Angus Donald - Warlord - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748120529
    • Publication date:19 Jul 2012
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405526593
    • Publication date:09 May 2013
Books in this series

Warlord

By Angus Donald

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The battle-scorched new adventure in the Outlaw series

May 1194. Finally released from captivity, Richard the Lionheart is in Normandy engaged in a bloody war to drive the French out of his continental patrimony. Using the brutal tactics of medieval warfare - siege, savagery and scorched earth - the Lionheart is gradually pushing back the forces of King Philip of France. By his side in this epic struggle are Robert, Earl of Locksley, better known as the erstwhile outlaw Robin Hood, and Sir Alan Dale, his loyal friend, and a musician and warrior of great skill and renown.

But while the battles rage and the bodies pile up, Robin seems only to be interested in making a profit from the devastation of war, while Alan is preoccupied with discovering the identity the man who ordered his father's death ten years earlier - and the mystery is leading him to Paris, deep in the heart of the enemy's territory ...

Biographical Notes

Angus Donald was born in 1965 and educated at Marlborough College and Edinburgh University. He has worked as a fruit-picker in Greece, a waiter in New York and as an anthropologist studying magic and witchcraft in Indonesia. For twenty years, he was a journalist in Hong Kong, India, Afghanistan and London. He is married to Mary, with whom he has two children, and he now writes full time from home in Tonbridge, Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751544879
  • Publication date: 09 May 2013
  • Page count: 576
  • Imprint: Sphere
Sphere

Island in the East

Jenny Ashcroft
Authors:
Jenny Ashcroft

Set in 1890s and 1940s Singapore, the stunning Island in the East is a story of love, sisterly rivalry and the true cost of betrayal. Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful, it's the perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop, Fiona McIntosh and Kate Morton. 1897: twenty-year-old identical twins, Harriet and Mae, born from a scandalous affair, have spent their lives slighted by gossips. They've carried each other through the loneliness, believing that together they can survive anything. But then their mysterious benefactor sends them to Singapore to live with his relative, the watchful David Keeley, who will choose one of them to marry. In the tension of David's house, a distance opens up between the twins, but it is only when they meet the handsome Alex Blake that their relationship truly fractures, resulting in a life-shattering betrayal with devastating consequences . . . 1941: Ivy, an intelligence officer with the women's naval service and carrying her own ghosts from Blitz-torn London, is posted to wartime Singapore and arrives to the looming threat of a Japanese invasion. Nothing can prepare her for what's waiting on the island - not the unexpected love, nor the strangers from her grandmother, Mae's, past, and the shocking secrets that now echo down through the generations.With a sizzling love affair playing out against this epic family drama, Island in the East is evocative, atmospheric and romantic historical fiction at its very best.

Forever

The Scot's Bride

Paula Quinn
Authors:
Paula Quinn
Redhook

A Secret History of Witches

Louisa Morgan
Authors:
Louisa Morgan
Sphere

The Drowning King

Emily Holleman
Authors:
Emily Holleman
Sphere

The Autumn Throne

Elizabeth Chadwick
Authors:
Elizabeth Chadwick
Little, Brown

The Half-Drowned King

Linnea Hartsuyker
Authors:
Linnea Hartsuyker
Sphere

The Death of Robin Hood

Angus Donald
Authors:
Angus Donald
Sphere

Beneath a Burning Sky

Jenny Ashcroft
Authors:
Jenny Ashcroft
Redhook

Badlands

Melissa Lenhardt
Authors:
Melissa Lenhardt

Laura's worst fears have been realized: Kindle has been taken into custody and she is once again on the run. The noose awaits her in New York, but Laura is realizing that there are some things worse than death. Finally running out of places to hide, it may be time for Dr. Catherine Bennett to face her past.

Piatkus

The Dressmaker's Secret

Charlotte Betts
Authors:
Charlotte Betts
Sphere

The Fourteenth Letter

Claire Evans
Authors:
Claire Evans

A mysterious keepsake, a murdered bride, a legacy of secrets...One balmy June evening in 1881, Phoebe Stanbury stands before the guests at her engagement party: this is her moment, when she will join the renowned Raycraft family and ascend to polite society.As she takes her fiancé's hand, a stranger brandishing a knife steps forward and ends the poor girl's life. Amid the tumult, he turns to her aristocratic groom and mouths: 'I promised I would save you.'The following morning, just a few miles away, timid young legal clerk William Lamb meets a reclusive client, whom he was never meant to meet. He finds the old man terrified and in desperate need of aid: William must keep safe a small casket of yellowing papers, and deliver an enigmatic message: The Finder knows.With its labyrinth of unfolding secrets, Claire Evans' riveting debut will be adored by fans of Kate Mosse, Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Jessie Burton.

