Elizabeth Moon - Cold Welcome - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356506296
    • Publication date:13 Apr 2017
Books in this series

Cold Welcome

Vatta's Peace: Book 1

By Elizabeth Moon

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Nebula-Award-winner Elizabeth Moon triumphantly returns to science fiction with this space opera adventure, perfect for fans of Lois McMaster Bujold, James S. A. Corey and Star Wars

Admiral Ky Vatta should return to her childhood home a war hero, but on the way her shuttle is downed by sabotage.
Marooned in a hostile landscape it'll take every bit of wit, skill and luck she can muster to lead her fellow survivors to safety, knowing that the mysterious enemies who destroyed the ship are on the hunt, and may have an agent in the group ready to finish the job at any moment. And was the sabotage an attempt on Ky's own life, or someone else's?

Biographical Notes

Elizabeth Moon served in the US Marine Corps, reaching the rank of 1st Lieutenant during active duty. She has also earned degrees in history and biology, run for public office and been a columnist on her local newspaper. She lives near Austin, Texas, with her husband and their son. Twenty-six of her books are in in print, and she won the Nebula Award with her science fiction novel Speed of Dark (also short-listed for the Clarke Award), and was a finalist for the Hugo in 1997.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356506289
  • Publication date: 13 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Orbit
Scenes of battling the odds are terrific, making for an adventure story that's written with an energy and pace that demands your attention — SFX
Orbit

Velocity Weapon

Megan O'Keefe
Authors:
Megan O'Keefe

Dazzling space battles, intergalactic politics and rogue AI collide in Velocity Weapon, the first book in this epic space opera by award-winning author Megan O'Keefe.Sanda and Biran were siblings destined for greatness. Her: a hard-nosed marine with the skills to save the universe. Him: a savvy politician with ambitions for changing the course of intergalactic war. However, on a routine manoeuvre, Sanda's gunship gets blown out of the sky. Instead of finding herself in friendly hands, she awakens 230 years later upon an empty enemy smartship who calls himself Bero. The war is lost. The star system and everyone in it is dead. Ada Prime and its rival Icarion have wiped each other from the universe.Now, separated by space and time, Sanda and Biran will find a way to put things right.

Dialogue Books

Remembered

Yvonne Battle-Felton
Authors:
Yvonne Battle-Felton
Virago

Chasm: A Weekend

Dorothea Tanning
Authors:
Dorothea Tanning
Sphere

The War of the Worlds

H. G. Wells
Authors:
H. G. Wells
Orbit

Burning Ashes

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett

'A thrilling fusion of myth and modernity' Kevin Hearne on Chasing EmbersThe Lore is over. For Ben Garston, the fight is just beginning. The uneasy truce between the human and the mythical world has shattered. Betrayed by his oldest friend, with a tragic death on his hands, there isn't enough whiskey in England to wash away the taste of Ben's guilt. But for a one-time guardian dragon, there's no time to sit and sulk in the ruins.Because the Long Sleep has come undone. Slowly but surely, Remnants are stirring under the earth, unleashing chaos and terror on an unsuspecting modern world. Worse still, the Fay are returning, travelling across the gulfs of the nether to bring a final reckoning to Remnants and humans alike.A war is coming. A war to end all wars. And only Ben Garston stands in the way . . .Fans of BEN AARONOVITCH and JIM BUTCHER will revel in this fiery tale of magic, mayhem and modern-day mythology. Praise for the Ben Garston novels:'Absolutely loving it. Gorgeous use of language, great humour, characterisation and storyline' Elizabeth Chadwick'A superior piece of magical myth-making' SFFWorld'Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher are both fair comparisons to Bennett's attempts to fuse fantasy with a modern-day setting' SciFiNow'Blending together the best of action, adventure and urban fantasy . . . Chasing Embers is one of my highlights!' The Eloquent PageThe Ben Garston novelsChasing EmbersRaising FireBurning Ashes

