Related to: 'The Farming Of Bones'

Abacus

The Dew Breaker

Edwidge Danticat
Authors:
Edwidge Danticat

Edwidge Danticat

Edwidge Danticat's collection of interlinked stories, KRIK? KRAK!, was shortlisted for the National Book Award in the US. She was also one of GRANTA's Best Young American Novelists.

Abacus

Breath, Eyes, Memory

Edwidge Danticat
Authors:
Edwidge Danticat
Corsair

An Untamed State

Roxane Gay
Authors:
Roxane Gay
Grand Central Publishing

The New Moon's Arms

Nalo Hopkinson
Authors:
Nalo Hopkinson

THE NEW MOON'S ARMS is a mainstream magical realism novel set in the Caribbean on the fictional island of Dolorosse. Calamity, born Chastity, has renamed herself in a way she feels is most fitting. She's a 50-something grandmother whose mother disappeared when she was a teenager and whose father has just passed away as she begins menopause. With this physical change of life comes a return of a special power for finding lost things, something she hasn't been able to do since childhood. A little tingling in the hands then a massive hotflash, and suddenly objects, even whole buildings, lost to her since childhood begin showing up around Calamity. One of the lost things Calamity recovers is a small boy who washes up on the shore outside her house after a rainstorm. She takes this bruised but cheerful 3-year-old under her wing and grows attached to him, a process that awakens all the old memories, frustrations and mysteries around her own mother and father. She'll learn that this young boy's family is the most unusual group she's ever encountered-and they want their son back.

Sphere

Tuesdays With Morrie

Mitch Albom
Authors:
Mitch Albom

Maybe it was a grandparent, or a teacher or a colleague. Someone older, patient and wise, who understood you when you were young and searching, and gave you sound advice to help you make your way through it. For Mitch Albom, that person was Morrie Schwartz, his college professor from nearly twenty years ago.Maybe, like Mitch, you lost track of this mentor as you made your way, and the insights faded. Wouldn't you like to see that person again, ask the bigger questions that still haunt you? Mitch Albom had that second chance. He rediscovered Morrie in the last months of the older man's life. Knowing he was dying of ALS - or motor neurone disease - MItch visited Morrie in his study every Tuesday, just as they used to back in college. Their rekindled relationship turned into one final 'class': lessons in how to live.TUESDAYS WITH MORRIE is a magical chronicle of their time together, through which Mitch shares Morrie's lasting gift with the world.

Sphere

For One More Day

Mitch Albom
Authors:
Mitch Albom

Every family is a ghost story . . .'As a child, Charley Benetto was told by his father, 'You can be a mama's boy or a daddy's boy, but you can't be both.' So he chooses his father, only to see him disappear when Charley is on the verge of adolescence. Decades later, Charley is a broken man. His life has been destroyed by alcohol and regret. He loses his job. He leaves his family. He hits rock bottom after discovering he won't be invited to his only daughter's wedding. And he decides to take his own life. Charley makes a midnight ride to his small hometown: his final journey. But as he staggers into his old house, he makes an astonishing discovery. His mother - who died eight years earlier - is there, and welcomes Charley home as if nothing had ever happened. What follows is the one seemingly ordinary day so many of us yearn for: a chance to make good with a lost parent, to explain the family secrets and to seek forgiveness.

Virago

Forbidden Lessons In A Kabul Guesthouse

Suraya Sadeed
Authors:
Suraya Sadeed

Suraya Sadeed grew up in a peaceful Afghanistan. Following the Soviet invasion in 1979, she left America with her family, building a new life. But after a sudden tragedy, Suraya returned to Afghanistan for a visit that changed everything.Shocked by the suffering and destruction wreaked on her homeland, Suraya was determined to help. Smuggling herself across borders in various disguises, braving warlords and drug-runners, she set up an underground girls' schools in Kabul in order to bring hope and aid to thousands of Afghans. Since then, Suraya has worked tirelessly, trying to raise funds.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Of Beetles and Angels

Mawi Asgedom
Authors:
Mawi Asgedom
Virago

The Joy Of Eating

Jill Foulston
Authors:
Jill Foulston
Sphere

The Drowning Man

Michael Robotham
Authors:
Michael Robotham

A lost child. A shattered past. A life going under . . . Vincent Ruiz is lucky to be alive. A bullet in the leg, another through the hand, he is discovered clinging to a buoy in the River Thames, losing blood and consciousness fast. It takes six days for him to come out of his coma, and when he does, his nightmare is only just beginning. Because Vincent has no recollection of what happened, and nobody believes him. A mile away from his body, a boat was found covered in blood -- Vincent's and that of three others. Forensics say at least one of them must be dead. Vincent, a police detective, had signed his service pistol out of the station armoury, despite being on leave. Many murder suspects fake amnesia, and the investigating team are not sure this case is any different . . . The only clue is a picture in his pocket, a photograph of a young girl, Mickey Carlyle, who disappeared three years ago. And though Mickey is presumed dead, Vincent has the nagging doubt that she is alive and in terrible danger . . .

Sphere

No Man And Other Stories To Help Haiti

Dorothy Koomson
Authors:
Dorothy Koomson

With all proceeds going directly to UNICEF's Haiti Earthquake Children's Appeal, No Man Can Compare And Other Stories to Help Haiti is a charity ebook featuring short stories from some of Little, Brown's biggest authors. The anthology has a foreword from Dorothy Koomson, and features:Nina BellPeter William BlattyNick BrownleeLouise CandlishStella DuffyKate FurnivallAlex GrayClare JayDorothy KoomsonShari LowAlexander McCall SmithMartina ReillyBernadette StrachanThese are joyful, uplifting stories, written to raise funds to help Haitian children affected by the earthquake. Just as importantly, these are stories written to raise the spirits - they are stories of hope.Everyone involved has donated 100% of their profits and given their time for free to support this worthwhile cause.

Abacus

Strange Fits Of Passion

Anita Shreve
Authors:
Anita Shreve

A young and successful journalist working in New York, Maureen English appears to have the perfect life and family. But Maureen's husband, a highly respected fellow reporter, has in private a tendency towards alcohol and violent abuse. When the situation at home becomes intolerable, Maureen takes her baby daughter and flees. In a Maine fishing town she assumes a new identity and spends six weeks battling sub-zero temperatures, the intrusive glare of the townsfolk -- and her fears of discovery.Against the force of the wintry sea -- the cawing of the gulls, the lobstermen hauling their catch, the press of waves against the rocks -- Maureen settles into the rhythms of a new life. Two married men pursue her, and one captures her heart. But this calming respite ends suddenly, leaving in its wake a murder, a rape charge, a suicide and a helpless child.Nearly nineteen years later, a cache of documents regarding Maureen English -- abused, accused and imprisoned -- are given to her daughter by the journalist who made her name reporting the case. The truth should lie within them, but the papers raise far more questions than they answer . . .

Virago

White Oleander

Janet Fitch
Authors:
Janet Fitch

White Oleander is a painfully beautiful first novel about a young girl growing up the hard way. It is a powerful story of mothers and daughters, their ambiguous alliances, their selfish love and cruel behaviour, and the search for love and identity.Astrid has been raised by her mother, a beautiful, headstrong poet. Astrid forgives her everything as her world revolves around this beautiful creature until Ingrid murders a former lover and is imprisoned for life. Astrid's fierce determination to survive and be loved makes her an unforgettable figure.'LIQUID POETRY' - Oprah Winfrey'Tangled, Complex and extraordinarily moving' - Observer

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

The start of a magnificent new trilogy

An Extract from The Summer Queen

Overflowing with scandal, sex, triumph and tragedy. Read the first chapter of The Summer Queen, the gripping new novel from New York Times Bestseller, Elizabeth Chadwick.

Piatkus

The Promise In A Kiss

Stephanie Laurens
Authors:
Stephanie Laurens

When a handsome man literally falls at her feet while she's walking through a moonlit convent courtyard, Helena knows he must be there for a scandalous liaison. Yet she keeps his presence a secret from the questioning nuns - and for her silence the stranger rewards her with an enticing, unforgettable kiss. What Helena doesn't know was that her wild Englishman is Sebastian Cynster, Duke of St. Ives. Seven years later, Sebastian spies Helena from across a crowded ballroom. This heiress is dazzling London society with her wit and beauty, tantalising all the eligible men with the prospect of taking her hand in marriage. But Helena is not looking for just any husband. She wants an equal, a challenge - someone who can live up to the promise of that delicious, never-forgotten kiss.

Forever

A Passion for Pleasure

Nina Rowan
Authors:
Nina Rowan

PRELUDE TO A KISSA brilliant pianist and notorious rake, Sebastian Hall indulges his passion for music and women with equal aplomb. But now that his elder brother has married, his father insists he pursue a more respectable path and find a suitable wife.MUSIC TO HER EARSAs a girl, Clara Whitmore quietly loved her piano teacher from afar. Yet her youthful crush cannot compare to the powerful desire she feels when she unexpectedly meets Sebastian again. Perhaps the man who once dominated her dreams could be the husband she has hoped for--and save her from the fate she most fears... LOVE STRIKES A CHORDRisking scandal, ruin, and their own reputations, Sebastian and Clara enter into a marriage of convenience. But the pair soon discovers that their undeniable attraction is anything but convenient. Swept up in a crescendo of desire, Sebastian and Clara take each other to new heights of ecstasy - until secrets from the past threaten to doom the duet forever. Now Sebastian will have to change his tune - and prove his love is true.

Grand Central Publishing

8 Habits of Love: Overcome Fear and Transform Your Life

Ed Bacon
Authors:
Ed Bacon

HABITS OF LOVE will be both an inspirational and practical book that gives readers a deep understanding of how to live life through love, and not fear. Reverend Bacon believes that every person can live a full and creative life if they can learn to ignore their fear defenses and find their own spiritual core. Readers will learn how fear in all of its disguises keeps us from connecting with others and finding our own peace and best destiny. It will answer questions such as: How do I overcome fear and find that place of love? How do I let go of the past and move on? How do I forgive those that have hurt me? How do I express myself truthfully and be open to the beloved in others?The book will examine the eight habits of love: stillness, truth, forgiveness, kindness, candor, giving, community, and playfulness, which encourage us to live a full spiritual life.

Virago

Memento Mori

Muriel Spark
Authors:
Muriel Spark