Rebecca Denton - This Beats Perfect - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349002712
    • Publication date:02 Feb 2017
Books in this series

This Beats Perfect

By Rebecca Denton

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

THIS BEATS PERFECT is the story of a precocious girl who dreams of picking up guitars not guys... Come on girls, make some noise.

'This Beats Perfect is a fabulous celebration of music, friendship, and following your dreams' Katherine Webber, author of Wing Jones

Amelie Ayres has impeccable taste in music. Bowie. Bush. Bob. So when she finds herself backstage at The Keep's only UK gig she expects to hate it; after all they are the world's most tragic band. In fact she feels a grudging respect - not (obviously) for their music, but for the work that goes in to making them megastars. And when lead singer, 'Maxx', is not dressed up as a cross between Elvis and a My Little Pony, he is actually rather normal, talented and has creative struggles not too dissimilar to her own.

But the next morning she wakes up and rolls over to discover a million new @'s on social media. Overnight, a photo of her at the gig has made her a subject of global speculation. Suddenly the world needs to know #Who'sThatGirl? - but for all the wrong reasons.

All Amelie wants is to play her music. She's got the guitar, the songs, the soul and, in the safety of her bedroom, she's got the voice. But when it comes to getting up on stage, she struggles with self-doubt.

Immaculate's a concept. Flawless is fake. But just sometimes music - and hearts - can rock a perfect beat.

'A witty exploration into the world of celebrity' The Sun

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349002729
  • Publication date: 02 Feb 2017
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: ATOM
Tapping into boyband mania as well as artistic pride, Denton turns her sharp eye to the fallacies of painting women as 'groupies', creating a main character more interested in artistic integrity than fame and fortune. Young women looking for more positive female role models will love Amelie's passionate pursuit of her dreams, which is both inspiring and hugely relatable. — Evening Standard
THIS BEATS PERFECT is a fabulous celebration of music, friendship, and following your dreams. It's hugely entertaining with plenty of laugh-out-loud moments and Amelie is a wonderful heroine. She's smart, loyal, and fiercely independent. Rebecca Denton's music expertise shows in the incredibly authentic backstage and on stage scenes. A fantastic addition to the burgeoning category of YA books about music, fandoms, and fame. — Katherine Webber, author of Wing Jones
A fun, I'm-NOT-with-the-band, tale — Red magazine
A witty exploration into the world of celebrity — The Sun
Tapping into boyband mania as well as artistic pride, Denton turns her sharp eye to the fallacies of painting women as 'groupies', creating a main character more interested in artistic integrity than fame and fortune. Young women looking for more positive female role models will love Amelie's passionate pursuit of her dreams, which is both inspiring and hugely relatable.
ATOM

A Danger to Herself and Others

Alyssa Sheinmel
Authors:
Alyssa Sheinmel
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Survival Tails

Katrina Charman
Authors:
Katrina Charman
Running Press Kids

Love

Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Contributors:
Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff

What is love? Can you only express it in fancy meals, greeting cards, and heart-shaped chocolates? Kids will find love everywhere in this delightful book. It can be found in everyday moments such as baking cookies with grandma, notes from Mom in your lunchbox, or a family singing together on a car trip, and it isn't always what you expect!With delightful illustrations by Joanne Lew-Vriethoff and sweetly simple prose by award-winning author Stacy McAnulty, this is the perfect book to teach children what love means, why it's important, and how they can spread the love in their daily lives.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

10 Little Kisses

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland
Little, Brown Young Readers US

How She Died, How I Lived

Mary Crockett
Authors:
Mary Crockett
Little, Brown Young Readers US

An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason

Virginia Boecker
Authors:
Virginia Boecker
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Short & Skinny

Mark Tatulli
Authors:
Mark Tatulli
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Don't Touch My Hair!

Sharee Miller
Authors:
Sharee Miller

It seems that wherever Aria goes, someone wants to touch her hair. In the street, strangers reach for her fluffy curls; and even under the sea, in the jungle, and in space, she's chased by a mermaid, monkeys, and poked by aliens... until, finally, Aria has had enough!This humorous picture book speaks to a national conversation on strangers touching black hair (from Solange's song "Don't Touch My Hair", to Phoebe Robinson's You Can't Touch My Hair), and sparks an important conversation on personal boundaries for children as Aria explains that her hair should not be touched without asking for permission first. Commercial, imaginative, and fun, Don't Touch My Hair! can be used to teach young readers about personal boundaries and asking for permission--and that it's all right to be told "no" as well.Author-illustrator Sharee Miller takes the tradition of appreciation of black hair to a fresh, commercial level, as she doesn't seek to convince or remind young readers that their curls are beautiful--she simply acknowledges black beauty while telling a fun, imaginative story.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

