Related to: 'The Farming Of Bones'

Abacus

The Dew Breaker

Edwidge Danticat

The dew breaker is a quiet man, a husband and father, a hard-working barber, a kindly landlord to the men living in a basement apartment in his home. He is a fixture in his Brooklyn neighbourhood, recognizable by the terrifying scar on his face. But beneath the surface of this American life lies a dangerous truth: the brutal crimes committed in the country of his birth.As his story unfolds, we enter the lives of those around him: his devoted wife and rebellious daughter, his sometimes unsuspecting, sometimes apprehensive neighbours, tenants, and clients. And in the Haiti of the dew breaker's past, we witness his last, desperate act of violence, and his first encounter with the woman who will offer him a form of redemption-albeit imperfect-that will change him forever . . . By the author of The Farming of Bones, The Dew Breaker is a wonderful novel of interconnected lives-a book of love, remorse, and hope; of rebellions both personal and political; of the compromises often necessary after the most intimate brushes with history.

Edwidge Danticat

Edwidge Danticat's collection of interlinked stories, KRIK? KRAK!, was shortlisted for the National Book Award in the US. She was also one of GRANTA's Best Young American Novelists.

Abacus

Breath, Eyes, Memory

Edwidge Danticat

When her mother leaves Haiti to find work in the US, Sophie is raised by her aunt. Their parting, years later, when her mother sends for her, is as wrenching as the reunion in New York. Though she barely knows her mother they both carry secrets from their homeland that will haunt them forever.

Grand Central Publishing

The New Moon's Arms

Nalo Hopkinson

THE NEW MOON'S ARMS is a mainstream magical realism novel set in the Caribbean on the fictional island of Dolorosse. Calamity, born Chastity, has renamed herself in a way she feels is most fitting. She's a 50-something grandmother whose mother disappeared when she was a teenager and whose father has just passed away as she begins menopause. With this physical change of life comes a return of a special power for finding lost things, something she hasn't been able to do since childhood. A little tingling in the hands then a massive hotflash, and suddenly objects, even whole buildings, lost to her since childhood begin showing up around Calamity. One of the lost things Calamity recovers is a small boy who washes up on the shore outside her house after a rainstorm. She takes this bruised but cheerful 3-year-old under her wing and grows attached to him, a process that awakens all the old memories, frustrations and mysteries around her own mother and father. She'll learn that this young boy's family is the most unusual group she's ever encountered-and they want their son back.

Sphere

No Man And Other Stories To Help Haiti

Dorothy Koomson
Virago

The Joy Of Eating

Jill Foulston
Virago

Forbidden Lessons In A Kabul Guesthouse

Suraya Sadeed

Suraya Sadeed grew up in a peaceful Afghanistan. Following the Soviet invasion in 1979, she left America with her family, building a new life. But after a sudden tragedy, Suraya returned to Afghanistan for a visit that changed everything.Shocked by the suffering and destruction wreaked on her homeland, Suraya was determined to help. Smuggling herself across borders in various disguises, braving warlords and drug-runners, she set up an underground girls' schools in Kabul in order to bring hope and aid to thousands of Afghans. Since then, Suraya has worked tirelessly, trying to raise funds.

Abacus

Strange Fits Of Passion

Anita Shreve

A young and successful journalist working in New York, Maureen English appears to have the perfect life and family. But Maureen's husband, a highly respected fellow reporter, has in private a tendency towards alcohol and violent abuse. When the situation at home becomes intolerable, Maureen takes her baby daughter and flees. In a Maine fishing town she assumes a new identity and spends six weeks battling sub-zero temperatures, the intrusive glare of the townsfolk -- and her fears of discovery.Against the force of the wintry sea -- the cawing of the gulls, the lobstermen hauling their catch, the press of waves against the rocks -- Maureen settles into the rhythms of a new life. Two married men pursue her, and one captures her heart. But this calming respite ends suddenly, leaving in its wake a murder, a rape charge, a suicide and a helpless child.Nearly nineteen years later, a cache of documents regarding Maureen English -- abused, accused and imprisoned -- are given to her daughter by the journalist who made her name reporting the case. The truth should lie within them, but the papers raise far more questions than they answer . . .

