Gail Carriger - Soulless: The Manga Vol. 1 - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Soulless: The Manga Vol. 1

By Gail Carriger
Illustrated by Rem

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Gail Carriger's New York Times bestselling tale of vampires, werewolves and parasols comes to life in this steampunk-fuelled manga adaptation!

Alexia Tarabotti is laboring under a great many social tribulations. First, she has no soul. Second, she's a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette.

Where to go from there? From bad to worse apparently, for Alexia accidentally kills the vampire -- and then the appalling Lord Maccon (loud, messy, gorgeous, and werewolf) is sent by Queen Victoria to investigate.

With unexpected vampires appearing and expected vampires disappearing, everyone seems to believe Alexia responsible. Can she figure out what is actually happening to London's high society? Or will her soulless ability to negate supernatural powers prove useful or just plain embarrassing? Finally, who is the real enemy, and do they have treacle tart?

Soulless is a comedy of manners set in Victorian London: full of werewolves, vampires, dirigibles, and tea-drinking.

Biographical Notes

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Gail Carriger writes to cope with being raised in obscurity by an expatriate Brit and an incurable curmudgeon. She survived her early years by reading most of her local library and memorising Greek battles. Eventually, she escaped small town life and inadvertently acquired several degrees in Higher Learning. In pursuit of further finishing, Ms Carriger travelled the historic cities of Europe, subsisting entirely on biscuits secreted in her handbag. She now resides in the Colonies, surrounded by fantastic shoes, where she insists on tea imported from London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356501819
  • Publication date: 01 Mar 2012
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Orbit
Yen Press

Goblin Slayer, Vol. 2 (Novel)

Kumo Kagyu, Noboru Kannatuki
Contributors:
Kumo Kagyu, Noboru Kannatuki
Yen Press

Konosuba: God's Blessing on This Wonderful World!, Vol. 2 (Novel)

Natsume Akatsuki, Kurone Mishima
Contributors:
Natsume Akatsuki, Kurone Mishima
Piatkus

Eleventh Grave in Moonlight

Darynda Jones
Authors:
Darynda Jones

'An absolute must read.' J.R. Ward, No.1 New York Times bestselling author of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. 'The grim reaper gets a shiny cook makeover in Jones's blazing hot debut... will appeal to fans of MaryJanice Davidson and Janet Evanovich.' Publisher's Weekly 'What's better than a bad-ass girl grim reaper who keeps us safe from hell hounds and demons? (The answer is obviously nothing.)' RT Book Reviews A typical day in the life of Charley Davidson involves cheating husbands, missing people, errant wives, philandering business owners, and oh yeah . . . demons, hell hounds, evil gods, and dead people. Lots and lots of dead people. As a part time Private Investigator and full-time Grim Reaper, Charley has to balance the good, the bad, the undead, and those who want her dead. Now Charley is learning to make peace with the fact that she is a goddess with all kinds of power and that her own daughter has been born to save the world from total destruction. The forces of hell are determined to see Charley banished forever to the darkest corners of another dimension but with the son of Satan himself as her husband, maybe Charley can find a way to have her happily ever after after all.'I am furiously envious of Darynda Jones and rue the day she came up with this concept, damn her eyes. First Grave On The Right kidnapped me from the first paragraph, and didn't let go until the exceedingly yummy conclusion.' MaryJanice Davidson, New York Times bestselling author of the Undead series'First Grave on the Right is smart, sharp and wickedly entertaining. Grab this one.' Jayne Ann Krentz, New York Times besselling author of Fires Up

Orbit

Welcome to Night Vale: A Novel

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

WELCOME TO NIGHT VALE . . . a friendly desert community where the sun is hot, the moon is beautiful, and mysterious lights pass overhead while its citizens pretend to sleep. It's a town like your town, with a city hall, a bowling alley, a diner, and a radio station reporting all the news that's allowed to be heard. It might be more like your town than you'd like to admit.In this ordinary town where ghosts, aliens and government conspiracies are parts of everyday life, the lives of two women, with two mysteries, are about to converge.From the creators of the wildly popular Welcome to Night Vale podcast comes an original mystery of appearances and disappearances about the ways we all struggle to find ourselves, no matter where we live.

Orbit

The Blood Mirror

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks
Hachette Audio

Imprudence

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger

From New York Times bestselling author Gail Carriger comes the stunning sequel to Prudence. Rue and the crew of the Spotted Custard return from India with revelations that shake the foundations of England's scientific community. Queen Victoria is not amused, the vampires are tetchy, and something is wrong with the local werewolf pack. To top it all off, Rue's best friend Primrose keeps getting engaged to the most unacceptable military types. Rue has family problems as well. Her vampire father is angry, her werewolf father is crazy, and her obstreperous mother is both. Worst of all, Rue's beginning to suspect that what they really are . . . is frightened.