Orbit

Splintered Suns

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley
Sphere

The Honeytrap

Roberta Kray
Authors:
Roberta Kray
Orbit

Red Moon

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson
Hachette Audio

Rule Makers, Rule Breakers

Michele J. Gelfand
Authors:
Michele J. Gelfand
Orbit

Adrift

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard

'AN EDGE-OF-THE-SEAT EPIC OF SURVIVAL AND ADVENTURE IN DEEP SPACE' Gareth L. Powell'A UNIQUE MIX OF THRILLER, SPACE ADVENTURE AND CONSPIRACY NOVEL - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED' Jamie SawyerIn the far reaches of space, a tour group embarks on what will be the trip of a lifetime - in more ways than one . . .For one small group, a tour of the nearby Horsehead Nebula is meant to be a short but stunning highlight in the trip of a lifetime.But when a mysterious ship destroys Sigma Station and everyone on it, suddenly their tourist shuttle is stranded.They have no weapons. No food. No water. No one back home knows they're alive.And the mysterious ship is hunting them.Rob Boffard's Adrift is a thrilling science fiction tale of survival against all odds - perfect for fans of Alastair Reynold's Revenger, Becky Chamber's The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, Adrian Tchaikovksy' Children of Time and John Scalzi's The Collapsing Empire.'This action-packed adventure is made for summer vacation reading' Publishers Weekly'Adrift is rich in deep character-driven drama, built on a highly suspenseful premise' D. Nolan Clark, author of Forsaken Skies'This book is an intense, heart-pounding, cast-away-in-the-vastness-of-space adventure that keeps you guessing right up until the end! I was so utterly enthralled, I couldn't put it down' K. B. Wagers, author of Behind the Throne

Orbit

Blackfish City

Sam J. Miller
Authors:
Sam J. Miller
Orbit

Autonomous

Annalee Newitz
Authors:
Annalee Newitz
Orbit

Into the Fire

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon

When Admiral Kylara Vatta and a ship full of strangers were marooned on an inhospitable arctic island, they uncovered secrets that someone on Ky's planet was ready to kill to keep hidden. Now, the existence of the mysterious arctic base has been revealed, but the organisation behind it still lurks in the shadows, doing all it can to silence her.It is up to the intrepid Ky to force the perpetrators into the light, and uncover decades' worth of secrets - some of which lie at the very heart of her family's greatest tragedy.

Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall

Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey

The sixth book in the New York Times bestselling Expanse series. NOW A MAJOR TV SERIES FROM NETFLIXA revolution brewing for generations has begun in fire. It will end in blood.The Free Navy - a violent group of Belters in black-market military ships - has crippled the Earth and begun a campaign of piracy and violence among the outer planets. The colony ships heading for the thousand new worlds on the far side of the alien ring gates are easy prey, and no single navy remains strong enough to protect them.James Holden and his crew know the strengths and weaknesses of this new force better than anyone. Outnumbered and outgunned, the embattled remnants of the old political powers call on the Rocinante for a desperate mission to reach Medina Station at the heart of the gate network. But the new alliances are as flawed as the old, and the struggle for power has only just begun. As the chaos grows, an alien mystery deepens. Pirate fleets, mutiny and betrayal may be the least of the Rocinante's problems. And in the uncanny spaces past the ring gates, the choices of a few damaged and desperate people may determine the fate of more than just humanity.

Orbit

Crown of Renewal

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon
Orbit

Limits of Power

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon
Orbit

Divided Allegiance

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon
Orbit

Oath Of Gold

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon

Paksenarrion - Paks for short - was somebody special. Never could she have followed her father's orders and married the pigfarmer down the road. Better a soldier's life than a pigfarmer's wife, and so though she knew that she could never go home again, Paks ran away to be a soldier. And so began an adventure destined to transform a simple Sheepfarmer's Daughter into a hero fit to be chosen by the gods.

Orbit

Sheepfarmer's Daughter

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon