Simon Morden - The Curve of the Earth - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405516761
    • Publication date:19 Mar 2013
Books in this series

The Curve of the Earth

By Simon Morden

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

An action-packed new science fiction thriller set in the world of the Philip K. Dick Award-winning Samuil Petrovitch novels

WELCOME TO THE METROZONE

Post-apocalyptic London, full of street gangs and homeless refugees. A dangerous city needs an equally dangerous saviour.

Step forward Samuil Petrovitch, a genius with extensive cybernetic replacements, a built-in AI with god-like capabilities and a full armoury of Russian swear words. He's dragged the city back from the brink more than once - and made a few enemies on the way.

So when his adopted daughter Lucy goes missing in Alaska, he has some clue who's responsible and why. It never occurs to him that guessing wrong could tip the delicate balance of nuclear-armed nations. This time it's not just a city that needs saving: it's the whole world.

Biographical Notes

Dr Simon Morden is a bona fide rocket scientist, having degrees in geology and planetary geophysics, and is one of the few people who can truthfully claim to have held a chunk of Mars in his hands. Simon Morden lives in Gateshead with a fierce lawyer, two unruly children and a couple of miniature panthers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356501826
  • Publication date: 19 Mar 2013
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Orbit
This is British sci-fi at its hard-boiled best, and it's worth reading just for the irascible Petrovitch: a diplomat lacking diplomacy, who delights in confronting the idiocy of the world around him — GUARDIAN
Great dialogue, great characters, great settings - this takes post-apocalyptic worlds to a new height, with sensational results. Absolutely riveting! — BOOKS MONTHLY

Filled to the brim with cybernetic enhancements to his body and sporting an artificial-intelligence companion who's with him wherever he goes, Petrovitch is as snarky, impulsive, and coarse as ever. He's also a genius who can manipulate computer systems without being anywhere near them and can access the most secret of top-secret files without moving a muscle.

But can he find his missing daughter before something horrible happens to her? Morden has built a fully realized, believable, postapocalyptic world and populated it with full-bodied characters. Sure, Petrovitch is a bit (well, a lot, actually) over-the-top, but so what? He's also completely engaging and so compelling you don't dare look away from him, for fear you might miss something.

— BOOKLIST
I just slammed through it, and it's a blast — SFREVU
Completely enveloping and thoroughly absorbing . . . Morden is a master storyteller — INTERZONE
Orbit

Beyond the Empire

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers

The adrenaline-fueled, explosive conclusion to the Indranan War trilogy by K. B. Wagers.Gunrunner-turned-Empress Hail Bristol was dragged back to her home planet to take her rightful place in the palace. Her sisters and parents have been murdered, and the Indranan Empire is reeling from both treasonous plots and foreign invasion.Now, on the run from enemies on all fronts, Hail prepares to fight a full-scale war for her throne and her people, even as she struggles with the immense weight of the legacy thrust upon her. With the aid of a motley crew of allies old and new, she must return home to face off with the same powerful enemies who killed her family and aim to destroy everything and everyone she loves. Untangling a legacy of lies and restoring peace to Indrana will require an empress's wrath and a gunrunner's justice.Beyond the Empire is the adrenalin-fueled conclusion to the Indranan War space adventure trilogy by K. B. Wagers - perfect for fans of Star Wars.

Orbit

Into the Drowning Deep

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant
Orbit

Places in the Darkness

Chris Brookmyre
Authors:
Chris Brookmyre

Orbit US

Extinction Aftermath

Nicholas Sansbury Smith
Authors:
Nicholas Sansbury Smith

Book six in USA Today bestselling author Nicholas Sansbury Smith's propulsive post-apocalyptic series about a soldier's mission to save the world.A new monster emerges.The newly christened leader of Delta Force Team Ghost, Master Sergeant Joe Fitzpatrick arrives in Normandy over 70 years after Allied Forces joined the fight against the Nazis. The war to free survivors and eradicate pockets of adult Variants and their offspring is underway by the European Unified Forces. But as the troops push east, rumors of a new type of monster spread through the ranks. Fitz and his new team quickly realize that the fight for Europe might be harder than anyone ever imagined.Back in the States, Captain Reed Beckham and Dr. Kate Lovato are settling into a new life on Plum Island. Across the United States, the adult Variants have all been wiped out, and the juveniles are on the run. But the survivors soon realize there are other monsters at home, and they may be human.