Corsair

An Untamed State

Roxane Gay

Mireille Duval Jameson is living a fairy tale. The strong-willed youngest daughter of one of Haiti's richest sons, she has an adoring husband, a precocious infant son, by all appearances a perfect life. The fairy tale ends one day when Mireille is kidnapped in broad daylight by a gang of heavily armed men, in front of her father's Port au Prince estate. Held captive by a man who calls himself The Commander, Mireille waits for her father to pay her ransom. As it becomes clear her father intends to resist the kidnappers, Mireille must endure the torments of a man who resents everything she represents. An Untamed State is a novel of privilege in the face of crushing poverty, and of the lawless anger that corrupt governments produce. It is the story of a wilful woman attempting to find her way back to the person she once was, and of how redemption is found in the most unexpected of places. An Untamed State establishes Roxane Gay as a writer of prodigious, arresting talent.

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

The start of a magnificent new trilogy

An Extract from The Summer Queen

Overflowing with scandal, sex, triumph and tragedy. Read the first chapter of The Summer Queen, the gripping new novel from New York Times Bestseller, Elizabeth Chadwick.

Piatkus

The Promise In A Kiss

Forever

A Passion for Pleasure

Virago

White Oleander

Janet Fitch

White Oleander is a painfully beautiful first novel about a young girl growing up the hard way. It is a powerful story of mothers and daughters, their ambiguous alliances, their selfish love and cruel behaviour, and the search for love and identity.Astrid has been raised by her mother, a beautiful, headstrong poet. Astrid forgives her everything as her world revolves around this beautiful creature until Ingrid murders a former lover and is imprisoned for life. Astrid's fierce determination to survive and be loved makes her an unforgettable figure.'LIQUID POETRY' - Oprah Winfrey'Tangled, Complex and extraordinarily moving' - Observer

Don Yaeger

Born and raised in Hawaii, Yaeger has lived in the Dominican Republic, Honduras, Japan and Great Britain. He is an entrepreneur and owns a political consulting business and a public relations firm.The author of 16 sports-related books, Don is a 1984 graduate of Ball State University with degrees in both journalism and history, Yaeger began his career as a reporter for the San Antonio Light . He later moved on to the Dallas Morning News, the Florida Times-Union and, finally, Sports Illustrated.

Grand Central Publishing

8 Habits of Love: Overcome Fear and Transform Your Life

Ed Bacon
Virago

Memento Mori

Muriel Spark
Piatkus

Afterwards

Rosamund Lupton

There is a fire and they are in There. They are in there . . . Black smoke stains a summer blue sky. A school is on fire. And one mother, Grace, sees the smoke and runs. She knows her teenage daughter Jenny is inside. She runs into the burning building to rescue her. Afterwards, Grace must find the identity of the arsonist and protect her family from the person who's still intent on destroying them. Afterwards, she must fight the limits of her physical strength and discover the limitlessness of love.

Little, Brown US

20 Years Younger

Bob Greene, Ronald L. Kotler, Harold Lancer, Diane L. McKay

It's time to turn back the clock! In 20 YEARS YOUNGER, Bob Greene offers readers a practical, science-based plan for looking and feeling their best as they age. The cutting-edge program is built around four essential pillars: exercise, nutrition, skincare, and sleep. The book details easy and effective steps we can all take to rebuild the foundation of youth, enjoy better health, improve energy, control stress, and have a more positive outlook. Woven through the text is advice on customizing an exercise plan, creating the best sleep environment, staying mentally sharp, navigating medical tests, and much more. Readers will gain a greater understanding of how the body ages and what they can do to feel - and look - 20 years younger.

Abacus

Sea Glass

Anita Shreve

The year is 1929 and Honora Beecher and her husband, Sexton, are just settling into a new marriage and a cottage on the coast of New Hampshire. While Honora fixes up the derelict house and searches for bits of sea glass on the beach, Sexton risks everything they own to buy the house they both love. Along with millions of other Americans, he is blindsided by the stock market crash and finds himself penniless. The only work he can find is at a nearby mill, where a labour conflict is erupting into violence. Shaken by forces they scarcely understand, Honora and Sexton try to build a marriage and home while overwhelmed by passions of every kind.Writing with the power and immediacy that have made her novels bestsellers, Shreve unfolds interlocking lives, each with its own share of love, loss and challenge. This is another gripping and unforgettable story of the human heart from one of the most accomplished novelists of our time.