Tom Wood - The Game - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405514583
    • Publication date:15 Mar 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405532990
    • Publication date:12 Feb 2015
Books in this series

The Game

(Victor the Assassin 3)

By Tom Wood

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Full of white-hot tension and edge-of-the-seat action, The Game confirms Tom Wood as the most talented British thriller writer today, and Victor as the most unique antihero.

Victor is the perfect killer.

He has no past.
He will stop at nothing.
And he can find you anywhere.

In sweltering Algiers, ultra-efficient hitman Victor executes a fellow assassin. But when the CIA comes calling, Victor must pose as his victim to identify the dead man's next mark, a mission that takes him across Europe to the bloody streets of Rome. Working alongside a group of vicious mercenaries, Victor faces an impossible choice: to do what's right, or to sacrifice the only thing he cares about . . . his life.

Full of white-hot tension and edge-of-the-seat action, The Game will surprise you at every turn.

Biographical Notes

Tom Wood is a full-time writer born in Burton-on-Trent who now lives in London. After a stint as freelance editor and film-maker, he completed his first novel, The Hunter, which was an instant bestseller and introduced readers to a genuine antihero, Victor, an assassin with a purely logical view on life and whose morals are deeply questionable. Like Victor, Tom is passionate about physical sport, being both a huge boxing fan and practising Krav Maga martial arts, which has seen him sustain a number of injuries. He has not, however, ever killed anyone.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751549171
  • Publication date: 20 Jun 2013
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: Sphere
Exciting...no punches pulled — Choice
To reveal more, particularly details of a hair-raising climax, would be to destroy the reader's enjoyment, but like the rest of this first-class piece of action work, it's ingenious and delivered with all the subtlety of a kick in the teeth. The Game is a well-plotted, well-written, brutal, bloody, but hugely enjoyable addition to a long tradition of action thrillers, the ideal book to take on holiday with you. — Crime Review
Truly mesmerizing . . . a powerful, forward-driving plot and lots of brutality. I loved it. — Mystery People
This is a fast moving, well written thriller which is worth more than just being stuck in a suitcase as something to read on holiday if the weather is bad — Robin's Reviews
An excellent storyline, great characters and a narrative flow to be envied, Tom Wood has succeeded in writing a terrific thriller. More please sir! — Milo Rambles
Sphere

The Final Hour

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

AUTHOR OF THE BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB BESTSELLER BETTER OFF DEAD'Terrifically fun and explosively propulsive'Gregg Hurwitz, author of Orphan XFrom bestselling author Tom Wood comes a unique and gasp-inducing Victor thriller that turns all your expectations on their head . . . Agent Antonio Alvarez has been tracking a dangerous murderer for years, a nameless hitman responsible for numerous homicides. The Agency deflected him away from his search, but he didn't give up, piecing together clues and hearsay. Now a promotion has allowed him to pursue this man with a hand-picked team and bring him to justice. Only problem is, the murderer has vanished. Thousands of miles away, the assassin known as Victor has stopped working - recently he began to care; he made mistakes. Now he has a choice: whether to give up the life or return to being a cold-hearted weapon. But there's another killer who needs his help - and she might be harder to refuse . . . All while the good guys are closing in on him.Enter a world of betrayal, tension and twists perfect for fans of Gregg Hurwitz (Orphan X, The Nowhere Man), James Swallow (Nomad, Exile) and Terry Hayes (I Am Pilgrim, Day of the Locust).

Sphere

Survivor

Roberta Kray
Authors:
Roberta Kray
Sphere

The Spy's Daughter

Adam Brookes
Authors:
Adam Brookes
Sphere

How Will I Know You?

Jessica Treadway
Authors:
Jessica Treadway
Little, Brown

Lightning Men

Thomas Mullen
Authors:
Thomas Mullen

'A brilliant blending of crime, mystery, and American history. Terrific entertainment' Stephen King on DarktownLightning Men follows the multi-award-nominated, highly acclaimed crime debut Darktown into a city on the brink of huge and violent change - and full of secrets. Atlanta, 1950. In a divided city, crime comes home. White officer Denny Rakestraw joins Lucius Boggs and Tommy Smith from Atlanta's Negro Officer precinct to face the Klan, gangs and family warfare in their rapidly changing city.Black families - including Smith's sister and brother-in-law - are moving into Rake's formerly all-white neighbourhood, leading Rake's brother-in-law, a proud Klansman, to launch a scheme to 'save' their streets. When those efforts leave a man dead, Rake is forced to choose between loyalty to family or the law. Meanwhile, Boggs has outraged his preacher father by courting a domestic, whose dangerous ex-boyfriend is then released from prison. As Boggs, Smith, and their all-black precinct contend with violent drug dealers fighting for turf in new territory, their personal dramas draw them closer to the fires that threaten to consume Atlanta once again. Praise for Thomas Mullen 'Magnificent and shocking' Sunday Times'Written with a ferocious passion that'll knock the wind out of you' New York Times'Superb'Ken Follet

Constable

The Weight of Angels

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Sphere

Friend Request

Laura Marshall
Authors:
Laura Marshall
Little, Brown

Deadfall

Linda Fairstein
Authors:
Linda Fairstein
Little, Brown

Love Like Blood

Mark Billingham
Authors:
Mark Billingham

A BLOODY MESSAGEAs DI Nicola Tanner investigates what appears to be a series of organised killings, her partner Susan is brutally murdered, leaving the detective bereft, and vengeful.A POWERFUL ALLYTaken off the case, Tanner enlists the help of DI Tom Thorne to pursue a pair of ruthless killers and the broker handing out the deadly contracts.A CONSPIRACY OF SILENCEAs the killers target their latest victim, Thorne takes the biggest risk of his career and is drawn into a horrifying and disturbing world in which families will do anything to protect their honour.From number one bestseller Mark Billingham comes a masterful, intense crime novel that pits DI Tom Thorne against an evil beyond comprehension, yet shockingly real.