Corsair

Ashes of Honor (Toby Daye Book 6)

Seanan McGuire
Authors:
Seanan McGuire

It's been almost a year since October "Toby" Daye averted a war, gave up a county, and suffered personal losses that have left her wishing for a good day's sleep. She's tried to focus on her responsibilities-training Quentin, upholding her position as Sylvester's knight, and paying the bills-but she can't help feeling like her world is crumbling around her, and her increasingly reckless behavior is beginning to worry even her staunchest supporters.To make matters worse, Toby's just been asked to find another missing child... only this time it's the changeling daughter of her fellow knight, Etienne, who didn't even know he was a father until the girl went missing. Her name is Chelsea. She's a teleporter, like her father. She's also the kind of changeling the old stories warn about, the kind with all the strength and none of the control. She's opening doors that were never meant to be opened, releasing dangers that were sealed away centuries before-and there's a good chance she could destroy Faerie if she isn't stopped.Now Toby must find Chelsea before time runs out, racing against an unknown deadline and through unknown worlds as she and her allies try to avert disaster. But danger is also stirring in the Court of Cats, and Tybalt may need Toby's help with the biggest challenge he's ever faced.Toby thought the last year was bad. She has no idea.

Hachette Audio

Staked

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne
Hachette Audio

The Wishsong Of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
ATOM

Manners and Mutiny

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger

The fourth and final book in a steampunk YA adventure series, from Orbit's New York Times bestselling author of the Parasol Protectorate series.When a dastardly Pickleman plot comes to fruition, only Sophronia can save her friends, her school, and all of London...but at what cost? Our proper young heroine puts her training and skills to the test in this highly anticipated conclusion of the rousing, intriguing, and always polished New York Times bestselling Finishing School series!

Hachette Audio

Veiled

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka
Hachette Audio

Iron Kissed

Patricia Briggs
Authors:
Patricia Briggs
Corsair

A Local Habitation (Toby Daye Book 2)

Seanan McGuire
Authors:
Seanan McGuire

The second instalment of the highly praised Toby Daye series.October 'Toby' Daye is a changeling, daughter of a fae and a mortal man. Like her mother, she able to read what has happened to a person through a mere taste of their blood. Toby is the only changeling who has earned knighthood, and she earns that position every day, undertaking assignments for her liege, Sylvester, the Duke of the Shadowed Hills. Now Sylvester has asked her to go to the County of Tamed Lightning - otherwise known as Fremont, California - to check up on his niece, Countess January O'Leary. A baby-sitting assignment - or so it would seem; but Toby soon discovers that someone has begun murdering people close to January: if Toby can't find the killer, she may well become the next victim.

Corsair

Late Eclipses (Toby Daye Book 4)

Seanan McGuire
Authors:
Seanan McGuire
Orbit

Prudence

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger

ON BEHALF OF QUEEN, COUNTRY . . . AND THE PERFECT POT OF TEA When Prudence Alessandra Maccon Akeldama (Rue to her friends) is given an unexpected dirigible, she does what any sensible female would under similar circumstances - names it the Spotted Crumpet and floats to India in pursuit of the perfect cup of tea. But India has more than just tea on offer. Rue stumbles upon a plot involving local dissidents, a kidnapped brigadier's wife and some awfully familiar Scottish werewolves. Faced with a dire crisis and an embarrassing lack of bloomers, what else is a young lady of good breeding to do but turn metanatural and find out everyone's secrets, even thousand-year-old fuzzy ones?

ATOM

Waistcoats and Weaponry

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger
Hachette Audio

The Broken Eye

Brent Weeks
Authors:
Brent Weeks

As the old gods awaken and satrapies splinter, the Chromeria races to find the only man who might still end a civil war before it engulfs the known world. But Gavin Guile has been captured by an old enemy and enslaved on a pirate galley. Worse still, Gavin has lost more than his powers as Prism - he can't use magic at all.Without the protection of his father, Kip Guile will face a master of shadows as his grandfather moves to choose a new Prism and put himself in power. With Teia and Karris, Kip will have to use all his wits to survive a secret war between noble houses, religious factions, rebels, and an ascendant order of hidden assassins called The Broken Eye.With over two million books in print, Brent Weeks has become one of the fastest selling new fantasy authors of all time.

Orbit

Soulless: The Manga, Vol. 3

Gail Carriger, Rem
Contributors:
Gail Carriger, Rem
ATOM

Curtsies and Conspiracies

Gail Carriger
Authors:
Gail Carriger
Orbit

Fated

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka

Camden, North London. A tangled, mangled junction of train lines, roads and waterways. Where minor celebrities hang out with minor criminals and where tourists and moody teenagers mingle. In the heart of Camden, where rail meets road meets leyline, you might find the Arcana Emporium, run by one Alex Verus. He won't sell you a wand or mix you a potion, but if you know what you're looking for, he might just be able to help. That's if he's not too busy avoiding his would-be apprentice, foiling the Dark, outwitting the Light, and investigating a mysterious relic that has just turned up at the British Museum.