenty-first century must be to cultivate peaceful coexistence. In this book the Dalai Lama shows how in our globalized world, nations, cultures and individuals can find opportunities to connect through their shared human nature. All faiths turn to compassion as a guiding principle for living a good life. It is the responsibility of all people with an aspiration to spiritual perfection to help develop a deep recognition of the value of other faiths, and it is on that basis alone that we can cultivate genuine respect and cooperation.Towards the True Kinship of Faiths is a hopeful yet realistic look at how humanity can embrace a harmonious future.

Abacus

The Path To Freedom

The Dalai Lama
Authors:
The Dalai Lama
Abacus

Ancient Wisdom, Modern World

The Dalai Lama, Alexander Norman
Authors:
The Dalai Lama, Alexander Norman

At a time and in a culture where science and technology have taken over from religious belief, when ethics are understood primarily in terms of aesthetic choice or legality, how are we to formulate moral principles to guide us in our daily lives? Though religion can certainly help in this, the Dalai Lama demonstrates that there are universal principles we can draw on which transcend the dilemma of belief or unbelief. And whilst many have been content to speak of spiritual matters as something mysterious or evanescent, the Dalai Lama explains his approach in terms that are as clear and concise as they are compelling. With wit, gentle good sense and with penetrating insight, the Dalai Lama shows how the truths that have stood the test of generations of practise can provide us with the tools to live happy, fulfilled and meaningful lives. In the process, it becomes apparent that he does not merely espouse the 'feelgood' religiosity some accuse him of. The reader is left admiring not just the wisdom of the author, but the wisdom of the culture he represents.

Abacus

Freedom In Exile

The Dalai Lama
Authors:
The Dalai Lama

In 1938 a two year old boy was recognised through a traditional process of discovery as being the reincarnation of all previous Dalai Lamas, the spiritual rulers of Tibet. Taken away from his parents, he was brought up in Lhasa according to a monastic regimen of rigorous austerity and in almost total isolation. Aged seven he was enthroned in the 1000-room Potala palace as the supreme spiritual leader of a nation the size of Western Europe, with population of six million. And at fifteen, he became head of state.With Tibet under threat from the newly Communist Chinese, there followed a traumatic decade during which he became the confidant of both Chairman Mao and Jawaharal Nehru as he tried to maintain autonomy for his people. Then in 1959, he was finally forced into exile - followed by over 100,000 destitute refugees.Here, in his own words, he describes what it was like to grow up revered as a deity among his people, reveals his innermost feelings about his role, and discusses the mysteries of Tibetan Buddhism.

Amber Hatch

Amber Hatch is a writer, teacher, and childminder. She is established as a parenting and a mindfulness expert. Amber began to practise daily Buddhist meditation with the Samatha Centre in 2009. Since 2013 she has helped to organise family retreats at the centre in Wales. She has run numerous classes and groups for parents in Oxford, including a natural parenting toddler group and a mindfulness support group for parents. Her parenting book, Nappy Free Baby, was published by Vermillion in 2015. With her illustrator husband, Alex Ogg, she created Colouring for Contemplation (Watkins 2015), and More Colouring for Contemplation (Watkins, 2016).

Anne Jones

Anne Jones is a gifted and experienced healer. She regularly tours the world (America, South Africa, Australia and the Far East) lecturing, running workshops and giving healing. She is the founder of Ripple UK Ltd and Hearts and Hands, an international healing organisation.

Cindy De La Hoz

Cindy De La Hoz is the author of several books on film and fashion- among them, Audrey and Givenchy, Lucy at the Movies, and Lana: The Memories, the Myths, the Movies, which Leonard Maltin called "one of the best books about a star I've ever read." She has also edited numerous books on film history and women's lifestyle subjects. Cindy lives in Philadelphia, PA.

Claire Montanaro

Claire Montanaro had a full and successful corporate career, before setting up her own specialist consultancy, Inlumino Global, 12 years ago. Claire herself works as a spiritual teacher, counsellor, channel and lecturer throughout the world.

Don Yaeger

Don Yaeger is an award-winning speaker, business leadership coach, a nine-time New York Timesbestselling author, and longtime Associate Editor for Sports Illustrated.