My Heart Is a Compass

Deborah Marcero
Authors:
Deborah Marcero

In this celebration of the power of imagination, a creative girl on a mission to bring something new to the world becomes a storyteller and inventor of intricately detailed maps.p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 15.0px Calibri; -webkit-text-stroke: #000000}span.s1 {font-kerning: none}Rose's heart is set on discovering something that's never been found. She just doesn't know where to find it. So she sets off on a wondrous journey, bounding from one spectacular world to the next. Her only guides are a set of maps drawn from her own imagination and her heart's desire to explore new and exciting worlds.In this moving story of a trailblazing spirit, Rose follows her compass, and explores her creativity in a one-of-a-kind search through a collection of intricate maps that readers will love to get lost in.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Twelve Pets of Christmas

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland

This Christmas, Santa brings readers a different pet for every day of the holiday season. Featuring festive animal photography and a sweet, sing-along text based on the classic carol, this board book is perfect for reading, counting, and laughing with baby.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Rude and Ridiculous Royals of Classroom 13

Honest Lee, Matthew J. Gilbert, Joelle Dreidemy
Contributors:
Honest Lee, Matthew J. Gilbert, Joelle Dreidemy

As heard by kids everywhere on the Echo Dot Kids Edition, Classroom 13 is also a hilarious chapter book series, perfect for fans of Captain Underpants or Sideways Stories from Wayside School.When Classroom 13 goes on a field trip, a magical mishap turns the students into queens and kings--who get to MAKE NEW LAWS!You might think this was cool, but it was crazy! With reckless rulers comes horrible homework, dangerous drivers, weird weddings, and other ludicrous laws. The students of Classroom 13 are about to learn that becoming royalty can be a royal pain in the butt. If YOU were a king or queen, what laws would you make--or break?!The final chapter of each book encourages young raiders to write their own chapter and send it in to the author, Honest Lee!The Rude and Ridiculous Royals of Classroom 13 is the sixth title in a new chapter book series of hilarious stories about a very unlucky classroom. Each story is full of humor, action, and fun that will prompt hours of conversation among friends, families, and classrooms.(Psst! Hey you. Yeah, YOU! Just between us, this book also has a secret code hidden in every book that kids will have to figure out to read a chapter. Kids'll love it!)

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Phantom Wheel

Tracy Deebs
Authors:
Tracy Deebs

Believing they have been recruited by the CIA, six teen hackers arrive in LA for a hacking aptitude test with the promise of a college scholarship and a job with the CIA after graduation. But one of the teens, Owen, walks out, refusing to participate. The other five decide to stay and complete the tests. When they finish, they leave feeling equally accomplished and unnerved.Then silence-until they receive a text from Owen: You've been played. He's uncovered evidence that the hackers created "Phantom Wheel," the most devastating virus ever made. Jacento, the corporation behind it all, plans to use this virus to gain unprecedented access to personal data. And that's just the beginning of the devastation. Can the teen hackers stop Phantom Wheel-and protect their own secrets from being revealed-before it's too late?©2018 by Hachette Book Group, Inc.

Running Press Kids

Lulu the Broadway Mouse

Jenna Gavigan
Authors:
Jenna Gavigan

Lulu is a little girl with a very big dream: she wants to be on Broadway. She wants it more than anything in the world. As it happens, she lives in Broadway's Shubert Theatre; so achieving her dream shouldn't be too tricky, right? Wrong. Because the thing about Lulu? She's a little girl mouse.When a human girl named Jayne joins the cast of the show at the Shubert as an understudy, Lulu becomes Jayne's guide through the world of her theatre and its wonderfully kooky cast and crew. Together, Jayne and Lulu learn that sometimes dreams turn out differently than we imagined; sometimes they come with terms and conditions (aka the company mean girl, Amanda). But sometimes, just when we've given up all hope, bigger and better dreams than we'd ever thought could come true, do.

Running Press Kids

Fire Truck Dreams

Sharon Chriscoe, Dave Mottram
Contributors:
Sharon Chriscoe, Dave Mottram
ATOM

The Punk Factor

Rebecca Denton
Authors:
Rebecca Denton
Running Press Kids

Halloween Trick-or-Treat

Running Press, Lydia Nichols
Contributors:
Running Press, Lydia Nichols
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Thankful Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr
ATOM

It Ends With You

S. K. Wright
Authors:
S. K. Wright
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Finding Yvonne

Brandy Colbert
Authors:
Brandy Colbert

For fans of Nicola Yoon and Nina LaCour comes a striking novel about difficult choices from acclaimed author Brandy Colbert.Since she was seven years old, Yvonne has had her trusted violin to keep her company, especially in those lonely days after her mother walked out on their family. But with graduation just around the corner, she is forced face the hard truth that she just might not be good enough to attend a conservatory after high school.Full of doubt about her future, and increasingly frustrated by her strained relationship with her successful but emotionally closed-off father, Yvonne meets a street musician and fellow violinist who understands her struggle. He's mysterious, charming, and different from Warren, the familiar and reliable boy who has her heart. But when Yvonne becomes unexpectedly pregnant, she has to make the most difficult decision yet about her future.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

Ernestine, Catastrophe Queen

Merrill Wyatt
Authors:
Merrill Wyatt