Related to: 'The Farming Of Bones'

Abacus

The Dew Breaker

Edwidge Danticat

The dew breaker is a quiet man, a husband and father, a hard-working barber, a kindly landlord to the men living in a basement apartment in his home. He is a fixture in his Brooklyn neighbourhood, recognizable by the terrifying scar on his face. But beneath the surface of this American life lies a dangerous truth: the brutal crimes committed in the country of his birth.As his story unfolds, we enter the lives of those around him: his devoted wife and rebellious daughter, his sometimes unsuspecting, sometimes apprehensive neighbours, tenants, and clients. And in the Haiti of the dew breaker's past, we witness his last, desperate act of violence, and his first encounter with the woman who will offer him a form of redemption-albeit imperfect-that will change him forever . . . By the author of The Farming of Bones, The Dew Breaker is a wonderful novel of interconnected lives-a book of love, remorse, and hope; of rebellions both personal and political; of the compromises often necessary after the most intimate brushes with history.

Edwidge Danticat

Edwidge Danticat's collection of interlinked stories, KRIK? KRAK!, was shortlisted for the National Book Award in the US. She was also one of GRANTA's Best Young American Novelists.

Abacus

Breath, Eyes, Memory

Edwidge Danticat
Grand Central Publishing

The New Moon's Arms

Nalo Hopkinson
Sphere

No Man And Other Stories To Help Haiti

Dorothy Koomson

With all proceeds going directly to UNICEF's Haiti Earthquake Children's Appeal, No Man Can Compare And Other Stories to Help Haiti is a charity ebook featuring short stories from some of Little, Brown's biggest authors. The anthology has a foreword from Dorothy Koomson, and features:Nina BellPeter William BlattyNick BrownleeLouise CandlishStella DuffyKate FurnivallAlex GrayClare JayDorothy KoomsonShari LowAlexander McCall SmithMartina ReillyBernadette StrachanThese are joyful, uplifting stories, written to raise funds to help Haitian children affected by the earthquake. Just as importantly, these are stories written to raise the spirits - they are stories of hope.Everyone involved has donated 100% of their profits and given their time for free to support this worthwhile cause.

Virago

The Joy Of Eating

Jill Foulston

Beatrix Potter wove one of her most malicious tales around the roly-poly pudding. Colette counted the nuts she would pick before falling asleep in the French countryside. Dorothy Wordsworth noted her pie-making sessions in her diary and Anne Frank observed the eating habits of her companions in hiding. Food is a constant in our lives, and it has always been a basic ingredient of women's writing - in household books, cookbooks, diaries, letters and fiction. In this, the first anthology to concentrate on international food writing by women, you can go on a picnic with Monica Ali, learn about Frida Kahlo's wedding feast and indulge your appetites with Edwidge Danticat and Barbara Pym. Try making Elisabeth Luard's Afghan Betrothal Custard, Martha Washington's marzipan birds or Nigella Lawson's favourite comfort food. And why not sneak into the literary kitchens of Banana Yoshimoto, Emily Bront? and Angela Carter?Something's cooking. . .

Virago

Forbidden Lessons In A Kabul Guesthouse

Suraya Sadeed

Suraya Sadeed grew up in a peaceful Afghanistan. Following the Soviet invasion in 1979, she left America with her family, building a new life. But after a sudden tragedy, Suraya returned to Afghanistan for a visit that changed everything.Shocked by the suffering and destruction wreaked on her homeland, Suraya was determined to help. Smuggling herself across borders in various disguises, braving warlords and drug-runners, she set up an underground girls' schools in Kabul in order to bring hope and aid to thousands of Afghans. Since then, Suraya has worked tirelessly, trying to raise funds.

Abacus

Strange Fits Of Passion

Anita Shreve

A young and successful journalist working in New York, Maureen English appears to have the perfect life and family. But Maureen's husband, a highly respected fellow reporter, has in private a tendency towards alcohol and violent abuse. When the situation at home becomes intolerable, Maureen takes her baby daughter and flees. In a Maine fishing town she assumes a new identity and spends six weeks battling sub-zero temperatures, the intrusive glare of the townsfolk -- and her fears of discovery.Against the force of the wintry sea -- the cawing of the gulls, the lobstermen hauling their catch, the press of waves against the rocks -- Maureen settles into the rhythms of a new life. Two married men pursue her, and one captures her heart. But this calming respite ends suddenly, leaving in its wake a murder, a rape charge, a suicide and a helpless child.Nearly nineteen years later, a cache of documents regarding Maureen English -- abused, accused and imprisoned -- are given to her daughter by the journalist who made her name reporting the case. The truth should lie within them, but the papers raise far more questions than they answer . . .

Corsair

An Untamed State

Roxane Gay

Mireille Duval Jameson is living a fairy tale. The strong-willed youngest daughter of one of Haiti's richest sons, she has an adoring husband, a precocious infant son, by all appearances a perfect life. The fairy tale ends one day when Mireille is kidnapped in broad daylight by a gang of heavily armed men, in front of her father's Port au Prince estate. Held captive by a man who calls himself The Commander, Mireille waits for her father to pay her ransom. As it becomes clear her father intends to resist the kidnappers, Mireille must endure the torments of a man who resents everything she represents. An Untamed State is a novel of privilege in the face of crushing poverty, and of the lawless anger that corrupt governments produce. It is the story of a wilful woman attempting to find her way back to the person she once was, and of how redemption is found in the most unexpected of places. An Untamed State establishes Roxane Gay as a writer of prodigious, arresting talent.

The summer must-read from Kate Furnivall

EXTRACT: SHADOWS ON THE NILE

Beautifully written, compulsively plotted and truly satisfying – Shadows on the Nile is a summer must-have for fans of Julia Gregson, Rosie Thomas and other sumptuous historical romances Indulge yourself with this sneak-peek at the first chapter now.

The start of a magnificent new trilogy

An Extract from The Summer Queen

Overflowing with scandal, sex, triumph and tragedy. Read the first chapter of The Summer Queen, the gripping new novel from New York Times Bestseller, Elizabeth Chadwick.

Piatkus

The Promise In A Kiss

Forever

A Passion for Pleasure

PRELUDE TO A KISSA brilliant pianist and notorious rake, Sebastian Hall indulges his passion for music and women with equal aplomb. But now that his elder brother has married, his father insists he pursue a more respectable path and find a suitable wife.MUSIC TO HER EARSAs a girl, Clara Whitmore quietly loved her piano teacher from afar. Yet her youthful crush cannot compare to the powerful desire she feels when she unexpectedly meets Sebastian again. Perhaps the man who once dominated her dreams could be the husband she has hoped for--and save her from the fate she most fears... LOVE STRIKES A CHORDRisking scandal, ruin, and their own reputations, Sebastian and Clara enter into a marriage of convenience. But the pair soon discovers that their undeniable attraction is anything but convenient. Swept up in a crescendo of desire, Sebastian and Clara take each other to new heights of ecstasy - until secrets from the past threaten to doom the duet forever. Now Sebastian will have to change his tune - and prove his love is true.

Virago

White Oleander

Janet Fitch

Don Yaeger

Born and raised in Hawaii, Yaeger has lived in the Dominican Republic, Honduras, Japan and Great Britain. He is an entrepreneur and owns a political consulting business and a public relations firm.The author of 16 sports-related books, Don is a 1984 graduate of Ball State University with degrees in both journalism and history, Yaeger began his career as a reporter for the San Antonio Light . He later moved on to the Dallas Morning News, the Florida Times-Union and, finally, Sports Illustrated.

Grand Central Publishing

8 Habits of Love: Overcome Fear and Transform Your Life

Ed Bacon
Virago

Memento Mori

Muriel Spark

Unforgettably astounding and a joy to read, Memento Mori is considered by many to be the greatest novel by the wizardly Dame Muriel Spark. In late 1950s London, something uncanny besets a group of elderly friends: an insinuating voice on the telephone informs each, "Remember you must die." Their geriatric feathers are soon thoroughly ruffled by these seemingly supernatural phone calls, and in the resulting flurry many old secrets are dusted off. Beneath the once decorous surface of their lives, unsavories like blackmail and adultery are now to be glimpsed. As spooky as it is witty, poignant and wickedly hilarious, Memento Mori may ostensibly concern death, but it is a book which leaves one relishing life all the more.

Piatkus

Afterwards

Rosamund Lupton
Little, Brown US

20 Years Younger

Bob Greene, Ronald L. Kotler, Harold Lancer, Diane L. McKay

It's time to turn back the clock! In 20 YEARS YOUNGER, Bob Greene offers readers a practical, science-based plan for looking and feeling their best as they age. The cutting-edge program is built around four essential pillars: exercise, nutrition, skincare, and sleep. The book details easy and effective steps we can all take to rebuild the foundation of youth, enjoy better health, improve energy, control stress, and have a more positive outlook. Woven through the text is advice on customizing an exercise plan, creating the best sleep environment, staying mentally sharp, navigating medical tests, and much more. Readers will gain a greater understanding of how the body ages and what they can do to feel - and look - 20 years younger.

Abacus

Sea Glass

Anita Shreve