Gill Edwards

Gill Edwards is a clinical psychologist, working for the NHS. She has been involved in mind-body medicine for the past thirty years, runs workshops on Conscious Medicine and has set up a group of doctors and practitioners to pioneer new approaches to health care.

Greg Goode

Dr. Greg Goode is known for a unique combination of penetrating insight, comfort with both Eastern and Western sources, and a down-to-earth sense of humor. He is the author of Standing as Awareness, Nondualism in Western Philosophy and many popular articles. Greg studied psychology at the University of California, and philosophy at the University of Rochester and the Universität zu Köln. He became drawn to self-inquiry initially through the work of Brand Blanshard, George Berkeley, the Chinmaya Mission and Arsha Vidya Gurukulam. Greg's spiritual search came to its sweet conclusion through the Direct-Path influences of Francis Lucille and Sri Atmananda. Greg is a member of the American Philosophical Practitioners Association and serves as the technical consultant for their peer-reviewed journal, Philosophical Practice.

James van Praagh

James Van Praagh is a world-famous medium who is renowned for conveying messages and conversations between worlds. He has appeared on numerous radio and television programmes, and was resident expert on NBC's The Other Side. He lives in Los Angeles.

Jean Klein

Jean Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon and author of many books on non-dualism, spent several years in India going deeply into the subjects of Advaita and Yoga. In 1955 the truth of non-dualism became a living reality. From 1960 he taught in Europe and later in the United States.

Jenny Smedley

Jenny Smedley is a qualified past-life regressionist, author, TV and radio presenter, international columnist and spiritual consultant, specialising in the subjects of past lives and angels. She writes regular columns for Chat It's Fate, Fate and Fortune and Soul and Spirit magazines in the UK, Take 5 in Australia and Lucky Break in New Zealand.

Joan Tollifson

Joan Tollifson writes and talks with people about the living reality Here / Now. She has an affinity with both Buddhism and Advaita, but she belongs to no formal tradition. Her approach is simple and down-to-earth, pointing beyond concepts and beliefs to the immediacy of direct knowing and being. Her first book, Bare-Bones Meditation, was published by Bell Tower in 1996. Joan has lived in Northern California, rural New York, Chicago, and Southern Oregon. Her main teacher was Toni Packer, but she spent time with many other teachers as well.

Jon E. Lewis

Jon E. Lewis is a historian and writer, whose books on history and military historyare sold worldwide. He is also editor of many The Mammoth Book of anthologies, including the bestselling On the Edge and Endurance and Adventure.He holds graduate and postgraduate degrees in history. His work has appeared in New Statesman, the Independent, Time Out and the Guardian. He lives in Herefordshire with his partner and children.Praise for his previous books:England: The Autobiography:'A triumph' Saul David, author of Victoria's ArmyThe British Soldier: The Autobiography:'this thoughtful compilation . . . almost unbearably moving.' Guardian'Compelling tommy's eye view of war.' Daily Telegraph'What a book. Five stars.' Daily Express

Jon Kabat-Zinn

Jon Kabat-Zinn, PhD, is founding Executive Director of the Center for Mindfulness in Medicine, Health Care, and Society at the University of Massachusetts Medical School. He is also the founding director of its renowned Stress Reduction Clinic and Professor of Medicine emeritus at the University of Massachusetts Medical School. He teaches mindfulness and Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) in various venues around the world. He received his Ph.D. in molecular biology from MIT in 1971 in the laboratory of Nobel Laureate, Salvador Luria.He is the author of numerous bestselling books about mindfulness and meditation. Overall, his books have been translated into over 30 languages.

Julie Montagu

Julie Montagu, The Flexi Foodie, is one of London's top yoga and nutrition teachers and was recently named as one of the Top 10 Holistic Health Icons in the world and one of Britain's most inspiring women. Julie is the author of three international best-selling books: Superfoods, Eat Real Food and Superfoods, Superfast. She has her own column called 'Small Moments of Self-Care' in the hugely popular Grazia magazine and is a regular contributor for Mind Body Green. Married with four children, Julie divides her time between London and the family estate at Mapperton.

Larry Dossey

Larry Dossey, M.D., is a physician of internal medicine. He was a battalion surgeon in Vietnam, chief of staff at Medical City, Dallas Hospital and a member of Hillary Clinton's Task Force on Health Care Reform. He has lectured all over the world.