Charlaine Harris - The Julius House - Little, Brown Book Group

The Julius House

By Charlaine Harris

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The fourth book in Charlaine Harris's award-winning murder mystery series, perfect for fans of Agatha Raisin or G.M. Malliet

'Harris draws the guilty and the innocent into an engrossing tale while inventing a heroine as capable and potentially complex as P. D. James's Cordelia Gray' (Publishers Weekly)

Love at first sight turns into newlywed bliss for former librarian Aurora Teagarden - until violence cuts the honeymoon short . . .

Roe has never been happier than she's been since she met her fiancé, wealthy businessman Martin Bartell. Despite their differences in age and background, he seems to know exactly what she wants - like the Julius House. Roe has always been intrigued by its history: six years previously, the family who lived there disappeared, never to be seen again . . .

As Roe throws herself into renovating her wedding present, her misgivings about Martin's rather murky past recede. But when she is attacked by an axe-wielding maniac, she begins to suspect that the secrets inside the Julius House - and her new marriage - could be deadly . . .

'Clearly focused plot, animated description of character and real estate, and sparkling prose commend this breath of fresh air to all collections' (Library Journal)

'Great bloody fun' (Barbara Paul)

Biographical Notes

Charlaine Harris is a New York Times bestselling author who has been writing for over thirty-five years. Born and raised in the Mississippi Delta, she is the author of the Aurora Teagarden mysteries, basis for the Hallmark Movies & Mysteries Aurora Teagarden original movies; the Midnight, Texas series, now airing on NBC; the Sookie Stackhouse urban fantasy series, basis for the HBO show True Blood; the Lily Bard mysteries; the Harper Connelly mysteries; and the co-author of the graphic novel trilogy Cemetery Girl. Harris now lives in Texas with her husband and two rescue dogs.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349420110
  • Publication date: 31 Oct 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Piatkus
Hachette Audio

Black Rain Falling

Jacob Ross
Authors:
Jacob Ross
Sphere

Killing with Confetti

Peter Lovesey
Authors:
Peter Lovesey
Hachette Audio

Black Summer

M. W. Craven
Authors:
M. W. Craven
Constable

The Book Club

C. J. Cooper
Authors:
C. J. Cooper
Hachette Audio

Their Little Secret

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham
Constable

Dead Man's Chest

Kerry Greenwood
Authors:
Kerry Greenwood
Little, Brown

The Lost Man

Jane Harper
Authors:
Jane Harper

The gripping new novel from the author of the Sunday Times top ten bestsellers, The Dry and Force of Nature. He had started to remove his clothes as logic had deserted him, and his skin was cracked. Whatever had been going through Cameron's mind when he was alive, he didn't look peaceful in death.Two brothers meet at the remote border of their vast cattle properties under the unrelenting sun of the outback. In an isolated part of Australia, they are each other's nearest neighbour, their homes hours apart.They are at the stockman's grave, a landmark so old that no one can remember who is buried there. But today, the scant shadow it casts was the last hope for their middle brother, Cameron. The Bright family's quiet existence is thrown into grief and anguish. Something had been troubling Cameron. Did he choose to walk to his death? Because if he didn't, the isolation of the outback leaves few suspects...

Constable

Dead Catch

T.F. Muir
Authors:
T.F. Muir

When Joe Christie's fishing boat is swept onto Tentsmuir beach during a fierce storm, a man's mutilated body is found in the hold. DCI Andy Gilchrist of St Andrews CID is called in to investigate. But his murder investigation deepens when he learns that Joe Christie and his boat have been missing for three years. The police pathologist, Dr Rebecca Cooper, retrieves a five pound note from the dead man's throat. Is this the killer's calling card? And whatever happened to Joe Christie? Cooper offers Gilchrist a clue to the dead man's identity - a scar from a recent operation to repair a bone shattered by a bullet.The dead man is found to have been on the payroll of big Jock Shepherd, Scotland's premier crime patriarch, and when three more of Shepherd's men turn up brutally murdered, Gilchrist fears a tectonic shift in the criminal underworld.Gilchrist and his partner, DS Jessie Janes, set off along a murderous trail where they uncover a plot involving drug shipments and police corruption, and come face to face with a man for whom human life means nothing.PRAISE FOR T.F. MUIR:'Rebus did it for Edinburgh. Laidlaw did it for Glasgow. Gilchrist might just be the bloke to put St Andrews on the crime fiction map.' Daily Record'A truly gripping read, with all the makings of a classic series.' Mick Herron'Gripping and grisly, with plenty of twists and turns that race along with black humour.' Craig Robertson'DCI Gilchrist gets under your skin. Though, determined, and a bit vulnerable, this character will stay with you long after the last page.' Anna Smith

Piatkus

The Boy Who Lived with the Dead

Kate Ellis
Authors:
Kate Ellis
Piatkus

When Darkness Calls

Mark Griffin
Authors:
Mark Griffin
Piatkus

An Easy Death: the Gunnie Rose series

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Sphere

Dig Here

Charlaine Harris, Andrew Gross
Authors:
Charlaine Harris, Andrew Gross

An original short story from iconic thriller collection Match Up, edited by Lee Child, featuring a never-before-seen pairing between international bestsellers Charlaine Harris and Andrew Gross. What happens when a gritty Connecticut detective teams up with a young woman who can locate dead bodies by visualising their final memories? Find out in this unique short story set in Egypt, featuring Gross's Ty Hauck and Harris's Harper Connelly - a thrilling tale with a supernatural twist.For more exciting short story pairings, don't miss all eleven short stories in Match Up!

Little, Brown

The Killing Habit

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham

'One of the great series of British crime fiction' The TimesFrom multi-million-copy number one bestseller Mark Billingham comes a twisting, unbearably gripping DI Tom Thorne and Nicola Tanner thriller inspired by a dramatic real-life case.How do you catch a killer who is yet to kill?We've all heard about the signs: coldness, cruelty, mistreatment of animals. DI Tom Thorne knows the psychological profile of a psychopath all too well, so when pets start disappearing on suburban London streets, he sees a chance to stop a future murderer.Others are less convinced, so Thorne relies on DI Nicola Tanner to help him solve the case, before the culprit starts hunting people. The journey brings them face to face with a killer who will tear their lives apart.----------'A new Mark Billingham is always a treat and The Killing Habit hurls the reader straight into the action. Thoroughly enjoyable for being so very real' SUSIE STEINER'Mark Billingham on superb form. A finely paced and polished procedural, with twists and turns galore and an ending that will chill your soul' CARA HUNTER'An unconventional literary superstar' MAIL ON SUNDAY'As ever with Billingham, a rich cast of characters and tense situations are marshalled with panache, leading to a final terrifying encounter' FINANCIAL TIMES'Thorne is a terrific invention' IRISH INDEPENDENT

Sphere

Cut Off

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham
Piatkus

A Bone to Pick

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Piatkus

Three Bedrooms, One Corpse

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

'Great bloody fun' Barbara PaulAurora Teagarden's decision to become a real estate agent turns out to be a life-or-death choice in this mystery from #1 New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author Charlaine Harris.Aurora 'Roe' Teagarden had always worked for a living, until an unexpected legacy gave her the money to quit her librarian job. Now, with time on her hands, she decides to try selling real estate. Her mother, after all, is Lawrenceton's premier real estate agent, giving her a head start on this new career!But at her first house showing, Roe discovers the naked corpse of a rival broker in the master bedroom. When one of her mother's colleagues falls under suspicion, Roe is determined to clear his name. And when a second body is found in another house for sale, it becomes obvious that there is a very cool killer at large in Lawrenceton, one who knows a great deal about real estate-and maybe too much about Roe . . . 'Harris draws the guilty and the innocent into an engrossing tale while inventing a heroine as capable and potentially complex as P. D. James's Cordelia Gray' (Publishers Weekly)'Clearly focused plot, animated description of character and real estate, and sparkling prose commend this breath of fresh air to all collections' (Library Journal)

Piatkus

Dead Over Heels

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Piatkus

A Fool and His Honey

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Piatkus

Last Scene Alive

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Piatkus

Poppy Done to Death

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

'Harris draws the guilty and the innocent into an engrossing tale while inventing a heroine as capable and complex as P. D. James's Cordelia Gray' (Publishers Weekly)In the eighth book in bestselling author Charlaine Harris's compelling mystery series, Aurora Teagarden, 'a genuine steel magnolia' (Booklist) will have to use all of her southern wiles to investigate a murder within her own family . . . Not just any woman in Lawrenceton, Georgia, gets to be a member of the Uppity Women Book Club. But Roe's stepsister-in-law Poppy has climbed her way up the waiting list of the group - only to die on the day she's supposed to be inducted. What makes Poppy's murder even worse are the rumors of infidelity on both sides of the marriage swirling around town. To find the killer, Roe must determine if the sordid stories are true. Suspects abound, and the things she uncovers make her question her own heart, but her passion for the truth drives her on: into the path of the cold-blooded killer . . . 'Clearly focused plot, animated description of character and sparkling prose commend this breath of fresh air to all collections' (Library Journal)'Great bloody fun' (Barbara Paul)