Orbit

Provenance

Ann Leckie
Authors:
Ann Leckie

Following her record-breaking debut trilogy, Ann Leckie, winner of the Hugo, Nebula, Arthur C. Clarke and Locus Awards, returns with a thrilling new story of power, theft, privilege and birthright.A power-driven young woman has just one chance to secure the status she craves and regain priceless lost artefacts prized by her people. She must free their thief from a prison planet from which no one has ever returned. Ingray and her charge will return to their home world to find their planet in political turmoil, at the heart of an escalating interstellar conflict. Together, they must make a new plan to salvage Ingray's future, her family, and her world, before they are lost to her for good.

Orbit

Successor's Promise

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan
Orbit US

Extinction Age

Nicholas Sansbury Smith
Authors:
Nicholas Sansbury Smith

In the fight for humanity, one final hope remains...Humans are losing the war. Master Sergeant Reed Beckham and the survivors of 1st Platoon must battle through the tunnels--where they make a grisly discovery.Dr. Kate Lovato is working on a new bioweapon to destroy the Variants when a derelict Navy Destroyer crashes into the Connecticut shoreline carrying yet another threat.As the doomsday clock ticks down and military bases fall across the country, the human race enters the age of extinction. Will they prevail - or will mankind vanish off the face of the planet?

Hachette Audio

Strange Dogs

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey

Orbit

Besieged

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

Piatkus

Blue Shift

Jane O'Reilly
Authors:
Jane O'Reilly
Orbit

Spandex and the City

Jenny T. Colgan
Authors:
Jenny T. Colgan
ATOM

The Fallen Children

David Owen
Authors:
David Owen
Orbit

Forgotten Worlds

D. Nolan Clark
Authors:
D. Nolan Clark
Orbit

Cold Welcome

Elizabeth Moon
Authors:
Elizabeth Moon

Admiral Ky Vatta should return to her childhood home a war hero, but on the way her shuttle is downed by sabotage.Marooned in a hostile landscape it'll take every bit of wit, skill and luck she can muster to lead her fellow survivors to safety, knowing that the mysterious enemies who destroyed the ship are on the hunt, and may have an agent in the group ready to finish the job at any moment. And was the sabotage an attempt on Ky's own life, or someone else's?

Hachette Audio

The Vital Abyss

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Yen Press

Re:ZERO -Starting Life in Another World-, Vol. 3 (Novel)

Tappei Nagatsuki, Shinichirou Otsuka
Authors:
Tappei Nagatsuki, Shinichirou Otsuka

How do you repay someone who saved your life when all you can do is die?Let's get this story moving. Alongside the people most important to him, a boy goes out to meet the same sunrise once more. Strengthening his resolve, Subaru returns to his first day in the mansion. Repeating his loop in the Roswaal household armed with his memories, Subaru attempts to only make the optimal decisions to avoid another tragedy, but his fear and obsession with evading death and failure are slowly warping him. While Subaru slowly falls apart trying to save everyone...who will save Subaru...?

Orbit

New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson

The waters rose, submerging New York City.But the residents adapted and it remained the bustling, vibrant metropolis it had always been. Though changed forever.Every street became a canal. Every skyscraper an island.Through the eyes of the varied inhabitants of one building Kim Stanley Robinson shows us how one of our great cities will change with the rising tides.And how we too will change.

Yen Press

Sword Art Online 9

Reki Kawahara
Authors:
Reki Kawahara
Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey

A revolution brewing for generations has begun in fire. It will end in blood.The Free Navy - a violent group of Belters in black-market military ships - has crippled the Earth and begun a campaign of piracy and violence among the outer planets. The colony ships heading for the thousand new worlds on the far side of the alien ring gates are easy prey, and no single navy remains strong enough to protect them.James Holden and his crew know the strengths and weaknesses of this new force better than anyone. Outnumbered and outgunned, the embattled remnants of the old political powers call on the Rocinante for a desperate mission to reach Medina Station at the heart of the gate network. But the new alliances are as flawed as the old, and the struggle for power has only just begun. As the chaos grows, an alien mystery deepens. Pirate fleets, mutiny and betrayal may be the least of the Rocinante's problems. And in the uncanny spaces past the ring gates, the choices of a few damaged and desperate people may determine the fate of more than just humanity.

Orbit

The Tourist

Robert Dickinson
Authors:
Robert Dickinson