Sphere

A Time to Die

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

AUTHOR OF THE BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB BESTSELLER BETTER OFF DEADFrom hot thriller author Tom Wood comes the latest breathtaking Victor novel - The Day of the Jackal meets Jason Bourne, with a thoroughly modern twist.'Terrifically fun and explosively propulsive'Gregg Hurwitz, author of Orphan XEven a killer can be a heroIf the assassin known only as Victor once had a moral compass, it is long since buried, along with his many victims. Yet some men are so evil even Victor accepts they must die for reasons other than just money.One such is Milan Rados, a former commander in the Serbian army who has escaped trial at The Hague to become a formidable criminal power. Tracking down and killing this brutal man will win Victor a reprieve for his own recent crimes on British soil.But Victor isn't the only one who wants Rados dead. A woman, whose family was butchered on the tyrant's orders, will do anything to see Rados' blood spilled on the snow of Eastern Europe. Now Victor has an unlikely ally - but an army stands between them and justice.

Sphere

The Father

Anton Svensson
Authors:
Anton Svensson
Sphere

The Darkest Day

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

He is darkness. She wants him dead.In a city starved of light, she might just succeed.She moves like a shadow; she kills silently: Raven. This elegant assassin has been on the run for years. This time though, she has picked the wrong target. The hitman known only as 'Victor' is as paranoid as he is merciless, and is no stranger to being hunted. He tracks his would-be killer across the globe, aiming not only to neutralise the threat, but to discover who wants him dead. The trail leads to New York...And then the lights go out.Over twelve hours of unremitting darkness, Manhattan dissolves into chaos. Amid looting, conspiracy and blackout, Victor and Raven play a vicious game of cat and mouse that the city will never forget.

Sphere

If She Did It

Jessica Treadway
Authors:
Jessica Treadway
Sphere

Better Off Dead

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

Victor, a hitman without a conscience protects a human rights lawyer in Better Off Dead, he bestselling BBC Radio 2 Simon Mayo Book Club pick.A hitman must be anonymous, amoral... and aloneVictor is the face in the crowd you don't see, a perfect assassin with nothing to live for.But when an old friend turns to him for help, he finds he can't refuse. For once his objective isn't to kill, but to protect.Hunted through the streets of London by ruthless enemies, Victor needs to be more than just a bodyguard... but his every move leads danger closer to the very person he's vowed to defend.Published in the US as No Tomorrow.

Sphere

Bite

Nick Louth
Authors:
Nick Louth

Tomorrow should be the greatest day of Erica Stroud-Jones's life. In just 24 hours this brilliant young scientist will present her secret work to a conference in Amsterdam - research that promises to revolutionise the battle against a deadly tropical disease. Millions of lives could be saved; a Nobel Prize beckons.Arriving to watch her are sceptics and rivals, admirers and enemies. Erica's own eyes will be on sculptor Max Carver, her American new love to whom she will dedicate her achievement.Tomorrow never comes.Erica vanishes during the night. Max, desperate, terrified, sets out to find her, descending into an underworld full of malice and cunning. But even he is shocked by the dark terror he finds in the heart of the woman he loves.Discover the massive number one bestseller that thousands of readers have said is the most addictive, page-turning novel of the year.

Sphere

Mugger Blood

Warren Murphy, Richard Sapir
Authors:
Warren Murphy, Richard Sapir
Sphere

The Head Men

Warren Murphy, Richard Sapir
Authors:
Warren Murphy, Richard Sapir

Top American executives are being murdered. The FBI and CIA have come up empty in their investigation, when they learn of a vicious plot to assassinate the President. They are running out of time. With no leads - and no hope - they desperately need the special talents only the Destroyer can provide. Remo Williams is summoned to the nation's capital as the President's only chance for survival. Cutting to the core of this deadly conspiracy, Remo discovers it goes far deeper than he could ever have imagined. He and Chiun, his Sinanju mentor, must stop the killers before the President pays the ultimate price. Breathlessly action-packed and boasting a winning combination of thrills, humour and mysticism, the Destroyer is one of the bestselling series of all time.

Sphere

Killer Chromosomes

Warren Murphy, Richard Sapir
Authors:
Warren Murphy, Richard Sapir
Sphere

Voodoo Die

Warren Murphy, Richard Sapir
Authors:
Warren Murphy, Richard Sapir
Sphere

Mayday!

Clive Cussler
Authors:
Clive Cussler

Major Dirk Pitt picked up the frantic distress call as he cruised his lumbering amphibious plane over the islands of the Aegean. Brady Air Force base was under fire, its entire force of jets destroyed on the ground . . . by just one First World War bi-plane!A psychotic ex-Nazi, a bloodthirsty Greek strongman and a beautiful double agent set Pitt on the trail of the warped mastermind behind a devastating sabotage plot. And on that trail, danger and death are never far behind . . .