Piatkus

How the Duke Was Won

Lenora Bell
Authors:
Lenora Bell
Sphere

Cleopatra's Shadows

Emily Holleman
Authors:
Emily Holleman

The only way to survive her dynasty is to rule itAbandoned by her beloved older sister Cleopatra and an indifferent father, Arsinoe, a young Egyptian princess, must fight for survival in the bloodthirsty royal court after her half-sister Berenice seizes power. But despite using her quick-wits to win Berenice's favour, Arsinoe struggles to establish herself in a uncertain new world, one that carries her from the conspiratorial dangers of the palace, to the streets of war-torn Alexandria.Meanwhile, her other sister, the usurper Berenice, has her own demons to confront - her cruel, flagging mother, a pair of fickle husbands, and the ever-present threat that her father will return from exile-as she fights to hold the throne as the first queen of Egypt in a thousand years.Perfect for historical fiction fans who loved discovering The Other Boleyn Girl, Cleopatra's Shadows reimagines Cleopatra's rise to power through the eyes of her forgotten younger sister, Arsinoe.

Center Street

A.D. 30

Ted Dekker
Authors:
Ted Dekker

A sweeping epic set in the harsh deserts of Arabia and ancient Palestine. A war that rages between kingdoms on the earth and in the heart. The harrowing journey of the woman at the centre of it all. The story of Jesus in a way you have never experienced it.Step back in time to the year of our Lord, Anno Domini, 30.

Sphere

The King's Assassin

Angus Donald
Authors:
Angus Donald
Sphere

Searching for Grace Kelly

M. G. Callahan
Authors:
M. G. Callahan

For a small-town girl with big dreams in 1955, there is no address more desirable than New York's Barbizon Hotel - the place where Grace Kelly lived when she first came to the big city. Laura is an aristocratic beauty from Connecticut who arrives with a magazine internship and dreams of becoming a writer Dolly is a hopeless romantic working the secretarial pool and looking to be swept off her feet Vivian is a red-headed British bombshell who yearns to make it as a singer while working nights as a cigarette girl Perfect for fans of Mad Men, The Best of Everything and The Paris Wife, this is a novel filled to the brim with glamour, following the lives of three women as they are lured into the exhilarating, dazzling world of New York City and embark on a journey that will alter their lives for ever.

Sphere

The Iron Castle

Angus Donald
Authors:
Angus Donald
Piatkus

Four Nights With the Duke

Eloisa James
Authors:
Eloisa James
Constable

Agnès Sorel: Mistress of Beauty

HRH Princess Michael of Kent
Authors:
HRH Princess Michael of Kent

From HRH Princess Michael of Kent, bestselling author of The Queen of Four Kingdoms, comes the extraordinary second volume in the Anjou trilogy.Yolande, the Queen of Four Kingdoms is dead. Agnès Sorel, beautiful, innocent, twenty years old, had arrived a year earlier with the court of Yolande's son, René D'Anjou, and remained with his mother at her request, knowing how much the King of France, her dissolute son-in-law Charles VII, would need wise guidance. As a trusted confidant of Yolande, Agnès captivates everyone she meets, and in her role as a demoiselle to René's wife, Isabelle of Lorraine, Agnès finds herself firmly ensconced in the royal court. Soon though, whispers at court regarding Charles's burgeoning feelings for her begin to grow, and despite her best efforts to resist, Agnès is alarmed to discover that she too is in love.Plagued by guilt but unable to deny her feelings for the King, Agnès is forced to choose between her love for Charles, and her duty to herself . . . Praise for The Queen of Four Kingdoms: 'Meticulously researched and powerfully evoked.' Philippa Gregory 'Takes the reader to the heart of this glamorous, dangerous world, and holds them spellbound. I loved it.' Julian Fellowes 'Riveting . . . spellbinding.' Mail on Sunday'A page-turning blend of epic battles, betrayal, seduction and heroism.' Hello

Sphere

The English Girl

Margaret Leroy
Authors:
Margaret Leroy